April 27, 2024, 01:08:09 PM

Author Topic: Cricket at the football world cup  (Read 4757 times)

Offline YES man

Cricket at the football world cup
« on: January 24, 2006, 03:39:08 AM »
We are a group of England football supporters looking to organise a cricket match in Nuremburg prior to the football match between the 2 countries to show Germany and the rest of Europe what they are missing.

What we are looking for is a group of T&T supporters who will be in Germany for the World Cup and who would be willing to spend an afternoon playing an informal game of cricket , have a drink in a carnival / party atmosphere.

If anyone is interested can you please contact me so we can try to organise something or can you pass onto someone who you think could / would help.

Regards

Adrian Biggs

Yorkshire England Supporters

MickeyRat

Re: Cricket at the football world cup
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 08:25:44 AM »
Wind-ball or Cork?

I eh lucky with them gladmen who does pelt corkballs, but ah could manage ah wind-ball 25 overs.

Offline YES man

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2006, 08:49:35 AM »
We don't intend anyone to get hurt , so I doubt we will be playing with a real cricket ball.

If you think you can get a team of Socawarrior Cricketwarriors together off this site or even a group of your mates ...I have had some interest already from someone else so maybe between the lot of us we can arrange a festival of cricket

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2006, 08:49:50 AM »
We are a group of England football supporters looking to organise a cricket match in Nuremburg prior to the football match between the 2 countries to show Germany and the rest of Europe what they are missing.

What we are looking for is a group of T&T supporters who will be in Germany for the World Cup and who would be willing to spend an afternoon playing an informal game of cricket , have a drink in a carnival / party atmosphere.

If anyone is interested can you please contact me so we can try to organise something or can you pass onto someone who you think could / would help.

Regards

Adrian Biggs

Adrian, the response means tennis ball cricket or cork ball?  Most West Indians tend to play tennis ball cricket informally much more often than the hard ball which is quite expensive and hard to organise without the proper equipment and venue.

Offline YES man

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2006, 11:00:03 AM »
Thank you - I think I got the gist of it.

I expect we will be playing with a tennis ball or soft ball  because I hope there will be a "bit" of drinking taking place and no-one wants to get hurt playing for their country !! and I can't see the Germans preparing a wicket for us

If we can arrange something it will only be informal and a bit of fun

« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2006, 11:02:36 AM »
yes man,

still waiting to see whether i get tickets or not via the fifa lottery. if i do and you bring guinness, i will be there. please note, i know very little about cricket apart from the "liming" aspect of it and have absolutely no cricketing skills.

MickeyRat

« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2006, 11:09:29 AM »
cricket HORNIN WC2006 ???
allya have a FOOTBALL fete match ;D ;D ;D ;D

I have some trini college friends who are trying to put together a lil fete match/small lime in Germany so when I get the info and details and pass it along. I've never been to germany so I cah say where or when just yet.

« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2006, 04:21:13 PM »
I might be interested, but if T&T beats England then we may have to run for our lives....  :rotfl:

Good idea man...

« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2006, 05:32:28 PM »
cricket HORNIN WC2006 ???
allya have a FOOTBALL fete match ;D ;D ;D ;D

I have some trini college friends who are trying to put together a lil fete match/small lime in Germany so when I get the info and details and pass it along. I've never been to germany so I cah say where or when just yet.

Rat I in dat...hail me when allyuh organize tings

« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2006, 05:37:53 PM »
I DONE SEE ALLAHALLYUH GO BE PISSIN DRUNK COME THE 10TH

« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2006, 06:09:10 PM »
I dey for a lil cricket fete match...is ah long time me eh play, but ah still have meh skillz  ;D

Big Up Yes Man!

« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2006, 06:19:23 PM »
I dey for a lil cricket fete match...is ah long time me eh play, but ah still have meh skillz  ;D

Big Up Yes Man!

pelting ah wind ball and pelting ah jock is not de same ting breds.

dem skills yuh boasting about is fuh de bathroom.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

MickeyRat

« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2006, 06:20:14 PM »

Big Up Yes Man!

Shot, off side de off stomp!

« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2006, 06:31:13 PM »

Big Up Yes Man!

;D ;D hey TT ah would have to put ah restraining order out for you...stop stalking me nah man...
What happen in DeSoWa bathroom, stays in DeSoWa bathroom...if you want action check out saga..ah not in dat  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Big Up ppl who mind dey own business!  ;D

« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2006, 06:39:20 PM »

Big Up Yes Man!

;D ;D hey TT ah would have to put ah restraining order out for you...stop stalking me nah man...
What happen in DeSoWa bathroom, stays in DeSoWa bathroom...if you want action check out saga..ah not in dat  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Big Up ppl who mind dey own business!  ;D

Stoop woopsing breds..me eh stalking you..shimps,  at least yuh admit yuh is ah jocker..no horrors masturbation is sex with someone yuh love...dat is if yuh love yuh self.

« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2006, 06:47:36 PM »
TT you closing your eyes and flinging bat wild wild...jus so you jump on shit talk...stay in yuh cris nah man. why don't you tell ppl why you was not posting the last couple days..ah sure it have a story behind dat..and stop acting like a macomeh man.. ;D
 ah feel you need ah drink :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2006, 06:59:08 PM »
TT you closing your eyes and flinging bat wild wild...jus so you jump on shit talk...stay in yuh cris nah man. why don't you tell ppl why you was not posting the last couple days..ah sure it have a story behind dat..and stop acting like a macomeh man.. ;D
 ah feel you need ah drink :beermug:

But i was posting.  Just not much...It was jockersd week so ah leave it up tuh you and yuh fellow pullers

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2006, 07:16:52 PM »
i cyah wait tuh se TI come out if mr.hardest permit so ah go cork he wit a leathers travelin mid 70s

rel balze.

jes tel meh de exact date and il come rep'in de oval in a second

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2006, 01:10:38 AM »

Regards

Adrian Biggs

I have between 5 and 8 Trinis who would be interested. I will need to check our game schedule and pm you to arrange.

Offline YES man

« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2006, 06:06:44 AM »
Thanks - others from the site have PM'd me to register their interest and Flex will try to keep everyone informed

Offline YES man

« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2006, 01:23:39 AM »
We are now trying to get the Australians on board aswell.

Another country who loves to play cricket and party

« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2006, 07:55:13 AM »
YES man.

trinis don't "party". we FETE!

Offline YES man

« Reply #22 on: February 02, 2006, 07:06:35 AM »
I stand corrected !

we can fete in Germany then

although in Yorkshire - fight is sometimes pronounced as fete , so be careful who you invite to fete !!