April 23, 2024, 02:05:46 AM

Author Topic: What is the origin of the term "cap"?  (Read 3005 times)

What is the origin of the term "cap"?
« on: January 14, 2006, 06:58:47 AM »
We often refer to full international appearances for the national soccer team as "caps". Where did that term come from, and what does it really mean? ???
« Last Edit: January 14, 2006, 07:08:32 AM by Tallman »

Re: what is the origin of the term "cap"
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2006, 07:07:09 AM »
I saw a documentary a long time ago, where the commentator was talking about the England cricket team, back in the early days when you would actually get a cap with the emblem, for every time you represented the team.  The term moved to other sports and then the Aussies picked it up and then the rest of the world...except off course the Americans, who hardly talk about 'caps'.

My memory of the details sketchy though, but it shouldn't be too hard to get the facts.

Re: what is the origin of the term "cap"
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2006, 07:21:24 AM »
I saw a documentary a long time ago, where the commentator was talking about the England cricket team, back in the early days when you would actually get a cap with the emblem, for every time you represented the team.  The term moved to other sports and then the Aussies picked it up and then the rest of the world...except off course the Americans, who hardly talk about 'caps'.

My memory of the details sketchy though, but it shouldn't be too hard to get the facts.

This is about right but I thought it started with football although the cap that used to be awarded looks like a traditional cricket cap.

Wikipedia has an entry which also references football, but I do not consider that site a completely reliable source.

Re: What is the origin of the term "cap"?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2006, 07:22:14 AM »
We often refer to full international appearances for the national soccer team as "caps". Where did that term come from, and what does it really mean? ???

What is an International Cap ?
England's caps

« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2006, 08:43:04 AM »
I eh know bout dat nuh
but I know bout ah "cyap" cause ah hit ah man one on Wednesday in the park

he rush in wild and scoop it straight over he head real nice and neat, had him like ah turtle stretching he neck

« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2006, 11:02:01 AM »
I always thought CAP mean Country Appearance or Club Appearance

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2006, 11:54:24 AM »
FF that's cuz you NEEDS to stop thinking :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: take 2 panadol for the pain :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

Offline trinidre

« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2006, 03:30:36 PM »
yeah I is ah man you to hit real men cyap then  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2006, 06:59:25 PM »
Whats up dread like yu trying to copyright dat ?  ;D
warmonga..

« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2006, 07:23:18 PM »
I eh know bout dat nuh

he rush in wild and scoop it straight over he head real nice and neat, had him like ah turtle stretching he neck

so how many national "cyaps" yuh have now ?

« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2006, 08:40:08 PM »
I eh know bout dat nuh

watch how yu resting "cyap"  bredda.. here in de south side of  Chicago  man does get lock up for resting "cyap"  !!!!!!!!  ;D dey have a serious law here in Chicago for dem badman  who like Resting "cyap" ..

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2006, 03:41:38 PM »
I eh know bout dat nuh

so how many national "cyaps" yuh have now ?

I have real cyap under meh belt
cyap local and abroad
from the park to the stadium

rush in nuh Kicker see if yuh eh get the cyao
i working on the dead ball cyap now

« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2006, 03:45:24 PM »
if you working on de dead ball cap yuh not ready fuh meh yet breds

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2006, 04:01:46 PM »

the way you does talk sometimes one would think you playing in La Liga

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2006, 04:09:28 PM »

he could be...da's ah shit league...EPL forever

MAN U forever!!!! ;D

« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2006, 04:10:41 PM »

MAN U forever!!!! ;D

now why you have to go and say something retarded like that
yuh went to school on the slow bus or wha??

« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2006, 04:15:06 PM »

MAN U forever!!!! ;D

now why you have to go and say something retarded like that
yuh went to school on the slow bus or wha??

:rotfl: :rotfl: to elicit dat kinda reaction :rotfl: :rotfl: