June 15, 2024, 10:06:30 PM

Author Topic: Oyo! Rougier selected. Beenie you're a genius  (Read 6580 times)

Oyo! Rougier selected. Beenie you're a genius
« on: January 21, 2006, 07:28:42 AM »
I am a happy man today. People on dis site go know that I have been pushing hard for Rougier's selection as a Brazilian type wing back or all-purpose defender if need be. Guess what, dfreamer's dream came tru. Express today, clarified training venue settled (Hasely Crawford Stadium). From today at 9.30 am - 5 pm sessions begin with special invitees including Rougier, Nigel Henry, gary Glasgow, Errol McFarlane, Jan-Michaerl Williams, Kerry Baptiste, Stephen Cruikshank, Anthony Wolfe, and ...Avery John, Cornell Glen, Scott Sealy, Brent Rahim, Glenton Wolfe, Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley, Silvio Spann.

They mention "notable absentees" in the list, Eve,Jemmott, Nigel Pierre, Atiba Charles, Nixon, Duarance Williams, however I would not read too much into that from reporter Nigel simon. So Trininfinite relax breds, Jemmott, I'm sure has a chance still.

Here what, I go try and buss a lime down stadium today. Go Rougier go!  Remember you are there for the WING BACK POSITION primarily. If you are in we will reach the second round. Well done Beenie, Lincoln and Anton!

Re: Oyo! Rougier selected. Beenie you're a genius
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 07:47:10 AM »
They mention "notable absentees" in the list, Eve,Jemmott, Nigel Pierre, Atiba Charles, Nixon, Duarance Williams, however I would not read too much into that from reporter Nigel simon. So Trininfinite relax breds, Jemmott, I'm sure has a chance still.

I feel we still have to put him on a suicide watch.

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2006, 08:24:17 AM »
Good one JDB.
By the way, the Newsday says sessions today at 9.00 am at Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar
and 5.00 pm session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. So get allyuh facts straight. Is a good ting a reading all the papers as I almost pelt dong to de wrong stadium for 9.00. Express real misleading people boy.

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2006, 08:25:53 AM »

I feel we still have to put him on a suicide watch.

Ahahahahahaha... wheeey sar... I wonder why deh was absent...

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2006, 09:19:06 AM »
Express today, clarified training venue settled (Hasely Crawford Stadium). From today at 9.30 am - 5 pm sessions begin with special invitees including

guess they didnt have trouble finding venues after all.

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2006, 10:15:19 AM »
I am a happy man today. People on dis site go know that I have been pushing hard for Rougier's selection as a Brazilian type wing back or all-purpose defender if need be. Guess what, dfreamer's dream came tru. Express today, clarified training venue settled (Hasely Crawford Stadium). From today at 9.30 am - 5 pm sessions begin with special invitees including Rougier, Nigel Henry, gary Glasgow, Errol McFarlane, Jan-Michaerl Williams, Kerry Baptiste, Stephen Cruikshank, Anthony Wolfe, and ...Avery John, Cornell Glen, Scott Sealy, Brent Rahim, Glenton Wolfe, Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley, Silvio Spann.

Here what, I go try and buss a lime down stadium today. Go Rougier go!  Remember you are there for the WING BACK POSITION primarily. If you are in we will reach the second round. Well done Beenie, Lincoln and Anton!
Big up to Roughier.. bUT this ting a mad mi.. How cum de only callin up senoir citizens.. Yow dem should call up  Gally  ..yuh call up Hutchinson..call up Jamerson..brian..call up de whole f**kin strike squad then.... doh call up no youngstars.. A peer f**kery a gwan in my book dread!!!!!!!!!!!!
warmonga..
"dem sey age is jes a number but we have to draw de line here and now!!!"

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2006, 10:46:52 AM »
answer dis one question dreamer, why is grey, spann and whitley on dat list? when they are not in trinidad? and also, i dont believe hardest is not on dat list, diz bullshit tuh leave hardest and dwarika off de list

by de way, i read de online express, it have no article pertainig to practise, so what bullshit are talkin, u really dreaming or wha?
« Last Edit: January 21, 2006, 10:53:32 AM by TrinInfinite »

« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2006, 11:26:29 AM »
Dreamer what makes Rougier a good wing back in your opinion?

« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2006, 11:39:12 AM »
Well,
  Firstly, to you warmonga. Rougier is like Yorke in his early-mid 30's. It's not about harking to the old days for old players. A job has to be done, a search is on to fill our weak spots (Wing backs and left links and strikers and left inswinger corner specialists from the right side) and Rougier is a man that can do it possibly. He is on trial, not guaranteed a spot. If you know a man to do a mature, confident, sturdy, intimidating, safe tackling, good crossing, good heading, good shooting, 2-footed, wing back job, and able to be switched from right to left or center-back in case Dog and Tallest are injured before or during the World Cup, then please push for that name on this site. Take action and let men debate your recommendation, organize an interview with that player etc.

And to Trininfinite, It's important to know that our local newspapers are as thick as a Brittanica encyclopedia now and only a small fraction of the news and pictures is selected for the website news.  Express story is on. I do apologize for an error. The story is headlined "Rougier, Henry get T&Tb trial is in the Guardian, not the Express on page 60 by Nigel Simon. Newsday's story"Beenhacker scans payers for Miami camp is on page 38 and has the same list of players.

Now Trininfinite, I won't be surprised if some of the foreign based players you mentioned aren't there (that occurred to me to) and I won't be surprised that, out of sloppy reporting, Jemmott, Dwarika and the rest were omitted from the list. That's why I said in my earlier post "I would not read too much into that" and "trininfinite relax breds"

Well rain finish falling, I now licking up some stew chicken and ah making a Hasely this afternoon at 5.oo pm to check de scenes for accuracy, so Trininfinite hold tight. Ah backing yuh boy too.

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2006, 11:41:42 AM »
Peong, I hope you have seen Rougier in that role (I believe by Vranes or Porterfield) and he was excellent.

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2006, 12:17:31 PM »
Anybody going Hasely this afternoon to check out dem fellas? Cyah rely on these "mainstream" journalists. Have to see Rougier (and Hardest too, ok Trininfinite) wid meh own two eye. Curious to see the training/screening methods being used.

« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2006, 12:23:06 PM »
 So what if Hardest int get call...Who he playing for? Crab Connection in super league...What about Jablo's front man Noray, and Connection Talent Toussaint...They int get call and they playing for better clubs...Go T&T

« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2006, 12:40:21 PM »
Peong, I hope you have seen Rougier in that role (I believe by Vranes or Porterfield) and he was excellent.

I thought I remembered seeing him play in central defense for us.  I don't remember too much about that though.

In seeing him play different positions for us I never got the impression that he has pace though, something a wingback needs.
But you probably know more about Rougier than I do.

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2006, 12:55:57 PM »
roughier played the right wing back position very well uner bertille st. clair in the 2000 gold cup. At his current age i don't think he has the speed to be effective in that position right now.  The only position I think he can help the team right now is as a sweeper (where rene simoes used him) or a defensive midfielder because he reads rhe came wel and he is a solid tackler.

« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2006, 01:00:54 PM »
Decent point NUFF (he really reads the game well). This speed issue I want to solve by watching him now as if he is now too slow, I trust that Beenie would do the right thing and drop him. I agree with the sweeper stuff as Yorke has no right to be back there as he is now if Rougier can do it. The reason his chances are so good is that the man is really a true utility/multipurpose player.

« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2006, 01:11:26 PM »
aight dreamer yuh redeem yuhself, tell me de stories and tell meh how meh boy play tuday, coz a talkin 2 him on monday, all de bess, tell we de vibes

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2006, 01:13:16 PM »
A A i was looking hard at de list to see if HARDEST namë was deh but i guess not al who was talkin sh&% now lemme hear alluh blood clarts :rotfl: :rotfl:
All American

Offline Solo

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2006, 02:00:30 PM »
i barely missed the session this morning ;D sorry that i cyan mek this afternoon.

I hope deh call a few more players. ::)

I surprise deh ent call Attiba and Nigel Daniel....

« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2006, 02:09:02 PM »
anybody know how old Attiba Charles is?  He was dropped for making one mistake against de U S.  I think he has the potential to be a very good player with a little more experience.

« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2006, 03:18:08 PM »
I don't unnerstan this the jist or point of this story from the Guardian..
Was Seabra called again or is a back in times someting

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sports4.html

can someone clarify ?

« Reply #20 on: January 21, 2006, 04:16:10 PM »

can someone clarify ?

I was wondering de same ting. Ah tink is ah back in times someting.

« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2006, 04:30:00 PM »

can someone clarify ?

I was wondering de same ting. Ah tink is ah back in times someting.
Is ah back in times ting.

They hav a ting called "On this day Last Year"

BTW If they don't give Hardest and Dwarika a chance then it is pure Badmind.

« Reply #22 on: January 21, 2006, 06:00:35 PM »
Well folks,
  I was down at the Stadium. Soca Broadway was going through band rehearsals on the outside. When I arrived around 5:05 pm the players were going through stretching exercises on the pitch. Beenie and Anton were in charge of the sessions. First there was some tight goal-less small goal in a marked out area with emphasis on quick passing and frantic one touch football to keep possession.  Anton and Beenie took turns giving instructions while Lincoln and Shaun Fuentes looked on from the sidelines. Fuentes took a few pictures. There was also some video crew there. Just like in the papers, Beenie would be walking up and down with hands behind his back like the nutty professor then he would suddenly jump in to emphasise an important point. Zeph had Spann and Rougier separated from the main team doing exercises, sprints and sit ups and push ups for the entire session Lter they looked on without much pressure on them. I could have asked why but I didn't feel like fighting talk today. Some youthmen walked up to Spann and Rougier, took some pictures and I'm sure heard why things were arranged so.

Apart from Spann and Rougier (who looked in decent shape by the way) I was able to pick out Rahim, Sealy, Glasgow, Kerry Baptiste, Anton Pierre, Wolfe, A fella who looked like McFarlane. If it was Mc Farlane, he might be a bit overweight,.Glasgow and Baptiste were looking sharp. Baptiste has nice sharp crisp passes on the ground and was busy changing direction and passing to open space. Glasgow looked very nippy, busy,fit and was enjoying himself. He has some baby dreads now. I cannot say that I recognized anybody who could pass for Hardest with looks or ball skills, but I will be careful in saying that I am not very familiar with him. Trininfinite, I will be more bold tomorrow and make sure before you get a fit. 

They expanded the small goal imcrementally till it occupied about 2/3 of a full 1/2 field and put a keeper (probably Jan-Michael Williams) in the goal (Movie Town side) and had just a stopper for the other goal (hockey size goal) at the half line and had more flowing ball (and some shots when chances arose)

It got dark, Beenie and crew huddled them in the middle and delivered the coach talks. No lights used. Probably about 10 or so onlookers in the covered stands. I took off after that. At this session there was no set play football, shot taking, crosses nor any special goal keeper drills. I guess this will be for another day. That's the best I can do for you folks. Hope to go tomorrow and be more detailed. Not sure if the morning sessions are different

« Reply #23 on: January 21, 2006, 06:34:35 PM »
Thanks for the update dreamer 

Looking forward to tomorrow's report.

Only 10 spectators.  Allyuh sure we going Germany?  I hope it was the local coaches taking notes.

Must be the fetes.

« Reply #24 on: January 21, 2006, 06:35:56 PM »
Well folks,
  I was down at the Stadium. Soca Broadway was going through band rehearsals on the outside. When I arrived around 5:05 pm the players were going through stretching exercises on the pitch. Beenie and Anton were in charge of the sessions. First there was some tight goal-less small goal in a marked out area with emphasis on quick passing and frantic one touch football to keep possession.  Anton and Beenie took turns giving instructions while Lincoln and Shaun Fuentes looked on from the sidelines. Fuentes took a few pictures. There was also some video crew there. Just like in the papers, Beenie would be walking up and down with hands behind his back like the nutty professor then he would suddenly jump in to emphasise an important point. Zeph had Spann and Rougier separated from the main team doing exercises, sprints and sit ups and push ups for the entire session Lter they looked on without much pressure on them. I could have asked why but I didn't feel like fighting talk today. Some youthmen walked up to Spann and Rougier, took some pictures and I'm sure heard why things were arranged so.

Apart from Spann and Rougier (who looked in decent shape by the way) I was able to pick out Rahim, Sealy, Glasgow, Kerry Baptiste, Anton Pierre, Wolfe, A fella who looked like McFarlane. If it was Mc Farlane, he might be a bit overweight,.Glasgow and Baptiste were looking sharp. Baptiste has nice sharp crisp passes on the ground and was busy changing direction and passing to open space. Glasgow looked very nippy, busy,fit and was enjoying himself. He has some baby dreads now. I cannot say that I recognized anybody who could pass for Hardest with looks or ball skills, but I will be careful in saying that I am not very familiar with him. Trininfinite, I will be more bold tomorrow and make sure before you get a fit. 

They expanded the small goal imcrementally till it occupied about 2/3 of a full 1/2 field and put a keeper (probably Jan-Michael Williams) in the goal (Movie Town side) and had just a stopper for the other goal (hockey size goal) at the half line and had more flowing ball (and some shots when chances arose)

It got dark, Beenie and crew huddled them in the middle and delivered the coach talks. No lights used. Probably about 10 or so onlookers in the covered stands. I took off after that. At this session there was no set play football, shot taking, crosses nor any special goal keeper drills. I guess this will be for another day. That's the best I can do for you folks. Hope to go tomorrow and be more detailed. Not sure if the morning sessions are different
Thanks breds...I feel hardest geh blank.

« Reply #25 on: January 21, 2006, 08:52:55 PM »
Forgot to mention that Glen was also there, conspicuous and hustling

« Reply #26 on: January 22, 2006, 01:02:57 PM »
Well folks,
 I was down at the Stadium. Soca Broadway was going through band rehearsals on the outside. When I arrived around 5:05 pm the players were going through stretching exercises on the pitch. Beenie and Anton were in charge of the sessions. First there was some tight goal-less small goal in a marked out area with emphasis on quick passing and frantic one touch football to keep possession. Anton and Beenie took turns giving instructions while Lincoln and Shaun Fuentes looked on from the sidelines. Fuentes took a few pictures. There was also some video crew there. Just like in the papers, Beenie would be walking up and down with hands behind his back like the nutty professor then he would suddenly jump in to emphasise an important point. Zeph had Spann and Rougier separated from the main team doing exercises, sprints and sit ups and push ups for the entire session Lter they looked on without much pressure on them. I could have asked why but I didn't feel like fighting talk today. Some youthmen walked up to Spann and Rougier, took some pictures and I'm sure heard why things were arranged so.

Dem two "YOUTH" men was me and troy_piloy(mih cousin) LOL... Where you was dude...

« Reply #27 on: January 22, 2006, 02:15:19 PM »
Well folks,
 I was down at the Stadium. Soca Broadway was going through band rehearsals on the outside. When I arrived around 5:05 pm the players were going through stretching exercises on the pitch. Beenie and Anton were in charge of the sessions. First there was some tight goal-less small goal in a marked out area with emphasis on quick passing and frantic one touch football to keep possession. Anton and Beenie took turns giving instructions while Lincoln and Shaun Fuentes looked on from the sidelines. Fuentes took a few pictures. There was also some video crew there. Just like in the papers, Beenie would be walking up and down with hands behind his back like the nutty professor then he would suddenly jump in to emphasise an important point. Zeph had Spann and Rougier separated from the main team doing exercises, sprints and sit ups and push ups for the entire session Lter they looked on without much pressure on them. I could have asked why but I didn't feel like fighting talk today. Some youthmen walked up to Spann and Rougier, took some pictures and I'm sure heard why things were arranged so.

Dem two "YOUTH" men was me and troy_piloy(mih cousin) LOL... Where you was dude...

Whey allyuh pictures?? post dem nah??

« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2006, 05:51:55 PM »
Breds i post dem pics since last nigt..

Look in the thread names national Training at HC stadium

Offline Benjie

« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2006, 06:43:04 PM »
When ah read this question about Jemmott and Dwarika ah was thinking how tuh answer without cussing. But Spalk give me an answer Beenie say it he want his players to add not just skill but personaility rather than detract from the team. He wants players willing to be disciplined in all that they do and who will not damage the team chemistry. Those are the reasons why Jemmott and Dwarika not on the team and most likely will not be on the team to Germany.