March 28, 2024, 04:19:36 AM

Author Topic: Sean de Silva Thread  (Read 47388 times)

Re: Sean De Silva ponders SSFL action.
« Reply #60 on: September 14, 2006, 12:17:15 PM »
Let me start this off by saying I don`t agree with excluding U-17 National players from the SSFL.

To me the SSFL, is the one league that you can assess whether the "National" players are worthy of selection. Also with exclusion it gives these YOUNG players the wrong idea.......making them feel they are above their peers,again giving them an EVEN BIGGER head..........They think I is a Nati, I could gallery !!

Also if you exclude the U17 players from SSFL, where are they gonna get match fitness ?? How many games would be organized for these lads ?? Corneal talking out he arseeeeeeeeeeee, when he made that statement. Having our youngsters in a live in camp would be more constructive than excluding them from SSFL.............

Can someone please tell me where would the U17 yutes be playing if they were exculded from playing SSFL ???

« Reply #61 on: September 14, 2006, 12:42:34 PM »
Regarding Da Silva putting on some size...people need to relax and stop posting responses like someone suggest the man bulk up like Schwarzenegger. Any footballers' weight training program has to have specific purposes in mind that are related to the players football development...It is not about just getting big and strong. Look, whether you like it or not most players outside of Europe do not get the proper nutritional and strength training as youngsters. From the time they join a pro team, especially if they go to Europe..they are made to bulk up to deal with the physical demands of the game. What did Real madrid's coach say about Robinho before he even kicked a ball? You are fooling yourslef if you think Dwight Yorke, Ronaldinho and co did not go on specialized weight training programs...It is a necessity for many top class athletes with slighter frames...Notice they are still lean and thletic, but they are bigger and stronger than they would have been without a properly regimented strength training programs
« Last Edit: September 14, 2006, 12:59:01 PM by Filho »

« Reply #62 on: September 14, 2006, 12:51:54 PM »
Lift some iron and get strong

Latapy is a short midfielder but I doubt most fellahs could push him off ah ball easy so...........provided they could actually catch him that is  ;)
Strength, not size ;D. Actually his size could be a big asset :-\

He needs increased strength and that often comes with increased muscle mass, from strength training. Hard to see how a thin youth will get stronger without adding some size to his frame. Being short can be a benefit, but he will need to bulk up to continue playing at a high level through the age groups and on to senior level...

Supervised functional fitness training for football should be the goal of a conditioning program.  He's not trying out for the NFL!  Yes strength is a factor but so are agility, quickness and power endurance. Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....

U completely misinterpret what I was saying, but say what..look at my response in the post above

« Reply #63 on: September 14, 2006, 01:02:18 PM »
This is not a big issue in Trinidad things getting real re-dick-qulous.

First thing there is no school versus country battle because the country in charge.

All corneal have to do is call a training session on Wednesday and Saturaday and all the players will miss the school games and go and train with the national team.

Back in the early 90'st the U17 team leave in the middle of the season to go Guyana for qualifying games no body aint complain they playes leave and school footbal continue.

A bench man just get a sweat

That is the way it go.

If corneal and them organize they can keep the national players focused and they will not play school football because they have national football to play.

It is a players choice if to play for school or not
If he does not show up someone else will get a sweat that is all.

Corneal and them just taking in front with they excuse!

The team get licks because we did not have time to train.

The men and them did not weight train.

Blah blah blah

The school does not own the players this is not professional football
Why does the national coach ask permisssion for players to come and train.

Call a training who come come who dont come get drop.

in fact it have plenty man who not going to school or playing school football who can play national football.

Point Being

Set the program and move on.

Why even discuss this with players and coahes and leagues and all that shit.

Too much talk not enough action!

When was the last training session?
That is the question.

« Reply #64 on: September 14, 2006, 01:15:00 PM »
Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....

How about Charles Atlas?
I mean you do't want man to kick sand in he face, right? How he will get the gyul?

« Reply #65 on: September 14, 2006, 01:18:03 PM »
This is not a big issue in Trinidad things getting real re-dick-qulous.

First thing there is no school versus country battle because the country in charge.

All corneal have to do is call a training session on Wednesday and Saturaday and all the players will miss the school games and go and train with the national team.

Back in the early 90'st the U17 team leave in the middle of the season to go Guyana for qualifying games no body aint complain they playes leave and school footbal continue.

A bench man just get a sweat

That is the way it go.

If corneal and them organize they can keep the national players focused and they will not play school football because they have national football to play.

It is a players choice if to play for school or not
If he does not show up someone else will get a sweat that is all.

Corneal and them just taking in front with they excuse!

The team get licks because we did not have time to train.

The men and them did not weight train.

Blah blah blah

The school does not own the players this is not professional football
Why does the national coach ask permisssion for players to come and train.

Call a training who come come who dont come get drop.

in fact it have plenty man who not going to school or playing school football who can play national football.

Point Being

Set the program and move on.

Why even discuss this with players and coahes and leagues and all that shit.

Too much talk not enough action!

When was the last training session?
That is the question.

Today Thursday Sept 14 at 3:16PM I Mr Mc finally agreed with a KND2 post.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #66 on: September 14, 2006, 01:51:09 PM »
Lift some iron and get strong

Latapy is a short midfielder but I doubt most fellahs could push him off ah ball easy so...........provided they could actually catch him that is  ;)
Strength, not size ;D. Actually his size could be a big asset :-\

He needs increased strength and that often comes with increased muscle mass, from strength training. Hard to see how a thin youth will get stronger without adding some size to his frame. Being short can be a benefit, but he will need to bulk up to continue playing at a high level through the age groups and on to senior level...

Supervised functional fitness training for football should be the goal of a conditioning program.  He's not trying out for the NFL!  Yes strength is a factor but so are agility, quickness and power endurance. Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....

U completely misinterpret what I was saying, but say what..look at my response in the post above

You gave your opinion then I gave mine.  I think we need to be responsible and explicit with younger players when dealing with strength and fitness issues. Lionel Messi, Ryan Giggs or Carlos Edwards are fit to play football but not overly "built". 

As you point out, the fitness programme for a youngster like De Silva should be about performance - not appearance.
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

Offline Youth Baller

« Reply #67 on: September 14, 2006, 02:08:11 PM »
Yes well the majority these U-16  evryone should know for sure , would not stand out in the SSFL because there are many known players better or much better than them playin in the league many of them , also the football they where coached to play with the U-16 is not the same as the school team. Intercol is a Under 20 league now so the Under 16 players just fit in unless they going  a shit school then they might shine.

LOOK AT THE U-20 PLAYERS THAT ARE NOW TRAINING FOR T&T AND YOU WILL SEE A DIFFERENT CLASS SHOWN BY THEM IN THE SSFL LEAGUE.

Gazing at T&T’s Russia 2018 future: De Silva set for meteoric rise
« Reply #68 on: January 28, 2015, 03:11:54 PM »
Gazing at T&T’s Russia 2018 future: De Silva set for meteoric rise
By Sean Taylor (taylorsportsoutlook.wordpress.com)

Almost three years ago, when I wrote for Usportt, I claimed that despite the fact that Trinidad and Tobago was in dire straits where football was concerned, it was a good opportunity to look forward and focus on 2018.

At that time the country was still reeling from the incredulous fact that the Soca Warriors were unable to emerge from the first stage of qualifying the previous year. However, with that humiliation came ample time for the then TTFF to get their act together at long last and put down the groundwork for the following World Cup six years later.

Of the upcoming stars that would be of age, I saw the core of the U-17 and U-20 teams that competed at 2007 and 2009 World Cups respectively, being most eligible for great things. Central FC midfielder Sean De Silva, was a mainstay in both teams and seems to finally be set to establish himself in the national senior team.

As a youngster in the Twin-Island Republic, De Silva was first introduced to the game at the now famous La Foucade Club where according to him, he learnt the fundamentals including his technical and mental attributes. From then on, it was a rapid progression, typical of the aspiring player here; he played secondary school football with St. Mary’s College, and then went to Charleston College in the US in 2008.

Despite having to study, he maintained his consistent level in the sport, he said in an interview with the Trinidad Newsday: “Three seasons out of the four seasons (sic) I was there, I was MVP of the team and I also made first team in that division, and in that entire region, which was a pretty good accomplishment…”. He was subsequently invited to MLS team San Jose Earthquakes, to a training camp in which he did very well in a three-month pre-season stint. It was only after signing for NASL team, Minnesota United, he decided that it was the right time to return home.

He had a chat with Brent Sancho, former World Cup Soca Warriors defender, and the founder of local club Central FC, and decided that that was the ideal next step in his career – featuring with the “Sharks”. De Silva’s time so far with the current league leaders has been fruitful, and he has become the vice captain of the team as well.

He further went on in his chat with the Newsday that: “I think that at this point in time in my career, it was the right time to make that choice and play in Trinidad. Central FC did that to me and I was happy to be a part of winning trophies and making history for the club, qualifying for the Caribbean Championships and hopefully qualifying for the CONCACAF Champions League. Really and truly Central FC has been top-notch in my opinion.”

With the senior team however, his career hasn’t seemed to have ignited – yet. He has two appearances with the Soca Warriors and fondly remembers coming on for Russell Latapy in 2009; the “Little Magician” was his idol growing up.

However, he is currently poised to make a return under Stephen Hart’s current tenure, but it won’t be easy – Hart’s successful year –and-a-half stint has brought Trinidad and Tobago to 55th in the FIFA rankings, and competition in the midfield is stiff. Looking at the positives, however, Hart has shown a willingness to not only blood younger players in his midfield, but from the TT Pro League as well.

Leston Paul, Aubrey David, Jean Luc Rochford, Daneil Cyrus, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino and the late Akeem Adams among others, have all featured in the World Cups in Korea 2007 and Egypt 2009. To date, they are all moving forward with their careers and have a good chance to be some of the faces we see on the roster when qualifiers begin for Russia 2018.

With Central FC six points clear in the current standings in the TT Pro League, him being the nucleus of their midfield, as well as the 2015 Gold Cup on the horizon, De Silva may well get his chance. He’ll need it, as we have to mount a serious campaign towards Russia; which mind you, is only three and a half years away now.

« Last Edit: January 28, 2015, 05:22:20 PM by Flex »

Re: Exclusive interview with U-15 national player, Sean de Silva
« Reply #69 on: May 30, 2015, 02:32:58 AM »
Ah hear Sean De Silva could play for Guyana, Barbados or Antigua also.

But he wants to play for Guyana.

« Reply #70 on: May 30, 2015, 03:34:52 AM »
Is how much parents he alone have?

« Reply #71 on: May 30, 2015, 07:37:31 AM »
Is how much parents he alone have?

He also qualifies through his grandparents.

« Reply #72 on: May 30, 2015, 09:54:51 AM »
Ah hear Sean De Silva could play for Guyana, Barbados or Antigua also.

But he wants to play for Guyana.

T&T will always be his first choice, but if he doesn't make the Gold Cup squad, he would need to consider his options going forward.

Offline congo

« Reply #73 on: May 30, 2015, 09:42:43 PM »
Didn't he get cap already though?

« Reply #74 on: May 31, 2015, 07:12:52 AM »
Didn't he get cap already though?

Yes, but they were in Friendly matches, NOT competitive ones.

Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
« Reply #75 on: June 01, 2015, 01:02:29 PM »
Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Two-time Trinidad and Tobago World Youth Cup player Sean De Silva could potentially become the target of an international tug of war as his failure to break into the “Soca Warriors” looks likely to invite bids from neighbouring Caribbean nations.

De Silva will be in action from 8 pm tonight for Central FC as they tackle Caledonia AIA at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain in the Digicel Pro Bowl final, which brings the curtain down on the 2014/15 Pro League season.

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team Stephen Hart is expected to announce his training squad for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament immediately after the match.

And it might be a memorable decision for De Silva’s international future as Guyana is monitoring his availability for its 2018 World Cup campaign while the versatile playmaker can also represent Antigua and Barbuda and Barbados.

Guyana coach Jamaal Shabazz, who is Trinidadian and one of the founding members of Pro League team Caledonia AIA, learnt that De Silva can represent the “Golden Jaguars”—by virtue of his grandparents’ Guyanese citizenship—and admitted his interest.

“We are very interested in Sean,” Shabazz told Wired868. “He qualifies to play for Guyana and we will love to have him if Trinidad doesn’t.

“It is not treason. This is the backlash of dual citizenship.”

De Silva represented Trinidad and Tobago at the Korea Republic 2007 and Egypt 2009 World Youth Cups for the Under-17 and Under-20 categories respectively. However, while former international teammates like Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino and Daneil Cyrus cruised into the National Senior Team, De Silva has struggled for opportunities.

The former St Mary’s College student made his senior international debut at 19 in a 1-0 friendly win over Panama on 18 March 2009 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

But he had to wait another three years for his second and final cap, which came in a 3-2 friendly defeat to Finland on 22 January 2012 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

De Silva has never been summoned by Hart. At present, the Warriors are short of midfield schemers with Molino and Hughtun Hector both injured.

If Hart still ignores the “Couva Shark”, it may be an indication that De Silva is not in his immediate plans for Trinidad and Tobago’s 2018 World Cup campaign.

The talented midfielder, who is also a dead-ball specialist, can still switch countries because he has not represented Trinidad and Tobago in a competitive senior international match.

De Silva was unavailable for comment. However, his father Chris De Silva, a former national youth team manager, confirmed that his son is aware of his options but remains focused on wearing red, black and white kit.

“Sean’s heart is set on playing for Trinidad and Tobago but he wants to play international football,” said De Silva (C). “If Hart doesn’t see Sean in his mix, then he will look at his options…

“He loves his country and he wants to play for Trinidad and Tobago but it is up to Trinidad. I do know that, whoever he plays for, he plays his heart out and always gives 110 percent.

“I’m sure he will do a great job for whoever he plays for.”

Antigua and Barbuda are considered a rising force in the Caribbean after the “Benna Boys” stormed into the 2014 Caribbean Cup finals while Guyana caused a stir, during its 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign, by advancing to the CONCACAF semifinal round.

Shabazz was in charge of Guyana then and, ironically, eliminated Trinidad and Tobago along the way. England-born midfielder Ricky Shakes, who also represented the Warriors in a friendly game but never saw competitive action for the two island republic, scored the winner for the Jaguars when the two nations met.

Interestingly, Aubrey David, who was born in Georgetown, was on the bench for the Jaguars then, despite the fact that he played alongside De Silva at the World Youth Cups. David never featured in a competitive match for the Jaguars and opted to return to the Warriors.

He has since won 18 full international caps for Trinidad and Tobago and played in two Caribbean Cup finals and one Gold Cup.

The Guyana coach thinks De Silva can be another big Shakes, though, and complement the Jaguars team that recently capped Bolton Wanderers veteran midfielder Neil Danns.

“I think he is very committed to the pass and is a simple and effective player,” said Shabazz, who once tried, unsuccessfully, to sign De Silva for Caledonia. “He organises the game and is in-between a defensive midfielder and a playmaker… He is a confident player but, most importantly, I like how he takes the task given to him and makes something out of it.”

Shabazz said he was impressed with De Silva and Central coach Terry Fenwick when the Sharks eliminated Alpha United in Guyana en route to claiming the 2015 Caribbean Cup title.

He said Fenwick’s changes of tactics and personnel for the qualifying games in Guyana, dumbfounded his opponents and De Silva was a part of that in an unusual role for him as an inverted winger.

“A lot of people don’t like to give Fenwick credit but Fenwick used or six or seven different players in both (qualifying games in Guyana),” said Shabazz. “What I saw from Fenwick was an experienced coach… I wanted Alpha to win but I was proud of him.

“The way he used (defender Jamal) Jack behind the strikers to press. It was interesting.”

Shabazz will be rooting against Central again tonight as the “Eastern Stallions” take on the Sharks.

Veteran midfielder Keyon Edwards and Conrad Smith will be vital if Caledonia are to get anything from the game while Guyanese poacher Pernell Schultz has 18 goals in all competitions—the third highest tally in the League—and will be one to keep an eye on.

Caledonia wingers Nathan Lewis and Guyana international Trayon Bobb can be awkward customers while captain Kareem “Tiny” Joseph and utility player Nicholas Marcano provide steel to the squad.

It is difficult to guess Terry Fenwick’s XI these days but striker Willis Plaza, who returns from suspension, should replace defender Jamal Jack despite the latter’s match winning performance against DIRECTV W Connection in Sunday’s Caribbean Cup final win.

Veteran midfielder Marvin Oliver and gifted playmaker Ataullah Guerra are both ex-Caledonia players and should be anxious for the chance to play against former teammates. While goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, winger Jason Marcano and defenders Elton John and Akeem Benjamin have been in fine form.

Midfielders Leston Paul, Jean-Luc Rochford and De Silva, who played together at the Egypt 2009 World Youth Cup, would all be pressing for a starting place alongside them.

And De Silva might be playing for more than just the Pro Bowl.

We must give some congrats to DeSilva for his call up. He is, what I may call a late bloomer. I have not seen play an entire game, he has improved to the point where the coach think he is ready for senior international. One thing I have noticed, is that he appears to be stronger, physically bigger. So he may be doing things  on that aspect of his game, outside of regular practice time. I do hope he makes it. We need excellent local mid fielders for our upcoming football tournaments.

The next player I am A bit concerned about is Attullah. He appeared to have had a 50/50 season. He should be the dominant midfield in TT by now. He should be playing the role of Otis Whitley or Bert Grell. He is about how old? 26 or 27 ?  The next two years may be the defining point of his career. He is not getting any contract overseas. So he has to push himself to be be at a top level in TT football. Or he may be push out. Maybe Fenwick might be the best coach for him. I really don't know.

Re: Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
« Reply #78 on: February 18, 2016, 05:42:41 PM »
Play international football de silva don't wait on tnt ..... Antigua Have  85,000 people and identifying potential footballers left fight and centre what the ass our federation doing
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 05:45:12 PM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #79 on: February 18, 2016, 10:14:02 PM »
Can't blame him.

« Reply #80 on: February 19, 2016, 01:08:41 AM »
How is it NOT a major conflict of interest to have Shabazz recruiting T&T players for a foreign national team while playing a prominent role in T&T football?

Pure f**kery

« Reply #81 on: February 19, 2016, 01:57:28 AM »
Benedict Arnold over there .
De Silva is good , but he's not good enough to crack the golden generations 22 , he should get better instead of quitting .He could be a role model instead of a....whatever you would  call a person about to do what  he's thinking about doing.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2016, 06:45:03 AM by Quags »

« Reply #82 on: February 19, 2016, 05:59:36 AM »
How is it NOT a major conflict of interest to have Shabazz recruiting T&T players for a foreign national team while playing a prominent role in T&T football?

Pure f**kery

And David Clown-John Williams have this traitor and terrorist as he right hand man.

Sean, best of luck, but instead of trying to improve yourself to make T&T side, you accepted second best.

« Reply #83 on: February 19, 2016, 08:27:33 AM »
Benedict Arnold over there .
De Silva is good , but he's not good enough to crack the golden generations 22 , he should get better instead of quitting .He could be a role model instead of a....whatever you would  call a person about to do what  he's thinking about doing.

To me Sean problem is/was the lack of tenacity. Not saying he is not a good player. TT biggest weakness for a long time has been mid field. And if after two years SH has not featured him in the few friendliest we have had, how is he going to make the senior team. He has to grow some tenacity to show Hart he deserve to be on the team. and what makes it worse, Nick Deleon might get a full rep before. We in a catch 22 here.

« Reply #84 on: February 19, 2016, 11:08:33 AM »

Pure f**kery

The more things change the more they stay the same. I remember a similar set up while Warner and Camps were running things. Only in T&T. 

« Reply #85 on: February 19, 2016, 11:23:29 AM »
Sean is in the same situation as Nick DeLeon. Because you are not part of Hart's plans or don't fit in the Warrior's system of play doesn't mean you are not a good player. Explore your options and make the best decision for you and your career. You are a talented baller and I think you will do well playing for A&B or Guyana. All I ask is yuh doh poison we if you are on the opposing team in a World Cup Qualifier.  ;D

« Reply #86 on: February 19, 2016, 12:24:20 PM »
I have zero issue with Sean DeSilva playing for someone else.  He has options and can pursue that opportunity.  No different than Birchall, DeLeon, etc

I have a major issue with Shabazz who plays a prominent role in this administration, recruiting T&T players for another national team

« Reply #87 on: February 19, 2016, 01:25:54 PM »
Who you think he's gonna poison .

« Reply #88 on: February 19, 2016, 01:46:06 PM »
Who you think he's gonna poison .

Ask Ricky Shakes