April 23, 2024, 10:13:21 PM

Author Topic: Fastest footballers  (Read 19215 times)

Fastest footballers
« on: January 27, 2006, 06:37:30 AM »
i find the normal charity football games e.g  ronaldinho11 vs shevchenko 11 to be boring just a whole bunch ah stars but no passion so not muh fun as passion is the fuel for greatness. what i would really like to see is a 100m race of the eight fastest footballers in the game
my 8 and yours may differ here is mine( not in any particular order)

Eto'o
Martins
Henry
Carlos
Robben
Owen
Messi
Cisse
who u think will win? who deserves the speed merchant crown?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2006, 06:42:45 AM by Tallman »

Re: Fastest footballers
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2006, 06:46:13 AM »
can I add names ?

like rooney and Rommedahl
rommedahl is probably one of the fastest players in europe

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2006, 06:48:04 AM »
sure u can aadd names i think eto'o is d fastest but i am a barca fan so i could b biased

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2006, 07:50:39 AM »
How Adriano eh make dah list??
« Last Edit: January 28, 2006, 10:53:32 PM by breezers »
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2006, 07:59:48 AM »
Yuh could have yuh 100m race.

More appropriate for me is a race with the ball at dey feet.  In that case Ronaldo the Imposter would be right up dey.

« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2006, 08:13:36 AM »
 Ronaldo still fast...I still don't think any of the footballers mentioned as fast as him...Eto and these guys does just fight the game more so they look faster...Ronaldo have no reason to that anymore...

Offline monty

« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2006, 08:19:01 AM »
tallest... that goal against panama he, was like a gazelle in full stride  :rotfl:
then whitley... the run on the left flank that led to our first goal vs mex

« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2006, 08:35:37 AM »
can I add names ?

like rooney and Rommedahl
rommedahl is probably one of the fastest players in europe

I heard Rommedahl ran a 100m in 10.5 already but in the Theo Walcott write up they said it wasn't true, it was just a myth in any event he real fast though. For me,

Henry
Rommedahl
Martins
Owen
Rooney

« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2006, 08:41:36 AM »
speed with ball at feet and close control has to be Ronaldo then Owen.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2006, 09:57:05 AM by football king »

« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2006, 08:51:32 AM »
Speed with ball at feet eh d only speed dat matters man
Being able to run into space or run down a long ball or close in on a tackle requires good speed.
Men often look fast when they could leave out other swhen chasin a ball headed to goal.

« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2006, 09:24:38 AM »
Add Gibril Cisse th that list.  If only he could learn to finish.

« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2006, 09:39:22 AM »
Nicolas Anelka
Ronaldo
Henry
rommedahl
Martins

« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2006, 10:28:08 AM »
Those above & include VASSELL

« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2006, 10:33:04 AM »
what about sinama-pongolle? he rel quick.

« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2006, 10:38:58 AM »
i heard owen ran 10 .3 on grass me n know how accurate that is
and theo(walcott) and pace are always used in d same sentence
if its 1 thing i am observing all the skilled brazillian playas have descent pace
dino 2 goals against madrid he did look quick
ronaldo is d  acceleration king

« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2006, 10:47:29 AM »
Take Messi and Carlos off your list.

Messi fast with the ball but not really a speedster.

Carlos back in the day but definitely not now.

Add Kolo Toure to your list. 

« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2006, 10:48:46 AM »

« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2006, 11:02:48 AM »
Put in David Suazo from honduras. That is a pace man!

Also a pre-knee trouble Ronaldo...The originial goalpost mouth one was the fastest ting in he day.

Apparently Kenwyne Jones was the fastest ting in Southampton as well and had the highest vertical leap, he doe look fast when running but he does cover plenty ground.

But arghm....Arsenal new signing Theo Walcott is a speed man, alyuh watch out for him

« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2006, 12:30:39 PM »
Nicolas Anelka
Ronaldo
Henry
rommedahl
Martins

add tuh dat Cafu

« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2006, 12:58:32 PM »
Dennis Rommedahl....he used to be a sprinter

Offline ANC2

« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2006, 01:27:46 PM »
 I read recently that Ronaldo (fat or not) is the fastest at Real, with Roberto Carlos being 4th fastest.
i also read where Cole was the fastest at Arsenal. So add them

« Reply #21 on: January 27, 2006, 01:34:42 PM »
I read recently that Ronaldo (fat or not) is the fastest at Real, with Roberto Carlos being 4th fastest.

Fast over what distance I wonder?

Ronaldo is still the striker that has the quickest off the mark pace of any striker in the world.  I would doubt he could repeat that magical run he had for Barcelona back in the day.

« Reply #22 on: January 27, 2006, 01:36:41 PM »
yeah cole is the fastest at arsenal it has been said many many times before

« Reply #23 on: January 27, 2006, 01:36:51 PM »
Nutten against Ronaldo pace eh.... but who have exceptional speed playing for Real Madrid?

« Reply #24 on: January 27, 2006, 01:39:22 PM »

Fast over what distance I wonder?

Ronaldo is still the striker that has the quickest off the mark pace of any striker in the world.  I would doubt he could repeat that magical run he had for Barcelona back in the day.

I remember over de weekend ah Spanish commentator say Ronaldo is only living on his legend these days, I think looking back at how he was fuh PSV and Barca men expect him to breeze through 5, 6 men still. I think he still could, he have the speed and the dribbling ability and the intelligence, but I think he tryin not risk serious injury again...over de past two years his striking style seems to be more of finishing than attacking really. He could still score from anywhere, one of de few strikers who could do that

« Reply #25 on: January 27, 2006, 01:49:55 PM »
Nicolas Anelka
Ronaldo
Henry
rommedahl
Martins

add tuh dat Cafu

Nah man

Cafu running in reverse for a while now.

MickeyRat

« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2006, 01:59:34 PM »
Avery John during de first leg in Trinidad vs. Bahrain.  100 meter skills on the left (chest out, head down).  Ato woulda get lef-out.

« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2006, 02:06:32 PM »
Shaun wright Phillips. (fast no ass)

Eto. (as always)

Carlos. (tiny peuyol is fast)

and Anelka. (yuh could say whateva yuh want about his overall skill, but you CANNOT deny he pace)

« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2006, 02:10:09 PM »
Fastest footballers I've seen over the years (at least they seemed really fast)....in no particular order

1.Claudio Caniggia
2.David Suazo
3.Thierry Henry
4.Roberto Carlos
5.Clint Marcelle
6.Marc Overmars
7.Ronaldo
8.Eto'o

Daz the all-time 100m dash right there

*Craig Bellamy is the alternate if one of them withdraws

« Reply #29 on: January 27, 2006, 02:14:06 PM »
martins is a beast in dat list, Eto'o is another one who like a gizeele