March 29, 2024, 06:19:27 AM

Author Topic: Gays Thread.  (Read 243356 times)

Offline congo

Re: Ugandan President Museveni Signs bill criminalising homosexuality
« Reply #1680 on: March 27, 2014, 06:14:53 PM »
If you really begin to question history you would come up with uncomfortable answers. Can black people really be christians when the only reason they know about christ is through the slave trade.

That's what links homosexuality with race. Now it's "white" people telling us that homosexuality should be accepted and if you don't then something is wrong with you. It was them who outlawed it in the first place but now it's cool because they say that it is. It's amazing that the most valuable and in demand resources in the world are what they control or can get their hands on.

I was studying capitalism today. That whole concept is evil and downright cruel at best. Discard food if you can't make a profit out of it etc. I'm sure other cultures had much better and neighborly economic policies that combated poverty and starvation. 
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 06:18:44 PM by congo »

« Reply #1681 on: March 27, 2014, 06:23:43 PM »
Getting to keep the Caribbean Island's was kinda cool.The Americans ein't even get a mule.

« Reply #1682 on: March 27, 2014, 06:37:32 PM »
@Pecan...I don't think there are any solutions that could right any wrongs. At the end of the day, the stronger party will always advantage the weaker one. We can't change that. At best, you can educate yourself and know and understand your history but history is also written by the victors. We keep seeing movies made about slavery but we never see movies about black people before slavery. I was watching the new 300 movie and I was wondering to myself how the hell can America make a movie about Greek history. In an ideal world, the 300 story would be told by Greeks and made with Greek actors right but such is the world we live in.

fair enough with respect to righting wrongs. I would take it one step further. to quote Desmond Tutu:

""Doesn’t forgiveness let the person who hurt you off the hook? Forgiveness isn’t a get-out-of-jail-free card. Forgiving doesn’t let the other person off the hook, it lets you off the hook—when you forgive you choose to no longer be a victim." - Archbishop Desmond Tutu

« Reply #1683 on: March 27, 2014, 06:46:18 PM »
If you really begin to question history you would come up with uncomfortable answers. Can black people really be christians when the only reason they know about christ is through the slave trade.

That's what links homosexuality with race. Now it's "white" people telling us that homosexuality should be accepted and if you don't then something is wrong with you. It was them who outlawed it in the first place but now it's cool because they say that it is. It's amazing that the most valuable and in demand resources in the world are what they control or can get their hands on.

I was studying capitalism today. That whole concept is evil and downright cruel at best. Discard food if you can't make a profit out of it etc. I'm sure other cultures had much better and neighborly economic policies that combated poverty and starvation. 

cursory internet searches suggest Christianity was in Africa well before the slave trade.

http://www.theroot.com/articles/culture/2013/03/christianitys_african_roots.html

http://www.africanchristian.org/

http://exploringafrica.matrix.msu.edu/students/curriculum/m14/activity4.php

I am not addressing the homosexual part as I done with that topic.

Capitalism is very effective as achieving prosperity. When combined with philanthropy, much good can result.

Offline congo

« Reply #1684 on: March 27, 2014, 06:54:45 PM »
@Pecan...Who is to say that 200 years from now we wouldn't be looked as backward because we didn't allow people to marry and have sex with animals.

We've been told that capitalism allows for prosperity. That's still a concept that's foreign to some communities.

« Reply #1685 on: March 27, 2014, 06:57:41 PM »
... Can black people really be christians when the only reason they know about christ is through the slave trade.

This is shit talk.  You really need to educate yourself on certain matters before you open your mouth and make yuhself sound ignorant.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 07:02:20 PM by Bakes »

Offline congo

« Reply #1686 on: March 27, 2014, 07:10:37 PM »
... Can black people really be christians when the only reason they know about christ is through the slave trade.

This is shit talk.  You really need to educate yourself on certain matters before you open your mouth and make yuhself sound ignorant.

Really? So please tell me why do the other races all have deities that looks just like them and represent their cultures and history?

« Reply #1687 on: March 27, 2014, 07:24:11 PM »

Really? So please tell me why do the other races all have deities that looks just like them and represent their cultures and history?

Ever look at a Hindu god? blue, green and many-handed? I have yet to see a Indian looking like that. Congo, you should really use Google a little when it comes to commenting on this particular topic.

As I said, Christianity was in Africa before the slave trade. Plus I don't Christians know what their God looks like. Jesus was a man but was also divine.

Offline congo

« Reply #1688 on: March 27, 2014, 07:32:40 PM »
Ever saw a Hindu God perched on top of an ostrich? No but present are elephants and cobra snakes..Animals indigenous to India... I'm talking about the facial structures and the texture of the hair etc. Christianity may have been in Africa before the slave trade but the slave trade directly allowed for its mass adoption. The predominant religion in Mexico is Catholicism. This is a direct result to the Spaniards arriving.

« Reply #1689 on: March 27, 2014, 07:33:33 PM »
@Pecan...Who is to say that 200 years from now we wouldn't be looked as backward because we didn't allow people to marry and have sex with animals.

We've been told that capitalism allows for prosperity. That's still a concept that's foreign to some communities.

I cant say what will happen 200 years from now. But to compare a relationship between consenting adults to a human-animal relationship. where there is an imbalance or power is a non sequitar.

I would rather live in a capitalistic than a communistic society. What would you propose as an alternative to capitalism? A north Korea style society?

« Reply #1690 on: March 27, 2014, 07:37:07 PM »
Ever saw a Hindu God perched on top of an ostrich? No but present are elephants and cobra snakes..Animals indigenous to India... I'm talking about the facial structures and the texture of the hair etc. Christianity may have been in Africa before the slave trade but the slave trade directly allowed for its mass adoption. The predominant religion in Mexico is Catholicism. This is a direct result to the Spaniards arriving.

That is not what you posted. this is what you said:

"Really? So please tell me why do the other races all have deities that looks just like them and represent their cultures and history?"

Here is what you also said: Can black people really be christians when the only reason they know about christ is through the slave trade.

But you are allowed to change your argument when the first attempt fails.

« Reply #1691 on: March 27, 2014, 07:45:42 PM »

Do you know what the Christian deity looks like... you've seen him?  Why yuh doh stop before yuh make yuhself look like ah even bigger ass?

« Reply #1692 on: March 27, 2014, 07:55:21 PM »
Congo wah yah saying dread , whatever became of the African gods.And why ain't they more prominent ,recognized and respected like all the other races and nations. ...if that what you trying to say ,that's a good point .
And I don't know will have to give that some thought.

« Reply #1693 on: March 27, 2014, 08:07:00 PM »
Ok I think about it Africa have one of the greatest most sophisticated religions on the planet great as the Indians even  maybe greater.Just the ppl choose Allah and the Christians stole its teachings then discredited it .Its dead now funny thing is not even its followers understood it , so great was it.
As for the smaller religions across that vast continent non as great , spirit religions which doctors and dead religions. Who knows maybe TM.lol
« Last Edit: March 27, 2014, 08:15:35 PM by Qmire »

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #1694 on: March 27, 2014, 08:17:27 PM »
@Pecan...I don't think there are any solutions that could right any wrongs. At the end of the day, the stronger party will always advantage the weaker one. We can't change that. At best, you can educate yourself and know and understand your history but history is also written by the victors. We keep seeing movies made about slavery but we never see movies about black people before slavery. I was watching the new 300 movie and I was wondering to myself how the hell can America make a movie about Greek history. In an ideal world, the 300 story would be told by Greeks and made with Greek actors right but such is the world we live in.

fair enough with respect to righting wrongs. I would take it one step further. to quote Desmond Tutu:

""Doesn’t forgiveness let the person who hurt you off the hook? Forgiveness isn’t a get-out-of-jail-free card. Forgiving doesn’t let the other person off the hook, it lets you off the hook—when you forgive you choose to no longer be a victim." - Archbishop Desmond Tutu
Yea ,   Desmond  should tell the Jews to forgive Hitler

« Reply #1695 on: March 27, 2014, 08:20:46 PM »
Asylum,  you may be on to something.

« Reply #1696 on: March 27, 2014, 08:29:41 PM »
Do any thing you want against these sheepish humans muhaha ,crimes against humanity. Then let time past and generations die ,let the young forget and tell them jesus say to forgive , while our generations will be richer than god.Works everytime.
And if the kids find a lost artifact we take it back.
Excellent.

Offline congo

« Reply #1697 on: March 27, 2014, 08:51:50 PM »
Do any thing you want against these sheepish humans muhaha ,crimes against humanity. Then let time past and generations die ,let the young forget and tell them jesus say to forgive , while our generations will be richer than god.Works everytime.
And if the kids find a lost artifact we take it back.
Excellent.

I fed up go to museums in Europe and see them filled with artifacts from all over the world.

Offline congo

« Reply #1698 on: March 27, 2014, 08:55:03 PM »
Congo wah yah saying dread , whatever became of the African gods.And why ain't they more prominent ,recognized and respected like all the other races and nations. ...if that what you trying to say ,that's a good point .
And I don't know will have to give that some thought.

Had they the means to spread their teachings I'm sure the world today would look different.

« Reply #1699 on: March 28, 2014, 09:17:20 AM »
Slavery and colonialism benefited the British population at large in that it was the foundation for the development and advancement of their society. Their wealth, their infrastructure, their advancements were all the result of their subjugation of others.

How do you know this? All the evidence I've found in Economic History (my specialism) so far is that England was already seeing income growth (well, stagnation before an incredibly slow growth for London and SE, as opposed to Malthusian falls experienced in Europe) above its European neighbours for 150 years before 1562, when the first English slaving expedition started. This is why the question of whether it was essential for (capitalistic) development is not clear cut. I still think it was an integral part in England's rise, specifically because of how it changed the power dynamics in Britain towards a merchant elite, but the question is not clear cut. We probably won't ever know for sure - we're dealing with counter-factuals.

Have you ever read the book Capitalism and Slavery by Dr Eric Williams?

To my discredit I havent but will be taking that out of the library the moment I touch down in Port of Spain. Trying to find Trinidadian history books in this country is surprisingly hard even with an academic library. The problem is that it was written in 1944, and our knowledge of slavery and the economics of colonialism has progressed quite well. From the 60's onwards Economic history started using quantitative methods quite intensively, which revealed things like a much smaller profit from slavery than previously thought. Rather than highlight papers you won't be able to access without a university pass, this book review from 2002 does a good job of highlighting the major issues in the field; http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/259

The problem is that we imagine Britain the nation siphoning off cheap resources and thus benefiting from lower prices, but tat's not the essence of capitalism here. What happened was that the 'benefits' of exploitation were captured by this powerful mercantile elite, who demanded prices higher than the world price for the goods made in the colonies, whilst simultaneously pushing for policies that heavily favoured these products whilst discouraging/embargoing alternative sources from outside the British Empire.  This gave them the capital needed to invest in the machinery and land necessary for the Industrial Revolution.

However, the question on whether this was essential or [greatly accelerated[/b] British Industrialisation is very contentious simply because there are so many factors at play. Britain already had more constraints on the Monarchy than the other big colonial powers (France, Spain and Portugal) before 1400 (Magna Carta being important here), which some see as the truly critical step for industrialisation, as it allowed investors and individuals to retain the proceeds of their work whilst discouraging monarchs from racking up huge debts (which undermined banks when they went bankrupt and refused to pay). Secondly, Britain had an abundance of natural resources that would be important during the IR, namely coal and iron. Thirdly, the restraints on the monarch meant that they could not capture all the benefits of colonialism like what happened in Spain, Portugal, and France. This left individuals with capital to reinvest, expanding the mercantile sectors. Fourthly, Britain had a strong legacy of seafaring unmatched by the other European powers as it was essential to their defence (the "wooden wall") - it's no accident that Portugal was the first on the scene (given they also had a pressing need for a navy). They were lucky that navies were going to be so essential from the 1500s to 1950s in that regard.

The other critiques of it being essential point to the lack of progress in Spain, Portugal and France. The former two certainly profited monetarily more than England simply due to the amount of rare metals and gems they expropriated from Latin America. This caused massive inflation locally and across Europe for a hundred years, so it certainly wasn't all that beneficial in the end - it hurt domestic industries as the currency appreciated (lowering demand for exports) and really hurt teh poor, whose costs of living rose as a result.

If you find the question of why nations are rich today, definitely check out "The Wealth and Poverty of Nations" by David Landes, it's a good read. Also check the work of Nicholas Craft, who changed the way we thought about hte Industrial Revolution (turns out British economic growth took place later than we though - after 1850 for "modern" rates of growth, as Steam was totally cost-inefficient until the invention of high-pressure steam), and Stephen Broadberry, who has done a bunch of papers on the "Great Divergence", i.e. when did Europe pull away from Asia in development?

« Reply #1700 on: March 28, 2014, 10:18:36 AM »
A Trinidadian history book yuh say? In your mind that must be prioritised after Aesop's Fables.   :rotfl:

Written in 1944 ... yet you mention Malthus :rotfl:

Re: Communications director of World Congress of Families on the Gay Agenda!
« Reply #1701 on: March 28, 2014, 01:48:59 PM »
Pastor Manning gives his view on the purpose behind the Gay Agenda of promoting Homosexuality to everyone.

Depopulate The Earth: Have Homo Sex But No Babies
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ZHb1Y0PRylg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ZHb1Y0PRylg</a>

Gentrification For Planet Earth: Homosexuals Flooding Harlem Nights
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/gBrSthYcqJA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/gBrSthYcqJA</a>
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 10:21:00 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1702 on: March 28, 2014, 02:25:14 PM »
A Trinidadian history book yuh say? In your mind that must be prioritised after Aesop's Fables.   :rotfl:

Asylum, your ignorance is depressing - maybe you can come up with some convenient definition to somehow counteract this :p. Malthus' theory holds very well for the vast majority of history and only breaks down with the agricultural revolution of Britain. The best example of this is the Black Death - the wages of Europeans increased as people died of the Black Death and all but GB and Low counties (modern Belgium and Netherlands) saw a fall in income as populations recovered. His theory breaks down with the advances in agricultural technology from the 1700s onwards, but even then Britain's food price rises (as we still needed to import food to feed our population) prevented the poorest in Britain from benefiting until the 1800s.

Moreover, this isn't even relevant to the damn point! It's a fact that European nations (minus the nations I've talked about) faced falls in income consistent with Malthusian theory between 1350 and 1700. It's not as if you'd be talking on subjects you don't know now is it Asylum?

« Reply #1703 on: March 28, 2014, 04:11:05 PM »

Asylum, your ignorance is depressing - maybe you can come up with some convenient definition to somehow counteract this :p. Malthus' theory holds very well for the vast majority of history and only breaks down with the agricultural revolution of Britain. The best example of this is the Black Death - the wages of Europeans increased as people died of the Black Death and all but GB and Low counties (modern Belgium and Netherlands) saw a fall in income as populations recovered. His theory breaks down with the advances in agricultural technology from the 1700s onwards, but even then Britain's food price rises (as we still needed to import food to feed our population) prevented the poorest in Britain from benefiting until the 1800s.

Moreover, this isn't even relevant to the damn point! It's a fact that European nations (minus the nations I've talked about) faced falls in income consistent with Malthusian theory between 1350 and 1700. It's not as if you'd be talking on subjects you don't know now is it Asylum?

Stick to your knitting. I read Malthus when you were conceiving pissing your pants. Try not to make every deflection an unsolicited foray into spitting out what you learned yesterday. Did you know that institutions of learning pre-dated your impertinent arse?

Quite correctly you observe, that wasn't the damn point. You haven't read Williams, but yet you embark on a dismissive trajectory?

1. Capitalism and Slavery is not a Trinidadian history book ... wash yuh mouth and show some  :cursing: respect. However, it is a book written by a historian of Trinidadian nationality  ... find the nuance in that. AND, it's not hard to locate in any good university library.

2. The point of the second line seems to have been lost on you.

(Incidentally... both Williams and Malthus have been the subject of critique).
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 04:26:40 PM by asylumseeker »

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #1704 on: March 28, 2014, 04:15:01 PM »
Slavery and colonialism benefited the British population at large in that it was the foundation for the development and advancement of their society. Their wealth, their infrastructure, their advancements were all the result of their subjugation of others.

How do you know this? All the evidence I've found in Economic History (my specialism) so far is that England was already seeing income growth (well, stagnation before an incredibly slow growth for London and SE, as opposed to Malthusian falls experienced in Europe) above its European neighbours for 150 years before 1562, when the first English slaving expedition started. This is why the question of whether it was essential for (capitalistic) development is not clear cut. I still think it was an integral part in England's rise, specifically because of how it changed the power dynamics in Britain towards a merchant elite, but the question is not clear cut. We probably won't ever know for sure - we're dealing with counter-factuals.

Have you ever read the book Capitalism and Slavery by Dr Eric Williams?

To my discredit I havent but will be taking that out of the library the moment I touch down in Port of Spain. Trying to find Trinidadian history books in this country is surprisingly hard even with an academic library. The problem is that it was written in 1944, and our knowledge of slavery and the economics of colonialism has progressed quite well. From the 60's onwards Economic history started using quantitative methods quite intensively, which revealed things like a much smaller profit from slavery than previously thought. Rather than highlight papers you won't be able to access without a university pass, this book review from 2002 does a good job of highlighting the major issues in the field; http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/259

The problem is that we imagine Britain the nation siphoning off cheap resources and thus benefiting from lower prices, but tat's not the essence of capitalism here. What happened was that the 'benefits' of exploitation were captured by this powerful mercantile elite, who demanded prices higher than the world price for the goods made in the colonies, whilst simultaneously pushing for policies that heavily favoured these products whilst discouraging/embargoing alternative sources from outside the British Empire.  This gave them the capital needed to invest in the machinery and land necessary for the Industrial Revolution.

However, the question on whether this was essential or [greatly accelerated[/b] British Industrialisation is very contentious simply because there are so many factors at play. Britain already had more constraints on the Monarchy than the other big colonial powers (France, Spain and Portugal) before 1400 (Magna Carta being important here), which some see as the truly critical step for industrialisation, as it allowed investors and individuals to retain the proceeds of their work whilst discouraging monarchs from racking up huge debts (which undermined banks when they went bankrupt and refused to pay). Secondly, Britain had an abundance of natural resources that would be important during the IR, namely coal and iron. Thirdly, the restraints on the monarch meant that they could not capture all the benefits of colonialism like what happened in Spain, Portugal, and France. This left individuals with capital to reinvest, expanding the mercantile sectors. Fourthly, Britain had a strong legacy of seafaring unmatched by the other European powers as it was essential to their defence (the "wooden wall") - it's no accident that Portugal was the first on the scene (given they also had a pressing need for a navy). They were lucky that navies were going to be so essential from the 1500s to 1950s in that regard.

The other critiques of it being essential point to the lack of progress in Spain, Portugal and France. The former two certainly profited monetarily more than England simply due to the amount of rare metals and gems they expropriated from Latin America. This caused massive inflation locally and across Europe for a hundred years, so it certainly wasn't all that beneficial in the end - it hurt domestic industries as the currency appreciated (lowering demand for exports) and really hurt teh poor, whose costs of living rose as a result.

If you find the question of why nations are rich today, definitely check out "The Wealth and Poverty of Nations" by David Landes, it's a good read. Also check the work of Nicholas Craft, who changed the way we thought about hte Industrial Revolution (turns out British economic growth took place later than we though - after 1850 for "modern" rates of growth, as Steam was totally cost-inefficient until the invention of high-pressure steam), and Stephen Broadberry, who has done a bunch of papers on the "Great Divergence", i.e. when did Europe pull away from Asia in development?
I don't know much   bout all this  economic history  of Britain but I do know that the catalyst   of the industrial revolution was sugar and cotton .
 These were produced on the exploitation of black slaves.
 Sugar and cotton then was what oil is today 

« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 04:21:24 PM by Ramgoat »

« Reply #1705 on: March 28, 2014, 06:05:14 PM »

Stick to your knitting. I read Malthus when you were conceiving pissing your pants.
Looks like you should have read a bit more then, 'cause clearly you're not actually understanding the content.

Did you know that institutions of learning pre-dated your impertinent arse?

And yet not a single point of my actual argument addressed. Asylum you're tiring, you try to mask your ignorance with deflections and personal attacks.
Quite correctly you observe, that wasn't the damn point. You haven't read Williams, but yet you embark on a dismissive trajectory?

As I went to pains to point out, I addressed the general points put forward - that slavery was essential ot the UK's rise. I also linked you to a review that talked about his work.

1. Capitalism and Slavery is not a Trinidadian history book ... wash yuh mouth and show some  :cursing: respect. However, it is a book written by a historian of Trinidadian nationality  ... find the nuance in that. AND, it's not hard to locate in any good university library.

On that, my bad, it was my poor paragraph construction that conflated the two issues. I know it's not a Trinidadian history book that was a separate point. His general points about the importance of colonialism I have addressed elsewhere - simply put more recent evidence (from the 70s onwards) has somewhat overturned a number of the arguments with the benefit of better data. You should take a chill pill and get less defensive - I'm not sure why your fragile ego is tied up with his work.

2. The point of the second line seems to have been lost on you.

(Incidentally... both Williams and Malthus have been the subject of critique).

How about you READ MY POSTS. It's the third time I've had to point this out - everyone is jumping down my throat for points I haven't made. If you have the mental capacity why don't you try reading Asylum. That they've both been subject to critique is totally irrelevant and the argument of a child. The question is whether the critique was correct, whether that critique was answered, and the bearing it has on the question. Malthus' theory was based on observations of the pre-modern era that are still relevant today; I don't know William's total argument as I've pointed out so I talked about the problem in general in distinguishing whether slavery/colonialism was essential or just accelerated the rise of the UK. If you lack the reading comprehension to get that after 3/4 posts then just go away and play with lego.

Before you respond, read my damn posts. I'm fed up of correcting your lack of comprehension or reading.

« Reply #1706 on: March 28, 2014, 06:27:30 PM »
And how do you know they've "over turned" the arguments when you havent even read the book?

« Reply #1707 on: March 28, 2014, 06:33:48 PM »
And how do you know they've "over turned" the arguments when you havent even read the book?

Read. My. Posts. I'm not going to waste my time going over the same points twice because you can't read.

« Reply #1708 on: March 28, 2014, 07:27:33 PM »
I have read your posts and they still beg the question...

« Reply #1709 on: March 29, 2014, 03:10:56 AM »

Rather than highlight papers you won't be able to access without a university pass, this book review from 2002 does a good job of highlighting the major issues in the field; http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/259