September 17, 2024, 03:53:24 PM

Author Topic: Question for the Forum  (Read 3557 times)

El Socorro

Question for the Forum
« on: May 05, 2005, 12:29:28 PM »
Serious ting!

I've been busy with school for the past few months, so mankind eh posting as often.  However, I still check in on a daily basis for ah quick read and peep.
But for some reason, the site eh as exciting as before.  Maybe it's just me.  I find it more entertaining on the "other" West Indian football forum.

What are your views.

Re: Question for the Forum
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2005, 12:43:48 PM »
May be there is nothing going on in T$T football these days to exite any one,at the moment every one is very serious no time for fun and jokes,you have to watch what you saying now,people on edge.

El Socorro

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2005, 12:48:49 PM »
Nah man.  Football eh the only thing we discuss here.  Then again, thats my personal opinion.

Offline Total Football

« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2005, 05:39:37 AM »
It's the heap of negativity that has stagnated the board. Nothing positive to say, of course the people who are true supporters, contructive and uplifting I am at your side. Honestly, I find some people make empty comments that serve only to destroy rather than build the spirit of the country and players... Hold on to your LOVE... Blessings...

« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2005, 06:35:08 AM »
Actually there's alot of stuff people talk about here .....it's just the organising of the threads is a bit more orderly so u have to look for where those threads are. You can find all sorts of stuff within Threads under different names ......all the ole talk still here ...just a bit better organised.

Once you become familiar with the new runnings ...is kinda kool

« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2005, 07:43:31 AM »
Nah man.  Football eh the only thing we discuss here.  Then again, thats my personal opinion.

I agree with you on this. As I've been hinting before, the board is dead! It's no longer a destress to visit here and get some good talk, fun and trini BS. I don't see the format of the board as a problem, but a positive. The problem is the way things are being separated. At the old forum we had a vast array of topics that we would dialog on. Not just football. Yesterday there was a good post by TT in observence of Mother's day..bam it gone to another board.

I realize that this is a football forum, but it's hard to stick to one topic constantly without getting boring. We Trinis like talk, when is the last time we meet a fren and only talk bout one thing...no that is not who we are. We like talk!

What we have to consider is that man does post (the majority) from work, so the lil time they sneak over here, deh eh have time to visit all the new forums created to separate things, thus good topics are going without people ever seeing them.

Another example, a few weeks back I think it was maxg posted about the fire in POS, again the post was up in the main forum, then moved. If others are like me and could care less about the other forums they would not have seen that post.

Suggestion... stop moving posts and encourage discussions on other topics that relate to US. Sam also made a good point about those sticky notes. (same old pos every time you log in)

what we could do is when you're not making a football related post, in the subject mention (non-football) this way who don't want to read non football stuff will know to avoid that post.

Admin, you guys do a good job keeping things civil..keep up the great work.

regards

Jumbie

« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2005, 08:13:57 AM »
I have to agree that the different boards makes things very complicated. It is hard to keep up with threads in different boards and so most of the others are very dead and people who come to this board only miss out on some things as well.

One thing Flex and Tallman could try is to make the view 10 most recent posts more prominent and have it on all the boards, not just the general category page.

Also the Cricket, Jokes, General Discussion etc could all be lumped into one forum so we could have just a FOOTBALL board and an EVERYTHING ELSE board.

« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2005, 08:15:17 AM »

Another example, a few weeks back I think it was maxg posted about the fire in POS, again the post was up in the main forum, then moved. If others are like me and could care less about the other forums they would not have seen that post.

jumbie, it eh dat hard to go to the other boards.takes about 2 seconds. if you "care less about the other forums" then you should have no concern over what you claim to be missing.

« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2005, 08:26:51 AM »

jumbie, it eh dat hard to go to the other boards.takes about 2 seconds. if you "care less about the other forums" then you should have no concern over what you claim to be missing.

I fear that you've missed the point.  It's not a matter of not caring about the content on the other fourms, it's  a matter of having time to go through them all. I work from home and can access the forums whenever I please, can everyone one else same the same? As mentioned, I can bet that the majority of posters here post and read (trust me it have real readers here that doh post) while at work, when they can seak a peek!

« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2005, 08:45:18 AM »
but wouldnt it take the same amount of time to read in the main forum? whether its on its own board or in the main forum it would take the same time to go through. the only diff is navigating to those other boards, which takes 2 secs.

Viewing posts
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2005, 08:47:50 AM »
I have to agree that the different boards makes things very complicated. It is hard to keep up with threads in different boards and so most of the others are very dead and people who come to this board only miss out on some things as well.

One thing Flex and Tallman could try is to make the view 10 most recent posts more prominent and have it on all the boards, not just the general category page.

Also the Cricket, Jokes, General Discussion etc could all be lumped into one forum so we could have just a FOOTBALL board and an EVERYTHING ELSE board.

An easy thing to do, is to click the following link after you login:
Recent Unread Topics

This will show you all of the topics (across all of the boards) that you have not read. The only time you really need to visit a particular board is if you want to post in it, or you want to look at old posts.

You can find the link in the Login section which is on the left of the screen. This is the secion that shows your name, how long you have been logged in etc. The link is available on all pages.

El Socorro

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2005, 08:59:55 AM »

Trust me.  When I log on for a quick peep from work or during class (like many of us do), man eh really want to be clicking 3 and 4 times.  On the old forum things where right there.  There was no need for click here for cricket, click there for serious talk, etc.  A few weeks ago, I also had a cricket post moved to the cricket forum.  Moreover, as mentioned before, it really hard to maintain 'just football' posts.  I does be looking out for ole talk, sh*t talk, looking out fuh man to diss the so called football players from the past, who play where (and plenty of ally-yuh does lie eh), who score in ah intercol match, etc.  What I'm trying to say is this, lets us get back to the good ole days..

My 2 cents.

« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2005, 10:50:30 AM »
Maybe we should have two main boards one for general topics including football and anything  else and another for strictly football topics where non-football topics will be moved to the general board and other boards as appropriate to the topic!