April 19, 2024, 03:38:48 AM

Author Topic: TechnicalProblems in our Football Squad  (Read 4097 times)

TechnicalProblems in our Football Squad
« on: February 26, 2006, 08:56:26 PM »
After Watching all of our home games on dvd
i realised that we have a few consistent major problems

#1 Horrible defence....in almost every match ,,,Dennis Lawrence and Marvin looked nervous and kept making mistakes such a mis kicking the ball,,,,,send long balls up the pitch to noone on our team (mainly Marvin) and not marking defenderes on set plays(namely Corners)
At times Marvin does look to heavy to jump and Tallman does look to feeble to mark a defender
I belive we should have a 4 line defence or even 5 line defence in WC or else we in trouble

#2 Inconsistent Midfield Players....namely SPANN and Edwards...many times Spann miskicked the ball and instead of his pass going to a players feet,,,i went outside the line of play...also the touch , Spann had a problem with his touches...he cant fully get control of the ball as fast as a Latapy or Yorke can..he seems to not have his eyes on the ball at times..and makes these mistakes..lack of experience.
Edwards...yes the man like a fancy beats and ting...but he does overdo it many times...epecially when he does it in the defence and loses it ..is something to look at...however when he get upfront to the right Wing...he gets himself brilliantly into space ...but MANNNN when he ready to cross....it is really horrible.....in most of the matches,,,i have seen him deliver 3/15 good crosses in the box...most of them hit straight to the defender, sometimes hit all the way across out of play...lack of experience

I really would like to see these two main things adjusted before WC comes
because these are some major faults that we happen to carry

But i believe Beenhaaker has noticed these and many more and i pray that he fixes them in time
either by getting a midfielder in place of Spann or Getting another defender for our defensive line

But lets just lookout for these things on Tuesday ...and hope we wont see what we were seeing in the Home matches against Bahrain...etc.

Have a gud Carnival PPL Peace
« Last Edit: February 27, 2006, 06:19:24 PM by Warrior till death »

Re: TechnicalProblems in our Football Squad
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2006, 08:59:13 PM »
After Watching all of our home games on dvd
i realised that we have a few consistent major problems

#1 Horrible defence....in almost every match ,,,Dennis Lawrence and Marvin looked nervous and kept making mistakes such a mis kicking the ball,,,,,send long balls up the pitch to noone on our team (mainly Marvin) and not marking defenderes on set plays(namely Corners)
I belive we should have a 4 line defence or even 5 line defence in WC or else we in trouble

#2 Inconsistent Midfield Players....namely SPANN and Edwards...many times Spann miskicked the ball and instead of his pass going to a players feet,,,i went outside the line of play...also the touch , Spann had a problem with his touches...he cant fully get control of the ball as fast as a Latapy or Yorke can..he seems to not have his eyes on the ball at times..and makes these mistakes..lack of experience.
Edwards...yes the man like a fancy beats and ting...but he does overdo it many times...epecially when he does it in the defence and loses it ..is something to look at...however when he get upfront to the right Wing...he gets himself brilliantly into space ...but MANNNN when he ready to cross....it is really horrible.....in most of the matches,,,i have seen him deliver 3/15 good crosses in the box...most of them hit straight to the defender, sometimes hit all the way across out of play...lack of experience

I really would like to see these two main things adjusted before WC comes
because these are some major faults that we happen to carry

But i believe Beenhaaker has noticed these and many more and i pray that he fixes them in time
either by getting a midfielder in place of Spann or Getting another defender for our defensive line

But lets just lookout for these things on Tuesday nite...and hope we wont see what we were seeing in the Home matches against Bahrain...etc.

Have a gud Carnival PPL Peace

excellent post breds, real people should read dis twice and three times and let it sink in dere thick skulls  :applause: :applause: :applause:

thank u breds 4 reiterating what i have been saying for the longest time, but everyone want tuh cuss meh when ah talk de truth, de truth does offend, loyal or no loyal, i loyal to trinidad and tobago football and we have better defenders, dog and lawrence have tuh sit

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2006, 09:03:55 PM »
Great analysis. Edwards reall does well to get hinself into position on the flank, but then his crosses lets him down. You were also dead on with the defenders. I thought it was only me who noticed these deficiencies. I have been looking at the Bahrain game we played at home, and it is glaring. Great post.

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2006, 09:13:58 PM »
Very good post  :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2006, 09:25:15 PM »
Yep. Dog and dem go get purge in my opinion from men wit pace like zlatan. My uncle keep on saying dat, we playin possesion football with men who cyar hold de ball.we go hadda put rel men in de back to cover dem......and hit dem a counter....buh we lack de pace to do dat....and beenie done say he eh really like de counter scene. Personally i find a integration of a counterattacking game should be necessary in any team.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2006, 10:19:18 PM »
yeah nice post
gud read

Re: Technical Problems in our Football Squad
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2006, 10:53:11 PM »
 WeLl  I agree with somethings you say about the team problems but not quite sure that this is really news to us  this has been a problem with the team for a while...For one thing poor marking has been a constant but it can be  fixed it has imporved significantly since beenie came into play...Lawrence miskicking and being a feeble defender has also been a worrying factor and there is no way he is gonna develop strength for this world cup he should be replaced indefinitely....However Spann may been inconsistent at times but he is a player who has come in and made an instant impact on the team to think of finding a player to replace him in my opinion is a stroke of madness on your part...he merely needs to work on his powers of concentration alil more and work on keeping possession a lil better if you gonna critiquea player like a coach then at least suggest a solution like one to suggest replacing him because of what you think is poor control or possession is not very realistic if that was the solution then dwarika or andrews would have never gotten a national cap...Also point to note there are few players IN THE WORLD WITH THE KINDA CONTROL YORKE AND LATAPY HAS THEY ARE THE BEST OF OUR GENERATION so because a man control isnt up to their  level doesnt mean he's inadequate ...I'm not saying that's the point you wanted to relay but you're wording can be deemed as suggestive in that context....One thing you are right about is the consistency of carlos crossing and he doesnt create space nicely that is something to be dealt with but all these concerns are very coachable and can be corrected...Personally i prefer sancho behind marvin rather than Lawrence,,,Personally the midfield may be a bit disjointed because they were searching for a regular group and that group has finally picked itself so with a few more camps and games i predict that they will come togethjer nicely

« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2006, 11:00:26 PM »
Nice observation warrior...and big up to Ngozi for a very constructive reply...this is a boss thread..positive vibes and men disagreeing without "bussing" cuss and telling man how they mudder make dem  :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2006, 11:14:21 PM »
I agree with all the comments that have been made here but I not going to worry bout them till closer to the cup. Beenie make great strides with the team in the time that he had with them. I personally was calling for Stern head. I wanted a quicker striker cause I thought we would be most effective on the counter. Stern and Beenie prove me wrong. They both got the job done.

I think we will have to defend very deep. So i think we have to maximize our chances on set pieces. Thus far the team didn't reallly impress on the set pieces. If that improves I could live with what we have. Dwight and them work rate have to continue to be high.

« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2006, 05:49:39 AM »
I will not get into any details on the team and players but these observations and views are well taken,i want us to understand the best players don't necessarily make the best team,at his stage i would rather work with players than change them,we have a unit that's been working and playing together for some time,wrong or right they got us there,this is what we have we going with that.

« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2006, 06:59:12 AM »
Is ages now I've been concerned about TT's inability to cross or take a decent FK.

Do you guys realize that when we played Bah. in TT the ONLY good cross came when "me Mum" drifted to the right (temporarilly) and sent one in himself.

This has been an age old prob for TT.

Also anytime we get a FK 30 metres or less fromthe goal,we should trouble the GK mimimum 50% of the time.

Our FKs are a joke. A big joke. Yorke and Stern don't know what they are doing. And I'm pretty sure they're not specialist FKs for their clubs. Spann and Latas seemto be the best for this job. In addition maybe we can train Autis Whitley for this job ass well.

Quite frankly if you plan to play England, without the ability to cross or take decent FKs...well...u in trouble...serious trouble.

Having said this, we have improved in the air and with our corners.

Peace,

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2006, 07:53:32 AM »
yep defence is the biggest problem and the set pieces is somting we hav tuh work on, all 3 of the teams in our wc group are very dangerous from free kicks and corners and we are weak on them. chances will be at a minimum so we need to capatilise on dead ball situations.

« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2006, 08:33:01 AM »
I agree. Good observation as a supporter. We Trinidadians love to look at the game subjectively. We have a lot of work to do as a team and hopefully we can pull it together and get things going. Well done Boss!!

« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2006, 08:39:57 AM »
If Dog and Tallest are so shaky in the back, and I agree I does get scurred when they have the ball at their feet(Avery too), who would you guys like to see make up a better back four?

« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2006, 08:41:13 AM »
well said.

well calculated post.

and TI dont worry there is a large difference in what he is sayinbg and the manner in which he is saying it as appose to your never ending rantings.

not a damn ting about hardest or any ah dem fantasy "if only" or "but if"
players.

again.

well said.

« Reply #15 on: February 27, 2006, 09:05:59 AM »
I thought I was the only one who saw the defence especially central defence as the weakest part of the team......what I completely dislike is their inability to build the attack from the back.  I only hope these guys can make the adjustment in time. It'll be interesting to see what Beenie does tomorrow.

« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2006, 09:12:41 AM »
Good talk Warrior.....

our team is technically weak overall. I can't single out any one area or player as our weak point...Our technical deficiencies lie in every part of the field.....Overall deficiencies lie in:

basic technique and fundamentals- poor first touch control, inability of many players to pass accurately and consistently using varying ball striking technique......

movement- not nearly enough movement off the ball....

speed- we play way too slow......waaaay to slow.....I dream of the day when Trinidad football resembles the international football.......it's frustrating because you'd think that our players should know the pace that is required at the highest level....Even our "mighty" Dwight Yorke is often very guilty of perpetuating the Sunday afternoon pace of our football...sometimes it's necessary to slow it down, but it seems like our two gears are slow and stop...I also think that the speed (or lack thereof) at which we play at stems from the above two deficiencies

fitness and physical grit- I don't think we have the overall ability to run 90 minutes at the pace and intensity required of an international team...maybe because we have quite a few players who aren't playing regular 90 minute football at an adequate level......

concentration, mental discipline and overall tightness- still lacking, hence the many errors, the blaring gaps in defence, passes going astray and overal lack of fluid ball movement......

I see real men on the board talking about we gettin' 4-6 points in the group... and we beatin' England and we makin de round of 16 yadda yadda.......impossible is nothing.... but for that to happen....WE HAVE REAL WORK TO DO !!

« Last Edit: February 27, 2006, 09:19:49 AM by kicker »

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2006, 10:44:08 AM »
Like most that has been said, its good to see a thread like this with a constuctive critique. The points raised are valid and I agree particulalry with the shaky defending and the lack of accurate crosses  into the box. Lets not forget that me mumu's goal in TnT in the first leg was the result of a deflection of a defender from a poor cross from Spann. That being said, things happen during the course of a game, and I am sure Beenie knows these deficiencies and will work with the talent level of the players under his stead.

As long as  men stick to the game plan, do not try to get too fancy, play smart and stay focused, the effort will be there.
well yes

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2006, 10:53:46 AM »
allyuh men 2 face, when i post dis b4, allyuh jump down my throat, friggin market crabs for all who was against me

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2006, 11:08:17 AM »
What is me mum's  natural position ?

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2006, 12:41:33 PM »
What is me mum's  natural position ?

I believe he plays right wing for his club.

« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2006, 12:59:14 PM »
allyuh men 2 face, when i post dis b4, allyuh jump down my throat, friggin market crabs for all who was against me

TI it have a difference between your post and this post. First of all you does say one thing in one thread and another in a next thread. One minute a man is real mess next minute he go real mash up.

NOTE TI there is a difference between constructive analysis and just plain old fight down criticism with an agenda. The man say what wrong an acknowledge that we have a coach who he thinks will be looking a t it.

We always knew our defense was problematic. The first ten minutes of every game used to be pressure. I honestly think that we have improved. Hopefully Beenie can take us to a next level in the 101 days we have remaining.

Offline Benjie

« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2006, 01:19:45 PM »
Nice but one thing confuses me Infinite who is better in defence than those two over 90min?
I rate Sancho but he is as  inconsistent than they are and has a tendency to lie down too quickly or to back off to far. We have no other stoppers who look international quality even on the Under aged levels.

In terms of your analysis its good but limited in pointing to the control and positioning of only those while Birchall, Gray etc are equally bad in their control. The difference is that Spann is unable to settle in a position since he has not played in the same position from match to match or indeed for many games in a match. Moving from defence to attack to midfield and right to left messes up your balance and ability to concentrate. The fact is that the variety of positions can force you to use different perceptions and Spann is still learning and this detracts from ability to be effective.

Birchall plays wide right for his club and it took a while for him to adjust to the middle but interestingly his worst game for us was at wide right because he doesn't have the pace, skill or guile to get past of the International team he was playing against. He is effective occaisionally going wide. Carlos is effective in keeping the shape and not allowing free runs down right. The balance he brings is valuable.
We ran Mexico and Costa Rica off the pitch in the second half so I do not think speed is our problem as much as movement off the ball and creativity in set plays basically we try to take advantage of our dominant headers but unfortunately our kicking is average at best.  In football you should force teams to play your game not play theirs that is what Brazil is so good at. England is good but their game is based on a pretty one dimensional game and few teams can win playing that system so for us to have a chance against them and get a respectable result we need to not play backs and forwards and slow it down and minimise their ability to run the game past us.

« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2006, 03:32:56 PM »
Birchall is the better Crosser of the ball than Carlos Edwards....
but Birchall doh have de moves like Carlos to get free

maybe Beenie can work something out like..putting Birchall on the right wing position and Edwards to drop back to the defensive midfield right wing.....and get the ball to Birchall througth a latas or yorke pass etc...
this mite work

« Last Edit: February 27, 2006, 03:37:07 PM by Warrior till death »

« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2006, 09:23:27 AM »
I rolling the dice and go with this-put the martest player in the back.  A man who could read the play and build out the back. Who is that?

-let birchall stay deep and collect the ball off the central defenders initiate the play.

lawrence and andres etc at this stage in their careers i doubt they could learn to correct them mistakes in 4 months time.