March 28, 2024, 11:33:27 AM

Author Topic: Sean de Silva Thread  (Read 47401 times)

Sean de Silva Thread
« on: January 22, 2006, 06:43:20 PM »
Exclusive interview with U-15 national player, Sean de Silva
By Small Magician

Player Profile

Name: Sean de Silva
D.O.B: January 17th, 1990
Nationality: Trinidadian
School: St Mary’s College (CIC)
Club: La Foucade Soccer Clinic
Position: Central Midfielder
Favoured Foot: Right

SM: How did you feel when you were selected to the T&T U-15 team?
SDS: I felt very honoured to be selected. The fact of being a T&T player produced the feeling of excitement. The training was very intense, but in the end everything paid off as I made the cut for the tournament.

SM: Why did T&T fail to go all the way in the recently concluded U-15 tournament?
SDS: We had all the right things, a good coach, the best players, the home advantage, but my reason that T&T didn’t go all the way was due to the great tactics executed by the Guatemalans. They overcrowded us in the midfield causing our attack to become a non- factor throughout the game.

SM: Is the U-15 team still in training?
SDS: The Under 15 team is currently starting back training with the new program starting this Sunday. We train in zones, North/East trains at U.W.I whilst South and further East train at the Ato Boldon stadium on Sundays.

SM: Do you plan to become a professional footballer? If yes, how do you hope to achieve this goal?
SDS: Yes, I do plan to become a professional footballer. Well to achieve this goal I will continue to try my best with the National team and hopefully get scouted and go on to do bigger things.

SM: Are you affiliated with any local clubs? If not, do you plan to join any youth teams?
SDS: I am affiliated with the La Foucade Soccer Clinic. We play in tournaments and that is the only club I am affiliated with at the moment. We are supposed to join Pro league this year so hopefully we could have a productive season.

SM: You have mentioned in the past that you look up to Chris Birchall, why is that?
SDS: He is a very good player, always has his head on in the game and always gives that extra effort in his attacking and defensive game. We all know he could strike the ball well and I think he is a player that any C.M should look up to.

SM: Describe your feelings when the final whistle blew on November 16, 2005.
SDS: All sorts of emotions experienced when that final whistle blew. I could not believe that we did it and we finally achieved that we are going to the World Cup. I am very proud of my country that we accomplished qualification to the big stage.

SM: St. Mary's 2005 SSFL campaign did not go well. Do you personally hope to rectify this situation?
SDS: This season C.I.C had a disappointing campaign, but with effort and improvement, we as a team will have a good SSFL season.

SM: How has Dion La Foucade helped you in your quest to improve your game?
SDS: Dion La Foucade has taught me everything I know in the game of football. He has helped me with numerous one on one trainings and his soccer clinic taught me everything I know in football and he has played an important role in my life of football, both mentally and physically. I have to give Coach Dion a lot of credit for me being the footballer I am today.

SM: Will you be going to Germany to support the Soca Warriors? If not, where do you plan to watch the games?
SDS: It wouldn’t be possible for me to go to Germany this year due to my CXC exams. I will definitely be supporting the Soca Warriors in this great historic moment for our country in Trotters and by my friends.

SM: Any favourite player or team?
SDS: My favourite player is Zidane. He is a brilliant player with great attributes. The thing I like best about Zidane is that he has that magic to get out of those impossible situations. My favourite team is the team Zidane is affiliated with, Real Madrid.

SM: Sean, everyone has realized that you are one of the gifted players on the team; do you have any pressure whatsoever to fulfill everyone’s expectations?  And if yes how do you deal with the pressure?
SDS: Yes, there is a lot of pressure trying to fulfill everyone’s expectations. To deal with the pressure I keep on training as hard as I can and to give that extra effort all the time and to try to improve my game at every opportunity I get.

SM: Lastly what advice do you have to other young footballers trying to make it?
SDS: Firstly, you have to have a lot of discipline. Keep on giving your best effort at all times and train very hard to help yourself and another important factor is to enjoy yourself and love the game of football.

Note: Thank you Sean for doing this interview with the socawarriors.net forum. We all wish you all the best in the future of T&T football...  :beermug:

« Last Edit: April 01, 2016, 05:10:27 AM by Flex »

Re: Exclusive interview with U-15 national player, Sean de Silva
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2006, 07:19:12 PM »
All the best, youth man

Dem shirt too big for yuh  ;D

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2006, 07:40:45 PM »
dat yute man wearing me mum jersey he better rep it right

good one small mag

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2006, 09:00:17 PM »
Seems very mature and articulate for a young man. I liked how he ended the interview, that advice should be taken by the youths and some grown men too... .....hardest.. :-X :-X :-X

Offline croc

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2006, 02:43:48 AM »
Watch  what yuh say about Sean dat is my cousin's son I am his uncle. Doh mess wit croc family.

Offline ballfever

• Dream d'dream, live d'game!
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2006, 05:29:15 AM »
well done small magician! ah ent know if yuh drinkin yet, buh take dis one.. :beermug:
ah like de idea of youth men like yuhself scoutin out de younger warriors an rappin one on one...when men like sean eventually make it...an he will, once he maintains the current attitude...interviews like dis one will help to chronicle dey career....big up again sm!
if yuh check mih heart in mih chest, mix up wit d'red blood, it have a black & white stripe somewhere in dey!.....long b4 foot ball,durin' world cup and after..T&T FOREVER! WE COUNTRY, WE SPIRIT,WE VIBES! WARRIOR NATION!

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2006, 05:38:26 AM »
well son ( literally...lol)   good job....did i not ask you to read it before you posted it ??? eh ???...whe meh belt....

Offline dombasil

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2006, 06:19:42 AM »
Glad de little fella getting a little big up. He is a player with good technique. Quite a sharp mind  and has an eye to see and the ability to execute many passes. Extremely willing to work hard on his overall game and while confident of his abilities, he does not think that he knows it all or that he reach. The only thing that will hold him back is that he real small as alyuh could see in de picture.
Good interview. Give we more from the up and coming players.

Offline fivers

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2006, 06:39:37 AM »
Glad de little fella getting a little big up. He is a player with good technique. Quite a sharp mind  and has an eye to see and the ability to execute many passes. Extremely willing to work hard on his overall game and while confident of his abilities, he does not think that he knows it all or that he reach. The only thing that will hold him back is that he real small as alyuh could see in de picture.
Good interview. Give we more from the up and coming players.

I think in football, size does not matter, there are a lot of players out there that made it given there size. Just to name one, Michael Owen and Bagio. The list goes on

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2006, 08:50:52 AM »
Good luck to the youth (Sean) in the future, both him and Javed is 2 bright midfielders coming up.

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2006, 09:05:33 AM »
Thanks for the interview SM.

I think that things like this will help us to develop that culture of football that we need to claim our place at the top of CONCACAF.

Look the Warriors Coming. As Bunji would say.

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2006, 11:46:51 AM »
Nice interview SM. I used to wonder about you when you let RF get under your skin, but I guess RF brings out the worst in everyone. You have your head on and thanks for showcasing the other youths on here for the world to see. Sean keep at it and all the best, as you know you have a big jersey to fill  ;D and hard work and determination would make it happen.

Big Up De Youths!

« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2006, 12:32:53 PM »
Wow....good interview Smallie. Very articulate on both ends of the interview.
Sean has a good head on his shoulders and just need to keep at it. Work hard now so you could play later.
Don't allow yuhself to get distracted.

MickeyRat

« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2006, 02:18:05 PM »
Clone this youth.  Well spoken and a true ambassador for the youths

« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2006, 03:03:50 PM »
small magician Did he play for CIC's intercol or under 16 team ?

« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2006, 03:23:21 PM »
both

Small Magician, excellent interview sir....well done.
Some of the other press interviewers can take a straw off your hat. :applause:

Well done young man

« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2006, 03:36:39 PM »
thanks       i must say thanks 2 sean also cuz he answered with maturity

« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2006, 03:42:03 PM »
thanks to both Small Mag and young master de silva for this valuable insight.

« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2006, 04:16:05 PM »
the litte boy reall good man

went to see him play a few games, he have nuff touches.

bless

« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2006, 04:40:02 PM »

.......you have to have a lot of discipline. Keep on giving your best effort at all times and train very hard to help yourself and another important factor is to enjoy yourself and love the game of football.

Good Words to live by, regardless of age.

Big Post Small Magician!!!

Blessings!!

« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2006, 04:54:59 PM »
both

he played for both teams last season  :o

« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2006, 05:03:00 PM »
both

he played for both teams last season  :o

Good for de youthman... but Triniman dat ent so rare.... I and all do that.... now go and join meh bandwagon  ;D  FF for Trials!!!

« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2006, 05:22:51 PM »
born in 1990 ? laard ah feelin' old.

SM tell the youth to transfer to Fatima so he doh lose his edge.....jokin'

good interview....heard some good things about him before.......

I hope Lincoln Phillips is putting something in place to successfully progress these youths to the senior level...

« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 05:24:30 PM by kicker »

Offline john_public

« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2006, 05:49:23 PM »
well done small mag. dese youth really have skill. he was really linkin de play together good.  stick to it sean u go be a big one for trini in time to come  ;D

« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2006, 10:46:58 PM »
SM tell him to join the forum and post once in a while so we can follow his progress though the ranks.
Just warn him to be careful around Infinite.  By 2010 he might be done with Hardest and looking for his next man crush

« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2006, 08:08:02 AM »
SM.. good Job Yute..I wish Trini had more yute like yu ..Right now nuff young Trini's going wayward.. sumtime mi does wonda if BM is really yu fadda ;D ;D ;D

"BM no horrors bredda  yu know I does have to get mi Jabb in whenever possible!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Warmonga..

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2006, 11:04:09 AM »
nice interview hope the youth progress and meet all his aspirations. One question, he mentioned," We train in zones, North/East trains at U.W.I whilst South and further East train at the Ato Boldon stadium on Sundays" , just curious as to what happens with the Tobago players?

« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2006, 11:56:02 AM »
no probem warmongrel....i will jab back....but i will hit the jamacian haf of your face....respect...to half of you of course

« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2006, 07:04:39 PM »
i stil remember de days i could beats he like ah goat.

he should progress. He still have de drive fuh it.

good sean ah have more dan one bet on yuh.