March 28, 2024, 01:20:49 PM

Author Topic: Local players upset with World Cup pay.  (Read 6307 times)

Local players upset with World Cup pay.
« on: January 19, 2006, 04:07:58 AM »
Local players upset with World Cup pay.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Members of the national football team who played in the early rounds of the Concacaf qualifying matches leading up to the World Cup Finals are unhappy with their rewards.
The players met with members of the Football Federation, including team manager Bruce Aanensen, yesterday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium to discuss their concerns.
Some 55 team members will receive bonus payments for leading the team to its first World Cup Finals.
The total number of players represents those who were part of the national squad dating back to T&T’s first qualifying match against Dominican Republic on June 20, 2004 up to T&T’s 1-0 second-leg win over Bahrain in Manama on November 16 last year.
The players are to share just over US$1.6 million, part of the US $6 million Swiss francs, for qualification to Germany.
Among members of the T&T team who met with Aanensen were Anthony Rougier, Cornell Glen, Kerwyn Jemmott, Anthony Wolfe, Glenton Wolfe, Anton Pierre, Gary Glasgow, Nigel Pierre, Jerren Nixon, Kerry Baptiste, Scott Sealy, Brent Rahim, Duarance Williams, Jan-Michael Williams, Nigel Henry, David Atiba Charles, Errol Mc Farlane Jr, Michael Celestine and Arnold Dwarika.
Speaking on condition of anonymity, one player explained that the group of players understood fully that they were not there in the end.
“But at the same time, we feel that being there at the start of the journey was as important.”
Another touchy issue was that the players felt the T&TFF should have first made sure that everyone was happy with what they were getting before finalising a figure to be given to charity.
The T&TFF said that the players had decided that a balance of US $36,822 was for two local charities, one in Tobago and the other in Trinidad.
“We are not against giving money to charities, but we would have liked to meet with the representatives of the T&TFF before this was done.”
In the release from the T&TFF on Monday it was stated that the proposal which came after the first three final round matches when T&T held one point was presented to the players, and they all agreed that the players who were part of the final round squad would benefit from the amount.
Players who were part of the team in the second round (T&T had a first round bye) and semi-final round would also receive a bonus payment.
According to the release the overall structure of payment was once based on a points per match system and players’ overall international appearances which was mutually agreed upon by all parties involved.
In response, Aanensen explained that some of the players did not fully understand how the payments were worked out. “I believed some of them feel that they were entitled to a little more than they will be actually receiving.”
He added: “The players who were involved in the first round were not originally going to be part of the pay-out.
“An agreement was reached between the players representative and the T&TFF representative at the beginning of the second round of matches in terms of incentives and reward for the players.
“However Mr Warner felt he needed to reward everyone who was involved in the team’s journey to the finals.”
Asked if all the guys were happy at the end of the meeting the team manager said: “We are all human and it is only natural to feel that you deserved more that you got in the end.”
« Last Edit: January 19, 2006, 04:44:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Local players upset with World Cup pay.
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2006, 06:47:19 AM »
Yuh go always have problems where money is concerned. It also woulda be nightmarish to have a meeting with 55 players. Dat is why dem fellas need a players association so things like this could be negotiated properly prior to the whole campaign. Someone will always be dissatisfied.

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2006, 06:53:01 AM »
boucard must be smiling now boy

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2006, 06:53:29 AM »
I work with money everyday and I know that is Tru

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2006, 07:08:37 AM »
Among members of the T&T team who met with Aanensen were Anthony Rougier, Cornell Glen, Kerwyn Jemmott, Anthony Wolfe, Glenton Wolfe, Anton Pierre, Gary Glasgow, Nigel Pierre, Jerren Nixon, Kerry Baptiste, Scott Sealy, Brent Rahim, Duarance Williams, Jan-Michael Williams, Nigel Henry, David Atiba Charles, Errol Mc Farlane Jr, Michael Celestine and Arnold Dwarika.
To put things in perspective, here is the WCQ 2006 appearance info for these players:

Brent Rahim - 8 games
Cornell Glen - 7 games, 1 goal
Scott Sealy - 6 games, 1 goal
Anthony Rougier - 6 games
Errol Mc Farlane Jr - 5 games, 3 goals
David Atiba Charles - 4 games
Arnold Dwarika - 3 games
Anton Pierre - 3 games
Jerren Nixon - 2 games, 1 goal
Kerry Baptiste - 2 games
Kerwyn Jemmott - 1 games
Gary Glasgow - 1 game
Nigel Pierre - 1 game
Duarance Williams - 1 game
Nigel Henry - 1 game
Anthony Wolfe - 0 games
Glenton Wolfe - 0 games
Jan-Michael Williams - 0 games
Michael Celestine - 0 games
« Last Edit: January 19, 2006, 07:21:39 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2006, 07:43:56 AM »
I don't agree with this 100% for the same reason i don't agree with BSC getting a share. The thing is every player in my opinion to wear the national uniform should get a share.

Members of the strike squad should get money to for starting the dream.The '74 team should get money for actually being the first to reach Germany although being robbed.

Together with that all the players in between each of those 16 years should get money. What is the difference.

Men bawling that they was there from the beginning and should get something more. Them fellas have to realise that getting anything at all ...they should be thankfull for. IF you was good enough ...you would have been on the final 11 to face Bahrain.

Only in Trinidad men does get rewarded for mediocrity.

« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2006, 08:05:59 AM »
Man want money even though they were not good enough to make de squad! Steups!  Wat bout de men who train with the team?

Them fellas should be glad that they getting something at all!!

Consider this point, them fellas should realise that we would not have qualified if we remained with them in the squad!!

Well said cowen, i agree with u totally!!

« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2006, 08:09:16 AM »

Well said.....

« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2006, 08:23:19 AM »
I don't agree with this 100% for the same reason i don't agree with BSC getting a share. The thing is every player in my opinion to wear the national uniform should get a share.

Members of the strike squad should get money to for starting the dream.The '74 team should get money for actually being the first to reach Germany although being robbed.

Together with that all the players in between each of those 16 years should get money. What is the difference.

Men bawling that they was there from the beginning and should get something more. Them fellas have to realise that getting anything at all ...they should be thankfull for. IF you was good enough ...you would have been on the final 11 to face Bahrain.

There is another way to look at it. The Road to Germany was the Project, and involved several rounds of play. During each stage, contributions were made by those involved toward the accomplishment of the objective. If rewards are handed out for meeting the objective, then all involved should share.  :angel:

« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2006, 08:33:04 AM »
i with Cowen also.  especially when he said if they were good enough they would have been in the final squad.

No way BSC should get a penny after he was fired.

« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2006, 08:33:54 AM »
There is another way to look at it. The Road to Germany was the Project, and involved several rounds of play. During each stage, contributions were made by those involved toward the accomplishment of the objective. If rewards are handed out for meeting the objective, then all involved should share.  

Given that this is our 1st WC qualification (for whatever reasons), where do you draw the line as far as those who made this happened?  I think that becomes the tough question.....

« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2006, 08:38:01 AM »
Mc Farlane is a boss...3 goals in 5 games
Did anybody ever interview this man to find out why he was discarded so quickly after the second round??

« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2006, 08:38:56 AM »

There is another way to look at it. The Road to Germany was the Project, and involved several rounds of play. During each stage, contributions were made by those involved toward the accomplishment of the objective. If rewards are handed out for meeting the objective, then all involved should share.  :angel:

Every man that stepped on the training pitch, sat on a bench carried a jug of water, should get a lil something from the Journey to Germany rewards.  You never know how having the wolfe brothers in practice may have helped Theobold step his game up, or maybe a play that happened was a learning point for him that helped in a game.
The way life is no one can say that if you go back in time and change one little aspect, remove one player from the scenario that things will still work out the same way, so everyone who was there along the way contributed in some way.
That being said if your contribution was minimal, your payout will reflect this.  I am surprised by some of the names on that list, especially some of the guys that scored Goals. {cough} Errol McFarlane Jr {cough}

« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2006, 08:41:17 AM »
Did anybody ever interview this man to find out why he was discarded so quickly after the second round??

His hairstyle :devil: :devil:

« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2006, 09:14:18 AM »
dis eh supprizin ah tall. We suffering from un-ah-kus-tom...every man Jack(in every sence)....Jack had an opportunity tuh bring lil more respect tuh he name, but chew he fondness for more..gorn and fack dat up and now some players tink dey get short change....yuh pullstones earliah and now yuh want tuh reap de benefit of oddahs....long flikkin steeeeeeeupes fuh dat yes....stay tuned for more.

« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2006, 09:23:33 AM »

I'm not sure how much of a chance Beenhakker ever had to evaluate him.  Is he still based in Iceland?

« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2006, 09:27:58 AM »
dis eh supprizin ah tall. We suffering from un-ah-kus-tom...every man Jack(in every sence)....Jack had an opportunity tuh bring lil more respect tuh he name, but chew he fondness for more..gorn and fack dat up and now some players tink dey get short change....yuh pullstones earliah and now yuh want tuh reap de benefit of oddahs....long flikkin steeeeeeeupes fuh dat yes....stay tuned for more.

allyuh men real unfair... talking bout men pullstones earlier and want to reap the benefit of others now.  What people don't realise is that a World Cup Qualification campaign is a long journey.  Not just a few games.  EVERY MAN who was on the team during the two year or so qualification run needs to be compensated.  Every last one.  A squad of 16 men cannot qualify for a World Cup.  And that is the value of DEPTH in a qualifying campaign.

This was a team effort.  And without beating St. Kitts and St. Vincent there would have been no Bahrain and no World Cup qualification.  

If a man get drop in the laters so be it, but that does not take away from the fact that he played a role in the ultimate qualification of the team.  Likewise Bertille St. Clair.  Say what you want, the man did play a role as well.  He coached throughout the earlier stages, and when his services were no longer required he was relieved of the post.  But the fact remans that he played a part in the qualifying campaign.

Tallest, how many players contributed to the Strike Squad campaign?  Do we know?  I can assure you that it was not just 16 people and the Technical Staff.

« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2006, 09:55:10 AM »
ok ok pullstones kinda harsh dey...

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2006, 10:04:35 AM »
this is a spot of bother because the players who played in the later rounds would have had to play against much tougher opposition and face much more pressure to make the team, keep their form, fight with their clubs to get to come away etc....perhaps it appears equitable that everyone should get something but surely the guys in the later rounds deserve a bigger bite....

« Reply #19 on: January 19, 2006, 10:11:07 AM »
the money should of been shared out on a points system like a ratio more or less.

Is obvious that say Nigel Pierre should not get the same amout as Stern.

Some sort of points system should have been worked out according to your contribution and men cyah get vex cause yuh get pay according to how much you work.

Also jes like cricket and WIPA we should have a football association to bargain on behalf of the players and it should be run by David Nakhid cause like the rest of them fellas afraid to stand up to Jack.

Ms que un club.

« Reply #20 on: January 19, 2006, 10:11:37 AM »
And when next WCQ roll around is these same local players on the field to get us through the early rounds.
We play the most qualifiers than any other team.....no way in hell you getting your foreign based back for all them games, especially the early rounds so them local players pull we through.  Without them it wasn't happening.

Many will lose their place (nothing wrong with that) but it should not be that their efforts will go unrecognized/dismissed by die hard fans no less.  NOT COOL!

The money thing is their fault, no players association means no unified voice or mechanisms to deal with these things which will always come up.

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2006, 10:14:36 AM »
And when next WCQ roll around is these same local players on the field to get us through the early rounds.
We play the most qualifiers than any other team.....no way in hell you getting your foreign based back for all them games, especially the early rounds so them local players pull we through.  Without them it wasn't happening.

Many will lose their place (nothing wrong with that) but it should not be that their efforts will go unrecognized/dismissed by die hard fans no less.  NOT COOL!

The money thing is their fault, no players association means no unified voice or mechanisms to deal with these things which will always come up.

I totally agree.  Only thing is that there IS a players association.  The problem is that there seems not to have been sufficient local player presence in the England meeting to make the views of the local-based heard.

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2006, 10:23:23 AM »
I think all this thing going on about players compensation for representing their country is a bit childish of some of our players.

I know we live in different times but players have to understand not because they tryout with the national team,sit on the bench etc they have to be paid for it.

Players today benefit in so many other different ways besides getting paid when they represent their country,to represent T&T is not an honor anymore all it's about is money,that's why these same players struggle to gain contracts with so called small clubs we want to know why,are they worth the money they are asking for?

It's not the first time this issue come up,it happened a couple years ago Angus Eve,Kelvin Jack etc all these guys went on strike,it's time the TTFF put their house in order and have guidelines in place for dealing with issues like this.They paid these incentives quick to avoid a repeat of what happened in the past,plus they can't afford a situation like this at this point in time.

The problem with the TTFF is like they are not prepared for anything,if you try to find out their long term plans there are none,everything is immediate and the only way to deal with that is shortcuts.As a Coach myself i think if there is one person that should be paid it's Bsc regardless to what he had a tough job.

« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2006, 10:27:44 AM »

I totally agree.  Only thing is that there IS a players association.  The problem is that there seems not to have been sufficient local player presence in the England meeting to make the views of the local-based heard.

Yea that Players Commiittee.  But I not sure if that is part of the players assoication or just an ad hoc thing they put together to discuss the payout.  They had start it off but then Sancho leave for Scotland and I never hear about it again.

That would be a good question to ask in any upcoming interviews.
TI...ask Jemmot if it still have one.  I not sure they have any officers.

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2006, 10:30:02 AM »

Also jes like cricket and WIPA we should have a football association to bargain on behalf of the players and it should be run by David Nakhid cause like the rest of them fellas afraid to stand up to Jack.
Aye brother you made my day,i know there are times when Nakhid can be of some use to us. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2006, 10:37:17 AM »

Aye brother you made my day,i know there are times when Nakhid can be of some use to us. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

you really feel Stern or Tallman going and tell Jacl haul he stinking muddas c__t. We want more money and we eh playing till we get it.
Dem fellas eh have that kind ah belly. We need Nakhid for that wok.

Ms que un club.

« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2006, 10:56:06 AM »
IAs a Coach myself i think if there is one person that should be paid it's Bsc regardless to what he had a tough job.

Coops just to clarify
are u saying BSC should get a bonus??

« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2006, 11:26:17 AM »
IAs a Coach myself i think if there is one person that should be paid it's Bsc regardless to what he had a tough job.

Coops just to clarify
are u saying BSC should get a bonus??

Ah don't agree with that statement Coops. the man was fired because he was incapable of doing the job he was hired to do.

Imagine you in a big company. They hire you to increase the viability of the company or some shit like that (i'm not a business major). Only to realise .....that you is ah shit snake ....and the company no better than before you started. So You get fired.

They hire a hot shot financier or something ..... and money start to roll in the company. They decide to pay a bonus to the employees for all the hard work they doing presently in the company.

All of a sudden all the men who get fired for the shit they was doing jump up and say ..well i need something to for the job i used to do but wasn't good at.

In the real world ........ that shit can't happen. You wasn't good enough so we let you go. Simple as that ..... don't come trying to reap the benefits of the work people capable of doing it getting.

« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2006, 11:27:44 AM »
the fact that they get called into natl duty alone should be reward for them since their value and reputation rises.

they should get some pay but how much they honestly expecting.

« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2006, 11:45:38 AM »
Cowen absolutely correct again
then anybody that was fired from a company in the past should go back and ask the old boss, "where is my bonus money' even though you fired me.

fired employee forfeits all bonuses.  unless BSC have something in a contract stating he owed such and such in event that he is fired then $0.