April 28, 2024, 09:00:21 PM

Author Topic: Best dribbler at club or national level  (Read 13953 times)

Best dribbler at club or national level
« on: January 30, 2006, 08:06:50 PM »
This will always be one of my favourite topics to debate because of the very many tricksters we have had over the years. From inter col and bush leagues to national leagues our locals have been able to come up with some real slick moves, even getting certain tricks named after them !
Anyone remember the spanner ? well that name originated from Leroy spann, father of silvio. In his day once  he get to that ball before you ..you are a dead man...inside spanner, outside spanner !
Timothy haynes from Arima could do it in de air !
Leonsen was good , on a wet ground especially but among my favourites would be Evans wise who i once saw beat a man off de TV screen !!, colin rocke who must have retired a few US players before time and Bert Neptune.. i am sure the defence force supporters would remember Berta !!
Berta beat de whole a Jamaica one night in arima when they got a 4-0 licking. It was eh, eh , eh until de goal ...never will forget that night.
he was rippin from foundation to finish !
Berta once beat a player on UWI ground and sent de whole crowd on de left side ah de field de wrong way. i eh go lie even i geh beat and ah wasn't even playing ! sadly injury ended Berta's career early..never know where he might have reached.
i could name others like jughead, marcelle, twinkle toes brewster, Peter mitchell etc but sadly none from de present soca warriors ???? I hope we dont train out this talent from our footballers.

Offline pioneertrini

Re: Best dribbler at club or national level
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2006, 09:35:15 PM »
Di black Pearl from Eddie Heart  ;D

anybody know who he was?

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2006, 10:11:45 PM »
This is ah easy one... and I am sure a few of you heard his name....

BERT NEPTUNE...

any one gonna second that? He played with the Army and the national team.

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2006, 11:54:43 PM »
An in form Dwarika.

Offline madmonn

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2006, 12:23:49 AM »
Reynold Carrington in his intercol days with Fyzo

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2006, 05:19:55 AM »
conrad smith

Offline rastafari

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2006, 05:45:12 AM »
Ian Clauzell the dread dribbler.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2006, 06:05:37 AM »
Ian Clauzell the dread dribbler.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
yeah back in de day he cuda rel dribble i was now gonna bring him up
buh he wasn't a very physical player which could have been his downfall

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2006, 06:10:50 AM »
The youth man on the MILO advertisement... ;D ;D

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2006, 06:17:44 AM »
Ian Clauzell- Granted he was skinny- The ball was glued to his feet.

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2006, 07:11:38 AM »

BERT NEPTUNE...

Yuh call ah real player dey.

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2006, 07:24:21 AM »
Clauzell and Marcelle
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2006, 08:33:26 AM »
shastri spencer...national  U17 last year, jabloteh U17 & gustine

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2006, 08:57:20 AM »
The youth man on the MILO advertisement... 

well said College.....

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2006, 09:01:13 AM »
Di black Pearl from Eddie Heart  ;D

anybody know who he was?

black pearl ah hear tha name before-  them man i would throw in is a rasta from puna played for upstarts/tacarigua utd.  Trever "pucky" 1 of the wickedest spanner ever.  very talented but

Pioneertrini is PUCKY the black pearl??

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2006, 09:01:46 AM »
Evans Wise
If only he could do something else beside dribble  :P

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2006, 09:07:41 AM »
jai john how you eh mention Leroy DeLeon name as one of the best dribblers ever. Talk with players who played in the NASL and that name always comes up.

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2006, 09:11:22 AM »
Anthony Sherwood

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2006, 09:54:18 AM »
i dont really know bout before...ppl could only speak for the period they saw and the players they were able to see.....

to  Steve Sealy jr....Abiola Clarence.....M moore from malick...and omari billy from st james sec..

« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2006, 10:07:53 AM »

BERT NEPTUNE...

Aye boy you know ah dribbler when you see one,this fella have to go down in the archives of dribblers,he is definitely the best we have ever produced,the thing with this guy it's not one with him it's all the time and he was productive.He is gone now may he RIP.

« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2006, 10:24:58 AM »
i dont really know bout before...ppl could only speak for the period they saw and the players they were able to see.....

to  Steve Sealy jr....Abiola Clarence.....M moore from malick...and omari billy from st james sec..

poi poi big player

billyyyyyyyyyyy ;D

« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2006, 11:00:32 AM »
jai john how you eh mention Leroy DeLeon name as one of the best dribblers ever. Talk with players who played in the NASL and that name always comes up.

I never saw him play and from what i heard he was more of a playmeker than a dribbler.... Latapy for example has not been named by anyone as a dribbler but would be on everyone's lst as a playmaker.

« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2006, 11:01:49 AM »
carlos edwards  ;D

« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2006, 11:06:20 AM »
I would make a lot of enemes in the west for leaving out jughead..the mnor league champ and i apologize for not mentioning Terry St louis. I remember Coach Vranes saying he just could not get across to jughead that the game is not about dribbling. Gamblers even bet on Jughead destroying any player in minor eagues across the country.
Savannah star " spanner " George would also make a top 10 in my book.

« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2006, 11:16:46 AM »
carlos edwards  ;D

Get Coops to tell you the level of guys like Spann,  Berta etc and you wont look at edwards twice. These guys didn't beat you two out of thre tiies they beat you everytime ! You had to get them to lay it off...of course in those days the crowd was what mattered  you diin't want to meet a crowd after the game if you came up against the defence force and Berta !
They claim his feet were set wrongside because of how many times he sent efenders the wrong way.
Sorry he died prematurely !!!!!!

« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2006, 11:20:54 AM »
carlos edwards  ;D

Get Coops to tell you the level of guys like Spann,  Berta etc and you wont look at edwards twice. These guys didn't beat you two out of thre tiies they beat you everytime ! You had to get them to lay it off...of course in those days the crowd was what mattered  you diin't want to meet a crowd after the game if you came up against the defence force and Berta !
They claim his feet were set wrongside because of how many times he sent efenders the wrong way.

"Rock" used to hit Berta for six a few times when we played dem... ah eh tink Berta eva beat him ...

« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2006, 11:22:34 AM »
As ah old South man who grow up right across from Mahaica Oval I had the pleasure of seeing Dilly and Co in action. T=De one dat all Point men will talk bout most when it comes to dribbling is Leo "Twinkle toes" Brewster. He was masterful. From de time he touch de ball...watch out cause yuh gehing yuh ankle twis up.
My favorite games was when Caroni and Leroy Spann came to play. I think dat game used to draw the most crowd. It was beats WHOLE GAME. Spanna tearing thru we defence(Tanno, Civic right back, was Spanna son for ah day ;D ) and Brew mashing up Caroni's defence. There was de occassional goal too ;D.

In modern times Russell Latapy is jess pure trouble. He make some Canadians and Mexicans look like primary school boys. Evans Wise is deadly too, he jess needs some presence-of-mind to make a good pass after he done beats the sixth man in a row.

« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2006, 11:53:53 AM »
carlos edwards  ;D

Aye breds no no no we can't talk about Carlos Edwards when you talking about dribblers, we know what we talking about,you put everything in a nutshell here,there was no answere to these guys,you know how much ppl get yellow and red card for grabing they jersey,opposing players know they was going to get it,it was just a matter of time.

« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2006, 11:55:52 AM »
As ah old South man who grow up right across from Mahaica Oval I had the pleasure of seeing Dilly and Co in action. T=De one dat all Point men will talk bout most when it comes to dribbling is Leo "Twinkle toes" Brewster. He was masterful. From de time he touch de ball...watch out cause yuh gehing yuh ankle twis up.
My favorite games was when Caroni and Leroy Spann came to play. I think dat game used to draw the most crowd. It was beats WHOLE GAME. Spanna tearing thru we defence(Tanno, Civic right back, was Spanna son for ah day ;D ) and Brew mashing up Caroni's defence. There was de occassional goal too ;D.

In modern times Russell Latapy is jess pure trouble. He make some Canadians and Mexicans look like primary school boys. Evans Wise is deadly too, he jess needs some presence-of-mind to make a good pass after he done beats the sixth man in a row.

Buh Pointman dat is years after Dilly and Archie dem leave Civic? Boh Boy (aka Spanner), play for Caroni in 75-76 around dey.

Yuh right though Brewster was tears.

having seen and followed Dilly, he was not only a play maker but at artist at dribbling, players could not even touch the ball. the thing was it looked like he was hardly running but man still getting leave out. I remember  a game in Skinner Park versus Costa Rica. Dilly hit ah Costa Rican ah double rollie pollie, left foot, right foot.  right in the center circle. Ah think dat CRican stil dey fuss he screw he self in the ground.

« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2006, 11:57:12 AM »
Coop's ah curious
what you think about Evans Wise...?