September 15, 2024, 12:03:46 AM

Author Topic: Quow wins 400 in Beijing  (Read 5563 times)

Offline Swima

Quow wins 400 in Beijing
« on: August 17, 2006, 05:51:44 AM »
Rennie Quow wins TnT's first gold at these junior world champs with a win in the 400m.
He went a 45.74 which is a new PR. He was dead last out of the blocks though.
Success will never take you by surprise.

Re: Quow wins 400 in Beijing
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2006, 06:12:10 AM »
http://guardian.co.tt/sports1.html

THE TRINIDAD GUARDIAN

Renny Quow

BY KWAME WILLIAMS

Keston Bledman was unsuccessful in his bid to capture T&T’s first medal at the IAAF World Junior Track and Field Championships yesterday in Beijing, China.

Competing in the final of the men’s 100 metres, the Simplex sprinter clocked 10.47 seconds to finish seventh.

Great Britain’s Harry Aikines-Aryeetey copped the title in 10.37 seconds, with Canada’s Justyn Warner bagging the silver medal (10.39) and Yohan Blake of Jamaica getting the bronze (10.42).

Bledman found things easy in Tuesday’s qualifying rounds, first winning his preliminary heat (10.59), then coming second (10.52) in semifinal heat No. 3.

However in the championship race, the going was a lot tougher, as Bledman came to discover.

Carifta Games and CAC Junior Championships quartermile king Renny Quow looks to be one of the favourites heading into today’s 400m final, after winning his semifinal heat in fine style.

The lad from Tobago took 46.18 seconds to complete the event, holding off USA’s Justin Oliver (46.22) and Grant Baker of Great Britain (46.85) in the process.

He also won his opening round heat on Tuesday.

Jamaal James missed out on a place in the men’s 800m final, when he came seventh in his semifinal heat. The Carifta two-lap champion posted a time of one minute, 51.78 seconds.

Today, Memphis Pioneers sprinter Kervin Morgan will make his World Juniors debut when the 200m competition gets started. Both he and Bledman are T&T’s representatives in the event.

Men's 800m semifinal

Heat 1

1. Kivuna Jackson, Mumbwa KEN 1:48.56

2. González, Andy CUB 1:48.85

3. Schembera, Robin GER 1:49.41

4. Brewer, James GBR 1:49.53

5. Adar, Jimmy UGA 1:49.69

6. Lastennet, Jeff FRA 1:50.30

7. James, Jamaal TRI 1:50.42

8. Pöllänen, Tor SWE 1:51.78

Men's 400m semifinal

Heat 2

1. Quow, Renny TRI 46.18 Q

2. Oliver, Justin USA 46.22 Q

3. Baker, Grant GBR 46.85

4. Borlee, Kevin BEL 46.95

5. Isaiah, Victor NGR 46.98

6. Martín, Aitor ESP 47.35

7. Bubner, Alex AUS 47.43

8. Al-Rawahi Mohamed, Salim OMA 47.74

Men's 100m final

1. Aikines-Aryeetey, Harry GBR 10.37

2. Warner, Justyn CAN 10.39

3. Blake, Yohan JAM 10.42

4. Rose, Remaldo JAM 10.43

5. Liang, Jiahong CHN 10.43

6. Bennett-Jackson, Wade GBR 10.45

7. Bledman, Keston TRI 10.47

8. Metu, Obinna NGR 10.50.

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2006, 06:13:18 AM »
Reaction time means absolutely nothing in a 400.  I feel good for the man, we have never won this event at these championships before, and I called it a day ago.

BRAVO :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2006, 06:50:37 AM »

Please note all he won was the heat not the finals..... Best of luck in the finals though.

« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2006, 06:59:16 AM »

Please note all he won was the heat not the finals..... Best of luck in the finals though.
Yes, he won the gold!

Offline Swima

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2006, 08:32:11 AM »

Yes, he won the gold!

yuh fellow tobagonian doc

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2006, 08:35:56 AM »
well done fella, keep progressin  :beermug:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2006, 09:40:09 AM »
Yeah this ent like when we make d mistake with Bledman.  This happened - I see the final - it was damn close.  Big up RQ and de whole ah Tobago.  I think Watkins is going to be our first ever WORLD JR. FEMALE CHAMPION by tomorrow.  Let's see if the press gives these youngsters the props they deserve. 

I enjoyed the 20/20 cricket but this is 100 times bigger.  Big up our youth so they can be encouraged. :)

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2006, 10:42:43 AM »
Yeah this ent like when we make d mistake with Bledman.  This happened - I see the final - it was damn close.  Big up RQ and de whole ah Tobago.  I think Watkins is going to be our first ever WORLD JR. FEMALE CHAMPION by tomorrow.  Let's see if the press gives these youngsters the props they deserve. 

I enjoyed the 20/20 cricket but this is 100 times bigger.  Big up our youth so they can be encouraged. :)

Brudda is long time i saying that about the press down here. But it goes beyond the press. We only now know how to market football, and that only came about with success. Cricket is marketed by party, rum and woman in the stands.
To my limited knowledge, for about 10-15 years track has consistently shown promise among our youth. As has swimming, which i must plug as a former swimmer.
When you hearing stories about Hasely having to pay to enter a friggin national champs up until a few years ago, you realise how much we does be on shit in this place.

I don't know if you remember me talking to you in Bago last year during Carifta weekend, telling you about my idea. Well I have had to put it on the back burner for now... but with some financing and proper staff, i honestly feel we owe it to our athletes to recognise their acheviements, whether it is football or all fours.

As for my comment on Quow's reaction time up top, i know in swimming that in all short events one's reaction as with eveything else counts for a minute amount, but it counts nonetheless, hence the shaving etc by swimmers. But i know track is a different kettle of fish. It was in no way meant to take away from what was a fine performance. If i am not mistaken, he is second on our list of quarter milers for this season. Modibo may have had one or two faster performances. It certainly shows how much attention needs to be paid to this young man.

P.S. I agree with you on Watkins... I really hope we see a female gold soon.

Offline willi

« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2006, 04:47:57 PM »

Watkins...what event?

Could not find her on scanning the WJ site.

« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2006, 05:02:38 PM »

Watkins...what event?

Could not find her on scanning the WJ site.

Long Jump and High Jump I believe.

« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2006, 05:55:09 PM »
The champ   :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :cheers: :party: :salute: :thumbsup: :wavetowel:

« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2006, 08:01:19 PM »
LONG JUMP. She had the longest jump in qualifying.  The final is Saturday.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2006, 08:08:33 PM by atoboldon »

« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2006, 10:09:51 PM »

Do u know if she participatin in de high jump as well Ato?

« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2006, 04:57:41 AM »

according to the guardian she is

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #16 on: August 18, 2006, 07:20:41 AM »
Good news, good news!!   :applause: :applause:  ah read it in de papers tuhday
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2006, 10:57:43 PM »

according to the guardian she is

Unfortunately, Rhonda didn't do well in the High Jump.  Finished 9th in her group with a 1.74 metre jump.  She's scheduled later today for the long jump final where as Ato said...she's leading the field.

ALL THE BEST RHONDA!!!!

Source:  Trinidad Express...

Rhonda Watkins could become only the second female athlete from Trinidad and Tobagoto claim a World Junior Championship medal, in today's women's long jump final at the Chaoyang Sports Centre here in Beijing, China.

Six years ago, in Santiago, Chile, Fana Ashby bolted to bronze in the women's 100 metres dash. Watkins has the pedigree to improve on that performance, and should the 18-year-old athlete find her best form today, keeping her off the top of the rostrum will be an extremely tough task.

On Thursday, Watkins made a strong statement, leaping 6.47 metres to top the qualifying

competition. Slovenia's Nina Kokot, Jessica Penney of New Zealand and Romanian Cornelia Deiac were second, third and fourth, respectively, jumping 6.29, 6.26 and 6.25.

However, if 2006 form is to be used as a guideline, the strongest challenge for gold should come from Germany's Anika Leipold, whose best jump this year is a personal best 6.55m. Only Watkins, the global under-20 leader at 6.56m, has jumped further this season.

Leipold, though, struggled a bit in the preliminaries. The German's best effort, on Thursday, was 6.18m, two centimetres short of the 6.20 automatic qualifying standard.

Also expected to be in contention for precious metal, today, are Yuan Zhang, who will be spurred on by a partisan home crowd, and Serbia's Ivana Spanovic.

Some 24 hours before she bids for precious metal in the long jump, Watkins was at the Chaoyang Sports Centre, yesterday, competing in the high jump preliminaries. The UCLA (Universityof California, Los Angeles) student finished 19th. The top 12 qualified for tomorrow's final.

Watkins cleared just one height-1.74 metres-but was obviously not operating at full throttle.

The T&T jumper passed at the opening height of 1.70m, and did the same when the bar was raised to 1.78. At 1.81m, Watkins went under and then into the bar on her first two attempts. And third time around, she again knocked down the bar.

Afterwards, Watkins told the Express caution was required in the high jump qualifying competition.

"I wasn't feeling too good--my hamstring--so I just thought I should save myself for the long jump. I went in trying not to injure myself."

Watkins said she does not anticipate any problems in today's long jump final.

The T&T combination of Jovon Toppin, Ade Alleyne-Forte, Jamaal James and one-lap champion Renny Quow, running in that order, will do battle today in the third and final men's 4x400m qualifying heat.

"Once Quow gets the baton in the mix, we could give trouble," T&T coach Ashwin Creed declared, yesterday.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2006, 11:01:40 PM by palos »

« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2006, 04:30:43 PM »
Quow change yuh mind eh
« Last Edit: August 19, 2006, 04:32:47 PM by triniman »

« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2006, 06:21:21 PM »
Congratulations to the youth. Happy to see us continuing in our small way to stay on the track and field map. Hopefully we can develop the talent properly where we aren't holding our breath hoping for results because instead we'll be expecting results.