April 24, 2024, 02:02:44 PM

Author Topic: Gays Thread.  (Read 245096 times)

Re: Gays Thread.
« Reply #1890 on: October 05, 2014, 06:06:48 PM »
Who deleted Ramgoat's comment and why?

not just his/her comment, but other's immediately after and after brownsugars

like the UNC controlling this media as well  ;)
« Last Edit: October 05, 2014, 06:08:44 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #1891 on: October 05, 2014, 06:14:30 PM »
So to the Moderator (Brownsugar?) who is deleting people's comments...what is the reason for this?

Only comments of a particular vein are now permitted? What nonsense going on here?

Caitlyn Jenner
« Reply #1892 on: June 03, 2015, 08:46:17 AM »

Is this the new normal? Reality show coming soon

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #1893 on: June 03, 2015, 05:22:39 PM »
Lol...Caitlyn got moved to the gays thread  :rotfl:  Is a man who identifies as a woman and engages in sexual relations with women considered gay?  :devil:

As odd as Bruce/Caitly Jenner is, he's/she's still probably the most normal one in that family.

« Reply #1894 on: June 03, 2015, 08:49:31 PM »

^^ Moderators quick to move it boi  ;D

« Reply #1895 on: June 04, 2015, 08:31:11 AM »
not sure if this the right thread but i see enough references from earlier posts regarding non-traditional or deviant behaviour.

what is this thing with the duggars? that fella is a 4king molestor. mike huckabee run to DEFEND him. those southern people does stick together. dem people eh right. ah guess dem and de catholic church share some common ground then.

steups - they running christianity into the mud  >:(
« Last Edit: June 04, 2015, 08:37:14 AM by ribbit »

Re: Thread dealing with LGBTQIA issues
« Reply #1896 on: June 30, 2015, 12:56:44 PM »
well well..

Jamaica to host first Gay Pride celebration in August

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/jamaica-host-first-gay-pride-parade-august

Jamaican gays and lesbians will be staging its first Pride celebration in August, the Jamaica Forum of Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays (J-FLAG) has announced.

PRiDEJA 2015 will be held under the theme. "The Pride of a People: Breaking the Rules of Oppression".

JFLAG is using crowd funding site GoFundMe to raise funds for the project, noting on the website that "Every dollar raised will support our mission to bring our diverse community together for a moment of celebration."
The exact date of the celebration has not been disclosed as yet but JFLAG said "This independence festival will be attended by over 1,000 persons."

"Planned events include an opening ceremony, a symposium, a cultural show, a flash mob, sporting activities, a trade show for LGBT businesses, and a party," the lobby group said.
The event already has one high-profile supporter in the form of Jamaican recording artiste Diana King. King, who revealed she was a lesbian three years ago, took to social media on Sunday to share JFLAG's plea to the "World" to support Jamaica's first Pride celebrations.

Pride celebrations are held across the world to celebrate the LGBT community.

August is the same month as Jamaica's Independence celebrations.

« Reply #1897 on: August 21, 2015, 01:57:02 AM »
Warner: Time to talk gay rights
T&T Newsday

Rather than avoid it, the nation must begin discussions on gay rights, ILP leader Jack Warner said yesterday.

Touching on some issues on the campaign trail, Warner said whatever his personal stance on gay rights, he will ultimately do what is in the best interest of Trinidad and Tobago. These remarks followed the People’s National Movement’s position yesterday at its manifesto launch that it is an issue to be discussed.

Warner said, “I don’t think that I could say yay or nay to gay rights.

It is something I believe that has to be discussed on a wider level, and I don’t think that I should impose my view on the nation or on anybody. And therefore I much prefer to have a wider level of discussion than before I say whether I am for or against.” He continued, “I believe that personal sexual preferences, they are private. However, if you use your sexual preferences to get benefits for others, by using state resources, then that’s wrong.

And therefore I make a distinction.

Once you don’t use state resources to benefit those who have your sexual preference.” Warner was speaking during a walkabout after the launch of the ILP office in Cunupia.

He said he is expecting a vicious campaign against him by Prime Minister Kamla Persad- Bissessar and the United National Congress as a whole.

Warner, who has giving exposes on the Prime Minister’s personal life, as well as members of her Government, said, “I expect a vicious campaign, almost worse than (the) Chaguanas by-election. And we expect the Prime Minister to come here with tons of people to walk through here and make racial slurs about me. I also expect her to come here and talk about me negatively.” Warner said though that he would do all in his power to not behave in the manner that he expects the PM to do.

However, he said that if he is pushed far enough, “I will match them.” Regarding the opening of his office in Cunupia, Warner said it is the third constituency office set up by his party. He added that representation and action must be the watch words of his party.

« Reply #1898 on: August 25, 2015, 11:03:51 PM »

One ting about Ben Carson he speak his mind eh. This one a couple months old

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PwVSQ5kGXMA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PwVSQ5kGXMA</a>

Offline R45

« Reply #1899 on: August 26, 2015, 01:19:06 PM »

One ting about Ben Carson he speak his mind eh. This one a couple months old

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PwVSQ5kGXMA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PwVSQ5kGXMA</a>

Proving his mind is full of crap. Seriously, he uses what happens sexually in confined same-sex prisons and evidence that homosexuality is a choice?

It's such a shame that people so ignorant about sexuality have such a popular platform to speak such bullshit.

« Reply #1900 on: October 02, 2015, 09:59:18 AM »
Jamaican Government warned!
Urged to resist pressure from British PM to support gay agenda

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Government-warned-_19231117

RELIGIOUS leaders and other proponents of traditional marriage and the family have cautioned the Government ahead of today's visit by British Prime Minister David Cameron against caving to the gay agenda.

The call was made during a mass rally Sunday in Half-Way-Tree, at which the Portia Simpson Miller-led Administration was urged to resist international pressures to put the nation on a path to repealing the buggery law and legalising same-sex marriage.

Offline R45

« Reply #1901 on: October 02, 2015, 02:18:08 PM »
Of all the problems in Jamaica, the civil rights of the LGBT community should be the least of their worries.

« Reply #1902 on: June 26, 2016, 12:58:54 PM »

The results of yesterday’s referendum showed a clear “no” vote for both same-sex marriages and same-sex unions in Bermuda
https://www.facebook.com/MyVTv/posts/1204524526232548

T&T Gay Pride Parade.
« Reply #1903 on: July 01, 2016, 06:39:51 PM »
Someone showed me this video of T&T Pride Parade. I told them that this video does not look like any part of T&T that I know. Can someone please clarify.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0GFrxUYwgA

Re: T&T Gay Pride Parade.
« Reply #1904 on: July 01, 2016, 07:10:25 PM »
just looked up the restaurant in the first scene, Le Jardin Litteraire
is in Fort de France, Martinique, not Port of Spain
https://www.facebook.com/Le-Jardin-Litt%C3%A9raire-160569980674076/
plus the security t-shirts are in french 'securite'

Re: T&T Gay Pride Parade.
« Reply #1905 on: July 02, 2016, 10:52:10 PM »
I don't think is TT. I am almost sure that I is not TT.

« Reply #1906 on: September 15, 2016, 06:54:28 AM »

Brilliant 'batty boy' challenging Caribbean homophobia

Paris (AFP) - He's brilliant and charismatic and should be one of Jamaica's heroes up there on the pedestal with Usain Bolt and the reggae and dancehall stars who stand in the long shadow of Bob Marley.

But Jamaica has trouble embracing the novelist Marlon James, even after he won one of the world's top literary prizes, the Man Booker, last year, the first Caribbean writer to do so since V S Naipaul 45 years ago.

The reason is simple. "I'm a batty boy," James told AFP, using the derogatory island slang for gay.

In Jamaica homosexual acts are punishable by up to 10 years in prison. Ragga stars like Buju Banton have called for the murder of gay men, and a string of horrific killings a few years ago prompted rights groups to brand it the "most homophobic place on earth".

Yet James argues that "Jamaica has come a long way" since. And he hopes the international success of his book, "A Brief History of Seven Killings" -- which turns on an attempted assassination of Marley in 1976 -- will help.

"It is still a very homophobic country, though it has evolved for the better in a lot of ways," he said. "Which doesn't mean I feel totally safe."

When the US-based writer returned in glory earlier this year to give the Bob Marley lecture at his old alma mater, the University of the West Indies, "people were really supportive but there was still a Facebook page saying, 'Should a homosexual be talking about Bob Marley?'"

- 'Inciting hatred' -

"You can imagine what the comments on it were like... The trouble is I know who put up the page. It is somebody who works in the arts, yet she's still a flipping homophobe, and has no problem inciting hatred.

"She said at one point, 'I read the book and I thought it was good, but should this batty boy...'"

What cheered him however was being invited to talk to the university's gay student association.

"I was so stunned we had one. Even if there was one I would never have gone," said 45-year-old James.

Ten years ago riot police had to fire on a mob who chased a gay student through the campus, and in 2012 security guards at the island's University of Technology beat up a man who had sought refuge from a similarly homophobic crowd.

Violence is never far away in James' "A Brief History of Seven Killings". Critics have called the book a virtuoso evocation of the dark days of the late 1970s, when rival political factions fought on the streets of Kingston, with the CIA arming gangsters to unseat the socialist Michael Manley -- who Marley supported.

- Cold War battle -

"Jamaica became another Cold War battleground," James said, "and as elsewhere the US ended with some very strange bedfellows."

But rather than stop his story at the failed attempt to kill Marley, who was shot in the arm and carried the bullet to his grave, James -- who also wears his hair in dreadlocks -- became fascinated with what happened to the gunmen afterwards.

"These men for the most part vanished. There are rumours about what happened to them -- who was shot, whose throat was slit, who was hung... Jamaicans made an effort to destroy them and make sure they never existed. Of course that fired my imagination," James said.

"I had no idea that two people involved in the Marley assassination became instrumental in bringing crack to America. So I followed the gun and murder and drug trail, and the CIA and the Cold War" right to 1991.

"The whole writing of this book was crazy. The very first paragraph that I wrote is now on page 458. I wanted to write something quick, brief and brutal," he added.

But the book ended up at nearly 700 pages. "It is some crazy shit," James laughed, "that breaks every rule, so don't ask me why it works. But it does."

« Reply #1907 on: September 15, 2016, 04:07:02 PM »
Not sure if he shoulda go there   :-X

In any case they can't discipline him for stating his beliefs....he just repeating what the bible say (his church's interpretation at least)

When I see the headline I thought he was offering a different kinda cure   :rotfl:

I say the same damn thing.

I NOW seeing this thread. LOL!!!

« Reply #1908 on: December 18, 2016, 01:29:06 PM »
Some real madness happening in Ontario. Dey trying to pass a law making it a hate crime to use de wrong pronoun when referring to someone in lgbtq+ community. Dey about to run a prof out of U of T. Anyone see these "new" pronouns used anywhere? Them millinials that come up with this idle as all hell. Steups!

http://www.torontosun.com/2016/10/19/u-of-t-tells-outspoken-prof-to-stop-making-public-statements

« Last Edit: December 19, 2016, 09:05:22 AM by ribbit »

« Reply #1909 on: March 08, 2020, 01:02:44 PM »
Gay rights activist launches survey to measure T&T's homophobia
RACHAEL ESPINET (NEWSDAY).

Two years after consensual homosexual sex acts were decriminalised by the High Court, gay rights activist Jason Jones wants to determine how heterosexuals feel about the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI+) community.

Jones announced this on Friday at 4Play bar in St James as he launched the T&T National LGBTQ+ survey.

On April 18, 2018, Justice Devindra Rampersad ruled that Sections 13 and 16 of the Sexual Offences Act were unconstitutional and made it null. It was later amended to include the words “without consent.”

Section 13 criminalised buggery, either between a man and a woman or between two men. Section 16 criminalised acts of “serious indecency” which are defined as acts arousing the genital organs for sexual gratification. Heterosexuals were exempted from serious indecency once done in private.

Jones, a UK-based activist from TT, now wants to determine if the ruling has changed the public's perspective towards the LGBTI+ community in TT.

“I think one of the things that is going very wrong, not just in Trinidad and Tobago, but in LGBT rights across the world, is we are focusing on the people who are enemies. A lot of advocacy is focusing on trying to change hearts and minds. I disagree with that idea.

“I think if somebody's mind is cold and hard, if they're racist, if they're homophobic, if they are transphobic. We shouldn't be wasting our time trying to change their hearts and minds,” Jones said.

Under a score of LGBTI+ people and their allies gathered at the bar while the event was streamed live on Facebook.

Jones said after his victory in the court, he believes homophobic rhetoric has decreased in the country. He wants to measure if his assumption is true.

“The hearts and minds that I want to focus on are within my community. The fact that LGBT people can see themselves differently. After the victory in 2018, that's who I want to grab, that's the people I want to say, ‘You take your pride and take that back into your community.’ And the only way to do that is by knowing what your community feels about you.”

Jones partners in this survey are Dr Keon West, a tenured associate professor in social psychology from Goldsmiths, University of London and Prof Rose-Marie Belle Antione, dean of law at the University of the West Indies.

Students from the law faculty will help conduct the research. He is unsure of when the survey will begin but said it would take place over four weeks in eight parts of the country.

He said the survey is 75 per cent finalised and he welcomes input from interested people.

Anyone who wants to add a question to the survey can email ttnationalsurvey@gmail.com.

Gay rights activist Jason Jones, right, speak to invited guests at the launch of LGBTQ+ survey for TT at 4Play bar and lounge, St James on Friday. - ROGER JACOB