April 20, 2024, 05:42:37 AM

Author Topic: Did Leroy Spann invent de spanner?  (Read 6435 times)

Did Leroy Spann invent de spanner?
« on: February 21, 2006, 07:20:12 PM »
Rell Men say dat Leroy Spann is de inventor of de spanner
and dey was strong wit it eh
reall argument bout how men chupid if dey doh believe dat and ting
is dis true??

i feel dis true
unless someone can truthfully tell me dat Pele had dat move back in de days
« Last Edit: February 21, 2006, 08:11:40 PM by Tallman »

MickeyRat

Re: Question
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2006, 07:29:21 PM »
You and Morvant man go done fuh that comment.

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 07:34:31 PM »
He invent it in Trinidad. It hard for me to see we making up a move that a Brazilian ain't try already. But it not impossible. Dunno :-\
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2006, 07:38:31 PM »
Rivelino is supposedly de first man to bust ah "spanner" in an international match....

I have also heard garrincha...

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2006, 07:40:17 PM »
Rivelino is supposedly de first man to bust ah "spanner" in an international match....

I have also heard garrincha...
ah i tink i know now
is Leroy who name it Spanner
cuz daz prob not de name for it in other nations

i guess he is the one who invent the name Spanner  :-\

« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2006, 07:41:12 PM »
Brazilians call it de elastico!

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Re: Did Leroy Spann invent de spanner?
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2006, 09:07:13 PM »
Well Silvio should have been taught to do the spanner from a baby,  seeing that Leroy was he first coach.. ;D
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2006, 09:24:26 PM »
d spanner was actually born in a savannah in africa morvant on a small patch of temawrie back den it was called the morvant dance

leroy came up here to play in a church league an eat 7 morvant dance from a defender he then devoted his life to learning d intricasies of said morvant dance a feat that propelled him to national startdom

the actuall name change came from a wily reporter who was comentatin a game on radio

an exerpt

leroy spann turns into the on cumin defender he waits leroy spann... ah????

wat did he do!! he gone the defender is onb his bottom my god !!

taken from everyting born in morvant by SHOTTA and morvantman

« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2006, 10:09:55 PM »
It's been called an out in swerve dribble in coaching manuals for ages...is only in T&T, we does call it a spanner fuh obvious reasons.

dtruth does offend

« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2006, 12:19:03 AM »
i doh believe he invent d spanner but i believe he brought it to trinidad  ;D

« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2006, 01:21:51 AM »
 I probably perfected it in T&T...But I feel men used to do it....He was just the man who could have done it the best ...A beat like that could originate in more than one part of the world...It have different variations to it...yuh could hit the ball with the heel then the toe (T&T)OR yuh could hit it with outside of the foot and then a quick cut inside the foot(Brazilian)... Everybody does do the two now (and most people will say it come from Brazil now because they are superpowers in Football) but that is how I feel it went down...

« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2006, 03:26:44 AM »
It's been called an out in swerve dribble in coaching manuals for ages...is only in T&T, we does call it a spanner fuh obvious reasons.
wats the obvious reasons?

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2006, 07:13:19 AM »
You all are totally worng and I can tell young with your history of Football in Trinidad.. The spanner, ankle, or what ever else it may be know as.. was perfected and worked several times by the former ARMY and National Player Bert Neptune who used to hit men it with either foot and leave them on their ass. Not even Leroy Spann was in his class.. Thats a fact gentlemen not fiction.

COOPS tell meh if it aint so..

« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2006, 07:57:03 AM »
A spanner is a textbook beat that it taught all over.

So yuh feel Ronaldinho or Ibrahimovich see Dwarika or Wise rest that on a man.....A Spanner is a international beat.

A beat is named usually after the man who make it popular in the era.

For example the roly-poly which Zidane does buss with lightining efficiency, is called the Maradona turn in all proper coaching manuals and videos.

Similarly the Cruyff cutback........he may have made the move popular but that is a move I sure men doing for ages.

I suspect Leroy was jest the main man doing that beat regular and men credit him with it.

« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2006, 08:03:34 AM »
A spanner is a textbook beat that it taught all over.

So yuh feel Ronaldinho or Ibrahimovich see Dwarika or Wise rest that on a man.....A Spanner is a international beat.

A beat is named usually after the man who make it popular in the era.

For example the roly-poly which Zidane does buss with lightining efficiency, is called the Maradona turn in all proper coaching manuals and videos.

Similarly the Cruyff cutback........he may have made the move popular but that is a move I sure men doing for ages.

I suspect Leroy was jest the main man doing that beat regular and men credit him with it.

The first time I saw the Spanner was Riverlino in 1970 WC. Many people also so the "plat" from Riverlino and Cloraldo in 1970. that Rollie thing Zidane does was around for ever, Maradona made it popular, but in truth many players were doing it before. I recently saw a Real Madrid game with gento, De Stefano etc and men were doing it then.

« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2006, 05:41:39 PM »
ALRIGHT PPL
LEROY SPANN GAVE THE NAME TO THE MOVE THAZ ALL

TALK DONE

« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2006, 05:56:40 PM »
i beg to differ ...refer to my previous post cuz is right here it born

Offline trinidre

« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2006, 06:23:03 PM »
well the roly-poly thing that maradonna and zidane does is called the rollercoaster in england........ah know because ah see them teaching some youths on the man utd youth team how to do it  ;D......well I know all them moves done by people all over the world but everybody just have a different name for the same moves. So leroy spann probably the one to give it that name in Trini  8)

Offline trinidre

« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2006, 06:24:18 PM »
d spanner was actually born in a savannah in africa morvant on a small patch of temawrie back den it was called the morvant dance

leroy came up here to play in a church league an eat 7 morvant dance from a defender he then devoted his life to learning d intricasies of said morvant dance a feat that propelled him to national startdom

the actuall name change came from a wily reporter who was comentatin a game on radio

an exerpt

leroy spann turns into the on cumin defender he waits leroy spann... ah????

wat did he do!! he gone the defender is onb his bottom my god !!

taken from everyting born in morvant by SHOTTA and morvantman

you making joke right?

« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2006, 06:26:57 PM »
truth

as true as truth cud be