September 20, 2024, 06:59:55 PM

Author Topic: Eto'o could be in serious trouble...  (Read 6284 times)

Eto'o could be in serious trouble...
« on: January 15, 2006, 02:33:56 PM »
Anybody see Eto'o spit in a man face today? Scenes turn real ugly at the end of the Barca / Bilbao game and Eto'o might be facing a long ban. It will be interesting to see how the Spanish authorities react...given their lack of action regarding other issues plaguing the spanish league

Offline Gladman

Re: Eto'o could be in serious trouble...
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2006, 02:40:21 PM »
I didn't see the game ,who did he spit on
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2006, 03:03:56 PM »
You lie. What wrong with Eto'o man

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2006, 03:14:04 PM »
yeah saw it......he should get a serious ban..........I have a feeling the race card will be played in this scenario, whether racism was involved or not.

Would a ban affect his participation in the African Cup of Nations or would it be limited to Spanish league ?

Deco could be in trouble too...got red carded for punching a bilbao player.......
« Last Edit: January 15, 2006, 03:18:00 PM by kicker »

« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2006, 03:17:45 PM »
yeah saw it......he should get a serious ban.

Would a ban affect his participation in the African Cup of Nations or would it be limited to Spanish league ?

Deco could be in trouble too...got red carded for punching a bilbao player.......

what prompted the spitting though??

« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2006, 03:19:31 PM »

The game got ill-tempered in general, and there was a very slight shoving match between Eto and a defender close to the corner flag, then Eto'o spat on him......The story should come out on soccernet soon.

« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2006, 03:21:26 PM »
Look like he spat on a man called Esposito. It was a bad angle..but the camera was on them and they were arguing right after Deco got sent off for pulling Gurpegei hair and then taking a swing at him. Both teams had square off for a while and Rijkaard had to escort Deco off the field. In the aftermath Eto'o and Esposito were arguig after Eto'o won a throw in and then you see something like spit fly and Esposito holding his face. You cyah actually see Eto'o spitting cause ah de angle...but it look like he did and de commentator went off on it for the remaining minute or so in de game. Ref didn't see it.

« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2006, 03:21:40 PM »

The game got ill-tempered in general, and there was a very slight shoving match between Eto and a defender close to the corner flag, then Eto'o spat on him......The story should come out on soccernet soon.

thanks

« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2006, 03:23:59 PM »

Ah like Eto'o, he is ah tremendous player but he is known for his temper and bad sportsmanship sometimes. One time he make a tribal death threat to another team coach. He still young and a lil immature, but no excuse...should be penalized.

« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2006, 03:29:25 PM »

Ah like Eto'o, he is ah tremendous player but he is known for his temper and bad sportsmanship sometimes. One time he make a tribal death threat to another team coach. He still young and a lil immature, but no excuse...should be penalized.

:rotfl: :rotfl: he go wuk obeah on de coach :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2006, 03:33:23 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: he go wuk obeah on de coach :rotfl: :rotfl:

dat is pretty much what it was, yeh  ;D

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2006, 06:47:54 PM »

« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2006, 06:34:52 AM »
If het get ban it will only affect the spanish league based on what they do with Diouf and Viera in the past..but since is a high profile side like Barca and Sepp Blatter like to stick his nose in big side business these days, u never know...

« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2006, 07:31:59 AM »
hmmmm... Should he get banned from the game for life?

Offline jaden

« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2006, 08:03:37 AM »
he should be in serious trouble, u cant spit on people, what the hell wrong to these fellers.they should certainly know better,u playin for barca,one ah the biggest teams in the world where u have millioms of viewers worldwide,the guy jus plain disrespectful man,to his fellow pro footballers and to the viewers.
and deco operate as if he stupid, the man foul him, he start to laugh and jus get up of the ground and run up to the man and pull he hair.the whole thing cause a big uproar.
mistakes are stepping stones to success

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2006, 08:41:28 AM »
no  excuses for Deco  & Eto'o behviour....but Gurpegui had actually pull Deco hair first while he was sitting on the ground. You could just barely see it in some of de replays...de man didn't just go crazy...but he definitely over-reacted.

« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2006, 09:23:12 AM »
Barcelona opened up a seven-point gap at the top of the Spanish first division with a 2-1 win over relegation-threatened Athletic Bilbao.

However, the game was overshadowed by the post-match comments of Athletic coach Javier Clemente who refered to Samuel Eto'o as having, "descended from trees."

Clemente was incensed that Eto'o, the Spanish first division's top scorer and the reigning African Player of the Year, had spat at one of his players towards the end of the game, but his words were viewed as a racist slur.

Now yuh know Spain have a habbit of encouraging racial behaviour. So leh we see what they go do this rounds.

« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2006, 09:39:30 AM »
Barcelona opened up a seven-point gap at the top of the Spanish first division with a 2-1 win over relegation-threatened Athletic Bilbao.

However, the game was overshadowed by the post-match comments of Athletic coach Javier Clemente who refered to Samuel Eto'o as having, "descended from trees."

buh wah de ass i hearing....dah coach shud recieve a ban easy easy himself....buh is spain so we shall have to wait and see if anyting beside a small fine occurs

« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2006, 12:03:49 PM »
Is best to wait to find out the whole story cause as of now we looking just at the spit.

Speaking for myself...if the man did tell me some racial shit ah woulda make sure ah clear meh throat and hawk real real good and then spit in he face, go home and watch the replays.

Eto'o end that stupid, he know he going to the African Nation's Cup so he eh go be dey anyway, so why not pay back them racist with some hawking expectorate. He does constantly put up with monkey sounds and chants.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2006, 02:22:07 PM »
Is best to wait to find out the whole story cause as of now we looking just at the spit.

Speaking for myself...if the man did tell me some racial shit ah woulda make sure ah clear meh throat and hawk real real good and then spit in he face, go home and watch the replays.

Two wrongs make a right ent?
Anyway, I remember Rikaard as a player for Holland, spitting in Rudi Voller (Germany) face either during the 90 WC or the 92 Euro Championships. So I guess Eto'o wont get a telling off from Rikaard.

« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2006, 04:21:52 PM »

Anyway, I remember Rikaard as a player for Holland, spitting in Rudi Voller (Germany) face either during the 90 WC or the 92 Euro Championships. So I guess Eto'o wont get a telling off from Rikaard.

Yuh know what today is Dr. King day. MLK....but funny thing when I wrote this I had just finished watching a documentary on El Hajj Malik El Shabazz so MLK would say "turn the other cheek" because that is what the Bible say....but then again the Bible say "an eye for an eye" so Ahhhhhhh the choices ah have ah could go either way.

But since is MLK day yuh right. Ah go turn the other cheek and smile :)

Sir may I have another......BAW....thank you Sir ;D

BAW....thank you Sir ;D

« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2006, 06:14:09 PM »
ey boy disgruntled....eto not in de world cup....i will tell stern john to send eto an email telling him how it was...tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #22 on: January 16, 2006, 06:42:23 PM »

That was 92 Euro Championship when Rikaard buss one on Voller after they were both red carded. That was a good game too. Too bad Holland lost  2-0

« Reply #23 on: January 16, 2006, 07:20:59 PM »
in Spain it does be Ulitimate Football....anyting goes

That does happen to de best players anywhere, despite de skill and de sportsmanship sometimes dey take the passion out of hand...remember Totti spit on ah man in Euro '04...Cantona drop-kick ah man in de stands...all kinda thing does happen. Eto'o is still practically a youth...ah remember when some racist comment was directed at Yorke...he just look at de fella and walk away...I mighta lose it, but that was real patience from Yorke jed.. :beermug:

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2006, 08:54:47 PM »
Spittin in a man face, to me is one ah the most disrespectful tings you could do. i wudda condeded a  red card, ban and game checks. Eto'o wudda had meh tuggs print permanently tattooed to his face....
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2006, 10:14:43 PM »
i eh think he go do that

real ppl look up to him man

shame on him  :(

« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2006, 10:18:26 PM »

ey boy disgruntled....eto not in de world cup....i will tell stern john to send eto an email telling him how it was...tnt tnt tnt

Doh remind meh nuh
imagine Eto'o not going but Stern dey

humph

what is this world coming to

« Reply #27 on: January 17, 2006, 03:09:04 PM »
That was 92 Euro Championship when Rikaard buss one on Voller after they were both red carded. That was a good game too. Too bad Holland lost  2-0

That spitting incident was in WC 1990.  2nd round.

Anyway I saw the Barca game and I saw what happened with both incidents.

The Deco incident, Deco try to drive past the man, the man kinda block him but Deco went down real easy lookin for a free kick. 
The ref wasn't havin it and Deco sit down smilin. 
The player came up behind Deco as he sat and pulled the back of his jersey, at the neck, urging Deco to get up. 
It definitely wasn't his hair.
Deco get vex, pull de man hair and hit him a push-cuff on the side of his head.
Then every man jack run in and Deco continue actin crazy.

The Eto'o ting, Barca win a throw and Esposito and Eto'o were jockeyin for position.
Esposito put his hand on Eto'o chest, Eto'o give him a lil shove and then Esposito moved in front of Eto'o and get spat on, on the side of his face. 

He looked shocked, but the cameras didn't show how he reacted past that.  Play went on like normal.

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #28 on: January 17, 2006, 06:26:03 PM »
All's well that ends well. Eto'o get away with spitting and another Spanish coach get away with a racial slur.
Ketch footballitis