0 (0%)
Tottenham
0 (0%)
Shakhtar Donetsk
0 (0%)
Valencia
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 18

Author Topic: UEFA Champions League Thread  (Read 300661 times)

Re: 2012 Champions League Thread (Bayern Munich v Real Madrid).
« Reply #990 on: April 17, 2012, 03:27:05 PM »
yeah 2-1 is a good losing score....3-2 or 4-3 even better but those are low percentage scorelines...so yeah I'll take 2-1 but it still gives us plenty work to do...

« Reply #991 on: April 17, 2012, 03:36:11 PM »
yeah 2-1 is a good losing score....3-2 or 4-3 even better but those are low percentage scorelines...so yeah I'll take 2-1 but it still gives us plenty work to do...

I wanted at least a 2-2 draw. steups

There's no way Madrid team designed to score an early goal and defend a 1-0 lead at home.

Second leg will be...interesting.

I hate it when Mourinho tries his 'tactics'. Gah.

« Reply #992 on: April 17, 2012, 03:42:13 PM »

I wanted at least a 2-2 draw. steups

There's no way Madrid team designed to score an early goal and defend a 1-0 lead at home.

Second leg will be...interesting.

I hate it when Mourinho tries his 'tactics'. Gah.

I was happy ok at 1-1 and at that point we weres starting to control the match...I was sure we were gonna keep going for it and eventually sneak a winner in... then I see dem men drop deep and just start giving Bayern the ball...I shake my head 'cause I knew what was coming. 

Re: 2012 Champions League Thread (Chelsea v Barcelona).
« Reply #993 on: April 17, 2012, 03:50:36 PM »

Disgruntled.... HYMC hoss.

I taking dat!!!

But Disgruntled, it have ah thread fuh dis ahready eh know. MODS!!! Merge!

Didn't see it, apologies.

« Reply #994 on: April 18, 2012, 12:18:21 AM »
Is not The Special One fault, It's the tenacity of Bayern. Dat is de only side ah fraid and as for allyuh Beloved barca.. We go fix dat in Stamford Bridge tonight! Now everybody doh come rushing to the wagon all at de same time after Chelsea do it to dem tonight. Stand in line and be orderly. Coops woulda rather it dat way!

THE BEAST HAS BEEN UNLEASHED SUNDAY GONE!

CHELSEA WAR MACHINE!

Offline Raul

• ˇHala Madrid!
« Reply #995 on: April 18, 2012, 02:49:59 AM »
Mourinho's continuous use of Coentrao instead of Marcelo in the UCL has me confused... In the first game against Apoel, the game only turned for the better when Marcelo and Kaka were brought in simultaneously... And last night again Coentrao was at fault on Bayern's second goal.

« Reply #996 on: April 18, 2012, 05:52:30 AM »
when dis startin (trinidad time) a have to calculate when to fake ah sick an give mihself enough time to reach home ::)

« Reply #997 on: April 18, 2012, 07:13:34 AM »
when dis startin (trinidad time) a have to calculate when to fake ah sick an give mihself enough time to reach home ::)

Quarter to three.

« Reply #998 on: April 18, 2012, 07:17:16 AM »

Quarter to three.

thank you kindly :beermug:

« Reply #999 on: April 18, 2012, 08:02:58 AM »
Ovrebo: My errors cost Chelsea in 2009

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1050513/tom-henning-ovrebo:-my-refereeing-errors-cost-chelsea-in-2009?campaign=rss&source=soccernet&cc=3888

Tom Henning Ovrebo, the referee of the controversial Champions League semi-final between Chelsea and Barcelona in 2009, has admitted that he made mistakes in the game that denied the Premier League side a place in the final.

Tom Henning Ovrebo, Didier Drogba
AssociatedDidier Drogba was incensed by the decisions of referee Tom Henning Ovrebo in 2009

Ovrebo found himself at the centre of a firestorm at Stamford Bridge at the end of the second leg three years ago, having rejected four reasonable penalty claims from the home side - then managed by Guus Hiddink - during the 90 minutes, as they eventually went out to Andres Iniesta's last-minute strike.

The Norwegian official was confronted by Michael Ballack and Didier Drogba even before the final whistle, and subsequently received death threats from a section of irate Chelsea fans. Ovrebo has now revealed that he still receives threatening messages, and has admitted that he did not enforce the laws correctly during the game at Stamford Bridge.

"I still get a few death threats, but they go straight into the garbage box. I don't take them seriously, although sometimes I wonder about the people who send them," Ovrebo told The Times. "Just yesterday I got an email from a Chelsea fan saying he wanted to kill me and my family.

"Everyone who knows the laws of the game knows I should have done things differently, but that's the life of a referee. In a strange way, I was actually satisfied with the way we all managed to keep calm in a tense situation."

He added: "On the pitch I did my best. I shouldn't have to apologise as mistakes are part of the game."

Drogba was subsequently given a five-game ban by UEFA for his outburst at the final whistle, with team-mate Jose Bosingwa given a three-game suspension. Ovrebo feels no ill-will towards the Ivorian, however, after the pair reconciled their differences at the disciplinary hearing.

"It was a very challenging match and with the angry scenes after the final whistle it became less enjoyable," Ovrebo noted. "Some players got too emotional and behaved badly, but no one got killed. It's important to put it into perspective.

"It helped me as a referee ... if I can cope with Drogba screaming at me, I can cope with anything - although he's a nice guy, really."

The Blues have the chance to gain revenge on the Spanish club, as they face them in the Champions League semi-finals again this season. The first leg takes place at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday

« Reply #1000 on: April 18, 2012, 08:42:46 AM »
My errors cost Chelsea in 2008

Fixed

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Vtdm3cuKCP4&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Vtdm3cuKCP4&amp;</a>

« Reply #1001 on: April 18, 2012, 08:56:48 AM »
Sorry DHW, but I hadda go against you this rounds.

« Reply #1002 on: April 18, 2012, 09:02:38 AM »
STUEPS.  :frustrated:

Chelsea go loss in the final anyway. That go be sweeter

« Reply #1003 on: April 18, 2012, 09:28:34 AM »
Sorry DHW, but I hadda go against you this rounds.

« Reply #1004 on: April 18, 2012, 11:59:25 AM »
Mourinho's continuous use of Coentrao instead of Marcelo in the UCL has me confused... In the first game against Apoel, the game only turned for the better when Marcelo and Kaka were brought in simultaneously... And last night again Coentrao was at fault on Bayern's second goal.
The running argument is that Coentrao more solid defensively and Marcelo is a more attacking option. Having said that I was puzzled as to why Marcelo come on for Ozil instead of Kaka. As some others said, we not designed to sit back on a lead. Madrid is an attacking force and should not be made to sit deep. Run up the score if possible!!

« Reply #1005 on: April 18, 2012, 12:31:24 PM »
Alyuh eh watch the power of Bayern? That team is absolutely POWERFUL and armed to the teeth. Plus that red kit make them look like they were playing with 20 players.

« Reply #1006 on: April 18, 2012, 12:40:00 PM »
Few more minutes  :whip:

« Reply #1007 on: April 18, 2012, 12:46:31 PM »
Only good thing about that Chelsea Team is d woman on d bench

« Reply #1008 on: April 18, 2012, 12:50:22 PM »
I think this match will be more competitive than most are assuming.

Barca is the better side but they not in the invincible form that we've seen so much of in the last few years...the right match prep and some luck and this one could be very tricky.

Chelsea have a chance in these games. When they get Benfica and then Barca I thought they had a good draw.

If yuh want to win this CL thing yuh better off playing Barca in a two leg tie in the middle of a season, when they studying Classico, league and treble rather than at the end of the season when they have two weeks to rest and prepare.

United and Inter win CL going past Barca in that way, CL come close. Madrid beat them in a Cup final in between some CL and league games. Once yuh playing them in that end of season final yuh could forget it.

That being said, Barcelona seems really up for this game. They have a heated rivalry with Chelsea so they not likely to get caught sleeping. Still if Chelsea want to win this thing yuh better playing them now.

« Reply #1009 on: April 18, 2012, 01:01:21 PM »
Barca has taken over the play after the quick start from chealsea.

« Reply #1010 on: April 18, 2012, 01:12:12 PM »
Alyuh se what Iniesta do Cahil on the line....laawwddd

« Reply #1011 on: April 18, 2012, 01:15:17 PM »
Lol nasty..

« Reply #1012 on: April 18, 2012, 01:21:06 PM »
Alyuh se what Iniesta do Cahil on the line....laawwddd

No, but you made me laugh. hahahaha!

« Reply #1013 on: April 18, 2012, 01:21:08 PM »
They mashing up Drogba

« Reply #1014 on: April 18, 2012, 01:21:53 PM »
best football game sI seen in a while. Top class quality.

Laverkusen hadda be real good to be winning the Bundesliga ahead of Bayern.
I rememebr at one point last year, Bayern went almost 10 game without Neuer conceeding a goal.

Would love to see them in the final..

« Reply #1015 on: April 18, 2012, 01:29:22 PM »

« Reply #1016 on: April 18, 2012, 01:33:01 PM »
Feed the Drog!

« Reply #1017 on: April 18, 2012, 01:33:21 PM »
Unleash the Drogs......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1018 on: April 18, 2012, 01:33:26 PM »
gooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal

Offline trinipoolsupporter

« Reply #1019 on: April 18, 2012, 01:33:57 PM »
any one with a link ... at work and can't get out