April 19, 2024, 04:38:44 PM

Author Topic: Queens Soccer Star Elected Trinidad Senator  (Read 5790 times)

Queens Soccer Star Elected Trinidad Senator
« on: February 15, 2006, 11:14:06 AM »

http://1010wins.com/topstories/local_story_046112753.html

Feb 15, 2006 11:00 am US/Eastern
(1010 WINS) (PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad) Four-time Olympic medalist Ato Boldon, who played soccer in New York, was sworn in Tuesday as a senator for Trinidad's main opposition party.

He first represented Trinidad and Tobago at the 1992 Summer Olympics, then won one silver and three bronze medals at the 1996 and 2000 Games in the 100 and 200 meters.

Boldon, born Dec. 30, 1973, left Trinidad and Tobago as a teenager and was recruited to track while playing high school soccer in the New York borough of Queens, his personal Web site says.

His Senate appointment came four days after Basdeo Panday, leader of the main opposition party, the United National Congress, fired another senator accused of having unauthorized conversations with the press about internal party politics.

Trinidad and Tobago's 31-member Senate is appointed by the ruling party, president and main opposition party. The 36 members of the House of Representatives are elected by popular vote.

« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 11:16:02 AM by trinbago »

Re: Queens Soccer Star Elected Trinidad Senator
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 01:09:08 PM »
It amazes me that of all the things to refer to Ato as "...Queens Soccer Star" is way down the list

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2006, 01:35:50 PM »

http://1010wins.com/topstories/local_story_046112753.html

Feb 15, 2006 11:00 am US/Eastern
(1010 WINS) (PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad) Four-time Olympic medalist Ato Boldon, who played soccer in New York, was sworn in Tuesday as a senator for Trinidad's main opposition party.

He first represented Trinidad and Tobago at the 1992 Summer Olympics, then won one silver and three bronze medals at the 1996 and 2000 Games in the 100 and 200 meters.

Boldon, born Dec. 30, 1973, left Trinidad and Tobago as a teenager and was recruited to track while playing high school soccer in the New York borough of Queens, his personal Web site says.

His Senate appointment came four days after Basdeo Panday, leader of the main opposition party, the United National Congress, fired another senator accused of having unauthorized conversations with the press about internal party politics.

Trinidad and Tobago's 31-member Senate is appointed by the ruling party, president and main opposition party. The 36 members of the House of Representatives are elected by popular vote.

Thanks for the info breds... I never knew that Ato was a footballer...thanks. Yuh know ah like Ato...he have good intentions...ah wish him well.  Ah wonder what type of ball Panday and Jack playing now?  Patrick Manning eh have nutten, nutten tuh worry about...he will surely be the next Prime Minister because Bas is the "campaign manager for the PNM...allyuh could doubt dat if allyuh want...I know wuh I saying. ;)

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2006, 01:43:14 PM »
SUPRISE SUPRISE!!!! ;)

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2006, 02:01:09 PM »
It amazes me that of all the things to refer to Ato as "...Queens Soccer Star" is way down the list

They focused on that because 1010wins is a New York news outlet. - the real problem with that title is the word "elected" since it's a political appointment.

New York Newsday had a similar title "Olympic medallist who played in Queens becomes Trinidad senator" - same AP article

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2006, 02:05:58 PM »

They focused on that because 1010wins is a New York news outlet. - the real problem with that title is the word "elected" since it's a political appointment.

New York Newsday had a similar title "Olympic medallist who played in Queens becomes Trinidad senator" - same AP article

thats makes sense, they focus on what he is memorable to Queens for.

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2006, 02:30:32 PM »
actually atbol had skills, a nice lil spanner shifty, talk a good game talk a HUGE game.  had some good times midday league.

only knock on him he was a tad bit on the slow side   ;)

« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2006, 03:06:42 PM »
yeah he cudda tackle gud he wudda always find a way to stick in a toe  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2006, 03:57:52 PM »
if he only had some more speed he would been a top class.
nah the man wwas good. must give him that.

« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2006, 04:07:12 PM »

King you was in class with Ato?  I remember his from 3 class actually had a decent squad.

« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2006, 04:13:43 PM »
actually atbol had skills, a nice lil spanner shifty, talk a good game talk a HUGE game.  had some good times midday league.

Midday league yes....where real men are made.....haha.

Up to this day I still think I scored one of the top 10 goals ever in the history of midday league......(a sublime solo effort back in 1988) ;D
« Last Edit: February 15, 2006, 04:46:42 PM by kicker »

« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2006, 04:36:36 PM »
ahhhh... midday league.... the league of champions...  ;D

I remember the last day of de 92 league we was playing Rangers from 1-1 and we just had to win to take de league.... late in de game a man cross de ball behind meh... I eh know wha vaps ketch me.... ah turn... set up... and execute a beautiful bicycle kick  :o .... de only ting is if it was big goal it mighta score... the whole crowd applaud the effort though and ah feel like ah shilling straight through 7 and 8th period  ;D

« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2006, 08:44:05 AM »

King you was in class with Ato?  I remember his from 3 class actually had a decent squad.

MC i was in the same form he was group 1 i was group 4
and we had the better squad more stars we share more beat than atbol
and them, of course none of us went on to greatness in football or i would not be here posting this but i happy.
it went us in group4 then 3, i will give atbol's group 1 3rd place and then sure win vs the worst group 2. of course i could say all this and hope ato himself doesn't see it.
The man dish out nuff beat in he time a nice lil spanner

Fatima men midday league still going on?

« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2006, 08:56:35 AM »

Up to this day I still think I scored one of the top 10 goals ever in the history of midday league......(a sublime solo effort back in 1988) ;D

is 88 yuh say dey Kicker.

I think in 85 or 86 I had a hatrick that men still talk about to this day, mostly because i always bring it up  ;D

« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2006, 09:08:36 AM »

is 88 yuh say dey Kicker.

I think in 85 or 86 I had a hatrick that men still talk about to this day, mostly because i always bring it up  ;D

MC u was around beckles and toni john yr or ahead of them men??

« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2006, 09:39:06 AM »
mc why yuh does lie so.......yuh aint tell them men bout the three that went pass yuh sunday? or the four that went pass yuh thursday?

« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2006, 10:18:57 AM »

only knock on him he was a tad bit on the slow side   

Ato sweat colts (U16) for blue and yellow in de 88-89 season ah believe, was a right midfielder/winger, with very good skills.....

« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2006, 10:20:26 AM »
I read in the Express Ato done making impact on the Party. The man there to make substantial impact immediately

« Reply #18 on: February 16, 2006, 10:22:38 AM »

MC i was in the same form he was group 1 i was group 4
and we had the better squad more stars we share more beat than atbol
and them, of course none of us went on to greatness in football or i would not be here posting this but i happy.
it went us in group4 then 3, i will give atbol's group 1 3rd place and then sure win vs the worst group 2. of course i could say all this and hope ato himself doesn't see it.
The man dish out nuff beat in he time a nice lil spanner

Fatima men midday league still going on?

The last time I visited Fatima was in like 2002, and there were trees and benches in the quadrangle, so it's hard to imagine mid-day league going on right now........

Would be a shame if it actually wasn't..............was a lunch time staple for players and spectators alike...

« Reply #19 on: February 16, 2006, 10:30:05 AM »
mc why yuh does lie so.......yuh aint tell them men bout the three that went pass yuh sunday? or the four that went pass yuh thursday?

I told you i ate dinner before the sweat last thursday meh belly was full
 and as for sunday, why yuh doh play some dam defense instead of yelling instructions!!

King:
I remember a Beckles, a tall red fella but he ws in the same year as your bro and Miguel Burnett and dem, I was in Form 5 in 88.

You know what is amazing bout Ato and this football/track thing, when he was in Fatima he could nto even make Fatima Track team, and look at where he end up, you just never know how folk will turn out.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2006, 10:34:12 AM by Mr Mc »

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2006, 10:34:27 AM »
Alyuh men talking bout midday league and shit, i feeling real young boy.

« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2006, 10:45:11 AM »
Alyuh men talking bout midday league and shit, i feeling real young boy.

so it really have no midday league again....?  :(  is ah damn shame!!

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2006, 11:48:09 AM »
It have midday league oui.
FANTASY midday league.
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #23 on: February 16, 2006, 12:17:22 PM »
no midday in league is not good- chop them trees down run the sweat again.  any tree huggers here? hard luck

MC- i can't remember ato results in fatima track honestly, but i remember him being 1 of the faster men in our form.  Adrian bobb as i remember was the real phenom , talk of the school in track at that time.

hard work will pay off. or some corny a@# line like that. i dunno

« Reply #24 on: February 16, 2006, 12:26:21 PM »
no midday in league is not good- chop them trees down run the sweat again.  any tree huggers here? hard luck

MC- i can't remember ato results in fatima track honestly, but i remember him being 1 of the faster men in our form.  Adrian bobb as i remember was the real phenom , talk of the school in track at that time.

hard work will pay off. or some corny a@# line like that. i dunno

Adrian Bobb, that is the man self, just like Ato went to High School in NY, but i think he end up making a jail.
Ask your bro bout that time i out lean him at the tape in the 800 for sports day, mind you he was like 2 feet taller than me  ;D

« Reply #25 on: February 16, 2006, 12:42:39 PM »
ah must give him talk about tha 800m
Bobb make a jail, that sad cause he coulda run.

« Reply #26 on: February 16, 2006, 12:54:44 PM »

Adrian Bobb make a jail?

« Reply #27 on: February 16, 2006, 01:01:03 PM »
He win a few medals in de CARIFTA Games U-17 division
100 metres: Gold 1989, Bronze 1988, Bronze 1987
200 metres: Silver 1988

« Reply #28 on: February 16, 2006, 01:08:16 PM »
He win a few medals in de CARIFTA Games U-17 division
100 metres: Gold 1989, Bronze 1988, Bronze 1987
200 metres: Silver 1988

Hot damn Tallman, yuh aint no joke with the stats.
ah bet you did not know i was on the bench for that 87 games in Trini.
That is because when yuh make a bench on a national track team yuh dont get nothing, not even uniform, all yuh does get is to tell folks yuh was on the bench   ;D and to sit in the stands and hope Ronnie Hollassie pull a hamstring  :devil:

« Reply #29 on: February 16, 2006, 01:09:47 PM »

Adrian Bobb make a jail?

let me clear this up b4 ting
IF  it is true that bobb make jail that is a sad thing