March 28, 2024, 05:41:07 PM

Author Topic: The Jack Warner Thread.  (Read 423828 times)

Re: PRESS CONFERENCE
« Reply #270 on: September 08, 2009, 09:48:25 AM »
oliver camps retiring. jakula's son taking over the family heir loom, i mean the ttff.

« Reply #271 on: September 08, 2009, 09:50:37 AM »
oliver camps retiring. jakula's son taking over the family heir loom, i mean the ttff.

OK D talk is just 2 hand over d captin armband. D question is who.

« Reply #272 on: September 08, 2009, 10:00:19 AM »
He retiring

STOP playing with my emotions!!!!!!  :frustrated:

Your emotins easy 2 play wit because u eh know is a relay he handin d baton 2 Daryan 2 focus on d caravan 4 change

Doh worry....I know!  :-[

« Reply #273 on: September 08, 2009, 10:02:22 AM »

Somebody say....Bleeder ?

« Reply #274 on: September 08, 2009, 10:02:39 AM »
wha station

« Reply #275 on: September 08, 2009, 10:47:53 AM »

I would have given it to Carlos, but a source tells me it will be Dennis Lawrence

« Reply #276 on: September 08, 2009, 10:51:30 AM »
Wasn't this announced already. Isn't this about the Women's U-17 WC?

« Reply #277 on: September 08, 2009, 11:01:19 AM »
Yes I believe its concerning Women football.

Jack retires pulls himself from T&T football every two years in a 4 year cycle, where there is limited money and jumps back in two years before WCQ qualification.

Check the pattern good.

« Reply #278 on: September 08, 2009, 11:05:29 AM »
Yes I believe its concerning Women football.

Jack retires pulls himself from T&T football every two years in a 4 year cycle, where there is limited money and jumps back in two years before WCQ qualification.

Check the pattern good.

That's the beauty of being a Special Advisor... and apparently he is the only one who seems to want to advise us  :beermug:

« Reply #279 on: September 08, 2009, 11:07:40 AM »
he had an operation to fix he thight thongue. ;D

« Reply #280 on: September 08, 2009, 11:27:10 AM »
Press conference done!

Evans Wise back on de team

« Reply #281 on: September 08, 2009, 11:51:51 AM »
Press conference done!

put a smiley face on dat nah.

« Reply #282 on: September 08, 2009, 12:15:24 PM »

« Reply #283 on: September 08, 2009, 12:16:23 PM »
Press conference done!

Should u not have more important ting doin just about now.

« Reply #284 on: September 08, 2009, 06:16:37 PM »
Shaka in Goal- Sancho in the back line- Stern upfront. Nakhid to replace Yorke and Bennie back in the saddle.

« Reply #285 on: September 08, 2009, 08:57:35 PM »

I would have given it to Carlos, but a source tells me it will be Dennis Lawrence

Yeh, Lawrence get it.

« Reply #286 on: September 09, 2009, 12:03:31 AM »

Yeh, Lawrence get it.

Wit 3 games 2 play b4 he retire. Gr8 succession planning

Liburd: Warner implicated in overthrow of Grenada FA.
« Reply #287 on: October 15, 2009, 11:04:03 AM »

Lasana Liburd (www.tnttimes.com) looks in on the latest Caribbean nation to run afoul of FIFA in the past six years and searches for a common thread.

It is not easy to create a visual impression of John P. Collins, he's the United States attorney who sits on FIFA’s Legal Committee. There is no photograph, birth date or personal information on the FIFA website, the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), or the Chicago-based law firm Collins and Collins that employs him—along with Harold E. Collins and Michael R. Collins.

For Caribbean nations that dare to go against the established football body in their respective islands, though, Collins might as well be draped in a black hood and tote a sickle.

It took just four visits from Collins before the executive committee of the Grenada Football Association’s (GFA) folded on October 1. From the first mention of a FIFA “fact finding” mission in Grenada, headed by the American, deposed GFA president Ashley “Ram” Folkes knew he was in trouble.

Collins’ relationship with FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special advisor Jack Warner and the latter’s loyalty to embattled GFA general secretary Victor Daniel—who was suspended by the since expelled GFA executive committee for financial irregularity last year—is at the heart of the perceived injustice that has seen Folkes, a former Grenada football captain and coach before his rise to the post of president, booted out of administration.

The stories are similar in Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados, Dominica and St Kitts.

When Jamaican clubs, unhappy with the financial management of JFA president Captain Horace Burrell, prepared to flex their electoral muscles in 2003, FIFA sent Collins to “monitor” the elections. Burrell and Warner are close friends.

The challenger, Crenston Boxhill, prevailed but his term was punctuated with threats and fines from FIFA and, four years later, he did not seek re-election. Burrell, who remained a CONCACAF member during his exile, returned unopposed.

In explaining why he stepped aside in 2007, Boxhill cited constant harrassment and bemoaned the absence of a level playing field in the election campaign.

“I have decided that in the interest of Jamaica’s football not to participate as a candidate for the post of president,” Boxhill told The Gleaner. “… The current administration has faced the most consistent effort of undermining (as opposed to) any previous administration and it does occupy my mind that if it is going to continue, how realistic it will be to build on the momentum, if at every step of the way one has to be looking over one’s shoulders.”

Folkes must know the feeling. When his slate challenged for power at the GFA executive, on Saturday April 26, 2008, Collins was ringside. There were no electoral irregularities so Folkes knew something was amiss when, two weeks later, FIFA president Sepp Blatter’s congratulatory letter included the assertion that “a lot needs to be done to develop the game in Grenada , to ensure unity in the local football community after the disputed elections”.

Although the incumbent at the elections, Folkes lacked the influence within the executive committee but this was set to change after the vote that weekend assured his slate of numerical superiority.

On Monday, Folkes was questioned about Daniel’s alleged financial misconduct during the previous term and assured the media that investigations would continue. It was the beginning of his demise.

Paul Roberts, a defeated candidate at the 2008 elections and ally of Daniel, made it clear that Folkes’ decision to investigate his general secretary was the sole reason for his removal. Roberts, who owns Grenada’s Spice Capital radio station, claimed that Folkes reneged on a promise not to prosecute Daniel, which was decisive in his victorious campaign in the first place.

“There had been a lot of investigations into Mr Daniel but it was a lot of red herrings,” Roberts told the TnT Times. “The election was a three-way race and I was eliminated in the first round. I asked him whether, if he won, he would continue investigations into Mr Daniel and he said he would not do it.

“But, immediately after he won, he went on radio and said he would bring in the police. Based on that, we said that is not what you came here for; you are here for the development of football.”

Roberts insisted that two previous investigations failed to show conclusive evidence that Daniel was guilty of wrongdoing and accused Folkes of conducting “a witch hunt”.

“We couldn’t have gone higher with any investigation than the FIU (Financial Intelligence Unit),” said Roberts. “Their findings showed that, although there was some suspicion, it was as a result of poor management (as) no system was put in place by the existing executive committee.

“It wasn’t anybody’s fault per say.”

Although Grenada’s national men’s team were in top gear on the field, Roberts and the other defeated candidate, Cheney Joseph, joined forces to eventually force Folkes out of office with FIFA’s help although it is debatable whether the world governing body ever got the two/thirds majority required by GFA statutes.

On October 1, FIFA general secretary Jerome Valcke stated, via a faxed release, that the GFA “was facing serious internal turmoil which was hampering its good function” and mentioned “an administrative turmoil which has a direct impact on its finances”.

“The FIFA Executive Committee discussed the situation and came to the conclusion,” continued Valcke, “that the current GFA Executive Committee lacks the support and credibility to improve the situation and must thus be removed.”

Despite FIFA’s negative assessment of Grenada’s football under Folkes, last December the “Spice Islanders” achieved their highest ever Caribbean Cup placing, second—they beat Trinidad and Tobago 2-1 to effectively eliminate the “Soca Warriors” from the regional tournament—and they qualified for the CONCACAF Gold Cup finals for the first time in their history.

Grenada did not get to the semi-final round of the CONCACAF’s 2010 World Cup qualifying competition but theirs was no shameful capitulation. The island of just over 90,000 residents led regular World Cup guests, Costa Rica, 2-0 at Saint George’s—Blackburn Rovers striker Jason Roberts notched one goal—before the Central American nation fought back to a 2-2 draw and subsequently progressed with a 3-0 triumph in the second leg.

(To put that in perspective, rookie national coach Russell Latapy received a standing ovation for steering Trinidad and Tobago to a 3-2 home defeat against Costa Rica while he also presided over a 4-0 loss in the Warriors’ return fixture on October 10).

But FIFA did not seem to measure the wellbeing of Grenadian football on the robust health of their national team. Not that Folkes would object to Valcke’s assertion that “internal turmoil (…) was hampering (the GFA’s) good function”. But the two men would surely differ with regards to who or what was the responsible party.

Folkes’ first public confrontation with Warner came at the 2008 Caribbean Football Union (CFU) congress in Guadeloupe, two months before the GFA elections. Warner informed the gathering of regional representatives that Antigua and Barbuda would remain suspended for failing to pay nearly $1 million to former general secretary Chet Greene, despite the fact that Greene failed, according to his successors, to support the majority of his claims with documentation.

Greene, who, like Burrell, remained active thanks to a CONCACAF role from Warner, had been ousted from his football role for, according to an Antiguan committee appointed to investigate his tenure, “serious levels of mismanagement, conflict of interest, abuse of power, negligence, financial irregularities and possible criminal activity”.

Folkes and St Kitts’ Peter Jenkins were the only voices raised in support of Antigua.

“We both stood up for Antigua and gave moving presentations,” Folkes told the TnT Times. “I questioned the justice meted out to Antigua as they were debarred from the Congress and (then) tried behind their backs.

“Unfortunately, within months of our stance, both St. Kitts and Grenada were visited by FIFA investigative delegations for one reason or another. We are both now out of office with the upper echelons being pivotal.”

Folkes' relationship with Warner did not improve when the FIFA vice-president requested 1,600 tickets for Grenada’s much vaunted June 2008 World Cup fixture against Costa Rica and the GFA promptly sent him a bill that was paid after some persuasion.

In June 2009, Folkes and Jenkins again provoked a furious response from Warner when Jenkins announced his intention to run against Burrell for a seat on the CONCACAF executive committee. Warner, who has repeatedly openly chided United National Congress (UNC) leader Basdeo Panday for his supposed failure to permit democracy within the Opposition party, accused Jenkins of attempting to “destabilise Caribbean football”.

“I have instructed the general secretary of both the CFU and the CONCACAF to remove you forthwith,” said Warner, in a letter to the former president of the St Kitts and Nevis Football Federation. “I was very critical of the fact that Caribbean football is split over a candidate, which is unprecedented, and this is what we have fought against over the years… I do wish to advise you (Jenkins) that (…) it was decided that the Antigua/Barbuda and Grenada (two members who were absent at the said meeting) should be written to and be asked to submit reasons why disciplinary action should not be taken against them for their attempts to destabilise Caribbean football and Caribbean solidarity within the CFU.

“If their explanations are not satisfactory, disciplinary proceedings shall be instituted against both countries.”

Roberts, for the record, made it clear that he wanted nothing to do with Folkes’ entanglement with Warner.

“Mr Folkes is on his own personal binge of attacking FIFA, CFU, CONCACAF and Jack Warner,” he said. “Jack must have done him something, so he is attacking Jack and Mr Daniel, who is supposedly a protégé of Jack. We are not interested in attacking Jack and corruption in football and Blatter. We are not a part of that.

“He has a bee in his bonnet that we do not know about.”

By then, despite Folkes’ complaints to FIFA, Collins was a regular visitor to their island. In a move reminiscent of UDECoTT’s alleged attempt to nullify the local government’s enquiry, Collins—who specialised in criminal defense law and unsuccessfully defended disgraced US sprinter Justin Gatlin against doping charges—represented Warner when an internal FIFA investigation claimed that the Trinidadian politician benefited from the illegal blackmarket sale of 2006 World Cup tickets. Collins was an employee of FIFA and CONCACAF at the time.

“We felt that since Collins was Jack Warner’s personal lawyer it did not make sense to have him here,” said Folkes. “Our position is once you replace someone who is aligned to Jack Warner, you are under pressure. If the rain falls the executive is blamed and then FIFA comes in…

“The whole thing was so biased that I consider it very (sic). Collins met the executive separately from the clubs so I do not know what the clubs said or complained about. I requested a copy (of his report to FIFA) but was refused.

“In short, I don’t know what my accusers accused me of and I was ‘judged’ in my absence by ‘evidence’ I had no opportunity to verify or contest.” Collins had got his man again.

Editor's Note:

The TNT Times is the next generation in online news.  It’s an articulate cultured voice with style and substance; a digital daily with attitude, a newspaper with a mind of its own.  We’ll give you all sides of the debate and the widest spectrum of opinion that you will find anywhere on the web or in the national press.

With more stamina and commitment than local versions of online newspapers the TNT Times asks the right questions, digs deeper and agitates a conversation through its thought provoking news features, diverse mix of blogs, strong reportage and insightful commentary.

It’s targeted at an intelligent readership that thinks and hopes outside of the status-quo, seeking to be a part of the revolution. We offer our readers the opportunity to share their thoughts and opinion alongside the issues we champion. 

We don’t want to be average: we want to be outstanding and gutsy.  Our website, much like our editorial content, is distinctive, eye catching and unapologetic. 

Through our web design we’ve maintained the flow and familiarity of a quality broadsheet, incorporating social networks and design platforms enhanced with multimedia capabilities, browse by picture, hyperlinks, audio and video for a compact and user-friendly read.

TNT Times can be delivered wired or wirelessly. Our vertically formatted design can fit any digital display screen.

Not only do we work differently, we think differently too.  Our goal is a constant one; to strike up conversation in our ‘news community’; great stories are just the start of that process.

This means the Times does not shy away from syndication and affiliation, but we’re discerning and choose our friends wisely. We’re happy to partner with bloggers, online influencers and websites that pride themselves on intelligent, quality content.

We intend to become the central location for the brightest thinking on the issues of the day, with special emphasises on environmental and sustainability, which underpins our core objective as a sustainable business.

On the editorial side, we stand by our central value as a ‘news community’ to ensure that a diversity of opinions is shared.  We’re encouraging our readers to take responsibility for the community issues that matter to them. 

Our unique news operation brings traditional journalistic rigour to online news not only to drive information and broaden debate but to promote positive action for change. TNT Times is the defining issue of our digital generation.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 11:09:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Liburd: Warner implicated in overthrow of Grenada FA.
« Reply #288 on: October 15, 2009, 01:58:43 PM »
Y I not surprise

« Reply #289 on: October 15, 2009, 02:00:33 PM »
Write Lasana write.

« Reply #290 on: October 15, 2009, 02:02:48 PM »
Write Lasana write.

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNN esp since he suffer we 4 mths.

« Reply #291 on: October 15, 2009, 02:08:43 PM »

Lasana Liburd (www.tnttimes.com) looks in on the latest Caribbean nation to run afoul of FIFA in the past six years and searches for a common thread.

Editor's Note:

The TNT Times is the next generation in online news.  It’s an articulate cultured voice with style and substance; a digital daily with attitude, a newspaper with a mind of its own.  We’ll give you all sides of the debate and the widest spectrum of opinion that you will find anywhere on the web or in the national press.

TNT Times will ask the right questions, dig deeper and agitate a conversation through its thought provoking news features, diverse mix of blogs, strong reportage and insightful commentary.

It’s targeted at an intelligent readership that thinks and hopes outside of the status-quo, seeking to be a part of the revolution. We offer our readers the opportunity to share their thoughts and opinion alongside the issues we champion. 

We don’t want to be average: we want to be outstanding and gutsy.  Our website, much like our editorial content, is distinctive, eye catching and unapologetic. 

Those of us who want to think outside of the status-quo, Lisana is talking to us. It's on brother, it's on.

« Reply #292 on: October 15, 2009, 02:25:33 PM »
Ah eh read the story yet but mih initial reaction to the thread title is...

wwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaattttttttt!!!!!!!!.....

« Reply #293 on: October 15, 2009, 02:40:35 PM »
Although he mentioned Dominica he didn't summarize what went on there. Warner muscled his friend Patrick John back into the DFA presidency. John was the guy who instigated a political coup in Dominica conspiring with Ku Klux Klan (KKK) leaders Don Black and Wolfgang Droege to overthrow the Dominican government in an invasion called "Operation Red Dog".

Warner also inducted John into the CONCACAF hall of fame.

« Reply #294 on: October 15, 2009, 02:45:09 PM »
Ah eh read the story yet but mih initial reaction to the thread title is...

wwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaattttttttt!!!!!!!!.....

Yuh did not c FA and thought iz a next coup :rotfl:

« Reply #295 on: October 15, 2009, 04:47:43 PM »
Austin, Austin, Austin ::) ::)

Thanks, again, Lasana
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #296 on: October 15, 2009, 05:03:24 PM »
Jackals that the jackals would despise,
stones that the dry thistle would bite on and spit out,
vipers that the vipers would abominate!

Offline gothic

« Reply #297 on: October 15, 2009, 05:17:35 PM »
funny, i feel like i knew this story without knowing this story

« Reply #298 on: October 15, 2009, 05:22:14 PM »
funny, i feel like i knew this story without knowing this story

It is a re run

« Reply #299 on: October 15, 2009, 05:30:40 PM »
send some of the young star TnT to get naturalized too nah.  the next Shalri Joseph and    Jason Roberts