June 08, 2024, 09:42:26 PM

Author Topic: The finest world cup tournament performance by a player  (Read 5443 times)

The finest world cup tournament performance by a player
« on: February 11, 2006, 11:00:39 PM »
This is not a discussion about who is the best player as  that topic is a road march. Instead i would be intersted to find out what folks rate as the single stellar performance during a world cup tournament by any named player.
my favourite would be Eusebio´s comeback performance to lead Portugal to victory against North korea when they were 3 goals down. Pele´s final performance against sweden comes in close but brazil were comfortably ahead in goals and skill. This is of course a  subjective thing as who is to say which is the greatest. It does open the memory a bit though.

Re: The finest world cup tournament performance by a player
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2006, 11:15:18 PM »
If you talking throughout the tournament as opposed to just one match then I'd go with Mario Kempes who had a stellar performance in d 78 WC as well as Maradona in 86. And I aint no Argentina fan but dem fellas had great tournaments from d start culminating in lifting the World Cup.

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2006, 11:18:09 PM »
If you talking throughout the tournament as opposed to just one match then I'd go with Mario Kempes who had a stellar performance in d 78 WC as well as Maradona in 86. And I aint no Argentina fan but dem fellas had great tournaments from d start culminating in lifting the World Cup.
true but I was referring to a single game performance.

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2006, 11:57:43 PM »
For a single game, Zidane in WC 98 final has to be up there.
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2006, 06:53:41 AM »
 Ronaldo against Holland 1998  ;D

« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2006, 07:34:50 AM »
the yorke hattrick against england in the wc 2006  ;)

« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2006, 07:42:01 AM »
For a single game, Zidane in WC 98 final has to be up there.

you have to be kidding me...

Offline ANC2

« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2006, 09:27:30 AM »
What about Pele in the 58 Final

« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2006, 08:32:15 AM »
Baggio run of 3 game winning goals to take Italy to the finals in 94...

« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2006, 08:36:26 AM »
butragueno the vulture 4 goals. zilch after that but 4 goals ain't easy.

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2006, 08:53:04 AM »
it had a romanian midfielder (hadji ?) in 90 o 94 world cup that was just mad with d ball... i think he won d golden boots for dat world cup.

« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2006, 09:11:42 AM »
it had a romanian midfielder (hadji ?) in 90 o 94 world cup that was just mad with d ball... i think he won d golden boots for dat world cup.

hagi?

Offline 1989

« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2006, 09:12:15 AM »
the yorke hattrick against england in the wc 2006  ;)

I don't remember that one... I thought it was Stern John? ;D
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

Offline ANC2

« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2006, 09:16:10 AM »

Ent Gerd Muller score 10 in 1970 and 9 in 1974, Just Fontaine score 13 in 1958.

« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2006, 09:21:12 AM »
Suker for Croatia in 1998

« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2006, 09:28:47 AM »

did they do this in 1 game?

« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2006, 09:39:15 AM »

Muller's total was 14, 10 in 70 and 4 in 74.

My best perfromance over the course of a tournament goes to Maradona. Story done.

Performance by a youth, Pele in 58 no doubt.

Goal scoring performance, Muller's 10 in 70 is more impressive for me than Fontaine's 13.

« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2006, 10:22:52 AM »

Goal scoring performance, Muller's 10 in 70 is more impressive for me than Fontaine's 13.

how so ? just curious.........

Offline ANC2

« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2006, 10:27:59 AM »

No boss but I believe he scored 4 in one game also on his way to 13

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2006, 10:29:20 AM »

hagi?

Ya Hagi... dat man was a boss, n cud curl dat ball from a distance wit def accuracy

« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2006, 10:58:23 AM »

well good for him throw his name in also then 4 in a WC game is a good performance.

« Reply #21 on: February 13, 2006, 11:13:53 AM »
I have three that come to mind Sergio Goycochea(Sp) Argentina 3rd string keeper. Come on and save the day, save penalty and went to to retain a spot between the sticks for the rest of the tournament.

toto schilacchi......a man who was in the right place at the right time to score some crucial goals for italy.

Lastly a man name Ferdinand Coly for Senegal, that rasta ent let nuttin pass in the back......I woulda vote he best defender in the last Wc

« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2006, 11:33:11 AM »

well good for him throw his name in also then 4 in a WC game is a good performance.

Muller had 2 back to back hattricks in 1970...He never scored 4 goals in any one WC game. He scored 10 in 1970 and 4 goals in 1974. In 1970, the Brazilian Jairzinho become the first and only player to score in every game from game one to the final.

A Russian guy, Oleg Salenko, scored 5 goals in one game against Cameroun in 1994.

Best performance in a game by an individual was the Romanian, Hagi who superbly orchestrated the downfall of Argentina in WC 1994

« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2006, 11:50:47 AM »
Player   Year   Country   Goals
Ronaldo   2002   Brazil   8
Davor Suker   1998   Croatia   6
Hristo Stoichkov   1994   Bulgaria   6
Oleg Salenko   1994   Russia   6
Salvatore Schillaci   1990   Italy   6
Gary Linekar   1986   England   6
Paolo Rossi   1982   Italy   6
Mario Kempes   1978   Argentina   6
Gregorz Lato   1974   Poland   7
Gerd Muller   1970   Germany   10
Eusebio   1966   Portugal   9
Garricha   1962   Brazil   4
Valentin Ivanov   1962   Soviet Union   4
Leonet Sanchez   1962   Chile   4
Vava   1962   Brazil   4
Florian Albert   1962   Hungary   4
Drazan Jerkovic   1962   Yugoslavia   4
Just Fontaine   1958   France   13
Ademir   1950   Brazil   9
Leonidas   1938   Brazil   8
Oldrich Nejedly   1934      Czechoslovakia   5
Guillermo Stabile   1930   Argentina   8

« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2006, 12:04:19 PM »
people judging 'performance' based on goalscoring...doh forget men like Rivaldo, he eh score as much as Ronaldo but made most of the goals, and had an excellent tournament in 1998 and 2002 especially

« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2006, 12:08:35 PM »
Donadoni & Baresi - WC 90

« Reply #26 on: February 13, 2006, 12:16:16 PM »
Bggio in d semis of 94 against bolivia
Dat first half was actually d best i have ever seen an italian national team play to date.
Sadly he also picked up an injury in d second half that affected hi sperformance in d final.
However in the previous two games, referenced earlier, he wasnt dat great though he scored crucial goals.

« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2006, 12:20:09 PM »
Bggio in d semis of 94 against bolivia
Dat first half was actually d best i have ever seen an italian national team play to date.
Sadly he also picked up an injury in d second half that affected hi sperformance in d final.
However in the previous two games, referenced earlier, he wasnt dat great though he scored crucial goals.

bulgaria

« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2006, 10:15:34 AM »
my bad filho u know what i meant
slip of the tongue
doh kill meh

« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2006, 10:36:06 AM »
my bad filho u know what i meant
slip of the tongue
doh kill meh

slip of the finger  ;D