March 29, 2024, 03:28:00 AM

Who is better?

Friedel
15 (60%)
Keller
10 (40%)

Total Members Voted: 25

Author Topic: Friedel Versus Keller  (Read 2298 times)

Friedel Versus Keller
« on: January 25, 2006, 05:32:27 PM »
Fellas, ah know this site is about the Soca Warriors, but I've been arguing this point for a while now.  The best American keeper has retired from international football.  Brad Friedel is the more respected of the two keepers, commands his area better, is as equally a good shot stopper, has greater range on crosses, and plays better with his feet than keller.  Why he retired from international football, I don't know.  Sir Alex Ferguson gave him a raving performance after tonight's performance, saying that he made some out-of-this-world saves, and that he is always magnificent against them.  He is having his best season since being voted Keeper of the  Year in the EPL a few years back.  Bruce Arena knew he had a headache going into last World Cup, and is probably relieved to not have that sort of dilemma again.  I think Friedel should come out of international retirement and make the trip, cause he is world class.  What do you guys think?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2006, 05:37:25 PM by Tenorsaw »

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
Re: Friedel Versus Keller
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2006, 05:34:26 PM »
I watch that game today and couldn't believe some ah dem saves. The man does do it on a regular too. I don't watch enuff Keller matches to compare, but ur right, Friedel iz a BOSS...
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2006, 05:56:34 PM »
Men on this forum was fighting me down when I said undoubtedly the US as a World Cup Squad have the biggest depth in terms of Keepers. Keller has been consistently solid and Friedel tonight was just RIDICULOUS. Additionally there's Manutd's second string, Tim Howard who is a formidable force in the back as well

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2006, 05:57:26 PM »
i eh see de game buh freidal has always been a very good keeper

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2006, 06:00:08 PM »
Don't forget Hanneman, who seems set to make the jum to the Premiership with Reading, and there's a plethora of keeprs in the waiting in the domestic MLS.

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2006, 07:09:33 PM »
 brad friedel... is de best keeper i ever seen for de U.S.....he dough get enough recognition...

« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2006, 07:31:10 PM »
Friedel is a boss and for some reason he always plays a blinder against United.

« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2006, 11:41:06 PM »
friedel has cat-like reflexes, even at age 36ish.
i really think hes one of the best in the world.

« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2006, 11:58:08 AM »
that is a tough call for a coach to make.  freidel or keller.  i going with keller in last WC qualifying he was the best. Must note have not seen friedel in a while.

they ain't want nothing with carter, brow and jack though ;)

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2006, 01:13:14 PM »
Glad yuh brought up this topic Tenorsaw because I was wondering what made Bruce Arena pick Keller over Friedel. Keller is excellent, but Friedel is de boss. That sucker could save.

I heard somewhere that Arena made a decision a couple years back to go with Keller as first choice, so Friedel decided to retire. Is this true?
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 01:17:50 PM by Tallman »
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2006, 01:51:13 PM »
friedel has cat-like reflexes, even at age 36ish.

Friedel is 34.

Not young, but certainly not old for a goalkeeper.

« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2006, 02:19:57 PM »

friedel is much better than keller by far...

« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2006, 02:25:47 PM »
Friedel was in my top three keepers for the last World Cup.  If Arena had made such a decision so soon, I would have to say that it was a rash decision to a coach of normally sound judgment.  If I were him, I would make a trip to England to try and pry this man out of retirement.  HE good enough for one last hooray.