0 (0%)
Tottenham
0 (0%)
Shakhtar Donetsk
0 (0%)
Valencia
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 18

Author Topic: UEFA Champions League Thread  (Read 301436 times)

Re: 2012 Champions League Thread (Chelsea v Barcelona).
« Reply #1050 on: April 19, 2012, 03:25:20 PM »
Ah bitter!!

We rock dey post, miss from point blank range and as usual had the lion's share of possession.

LORD HAVE MERCY

A mountain to climb next Tue.

In theory, if yuh truly better than them, yuh should be able to beat them at home by more than they beat you at home....

But this is where the psychology of the home and away system comes into effect.  Up to recently I woulda say that I always preferred to have the home game last -but recently I startin' to figure that the advantage is held by the team that plays at home first...I think it's easier to win at home when yuh don't HAVE to win at home -that added pressure, plus the away team's driver seat position established in the first leg makes it really difficult for real. 

« Reply #1051 on: April 19, 2012, 03:44:57 PM »
Ah bitter!!

We rock dey post, miss from point blank range and as usual had the lion's share of possession.

LORD HAVE MERCY

In theory, if yuh truly better than them, yuh should be able to beat them at home by more than they beat you at home....

But this is where the psychology of the home and away system comes into effect.  Up to recently I woulda say that I always preferred to have the home game last -but recently I startin' to figure that the advantage is held by the team that plays at home first...I think it's easier to win at home when yuh don't HAVE to win at home -that added pressure, plus the away team's driver seat position established in the first leg makes it really difficult for real. 

plus if barca (the home team) leading 1-0 after 90 mins... chelsea (the away team) will then have 30 more mins than barca had to get an away goal...

... if that making sense

« Reply #1052 on: April 19, 2012, 03:56:38 PM »
Say wha all yuh want....I missing David Villa.

He definitely wasn't missing them chances.

« Reply #1053 on: April 19, 2012, 04:02:55 PM »
Ah bitter!!

LORD HAVE MERCY

plus if barca (the home team) leading 1-0 after 90 mins... chelsea (the away team) will then have 30 more mins than barca had to get an away goal...

... if that making sense

yup...

« Reply #1054 on: April 20, 2012, 01:15:30 PM »

Relax yuhself rastaman, this is not for the faint of heart, drink a shandy and relax over de weekend, come Tuesday is war

« Reply #1055 on: April 20, 2012, 03:24:04 PM »

Relax yuhself rastaman, this is not for the faint of heart, drink a shandy and relax over de weekend, come Tuesday is war

Allyuh barca men is a bunch ah weak-hearts. :)

« Reply #1056 on: April 20, 2012, 10:32:39 PM »
Ah bitter!!

LORD HAVE MERCY

... if that making sense

yup...

To be honest,the word "if" have a big say in any theory about which is more advantageous but the advantages does really start to play out when the first team score.  "If" Barca woulda score any or all of them (easy) chances they had, nobody would be talkin' 'bout them having any kinda advantage now nuh.     

Re: 2012 Champions League Thread (Bayern Munich v Real Madrid).
« Reply #1057 on: April 21, 2012, 11:12:51 AM »
Bayern silent on fight reportsRivalsDM Share This Story

This is why I don't want neither of them on my team-selfish both!

Updated Apr 21, 2012 11:43 AM ET       

Bayern Munich are refusing to confirm an alleged dressing room bust-up between Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben took place at half-time in Tuesday night's 2-1 win over Real Madrid in the Champions League.

The pair are reported to have had a heated debate in the dressing room after discussing who should take a free-kick late in the first half.

Sport Bild magazine claims Ribery punched Robben in the face and pictures appeared after the game of Robben with a cut under his right eye.

On Saturday, the Bild newspaper claims Ribery was fined 50,000 euros for the incident while the pair rarely exchanged glances, let alone passes, in Friday's final training session ahead of the trip to Werder Bremen.

Coach Jupp Heynckes was diplomatic when pressed on the matter at Friday's pre-match press conference, neither confirming nor denying the incident.

"There are taboo zones within a football team," he is quoted as saying by the Bild.

"Given the huge media presence, that is also necessary. I believe that internal matters must remain internal, whether that is here at our training ground or in the dressing room.

"Everything else is speculation and I will not respond to that."

Re: 2012 Champions League Thread (Bayern Munich v Real Madrid).
« Reply #1058 on: April 21, 2012, 11:17:59 AM »
Oh by the way, the second leg on Wednesday will be showing, on the FX channel, not FSC or FSCPlus. Not sure why, since all they will being showing is the replay of the EPL match between Spurs and QPR that playing today.

« Reply #1059 on: April 21, 2012, 06:16:29 PM »
Go Chelsea!!  :wavetowel:

« Reply #1060 on: April 21, 2012, 06:38:22 PM »

Yes sir, I have seen the light! I am on that Chelsea bandwagon too! Let's go Chelsea!

« Reply #1061 on: April 21, 2012, 06:46:03 PM »

To be honest,the word "if" have a big say in any theory about which is more advantageous but the advantages does really start to play out when the first team score.  "If" Barca woulda score any or all of them (easy) chances they had, nobody would be talkin' 'bout them having any kinda advantage now nuh.     

Yeah first goal very crucial.

« Reply #1062 on: April 21, 2012, 07:35:18 PM »

Yes sir, I have seen the light! I am on that Chelsea bandwagon too! Let's go Chelsea!

D spirit of 2011 women world cup has returned

« Reply #1063 on: April 21, 2012, 07:40:58 PM »
Hahahaha

« Reply #1064 on: April 22, 2012, 09:26:31 AM »

Come offfffff. We doh need allyuh blight nah  :shameonyou:

« Reply #1065 on: April 22, 2012, 10:01:02 AM »

Too Late  :devil:

« Reply #1066 on: April 22, 2012, 12:17:34 PM »

Too Late  :devil:

Look like allyuh go hadda get on mancity bandwagon, too. Just two weeks ago the manchester derby was a non-issue.  Now, allyuh squeezin' allyuh bamcee tight like crapaud own!

On another note, Happy Birthday to two of my favourite Chelsea Big players!!
Much maligned and underappreciated John Obi Mikel and David Luiz.

« Reply #1067 on: April 22, 2012, 12:59:23 PM »

aka Sideshow Bob

« Reply #1068 on: April 24, 2012, 06:45:17 AM »
Today is the day  :devil:

« Reply #1069 on: April 24, 2012, 06:53:48 AM »
Today is the day  :devil:

Chelsea all the way! :wavetowel:

« Reply #1070 on: April 24, 2012, 07:03:23 AM »
for Chelsea today.

« Reply #1071 on: April 24, 2012, 07:57:23 AM »
For today only...

I only ask for a fair referee and no controversy whatever the end result.

Let's go Chelsea!

« Reply #1072 on: April 24, 2012, 10:35:37 AM »
roman should give mourinho a one-match deal to try to replicate what happen with real last weekend.

« Reply #1073 on: April 24, 2012, 12:42:42 PM »
Tick Tock.

« Reply #1074 on: April 24, 2012, 12:43:57 PM »
lineups.

Barcelona: Valdés, Piqué, Puyol, Fàbregas, Xavi, Iniesta, Mascherano, Busquets, Alexis Sánchez, Messi, Cuenca SUBS: Pinto, Alves, Thiago Alcántara, Keita, Adriano, Pedro Rodríguez, Tello.

Chelsea: Čech, Ivanović, Cole, Cahill, Terry, Ramires, Lampard, Mikel, Meireles, Mata, Drogba SUBS: Turnbull, Bosingwa, Essien, Malouda, Torres, Kalou, Sturridge.

« Reply #1075 on: April 24, 2012, 12:52:33 PM »
any good links

« Reply #1076 on: April 24, 2012, 01:00:11 PM »
Cahill off injured in the 12'.. Bosingwa on.  Still nil nil (0-1 Chelsea on aggregate)

As much as I'm sick of the midget bastards... Barcelona short-passing game is something to behold boy, especially around the box.  They play the way Arsenal imagine they play.

« Reply #1077 on: April 24, 2012, 01:04:22 PM »
Pique just collect ah Huntelaar from Valdes...

« Reply #1078 on: April 24, 2012, 01:19:49 PM »
Dang!!!!   

« Reply #1079 on: April 24, 2012, 01:22:46 PM »
And so it begins, 1 nil barca