March 29, 2024, 09:20:57 AM

Author Topic: Eriksson to vacate post after World Cup  (Read 3961 times)

Eriksson to vacate post after World Cup
« on: January 23, 2006, 04:40:13 PM »
soccernet.com
Eriksson to vacate post after World Cup

Sven-Goran Eriksson is to step down as England head coach after the World Cup.

The sensational announcement followed a day of intense negotiation between the Swede and Football Association chief executive Brian Barwick.

The FA confirmed that once England have competed in the World Cup finals in June and July, Eriksson will part company with the national side, two years before his contract was due to expire.

It follows successive weekends of damaging revelations in the News of the World, who duped Eriksson and his advisers into believing an undercover reporter was a rich Arab sheikh who wanted to give the Swede a new job.

A statement on the FA's official website said: 'The FA can confirm that Sven-Goran Eriksson will leave his post as England head coach after the World Cup in Germany.

'FA chief executive Brian Barwick reached agreement with Sven and his advisors after discussions today.'

Barwick said: 'The FA and Sven felt it was important to clarify his future. This is for the benefit of everyone connected with English football, especially the fans.

'There has been so much speculation surrounding this matter in recent weeks and months, it was important to resolve it now.

'This is the right outcome and I would like to thank Sven and his advisors for their tremendous co-operation.

'As I have said before, our main objective is giving Sven and the England team the best chance of achieving success at the World Cup.

'Sven is definitely the man to lead us in Germany.

'Now is the time for everyone to get behind the team as we prepare for a tournament that presents us with a genuine chance of success.'

Eriksson said: 'I am happy that we have reached this agreement and can now continue our preparations for the World Cup.

'I know that I have the full support of the players and the FA and it is important to stress to everyone just how committed I am to achieving success this summer.

'I care passionately about this job and I want everyone to know that. I have always enjoyed the incredible support of the fans and I know how important they will be to us in Germany.

'This summer is the culmination of everything we have been working towards over the last five years. Let's go and win the World Cup.' 
« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 05:09:39 PM by Tallman »

Re: Eriksson to vacate post after World Cup
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2006, 05:37:26 PM »
ah wonder if this would affect England play in the pitch for the WC? this could be a plus for other teams in this group. We shoud take full advantage of this...but then again we have our own problems to deal with, like tickets..and hardest not making the cut ;D just thought I would throw dat in for TI.

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2006, 05:42:32 PM »
Erickson going and coach Real Madrid.  It go be total tabloid thing.

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2006, 05:44:21 PM »
england not winning shit, dey aint winnin de world cup, dey always feel so, brazil or holland knocking dem out  :devil:

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2006, 05:48:54 PM »
hopefully this will change the teams chemistry....and therefore we can buss dey tail ;D

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2006, 05:49:22 PM »
Sven is a clown...he always getting set up on the gossip scenes.

« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2006, 06:36:10 PM »
time for fergie england!  lol

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2006, 06:40:24 PM »
time for fergie england!  lol

LOL

I agree bring in Fergie so we could definitely make plans for the 2nd round :rotfl:

Dwight go really love that

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2006, 06:42:31 PM »
aye fergie is a king my boi    sven is a shithound  i am a big england fan    an every player has respect for fergie even becks   if he dont he will get a next boot in his head

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2006, 06:59:49 PM »
I think this move was clearly made in anticipation of the upset theyll take from T&T.

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2006, 08:30:26 PM »
good 1 they supporter when we beat them he can say he jumped he was not pushed.

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2006, 08:43:50 PM »
Sven is an okay manager but other than that he is a real idiot.

I am surprised that the FA kept him so long with all his shit-ups.

How a bright man could move so dunce and greedy is beyond me.

Offline Jimmy the Dog

• El Perro
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2006, 10:26:58 PM »
 ;D The Sven thing will not affect team spirit and your boys are goona get wacked...Sorry :rotfl:
The wonder of you....Supa Vale

Paul Scholes out for the rest of the season
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2006, 05:35:08 AM »
breaking news
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 05:38:12 AM by boss »

Offline 1989

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2006, 05:42:40 AM »
england not winning dey aint winnin de world cup, dey always feel so, brazil or holland knocking dem out  :devil:

Correction:  Trinidad knocking them out. ;D

;D The Sven thing will not affect team spirit and your boys are goona get wacked...Sorry :rotfl:

You are probably unaware that the #1 international striker in the World is Stern John - and he's not playing for England.  Prepare for some stern treatment.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 06:24:35 AM by Tallman »
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2006, 07:20:22 AM »
Sven is an okay manager but other than that he is a real idiot.

I am surprised that the FA kept him so long with all his shit-ups.

How a bright man could move so dunce and greedy is beyond me.

You from T&T ? An we have warner doing as he pleases and you eh saying nuttin ?

« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2006, 07:37:13 AM »
aye fergie is a king my boi    sven is a shithound  i am a big england fan    an every player has respect for fergie even becks   if he dont he will get a next boot in his head

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
bess dey hire Mr. Bertile St. Claire :rotfl:

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2006, 08:11:12 AM »
You from T&T ? An we have warner doing as he pleases and you eh saying nuttin ?

Please spend more time reading the board, it will prevent you from asking dotish questions in the future.

« Reply #18 on: January 24, 2006, 08:58:25 AM »
It is all about the media!!

It is the english media that is responsible for this!!

And the funny thing is, he is the best manager to pass through england in recent times.

I think that it is unfortunate that he is leaving england.  In my opinion, he didnt do anything wrong.  Everyone has those kind of conversations.  If Trinidad had the kind of media that England has, i am sure that we would have already had 1,000 reasons to hate Benhakker.

But say what, is licks in dey tail still!!

« Reply #19 on: January 24, 2006, 09:00:33 AM »
I hear they planining to get Beenhakker to coach them...  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2006, 12:09:08 PM »
They clamoring for ah English manager, but they ain't have much quality at all:  McClaren, Alardyce.  Bolton does play the ugliest brand possible, and McClaren is overated.  Fergie ain't wan't that job if yuh give it to him for life, and Martin O'Neill still has to show me that he can be successful away from Celtic.  They nationalistic pride go hurt them if they decide to go local, cause ah really don't think they have the goods at home.

« Reply #21 on: January 24, 2006, 12:36:37 PM »
after trinidad beat england 1-0 in the world cup, they will be after beenhakker too.

« Reply #22 on: January 24, 2006, 12:59:37 PM »
well after Newcastle dump Souness, he could drop his resume off at the FA office.