October 31, 2024, 05:14:56 PM

Author Topic: I95.5fm Thread.  (Read 113647 times)

Re: John Barnes on isports i95.5 fm
« Reply #270 on: February 10, 2008, 09:00:32 AM »
Barnes: Caribbean the new Africa for unearthing talent.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Digicel Kick Start Clinic head coach, John Barnes, a former Watford, Liverpool and England star, has stated that when it comes to digging up new football talent, the Caribbean region is being viewed as the next Africa for developing players.

Barnes, was speaking at the launch of the T&T leg of the Digicel Kick Start Clinic at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel, Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Mucurapo, yesterday.

Looking as fit as he was in his glory days for Liverpool, Barnes said that this should be the beginning of the large export of talented players from the Caribbean to Europe.

“It is already known that players of the Caribbean have the talent, but once they are put into the right environment and giving the encouragement and experience, there is no telling how good they can get,” said Barnes.

Referring to some of world’s top players who have Caribbean roots or were born in the Caribbean, Barnes noted that Frank Rijkard, Ruud Gullit, Edgar Davids and Clarence Seedorf all have Suriname roots.

However he questioned had they stayed in Suriname if they would have reached the level they have.

He added, “Sol Campbell, Rio Ferdinand also have Caribbean roots, but without moving to Europe I doubted very much they would be where they are today in the sport.”

With regards to the future of Caribbean football, Barnes indicated that he would like to see relationships emerge between countries in Europe with the region just as countries like France, Holland and Belgium have formed relationships with African countries.

“It will be very nice to see England develop a better relationship with its fellow Commonwealth countries in the sport of football.”

Barnes, who is in T&T as part of a three-day Digicel Clinics which began at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya yesterday and ends tomorrow, warned young players that success does not come overnight as their was no magic formula.

“Hard work is the only way for you to get to the top. You must also have the right work ethic and discipline allied with the natural.”

Over the next three days, the ex-Liverpool winger said he was eagerly looking forward to working with the local coaches and the Under-20 players.

With regards to the three-day clinic, members of the national Under- 20 team who has been preparing since the launch at the beginning of January have a chance to become one of the six footballers from around the Caribbean chosen by Barnes and the national coaches of each country visited, to travel to Premier League club, Sunderland to spend one week’s training with the club’s Academy of Light.

The national Under-20 coach, Zoran Varnes, said of the upcoming clinics, “The whole team has been looking forward to the Digicel Clinics and has been training very hard to use this opportunity to improve their football skills and hopefully be one of the chosen six to go to Sunderland.

“We have a wealth of talented young footballers in T&T who will be the next generation of Soca Warriors and hopefully compete in a future World Cup.”

The clinic continue today from 10 am to 2 pm. On the third day, the winner of the Digicel text competition, Joe Public FC Under-20 team will get the chance to spend the third day of the clinic training with Barnes, followed by a life-coaching seminar.

The clinics conclude with a friendly match between the Joe Public Under-20 Pro League team and the T&T Under- 20 team.

To choose the winning Under-20 Pro League team, persons needed to text 6474 and the name of their favourite team to enter the competition.

« Reply #271 on: February 10, 2008, 10:08:08 AM »
Jah gol yuh  go and see how Daniel Joseph knox and  leston paul

« Reply #272 on: February 10, 2008, 06:18:55 PM »
Dey try to convince we y is Joe Public dat playin d game. It eh wuk

« Reply #273 on: February 10, 2008, 10:34:00 PM »
Well good to see the U-20s training again. Hope the TTFF keep that up serious. I dunno much about Vranes....he any good/better record compared to Corneal?

So what is Corneal status now? Looks like he might give up coaching youths to to lock a position with Maturana or take back the reins on the new U-16s from Hudson Charles?

Ah feel Knox will have some serious competition for the main up front role.

« Last Edit: February 10, 2008, 10:37:46 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Football talk i95.5fm
« Reply #274 on: April 26, 2008, 04:41:33 PM »
talking about WCQ Edgar Vidale ON WC prep...

Vidale said he is  looking around for talent , and wasting time looking for new players at this stage.... he said no player dropping out from they sky and Trinidad is small ... cut the program short in looking for players and go with a nucleus..
Vidale stated we should have gone to the World cup and played open football he would have preferred us get 5-6 goals once we showed our style

oh and the game live on i95.5 tomorrow
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 05:26:01 PM by Trini _2010 »

Re: Football talk i95.5fm
« Reply #275 on: April 26, 2008, 05:39:39 PM »
Loud steups is a good ting I eh put on d radio. Still talkin d open football nonesense

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
Re: Football talk i95.5fm
« Reply #276 on: April 26, 2008, 06:26:37 PM »
I concur.We have to invent a revolutionary method in conquering our probability and statistic handicap [ our population ] in scouting for/recognizing/promoting talent. We might not have the quantity but we most certainly have the quality.There's nothing that they do that our warriors can't do.' If life deals you lemons: discarded 55 gallon oil drums,you make lime juice and then you export it.' Comparatively,we have to meld our locals w/ our overseas,our young w/ our experienced just like the world's superpowers and we have to start preparing for upcoming WCs at the end of the preceding one.
    I disagree w/the open football idea cause there's an intrinsic discipline in playing defensive football.It allows you to hang w/ the big dogs which we did exemplary.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 03:53:27 AM by mwanasoka »
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

Brent Sancho on I95.5FM NOW.....6:45pm Eastern
« Reply #277 on: October 16, 2008, 04:43:52 PM »

Re: Brent Sancho on I95.5FM NOW.....6:45pm Eastern
« Reply #278 on: October 16, 2008, 04:51:14 PM »
so because you went germany mean you should start now

thats shyt

utter zany, penetrating, tragicomic shyt................

« Reply #279 on: October 16, 2008, 04:51:58 PM »
so because you went germany mean you should start now

thats shyt

utter zany, penetrating, tragicomic shyt................

Daz Jamal Shabazz.  He torkin some compong tata on dis show.

« Reply #280 on: October 16, 2008, 04:58:15 PM »
god bless the day i learnt the meaning of the word hindsight

another thing. i rather speak my mind and be wrong than be like all these fools talking bout they knew what latas was goin  and do. stupes

i not saying that i dont want latas involved but all i saying is his replacement cannot be.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:02:44 PM by morvant »

« Reply #281 on: October 16, 2008, 05:02:01 PM »
 latapy playing a major role on the field  in the drive to SA nope nope nope  .. I know people will bite off my head

« Reply #282 on: October 16, 2008, 05:04:42 PM »
Andre Bouchard?
sorry, buh when last did he play for the NMT?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #283 on: October 16, 2008, 05:07:17 PM »
"I would bring in Arnold Dwarika"- Jamal Shabazz(16/10/2008 at 7:05 pm on I95.5 fm)

He said it on the basis of his performances in the League and Champions League.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:09:35 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #284 on: October 16, 2008, 05:08:46 PM »
"I would bring in Arnold Dwarika"- Jamal Shabazz(16/10/2008 at 7:05 pm on I 95.5 fm)
Jamal OK?

he say Jack cyar decide players..................sorry but............ :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Jack is
President
Technical Director
Owner
Coach
has final word
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:12:02 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #285 on: October 16, 2008, 05:10:27 PM »
Jamal smokin a kinda grade I wish was available to me back in meh "days"... ;D

« Reply #286 on: October 16, 2008, 05:11:53 PM »
What Sancho say so far?

« Reply #287 on: October 16, 2008, 05:12:27 PM »
Try some BC Bud :whistling:
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:16:25 PM by WestCoast »

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #288 on: October 16, 2008, 05:13:06 PM »

Palos, yuh fogetting - we did have de best in we days LOL

« Reply #289 on: October 16, 2008, 05:16:56 PM »
Cleon John mentioned

Jamal say 1+1 ent always 2 in the TTFF
The "Passion" of Jack Warner is NOT predictable :devil:
and he would not be surprised if Beenie show up in January ;D

Palos...call in nuh 1-868-622-3937

aye dat "Over the Hill Boys" ad is kicks ;D ;D
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:26:57 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #290 on: October 16, 2008, 05:19:34 PM »

Palos, yuh fogetting - we did have de best in we days LOL

True..True... ;D

« Reply #291 on: October 16, 2008, 05:36:53 PM »
Shabazz defending Pacho, excusing him saying it took him a long time to get to know the players and where to play them.

Andre interrupts "How did Beenhakker get to know the players so quickly?"

Shabazz "uh uh" and went on to sidestep the question  :rotfl:

« Reply #292 on: October 16, 2008, 05:45:00 PM »
i swear iz weary on the phone now

« Reply #293 on: October 16, 2008, 05:45:46 PM »
i swear iz weary on the phone now
yeah dais We WEARY ;D

Morvant, dais you who mentioned Julius? ;)

AND.....How come so many callers dont know the players names? ::) ::)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2008, 05:52:55 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #294 on: October 16, 2008, 05:55:20 PM »
FIRE BUN SANCHO

BRING JULIUS

« Reply #295 on: October 16, 2008, 07:22:14 PM »
I shame 2 say Jamal Shabazz and I went d same secondary school. Anyway he was Hyron Best dem days so he might have had sense then. I had 2 bite meh tougue not 2 tell him he letting down dat gr8 instituion. Dwarika he say not 2 mention he supportin dumbtist. Like he is really JW friend now

« Reply #296 on: October 16, 2008, 07:26:02 PM »
"I would bring in Arnold Dwarika"- Jamal Shabazz(16/10/2008 at 7:05 pm on I95.5 fm)

Nah dwarika is pure tata,bring in the guyanese richardson he go torment them defenses..........

« Reply #297 on: October 16, 2008, 07:34:43 PM »
Tread title is deceiving..........

« Reply #298 on: October 16, 2008, 07:37:23 PM »

Nah dwarika is pure tata, bring in the guyanese richardson he go torment them defenses..........
to play for the TnT NMT? :whistling:

« Reply #299 on: October 16, 2008, 07:56:42 PM »
let shabazz haul he muslimeem C%*T!