April 27, 2024, 05:37:23 PM

Author Topic: The Jack Warner Thread.  (Read 427866 times)

Re: Warner blames TTFF for missing accounts
« Reply #1530 on: February 13, 2012, 10:09:07 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/xY60o0eT1Lw&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/xY60o0eT1Lw&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

« Reply #1531 on: February 13, 2012, 10:46:00 PM »
Ive seen worse errors made.

Whether you've seen worse misses the point... inaccuracies are not only distracting, they can be counter productive.  This is the second straight article where Lasana has claimed that an order was issued to Jack and he ignored/defied it.  This is not at all the case.  Next thing Jack comes out in the press and says that's a lie, and that it's part of a campaign of lies by the players etc.

« Reply #1532 on: February 14, 2012, 08:09:58 AM »
Ive seen worse errors made.

Whether you've seen worse misses the point... inaccuracies are not only distracting, they can be counter productive.  This is the second straight article where Lasana has claimed that an order was issued to Jack and he ignored/defied it.  This is not at all the case.  Next thing Jack comes out in the press and says that's a lie, and that it's part of a campaign of lies by the players etc.

« Reply #1533 on: February 14, 2012, 08:40:45 AM »
Excellent stuff by Lasana. We are very fortunate to have a multitalented writer with investigative journalism skills who has such integrity, independence, class and commitment to the issues and who has decided he eh taking no brown envelope to keep quiet, who won't be muzzled like others in T&T and is willing to be blacklisted and lose income as he was when persecuted by Jackula. Congrats to him that he was able follow his conscience. Few of us could have had the courage to have have done that. Just ask Coop's.

dreamer, yuh real easy to read. writer cyah get de facts straight yet is level praise from you.  :rotfl:

Offline tempo

Get Jack!
« Reply #1534 on: February 14, 2012, 09:17:03 AM »

« Reply #1535 on: February 14, 2012, 09:42:26 AM »
Sancho better watch he self, bc right now the runnings in T&T as we speak is pure under world and mafia business, if he know what good for him he would watch his back real hard, bc i eh putting nothing beyond jack and watson, IMO opinion, dem men cable of any thing, especially when money and power is @ stake.

Re: Get Jack!
« Reply #1536 on: February 14, 2012, 09:55:36 AM »
half hour?

I ent no law expert... but it seem like de sh!t about to hit de fan

« Reply #1537 on: February 14, 2012, 10:15:11 AM »
So the claim that Jack was never issued an ultimatum seems to be borne out here. The TTFF has 1/2hr to get something going, but no directive was issued to Warner. And Lasana talking about get Jack! Steups

Offline tempo

« Reply #1539 on: February 14, 2012, 10:39:59 AM »
Extra time for TTFF
By Lasana Liburd (wired868.com)

Justice Devindra Rampersad has allowed a second half hour break rather than a postponement at the Port of Spain High Court this morning as attorneys for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), its former President Oliver Camps and Works Minister and ex-TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner were ordered to pick their respective paths of action.
The TTFF and Camps showed up with new attorneys at the High Court today while Om Lalla, Warner's lawyer, was absent.
However, Justice Rampersad insists on making headway today and has refused a postponement.
Deryck Ali, attorney for the TTFF, was permitted a half hour break earlier today to speak to General Secretary Richard Groden for the purpose of formulating a plan of action against Warner.
Groden had told the court that Warner claimed he already submitted all relevant accounts but the TTFF was not satisfied he had done so.
Neither Groden nor Ali could decide on the next course of action in relation to Warner and were given time to deliberate.
If anything, they emerged more obstinate after the break.
Ali said his client would take no action against Warner.
Justice Rampersad was not impressed and suggested his client was bordering on contempt.
The court was told that Lalla was on his way and should be at the High Court by 11 am.
Ali said he would like to speak with Lalla before deciding the TTFF's next step.
Justice Rampersad suggested that Lalla's position was irrelevant as he was not attorney for the football body.
However, he agreed to allow the court a second break.
Alvin Ramroop, attorney for Camps, was allowed to leave after explaining that he was not yet "seasoned" of the relevant information for the case. He promised to be abreast of matters within two weeks.
Ali did not get off so easily.

« Reply #1540 on: February 14, 2012, 10:44:16 AM »
well yes, camps lawyer gorne home to get shadow benny and pepper

« Reply #1541 on: February 14, 2012, 10:44:55 AM »
well yes, camps lawyer gorne home to get shadow benny and pepper

oh jesus christ  :rotfl:

but seriously Rampersad... add Jack to the case!! Add him!

« Reply #1542 on: February 14, 2012, 11:57:29 AM »
So let me see if I got this right. Scamps hires a lawyer and his attitude towards the lawyer is "Don't ask me any questions and I won't tell you any lies" and the lawyer's attitude towards Scamps is "okay". Then the lawyer comes to court to represent Scamps not knowing anything about the case? Are you kidding me. You should be shot with shit. And omlaylay, not knowing that he is due in court on the 14th and should be there on time to represent his client? Really? You are that bright that you could see everybody else is that stupid? Omlaylay and his client clearly orchestrated this failed attempt at an postponement and they should be shot with shit after and before being charged with contempt of court.

« Reply #1543 on: February 14, 2012, 01:10:22 PM »
Come on Tempo,Lasana give us the scores nah man,like ah lot of people missing in court today.We got reports they were given half hour to report back to the Judge etc etc that was about two hrs ago,any updates on the final decision,keep up the good work. 

« Reply #1544 on: February 14, 2012, 07:06:28 PM »
good talk dey JC

Re: Judge orders Warner: Show me the money!
« Reply #1545 on: February 15, 2012, 06:50:49 PM »
Judge orders Warner: Show me the money!
By  Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

... But Works Minister dodges court summons

Trinidad and Tobago Minister of Works and Transport Jack Warner, the former FIFA Vice President and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Special Advisor, has until February 10, 2012 to provide to the local High Court written accounts of "all income, donations, gifts, grants or benefits whatsoever and all expenditure" arising from the Germany 2006 World Cup.

However, Justice Devindra Rampersad ruled this morning, via media conferencing at the Port of Spain High Court, that Warner would not be joined to the civil suit over unpaid bonuses, which pits 13 past and present football players against the TTFF and its former President Oliver Camps. Warner, a former history teacher, may consider the ruling to be a Pyrrhic victory—a dangerously expensive triumph.

In an unusual move, Justice Rampersad ruled the TTFF would pay all legal costs despite the fact that attorneys for the "Soca Warriors" were unable to satisfy the court that "at this time... it is necessary to add Mr Warner" to the case.

Defence attorney Om Lalla declared the ruling as "novel" and argued that it ran contrary to "normal principle", despite Justice Rampersad's assertion that he was swayed by the "deplorable" conduct of the defendants. Justice Rampersad permitted Lalla leave to file counter-arguments.

The composition of either team told its own story.

Three of the four local-based claimants, Brent Sancho, Cyd Gray, Anthony Wolfe and Atiba Charles, turned up early and set quietly through the legal proceedings. Aurtis Whitley was the only willful absentee while Kenwyne Jones, Shaka Hislop, Stern John, Kelvin Jack, Avery John, Cornell Glen, Collin Samuel and Evans Wise all reside abroad. Dave De Peiza and Phillip Lamont represented the players aided by George Hislop, father of the World Cup goalkeeper.

On the other side, Warner was otherwise engaged, his lead attorney William McCormick was "unavoidably absent" QC, TTFF General Secretary Richard Groden was absent without leave—Lalla suggested Groden might have been wandering through the High Court trying to find Room 19 but he never turned up—and Camps sent a message that he was unwell. Lalla could not find an excuse for Camps' attorney, Anabelle Sooklal, who did not turn up either.

"I am not sure why (Sooklal) is not present," he offered.

"Don't you agree that is an affront to the court?" asked Rampersad, in relation to the absences.

Lalla agreed with a nod of the head and promised to "make all attempts" to have them there at the next court date.

There was also a matter of the missing $4.6 million (US$724,000) interim award that should have been paid on October 18, 2011 but, three months later, still had not reached the players. Lalla said he had not "seen the General Secretary".

Lalla was polite, soft-spoken and not prone to theatrics. Yet the complexities of the case—plus the absence of the flamboyant Warner—meant that he was the star attraction. Lalla represents the TTFF (the First Defendant) and Warner (the intended Third Defendant) and, for much of the matter, was also counsel for Camps (the Second Defendant). It is a role that arguably requires a straight face and a measured tongue.

Lalla put forward that the First and Second Defendants are ignorant of the whereabouts of over $180 million (US$23 million) in World Cup related revenue because it was banked in ports unknown by its representative and the intended Third Defendant who repeatedly denied requests to account for the funds. He then, as counsel for the intended Third Defendant, said there was no need for panic as the First and Second Defendants had only to ask for the accounts to be produced and he would happily do so.

Camps' affidavit, filed on August 24, 2011—and the basis for the Warriors' unsuccessful attempt at joining Warner to the case—stated that "I have no information or records for (LOC Germany) as this was (...) under the control of special advisor, Mr Jack Warner. The executive and I have made repeated requests for Mr Warner to provide accounts..." The TTFF, represented by Lalla, concurred that only Warner could testify the whereabouts of millions of football cash.

Lalla then arguably disputed the TTFF claim of "repeated (unanswered) requests" by virtue of his follow up affidavit on Warner's behalf, which declared that the former FIFA Vice President was "prepared to provide to the First Defendant the information and documentation relevant to the taking of the accounts".

Since the aggrieved players requested disclosure rather than payment from Warner, Justice Rampersad accepted that the Government MP had already promised to provide the relevant information and therefore ruled it was unnecessary to join him to the case. But the Judge was growing weary of Lalla's double act as well as his unwillingness to get tough and sue himself—that is, to advise the First Defendant to take legal action against its former Special Advisor.

Justice Rampersad accused the TTFF of sleeping on its responsibility and blasted its "nonchalant and lackadaisical approach" and "contented failure to call for the accounts". He also expressed suspicion at Lalla's presence in the various defense camps as well as the TTFF's inability to substantiate its claims of repeated requests to Warner.

"It is remarkable and quite astounding that, to date, no steps have been taken by the first named defendant to obtain those accounts by compulsion," stated Justice Rampersad, "if, as the second named defendant has deposed, repeated requests have been denied...

"Even more remarkably, both Mr Warner and the first named defendant have retained the same attorneys-at-law to deal with this matter... To me, there is an obvious conflict of interest in circumstances where there exists an order of the court for the provision of accounts and the accounting party throws the blame for failing to fully comply with the order upon its agent—both of whom are represented by the same attorneys—yet takes no assertive steps whatsoever to bring the defaulting party to account...

"Had independent attorneys been secured for the (TTFF), it is likely that a greater sense of urgency may have materialized..."

Justice Rampersad warned that he was mindful of invoking Section 26.1(1)(t) of the Civil Procedures Rules but stopped short of doing so because "for now, that does not arise". He also insisted that he was mindful of "fast approaching" statutory time limits that might make it impossible to initiate legal action against Warner.

Warner has four weeks to fulfill his promise to account for the missing World Cup money, which nearly six years later, remains an unspecified sum. Lalla was advised to ensure that Groden gets proper directions to the court room on February 14, 2012 while Justice Rampersad cautioned that he would take "whatever steps" if Camps and his attorney were absent again.

"I cannot allow that," said Justice Rampersad.

Lalla nodded in agree
ment and smiled.

Stay tuned to the blogs people.
Not much to learn from the so-called "mainstream media" in T&T.

Re: Judge orders Warner: Show me the money!
« Reply #1546 on: February 15, 2012, 06:52:34 PM »
This inaccurate titled thread again.

Offline tempo

Kamla says no to Jack investigation
« Reply #1547 on: February 18, 2012, 09:47:08 AM »
Can anyone think of anything positive this government has done?

PM, UNC refuse to probe Warner.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and United National Congress Deputy Chairman and Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan have refused to probe the behaviour of Works Minister and ex-FIFA Vice President Jack Warner despite complaints from: ravaged regional neighbour, Haiti, the High Court, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), FIFA and 13 World Cup 2006 players and Chaconia Gold award recipients.

Warner is Chairman of the United National Congress (UNC), which is the dominant party in the ruling coalition government. On Friday, the TTFF was ordered by the High Court to send Warner a pre-action protocol letter after his repeated refusal to produce 2006 World Cup accounting documents.

In the past week, he was: described by Justice Devindra Rampersad as a "renegade agent", accused by the TTFF of monopolising its most lucrative account and refusing to provide bank statements, called an enemy of football by past and present national football icons and denounced by the Federation of Haitian Football (FHF) and FIFA for allegedly misappropriating emergency aid funds in the wake of a devastating earthquake that rocked Port-au-Prince on 12 January 2010.

Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar and the UNC are yet to comment on the development.

Persad-Bissessar, when questioned by Wired868.com on allegations over Warner's handling of the aid money, said that there was no need for action by the head of the government.

Read More

« Last Edit: February 18, 2012, 10:31:33 AM by Flex »

Re: Kamla says no to Jack investigation
« Reply #1548 on: February 18, 2012, 10:40:35 AM »
This is disgusting.

I really hated Patrick Manning now he is not even close to Kamla when it comes to being one of the worst PM from Trinidad and Tobago EVER !!!!!!!!!

I even prefer George Chambers and Basdeo Panday.

Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Anil Roberts, Anand Ramlogan, Nizam Mohammed, Dwayne Gibbs, Jack Warner and Fuad Khan are the worst !!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hate these people.....

Corruption infested crooks !!!!!!!!!

Them time go come !!!!!!!!!!!!

Kamla get Jack money, so she will not say anthing or else she ass in jail too.

« Last Edit: February 18, 2012, 10:48:42 AM by Sam »

« Reply #1549 on: February 18, 2012, 11:23:37 AM »
Keep the pressure on Liburd.
It must feel strange when you're the only (or one of very few) journalist (s)  doing proper investigative reporting and willing to ask the hard questions. I only hope you don't get sacrificed by these evil people.

Talk is cheap. Only people with genuine backbone and heart are willing to stand by their word.

« Reply #1550 on: February 18, 2012, 11:50:54 AM »
Sword them Lasana !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1551 on: February 18, 2012, 11:55:27 AM »
Unless he did something while in office, I don't expect Kamla to investigate anything.

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #1552 on: February 18, 2012, 12:46:59 PM »
Lasana is an investigative journalist?

steups.......

« Reply #1553 on: February 18, 2012, 01:13:35 PM »

steups.......

like he do you something already?  ???

« Reply #1554 on: February 18, 2012, 01:15:28 PM »

steups.......

More so than any other T&T Journalist presently, most of which are easily bought.

« Reply #1555 on: February 18, 2012, 02:10:40 PM »
Let's see if THIS one gets printed:-

[THE EDITOR]

Dear Sir,

I am writing to you this personal note regarding what I consider to be a serious omission on your part and that is the failure of you and your media organization to ask the necessary hard questions of Jack Warner regarding this behavior while an official of FIFA and especially his stewardship of LOC 2006 Ltd.

Over the years many reputable foreign journalists have asked these questions of Mr. Warner and got very unsatisfactory answers. Only Lasana Liburd, among local journalists has asked seriously probing questions of Mr. Warner and received either insults or ridiculous rants in return. While Mr. Warner spent 28 years at FIFA he amassed a personal fortune that, one reputable local senior council told me, is in the region of five hundred million Unites States dollars. Of course, the bulk of this money has come from being awarded the regional rights to football World Cup and other FIFA sanctioned world football tournaments.

Now, as you would know, an administrative official of a sporting organization has absolutely no right to pocket millions of dollars from TV rights to World Cup. You think the head of the English FA is awarded the English TV rights to the World Cup. Absolutely not. The rights have to be sold to a legitimate television station with the proceeds going to the regional football federation to develop youth and other football programmes for the region. Yet when Mr. Warner is exposed for personally receiving many millions of dollars from World Cup TV rights, not only do you not question him on the matter but you refuse to print my letters asking him the necessary questions on the matter.

Now, let us get to LOC 2006 Ltd. I am told by those in the know that the total amount of money received by this company would be close to 160 million TT dollars. There were 3 signatories to the account- Jack Warner, Darryl Warner and Daryan Warner. Now half of the revenue of that company was promised by Mr. Warner himself to the 2006 Soca Warriors and then afterwards instead of 80 million Mr. Warner offers them $400,000 dollars instead. If we ever get to the truth about what happened to the LOC 2006 fund, I am certain that a minimum of 60 million dollarshas ended up in the wrong place.

Let me now tell you what is really happening here. The late, great, Jeffrey Stollmeyer, was the President of the WIBC for 7 years, among his other contributions, and if you dared to suggest in a meeting that he should pocket TV rights to a cricket series the meeting would have ended right there. In addition, the icy glare you would have received from him also let you know you are no longer welcome to call him ever again.

Instead, we have Mr. Warner now establishing the precedent for regional sporting administrators to pocket the lions’ share of the revenue coming in to the sporting organizations they are in charge of. Like I said in a previously unprinted letter on the matter, it is like the Governor of the Central Bank receiving commissions from deposits the bank is holding from commercial banks. I now understand that both Messrs Rosseau and Dehrig also pocketed substantial amounts of WIBC money while negotiating TV rights on behalf of regional cricket for the 2007 cricket World Cup and the head of the Guyana cricket board is also now looking after himself, albeit In a much smaller way.

However, the point is that following Mr. Warners’ lead, sporting administrators in the region are now in it not for the love of the sport or to serve but to fill their own pockets and we have Jack Warner and a compliant media to thank for that.

With great disappointment

Gregory Wight
 Diego Martin

« Reply #1556 on: February 18, 2012, 02:25:35 PM »
Keep the pressure on Liburd.
It must feel strange when you're the only (or one of very few) journalist (s)  doing proper investigative reporting and willing to ask the hard questions. I only hope you don't get sacrificed by these evil people.

Talk is cheap. Only people with genuine backbone and heart are willing to stand by their word.

Remember that it was this government that want to license journalists. Do you remember what happened to the journalist from Newsday and how the pp went after him?

I can say with certainty that we've now added the Banana before the Republic of TnT

« Reply #1557 on: February 18, 2012, 02:41:49 PM »
like allyuh forget jack had big cookout for d media and name each dish after d 'journalists'? jack and d media is limin pardnas

its relly disgusting the silence over this...this is frontpage stuff not sports section

« Reply #1558 on: February 18, 2012, 03:23:50 PM »

steups.......

Nah.....his expose in 2005 that saved me from $30,000 for 3 tix to the T&T games and a gym bag full ah crap was just him talking out he arse....... ::) ::)

« Reply #1559 on: February 18, 2012, 03:29:38 PM »
Fuad say the court case with the private civil matter......never mind it involves public funds.......aye these people good yes......

But I understand yuh know.......ah mean after all a detailed audit just might see the trail leading to Ross Advertising and any organisations/persons linked with the UNC election campaigns........

But the longest rope have an end........Kamla could run all she want but she cyar hide.....