April 19, 2024, 09:47:26 AM

Author Topic: Ginga - a "documentary" about Brazilian football  (Read 3722 times)

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
Ginga - a "documentary" about Brazilian football
« on: December 22, 2005, 06:21:43 PM »
Hey, for those of you that may be interested, just thought I'd share this info I happened to come across.  Supposed to be airing on FSC tonight at 9:00pm to 10:00pm EST

Still, big up de Soca Warriors football, though.  Goes without saying... :beermug:   :beermug:    :beermug:     :beermug:
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 06:16:13 AM by Tallman »
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline NC

Thanks for this info.

thanks i go watch da for sure

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
You're welcome, bredz
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

I just came online to post about this show, it bad bad bad...all i kept saying when i was watching it was WHEEEEEEYYY!!!!

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
look at TOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

small man Romarinho just SPOIL the whole team and he side win in small goal SH!T CUP.

Offline monty

I hope Brazil get to host the world cup in 2014 yes! And I hope one of the host cities is Ipanema!

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
^^

LOL .... you going to watch football .... or woman?

It might not be a bad thing if we qualify again and have more ticket drama. I wouldn't mind going without tickets - it have PLENTY to see other than the football.

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
Broda, ah have tuh agree with u on dat one... :)

EXCELLENT DOCUMENTARY. it aired last sunday night. check it out or tape it or something.

It was also available on the Nike football website. It's probably still there.

it was also on last week, so maybe there will be a repeat again. I also think it is a series that will show every Sunday night, not just a one-off documentary. It is either at 9:00pm US time or 10:00pm trini time. check your listings for FSC

thanks for the link. ill look out for it...

Offline Aymir

• JABLOTEH FOREVER
    • Jabloteh
i saw it. was fantastic.

it was rel good but yuh have to feel for them brazilian eh. so much talent down dey but so little opportunity.

ah watch de show de other night and apart from the jaw dropping skills ah could'nt help but think about Black Americans from the hood and dey basketball...balling from morning 'til night and dat's they road out the ghetto. Far less opportunity in Brazil doh. Ah glad for Robinho doh...he nasty too bad.

Must see football show - Ginga
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2006, 04:54:09 AM »
Saw a football show last night on sky sports 1 called Ginga...........it is quality, these guys are so talented it is amazing.
Try and see it if you can, its done by the same people who did City of God (another quality film)

here is a review

Described as the undefinable, mystical quality of movment that sets Brazilian futbol players apart from the rest, ginga is central to the athletic and cultural ingredients of Brazilian national identity. Produced by Fernando Mereilles (City of God, The Constant Gardener) and directed by three up-and-coming young filmmakers, Ginga is a slick, dynamic documentary that explores Brazilian life through the country's favorite sport, looking at the lives of different futbol players from different social backgrounds and regions of the country. Their stories yield a thoughtful, detailed portrait of Brazil's fascinating and complicated culture.

Re: Ginga - a "documentary" about Brazilian football
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2006, 10:37:17 AM »
not football related but as mentioned before if you have a chance borrow city of god
which is a true story and depicts ghetto life in Brazil