April 20, 2024, 01:28:52 AM

Author Topic: Road March 2006  (Read 6640 times)

Road March 2006
« on: February 02, 2006, 10:39:16 AM »
What all yuh tink?  If you think any other songs worthy feel free to add:

(1) 3 miles - KMC
(2) Ting for de road - Mista Vybe
(3) Scandalous - Machel
(4) Band of D Year - Machel and Patrice Roberts
(5) Can't wait - Shurwayne Winchester

Mine is Band of D Year......but ah have a feeling KMC winning  >:(
« Last Edit: December 07, 2009, 10:39:40 AM by Tallman »

Re: Road March
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2006, 10:48:57 AM »
Mine is Scandal

Everybody home sayin Ting 4 de Road winnin but I feel it come out way too early.

At de end of de day, yuh really cyah tell if yuh not home because yuh have to see people reaction to tunes in fete and ting to get a more accurate gauge.

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2006, 10:54:40 AM »
Mine is Scandal

Everybody home sayin Ting 4 de Road winnin but I feel it come out way too early.

At de end of de day, yuh really cyah tell if yuh not home because yuh have to see people reaction to tunes in fete and ting to get a more accurate gauge.

true but "dead or alive" and "first experience" came out early last year and blow out everybody

yeah people from home telling me that ting for de road and kmc mashing up in fetes

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2006, 11:19:11 AM »
Mine is Scandal

Even when yuh home yuh dont know...

in 99.. "Dus them away" mash up every fete... win Soca Monarch.... in Legends... thais all yuh was hearing Monday and Tuesday.... and then yuh go hear Sanelle dempster win road march!!  ???

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2006, 11:39:24 AM »
road march is shit now, not like b4, only a setta drum machine, no lyrics, dis 2 chord bullshit, hardly a melody and harmony, and yuh cant make a rendition on pan, dese artists wit de road march selections is bullshit, dey need tuh go back 2 de days when pan side dictate de road, real tune come outta dat era, straight up

« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2006, 12:39:50 PM »
Mine is Scandal

true but "dead or alive" and "first experience" came out early last year and blow out everybody

yeah people from home telling me that ting for de road and kmc mashing up in fetes

Breds....dey came out earlyt last year because Carnival was in early February.

« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2006, 12:41:02 PM »
road march is shit now, not like b4, only a setta drum machine, no lyrics, dis 2 chord bullshit, hardly a melody and harmony, and yuh cant make a rendition on pan, dese artists wit de road march selections is bullshit, dey need tuh go back 2 de days when pan side dictate de road, real tune come outta dat era, straight up

Like yuh pull dah one straight outta Michael Riddim handbook.  Allyuh does lime or wha?

« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2006, 01:21:51 PM »
Mine is Scandal

Breds....dey came out earlyt last year because Carnival was in early February.

dred i ain't arguing, but "first experience" and "dead or alive" came out like 2 months before carnival last year, i.e. early(even though carnival was early feb)....compare that to a song like "3 miles" or "ting for de road"...both those songs came out around christmas time which is a full two months before carnival monday and tuesday too

anyways, all yuh don't think dis road march ting suspect...i not saying it rigged or anything, but I find it real fishy sometimes...e.g.  how a song like "Carnival" in 2003 could possibly lose to "Display" by Fay-Anne....i was home for carnival den, and every man jack was baffled....

« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2006, 02:23:08 PM »
anyways, all yuh don't think dis road march ting suspect...i not saying it rigged or anything, but I find it real fishy sometimes...e.g.  how a song like "Carnival" in 2003 could possibly lose to "Display" by Fay-Anne....i was home for carnival den, and every man jack was baffled....

Yuh have a point wit de "suspeck" ting.  I have meh suspicions too but in de case of Carnival, Machel only start appearing with Destra to sing dat song in the last week of de run up to Carnival.  Dey did perform it in a fete and were really surprised by the reaction of the crowd to de tune.  On Carnival Sunday night, I was in a fete and dem sing dat tune and de place went CRAZY.  Everybody was pushin Faye Ann and ah really eh tink Destra or Machel had anticipate de impact of dat tune.  It make a late late run but it was jes a little too late.  I feel if dey did sing dat tune together a week before when they did, it woulda be no question.  For me, I feel Carnival is de best soca tune of all time.

« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2006, 02:29:15 PM »

Yuh have a point wit de "suspeck" ting.  I have meh suspicions too but in de case of Carnival, Machel only start appearing with Destra to sing dat song in the last week of de run up to Carnival.  Dey did perform it in a fete and were really surprised by the reaction of the crowd to de tune.  On Carnival Sunday night, I was in a fete and dem sing dat tune and de place went CRAZY.  Everybody was pushin Faye Ann and ah really eh tink Destra or Machel had anticipate de impact of dat tune.  It make a late late run but it was jes a little too late.  I feel if dey did sing dat tune together a week before when they did, it woulda be no question.  For me, I feel Carnival is de best soca tune of all time.

yeah boy...hands down, Carnival is best soca tune of all time for me...dat song is mash up parties now.....

« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2006, 03:16:05 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :beermug:
but ah still like ting 4 d road

Offline biga84

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2006, 07:55:50 PM »

yeah boy...hands down, Carnival is best soca tune of all time for me...dat song is mash up parties now.....

Hold on hold on  allyuh men telling me that Carnival is the best song EVER???  come now come now    its a big tune but best EVER??  I aint know fellahs

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2006, 09:27:39 PM »
Hold on hold on  allyuh men telling me that Carnival is the best song EVER???  come now come now    its a big tune but best EVER??  I aint know fellahs

I never say best song.  I say best soca.  And I stand by dat.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2006, 10:39:40 PM »
Carnival is ah HOT tune,it's one of those tunes that yuh could play a few years later and people go still go wild for it...... but ah doh think is de best EVER

Offline Miss Parker

• The Pretender
  • Life's a gift
    • Centre for Pretender Fanatics
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2006, 10:14:57 AM »

That's the first time I've heard of anyone being baffled by Fay-Ann's win...I know, I wasn't at all! But I guess that might be because I was rooting for Fay-Ann's song. I do actually like "Carnival", I just didn't like it enough for Road March. I can see why everyone loves it but I don't think it had enough energy for the road...but I could be wrong. Are you speaking from the p.o.v. of a masquerader or an onlooker (like me, who really didn't have a clue what went on on the road, except for what I saw on TV)....just curious....

For this year, I agree the "Ting" could take the road, but....there are some strong contenders in Machel (both with and without Patrice), Bunji, KMC and Sherwayne. I think they all have a good chance of winning.

« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2006, 10:33:45 AM »

That's the first time I've heard of anyone being baffled by Fay-Ann's win...I know, I wasn't at all! But I guess that might be because I was rooting for Fay-Ann's song. I do actually like "Carnival", I just didn't like it enough for Road March. I can see why everyone loves it but I don't think it had enough energy for the road...but I could be wrong. Are you speaking from the p.o.v. of a masquerader or an onlooker (like me, who really didn't have a clue what went on on the road, except for what I saw on TV)....just curious....

For this year, I agree the "Ting" could take the road, but....there are some strong contenders in Machel (both with and without Patrice), Bunji, KMC and Sherwayne. I think they all have a good chance of winning.

I was talking from the point of view of a masqerader...but I guess we all have our opinions, since it's a subjective topic....it was just that everyone around me shared the same views...that most songs they heard on stage were "Carnival"...

I real want machel and patrice to win this year, but i doubt they will...all yuh hear that machel, bunji and shurwayne collaboration....sweet tune too......

Offline Miss Parker

• The Pretender
  • Life's a gift
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2006, 02:39:41 PM »
It's subjective of course, and I suppose no one could know for sure unless they paraded at all the venues where the songs are counted. "Carnival" should have won something even if it didn't win Road March....did it win any local awards?

all yuh hear that machel, bunji and shurwayne collaboration....sweet tune too......

I haven't heard the new collabo from those 3...heard it was hot tho'

I also love "Tempo" or whatever the 'new' song by Rose and Sherwayne is called, but is it eligible to win anything....?

« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2006, 09:05:25 AM »
As alyuh in the cold and wondering let me give it to you live and direct.....I lurking in fete since Nov every weekend so I know what I talking bout.

For me the mash up tunes are the two Machel, the KMC, Mr Vibe and the tune by the girl Alisha.

KMC have 3 tunes and all good, Bunji have one with JMC treveni that mashing up party.

Its between the 3 mile, band of the year and scandalous.

Offline Miss Parker

• The Pretender
  • Life's a gift
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2006, 12:32:44 PM »
People always say songs that mash up the party aren't necessarily going to win on the road though...but ...we'll see! I'll be very happy for Machel if Scandalous wins. I think someone (obviously an ignoramus) told him the song was sh** so would be really cool if it went all the way and won the road march. :)
I love Band of the Year ...can't get it out of my head and I like it still. ;)
just fyi...I'm not in the cold....but still wondering....this race could be very close.

Offline Socaman

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2006, 09:26:22 PM »
i am in de cold and my bet for road march is.
Scandal-Machel
Band of The year- Machel
Ting 4 Ting- Vybes

« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2006, 06:10:20 PM »
Scandal-Machel
Band of The year- Machel
Ting 4 Ting- Vybes

all of dem is shit, scandal only part which is good is de chorus and yea yea yea, diz it >:(

« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2006, 11:49:17 PM »
Scandal-Machel
Band of The year- Machel
Ting 4 Ting- Vybes

all of dem is shit, scandal only part which is good is de chorus and yea yea yea, diz it >:(

Have some blasted respect.  Yuh fellow artistes puttin out efforts and all u soundin like is a jealous asshole.  Nobody does call what you does put out SHIT even doh dey might find it is.  If yuh have nutting good to say...hush yuh mout.

« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2006, 01:31:29 PM »
Scandal-Machel
Band of The year- Machel
Ting 4 Ting- Vybes

Have some blasted respect.  Yuh fellow artistes puttin out efforts and all u soundin like is a jealous asshole.  Nobody does call what you does put out SHIT even doh dey might find it is.  If yuh have nutting good to say...hush yuh mout.

Palos,
U acting surprised.....the only song that TI like is one Hardest record......No Germany For Me.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2006, 03:20:53 PM by palos »

Offline Socaman

« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2006, 10:03:12 PM »
Palos boy TI is ah bitter man...All his post is negative dred!!!!

Scandal-Machel
Band of The year- Machel
Ting 4 Ting- Vybes

Have some blasted respect. Yuh fellow artistes puttin out efforts and all u soundin like is a jealous asshole. Nobody does call what you does put out SHIT even doh dey might find it is. If yuh have nutting good to say...hush yuh mout.

« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2006, 05:15:18 AM »
As alyuh in the cold and wondering let me give it to you live and direct.....I lurking in fete since Nov every weekend so I know what I talking bout.

For me the mash up tunes are the two Machel, the KMC, Mr Vibe and the tune by the girl Alisha.

KMC have 3 tunes and all good, Bunji have one with JMC treveni that mashing up party.

Its between the 3 mile, band of the year and scandalous.

Touches, I does listen Red and from what I hear, those chunes seem to be contenders (not sure I know the Alisha one). I RELLL like the one from Bunji and Triveni (I admit to being a Chutney peong). I hear a real nice groove (I think is from Gail-Ann) that is nice chune to chip to... sorry; people don't do that again :-)
I backin Scandalous, but it probably won't win...

Road March results
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2006, 10:29:21 PM »
1. Band of the Year - Patrice Roberts and Machel Montano
2. Ah Cyah Wait - Shurwayne Winchester
3. Scandalous - Machel Montano

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #26 on: March 02, 2006, 08:28:37 AM »
1.Band of d year
2.Scandelous
3.Always be
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

Re: Road March results
« Reply #27 on: March 02, 2006, 01:02:26 PM »

are these the official results?...did anybody hear about the rule that sampled songs can't win road march?...is band of the year sampled from enya?

« Reply #28 on: March 02, 2006, 02:14:42 PM »
yeah it official.... heard it on 955 earliah dis afternoon. Re the sample thing...dey say it fall right in the allowed number of bars which is 8.
ps when dey talk bout bars dey in talkin bout Smokey and Bunty, Naris or Carlyes eh!

Re: Road March results
« Reply #29 on: March 02, 2006, 02:52:38 PM »

are these the official results?...did anybody hear about the rule that sampled songs can't win road march?...is band of the year sampled from enya?

Jes wonderin....how much people ever hear bout enya far less fuh a tune she make dat was supposedly sampled by Kernel Roberts?