March 29, 2024, 06:26:27 AM

Author Topic: Which T&T footballer college or league used to score,taking ah cornerkick?  (Read 5262 times)

I remeber back in the late 70's early 80's john d had the cumberbatch brothers who also played league ball for peterborough,listen when them men taking corners bredz,goalkeepers use to be sweating bullets because yuh know they sure to score or keeper had to pull off ah magnificient save.

I remember in by days back in benedict's i remember silvio spann scoring a goal on a corner in a SSFL game. He string up the keeper too. I remeber he was also deadly with free kick. Keeper use to be shivering in their pants when he line up for the kick

I know Alvin Corneal was good at it.

Jean-Paul Fabien...

Played for Tranquil and Fatima.....

I see he score 2 corners in one game..... right foot curlers from de left side.....
De man was so confident after that he get a right side corner and try to score with de outside of he right foot... but he do shit

also ah know ah next fatima man alan tardieu (left foot) coulda do it too.

Offline Lightning

Arthur "jap" Browm
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

Marc Riley- Fatima scored directly off a corner one time. I think against Mucurapo

I remember in by days back in benedict's i remember silvio spann scoring a goal on a corner in a SSFL game. He string up the keeper too. I remeber he was also deadly with free kick. Keeper use to be shivering in their pants when he line up for the kick

So would you say that is an area where the soca warriors should concentrate and maybe spann and not yorke take the majority of corners.We all know endless possibilities exist with ah deadly in-swinging corner.  

i score one in interclass by de corner facing miss georgie pie and dem

Brian Gittens for Fatima

So would you say that is an area where the soca warriors should concentrate and maybe spann and not yorke take the majority of corners.We all know endless possibilities exist with ah deadly in-swinging corner.  

I would not suggest spann taking corners unless his quality and consistence are good over numerous attempts. In his school days he was good at taking spot kick and corners because Isa the coach use him becuase he was the best on the team at it and they trained him for it alot. It all depends on who beenhakher trains for corners. As for spann i saw him take a free kick against bahrain and he hit it straight into the wall. As of lately yorke cross on the right side have been decent.

stephen hart...yes same SH...usted to do it a lot....real bend

Henderson' s corners wid de saints team alongside dem red boys Nakhid, Skeene an dem

Marc Riley- Fatima scored directly off a corner one time. I think against Mucurapo

yeah Riley scored one against 'compre.

on another note....how come in the years gone by men could score from corners, but now on de national team we cyah get a proper inswinger or outswinger on top of the six yard box. consistantly

Offline Gladman

I see Keon Daniel do that once in school for Signal Hill with his left foot ,but it was against weak opposition
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

Offline Israel

Well from my time watching SSFL, I defintely have to go with Gary Gibbons of Fatima and then went to saint Anthony's. He was real sick on corners and doh talk bout free kick.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
Jean-Paul Fabien...

Played for Tranquil and Fatima.....

I see he score 2 corners in one game..... right foot curlers from de left side.....
De man was so confident after that he get a right side corner and try to score with de outside of he right foot... but he do shit

also ah know ah next fatima man alan tardieu (left foot) coulda do it too.

I remember when he score them tings...... he use to take corners from both sides of the field........
i think i see him try it in the savannah NFA also .. i cyah remember who he was playing for...

Well from my time watching SSFL, I defintely have to go with Gary Gibbons of Fatima and then went to saint Anthony's. He was real sick on corners and doh talk bout free kick.

Gary coulda kick anything....... he was really suppose to reach far.... anybody know what he doing now.......

Offline Ardent Fan

Tiger Fitzpatrick CIC

on another note....how come in the years gone by men could score from corners, but now on de national team we cyah get a proper inswinger or outswinger on top of the six yard box. consistantly

fuh real

Offline fanman

A few years ago in Skinner park Vijay Samaroo from Pres scored a corner as well as a free kick from aroud the same spot. Crowd went mad.

Good Observation!

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
I was about to advise you to change your avatar Fanman, but you caught on  ;D. Anyway, funny that Samaroo and Gibbings were mentioned as corner and free-kick specialists in SSFL. From what I saw of them, both were monstrous kickers of the ball, and had a somewhat similar style of play.
Ketch footballitis

Henderson' s corners wid de saints team alongside dem red boys Nakhid, Skeene an dem

Funny yuh mention henderson in the same breath with taking corners,he was notorious fuh speed down the wing,If anyone knows him well it would be me.I made sure he get he share ah blade when he came my way,as a matter of fact I still have two clippings, where he get the axe from me on qrc grounds and the other is on saints ground where are run him off the sidelines.     
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 01:41:49 PM by saga pinto »

Leon "Police" Brown.
Naparima 1994 -2000. (I think)
He did it twice. Iin 99 and/or 2000.
Was a very good dead ball kicker.

I think that Edson Lando did it back in the late 80's playing for St benedicts, under Jan Steadman.

Also this may be insignificant, but in Senior Grade south knock out competition Dylan Charles, in 1994 scored from a corner, in the 106th minute for Modsec vs Cedros Composite. Next year he played for P'town.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2006, 03:32:50 PM by Tallman »

Alvin Corneal is de most consisitent player in doing dat,dat I know about.St Mary's had a captain in de '70's call Douglas he use to do dat too.He even use to curl ball on grass around  wall from free kicks for goal.

worked with marc riley last season with QPCC....quite an educated left foot

Offline Trinitim

What SKINS say is true I was there for that match, When Silvio Spann score from the corner spot it was really amazing I see that with my two eyes. Corner takers have to be grommed, you have to know what area to put the pall and also the height of delivery to pick out your players.

I saw Kerry Jamerson do it in 1984 for Arima vs. Fatima at Arima Municipal Park or whatever the frigging name was.

Scott Rodriguez, the Fatima GK, claim the lights were in his eyes. However, the crowd explained to him after the game that it was normal for Kerry to do dat.

Peace,

Dont forget Keston Nancoo from St mary´s ..the last outside of the left foot kicker..dont see that much anymore !

Alvin Corneal is de most consisitent player in doing dat,dat I know about.St Mary's had a captain in de '70's call Douglas he use to do dat too.He even use to curl ball on grass around  wall from free kicks for goal.
If I'm not mistaken the corners used to be taken by Lake and Williams back in those days when Peppers was captain.