March 28, 2024, 06:03:19 AM

Author Topic: Gays Thread.  (Read 243266 times)

Re: Communications director of World Congress of Families on the Gay Agenda!
« Reply #1770 on: March 31, 2014, 10:40:35 AM »
Do you work within the community as an advocate for gay rights or something?

No - I consider it every person's duty to defend the rights of your fellow human beings, and to challenge prejudice and discrimination.

So you're like a missionary sent to the colonies, yet silent at home? Lehwe make a turn in Brixton nah.

Why do you think I'm silent at home? You know what they say about ASSumptions there Asylum.

Re: Ugandan President Museveni Signs bill criminalising homosexuality
« Reply #1771 on: March 31, 2014, 10:42:34 AM »
Extracted from Tiresais above:

Europe was a backward continent circa 1000 A.D., depending on how you measure this, but by 1400 North-Western Europe had overtaken China as the most developed place on Earth.(see Maddison's seminal work "The World Economy: A Millennial perspective").Europe's rise, thus, had started before its embarkation on colonisation. Indeed it would have been impossible for them to conquer such large swathes of the world without some technological or military advantage, given the relatively small numbers compared to the natives.

And how did you determine that? Via a cup of tea with Angus before he departed this life?

Hah, sadly not. He's one of the few academics to attempt to quantify GDP per capita over the past 2 thousand years and is heavily cited in the literature, hence my (subjective) opinion that it's a seminal work.

Uh-huh ...

Probably because you're so full of shite that the effluent has contaminated your objectivity.

Any retort other than ad hominem attacks? 'cause all you've actually done is insult me rather than respond to my point.

It's actually in response to your comment rather than per se ad hominem. You impeach yourself. Re-read yuh own damn post? Lol.

(By the way, you have no basis for rejecting ad hominem. None. And, I haven't started to insult you yet. I'm still being charitable).

You attacked me as full of shit without addressing the point whatsoever. Care to respond?

Offline congo

« Reply #1772 on: March 31, 2014, 10:57:20 AM »

When you have to fly under the radar or face massive public backlash and discrimination, being 'hidden' is essential to continue having an otherwise normal life.

An element of why the equivalency of race should be left out of the discourse.

They always quick to say that what two consenting do in their bedroom is their own business and people shouldn't get involved but the funny thing is  that I could point out a person based on race. I could see a black man coming from a mile away and have no doubt that he is black etc. I can't tell a gay person from a straight...If a gay person doesn't portray gay tendencies how can they then be identified and discriminated against? It so funny that people chose to compare being gay to being black. A black person can't hide his or her skin color. A gay person could hide from the public. This discrimination talk is rubbish. No one cares...If as people say that gay only occurs in the bedroom then why the need to fly under the radar?

« Reply #1773 on: March 31, 2014, 11:11:18 AM »

When you have to fly under the radar or face massive public backlash and discrimination, being 'hidden' is essential to continue having an otherwise normal life.

They always quick to say that what two consenting do in their bedroom is their own business and people shouldn't get involved but the funny thing is  that I could point out a person based on race. I could see a black man coming from a mile away and have no doubt that he is black etc. I can't tell a gay person from a straight...If a gay person doesn't portray gay tendencies how can they then be identified and discriminated against? It so funny that people chose to compare being gay to being black. A black person can't hide his or her skin color. A gay person could hide from the public. This discrimination talk is rubbish. No one cares...If as people say that gay only occurs in the bedroom then why the need to fly under the radar?
Good post but I expect the usual suspects to pussy foot around the points you made in order to continue playing the Gay victimization card.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 12:03:40 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1774 on: March 31, 2014, 11:45:43 AM »
Do you have any evidence of France and Spain's inefficiency? 17th Century seems much to early to me - both Portugal and (after independence) the Dutch were significant threats to the RN at or after this time.

Nothing I say is by accident, you are quite adept at charging people to "read [your] damn posts" but apparently can't summon the ability in yourself to reciprocate.

No one was trading in slaves as the British were during this period... Britain had assumed naval superiority from Spain by the 17th century, and not just in warfare.

So...

As to the question of the contributions of the colonies to the development of the European motherland... the advantage was the remission of profits back to the motherland.  This in turn was influenced by the availability of slave labor.  The two major players in the slave trade were England and Spain. Certainly from the 18th century on, if I am to concede that the 17th was too early, England's navy had superseded Spain's.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 11:49:57 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #1775 on: March 31, 2014, 11:51:25 AM »
  In short, I have read everything that I choose to respond to.

This is why I keep telling people to read my posts. You cannot weigh my arguments from snippets - the posts are more than the sum of their parts.

Fella... I read your damn posts, and I chose to respond to snippets rather than write a frigging dissertation each time on peripheral arguments.  What's so hard to understand?

« Reply #1776 on: March 31, 2014, 12:05:01 PM »

You actually believe half the shit you does post dred?  You ever hear of the terms "passing" or the "one-drop rule"??

How many of these people you could spot a mile away and have no doubt as to their racial identity?

On the one hand many ah allyuh proclaiming loud and clear that allyuh doh want no "homos" around allyuh, allyuh doh want to socialize with them.  Yet in the same breath bawling discrimination against gays is nonsense, not even realizing the internal contradictions in your own statements.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 12:07:00 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #1777 on: March 31, 2014, 12:39:05 PM »
On the one hand many ah allyuh proclaiming loud and clear that allyuh doh want no "homos" around allyuh, allyuh doh want to socialize with them.  Yet in the same breath bawling discrimination against gays is nonsense, not even realizing the internal contradictions in your own statements.
Just to remove my name from your "many of allyuh" suspects list, I have worked with gay work colleagues on a number of occasions and have never complained to them or anyone else that I don't want to work with gays provided they don't try to cross the line of professionalism in the work place.
To me that would be the same as me complaining that I don't want to work with Whites or Indians or anyone else because of who they are. I will work with anyone who is professional because I believe in equality, professionalism and productivity in the work place.
I don't really care what you do in your private time including if you take drugs or shoot animals or engage in anal sex as a hobby once it doesn't affect your professionalism and performance at the workplace.

But as I said before, outside of work I have my own social interests with like minded people and most times don't even have time to socialize with my straight work colleagues far less the gay ones who I may or may not be aware are gay.
Me not having an interest in socializing with Gay work colleagues outside of work is not discrimination and anyone who tries to make such a claim is missing a few brain cells or wants to deny everyone of their democratic right of choice of who they knowingly choose to socialize with.

Now that I have removed my name from the ""many of allyuh", list, you can carry on....
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 12:43:23 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1778 on: March 31, 2014, 12:43:07 PM »
@ Tiresais

Given the intensity of historians' reaction to Williams's work and the centrality of British industrialization to historical scholarship, it is curious that there has not been until now a publication relating to Caribbean slavery, Atlantic trade and British industrialization in this popular Cambridge series. This may partly be explained by the fact that the majority of scholars working on British industrialization tend to be highly skeptical of the ‘Williams thesis'. As Morgan himself observes, the "insights and evidence" offered by Williams in Capitalism and Slavery are "much contested", though the study still remains "seminal" (p. 113). There remain, however, scholars for whom Williams's claims about the profits from slavery and British capital accumulation retain much merit. Moreover, others, including Morgan, have sought to explore more thoroughly than Williams other possible lines of connection between slavery, external trade and British industrialization. In this respect, the debate between slavery and the British Industrial Revolution that Williams helped to ignite almost sixty years ago remains very much alive. Whether, as Morgan hopes, his booklet succeeds in prompting fresh research (p. 5) rather than simply providing an accessible summary of current debates for students, is open to question.

http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/259

To express scepticism about Williams' work is one thing, but to insist that assessing the work as seminal turns on your subjectivity is jackassness ... "radicated in your bias and veiled machinations".

I reiterate: you are full of shit.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 01:01:56 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #1779 on: March 31, 2014, 12:52:15 PM »
I'm not surprised that a Trinbago forum would consider it seminal, simply because we like to push forward our own heroes and representatives, and sometimes inflate their importance.

This right here is the crux of why you are rubbing everyone wrong with your comments, your position is premised on the assumption that we are inflating William's importance just because he shares our heritage.  Frankly it's insulting... so yes, stop at this point.  Whether you choose to stop AND read the book, that's up to you.

Ab-so-lute-ly!

I'll add also that it's a question of respect. The fella has been out of order in his delivery. Trinis real tolerant. He couldn't ah run up on another forum denigrating and distorting at will.

« Reply #1780 on: March 31, 2014, 12:59:33 PM »
Asylum, can you point me to examples of his "radicated bias and veiled bias"? I don't see it. But then again,  I have been accused of being naive when it comes to racism.

Racism? Who the hell is talking about racism?

Ramgoat

Come nah man ... we both know that Ramgoat's comments were extrinsic to my statements. You asked me what my words meant, and then you stated that you have been "accused of being naive when it comes to racism" ... the suggestion being that I was charging Tiresais with racism.

Offline congo

« Reply #1781 on: March 31, 2014, 01:46:32 PM »

You actually believe half the shit you does post dred?  You ever hear of the terms "passing" or the "one-drop rule"??

How many of these people you could spot a mile away and have no doubt as to their racial identity?

Still doesn't change the fact that those people would be discriminated on based on their outer features. I know I can't tell if they are gay or not based on looking at them. If a person choose not to socialise with a gay person outside of work but in a professional capacity could maintain a professional rapport does that make them a homophobe? It's a preference.

« Reply #1782 on: March 31, 2014, 02:01:08 PM »

They are comparable because neither is a choice - being homosexual is no more a choice than heterosexual. You simply cannot 'choose' to find men attractive can you? Discrimination happens whether the issue in question is obvious/readily appraent or not - are you saying that Irish people weren't subject to discrimination by the British for example? You can hide your Irishness  if you don't talk, but that's not the point, the point is that you are facing discrimination if you reveal that you are Irish and that's the problem, not that you didn't hide it well enough. This also explains why they "need to fly under the radar" - by revealing their sexuality they face discrimination, so in order to avoid being discrimination they need to hide who they are.

« Reply #1783 on: March 31, 2014, 02:03:04 PM »
Asylum, can you point me to examples of his "radicated bias and veiled bias"? I don't see it. But then again,  I have been accused of being naive when it comes to racism.

Racism? Who the hell is talking about racism?

Ramgoat

Come nah man ... we both know that Ramgoat's comments were extrinsic to my statements. You asked me what my words meant, and then you stated that you have been "accused of being naive when it comes to racism" ... the suggestion being that I was charging Tiresais with racism.

Sorry, my racism comment was not meant to imply what you inferred. I edited what I had originally written and the final result did not convey what I was trying to say.

What I was trying to say is that my naivety (and I used racism as a example because race was part of the ongoing discussions that was triggered by Ramgoat's "white people" comment) often prevents me detecting underlying messages. So someone may be behaving in a racist fashion to my family and I simply do not see it even though it is right in front of my face. So the analogy I was trying to make is that I do not see Tiresais's "radicated bias and veiled bias" and perhaps the reason for this is that I am naive - the same way I am naive about racism - the key word is "naive" not "racism".

And my "Ramgoat" reply reflected what Ramgoat had just posted.

« Reply #1784 on: March 31, 2014, 02:04:15 PM »
@ Tiresais

Given the intensity of historians' reaction to Williams's work and the centrality of British industrialization to historical scholarship, it is curious that there has not been until now a publication relating to Caribbean slavery, Atlantic trade and British industrialization in this popular Cambridge series. This may partly be explained by the fact that the majority of scholars working on British industrialization tend to be highly skeptical of the ‘Williams thesis'. As Morgan himself observes, the "insights and evidence" offered by Williams in Capitalism and Slavery are "much contested", though the study still remains "seminal" (p. 113). There remain, however, scholars for whom Williams's claims about the profits from slavery and British capital accumulation retain much merit. Moreover, others, including Morgan, have sought to explore more thoroughly than Williams other possible lines of connection between slavery, external trade and British industrialization. In this respect, the debate between slavery and the British Industrial Revolution that Williams helped to ignite almost sixty years ago remains very much alive. Whether, as Morgan hopes, his booklet succeeds in prompting fresh research (p. 5) rather than simply providing an accessible summary of current debates for students, is open to question.

To express scepticism about Williams' work is one thing, but to insist that assessing the work as seminal turns on your subjectivity is jackassness ... "radicated in your bias and veiled machinations".

And who decides what is seminal exactly? Asylum you're quick to attack, but again you're failing with your definitions.

« Reply #1785 on: March 31, 2014, 02:07:21 PM »
I only just spotted the highlighted paragraph above with an accusation from Pecan that included my name.

So Mr Pecan please bring the quote and show me where I ever said that I was a victim of unwanted sexual attention from a homo originally disguised as benign socialization and responded with the threat of violence if not violence, against the offender?!

I've never been violent or have threatened violence against a Gay person in all my life not that it may not happen in the future if I am ever put in a position where I am left with no choice in order to defend myself from physical abuse or assault.

Some of you fellas are either dangerous liars or lack English comprehension skills.  :shameonyou:

If Pecan is unable to bring the quote of me saying I was violent or threatened violence against a homo who made unwanted sexual advances then I expect an apology posted in this thread for his heterophobic lies within the next 24 hours. The clock is ticking!  :Police:

You serious? are your sensibilities so offended you have time to look for reasons for and to demand an apology?

Offline congo

« Reply #1786 on: March 31, 2014, 02:16:04 PM »
Yeah but there are anti discrimination laws to protect them against that sort of thing. That's why I believe that argument is nought. If they are offended then they could take action..I find gays in Trinidad to be fraudulent...Anytime a anti-gay statement is made, you never see them. All you see are a couple straight people who appear to be speaking on behalf of the gay community. A gay march in Trinidad would probably have 4 people in it. They are cowards.

« Reply #1787 on: March 31, 2014, 02:18:21 PM »
Do you have any evidence of France and Spain's inefficiency? 17th Century seems much to early to me - both Portugal and (after independence) the Dutch were significant threats to the RN at or after this time.

Nothing I say is by accident, you are quite adept at charging people to "read [your] damn posts" but apparently can't summon the ability in yourself to reciprocate.

No one was trading in slaves as the British were during this period... Britain had assumed naval superiority from Spain by the 17th century, and not just in warfare.

So...

As to the question of the contributions of the colonies to the development of the European motherland... the advantage was the remission of profits back to the motherland.  This in turn was influenced by the availability of slave labor.  The two major players in the slave trade were England and Spain. Certainly from the 18th century on, if I am to concede that the 17th was too early, England's navy had superseded Spain's.

Bakes you made a statement about French and Spanish plantations being inefficient - do you have any evidence for that claim?

Maybe we're crossing wires here because I have already stated that slavery was essential to the rise of Great Britain, the difference is that I understand that the question is still in contention in the literature.

As I pointed out previously, it was who gained these profits, no the profits themselves that determined the path of Britain's development in my opinion, simply because the profit itself from the colonies was not high enough to matter in terms of gross national investment. Whilst Britain could wrest teh seas from Spain it still had The Netherlands to contend with - they were a major threat to British shipping into the 1700s, which necessitated massive expenditure to maintain the world's largest fleet. This was a major burden for teh nation's coffers, not to mention the stationing of troops across the world who need to be supplied and maintained. Maintaining the colonies was in short very costly to the British Exchequer, further limiting the profits of slavery and colonialism to the state.

Could you please provide evidence for your positions - I took/take the question seriously so I've provided ample evidence and references for my position - could you do the same please?

« Reply #1788 on: March 31, 2014, 02:27:10 PM »
@ Tiresais

And who decides what is seminal exactly? Asylum you're quick to attack, but again you're failing with your definitions.

From the twisted Gospel according to Tiresais to the malicious misrepresentation of the academe. Steups, you quasi-intellectual fraud ... the only thing I'm failing at can't be accomplished across cyberspace.

« Reply #1789 on: March 31, 2014, 02:42:31 PM »

No - I consider it every person's duty to defend the rights of your fellow human beings, and to challenge prejudice and discrimination.

So you're like a missionary sent to the colonies, yet silent at home? Lehwe make a turn in Brixton nah.

Why do you think I'm silent at home? You know what they say about ASSumptions there Asylum.

There was no room nor need to assume. Let's examine the alternatives: you're being either contradictory, "hypocritical" or prevaricatory. At best, you're an ambiguous equivocator.

Lehme know when yuh reach Brixton (or Socapro's barbershop).

« Reply #1790 on: March 31, 2014, 02:55:13 PM »
I'm not surprised that a Trinbago forum would consider it seminal, simply because we like to push forward our own heroes and representatives, and sometimes inflate their importance.

This right here is the crux of why you are rubbing everyone wrong with your comments, your position is premised on the assumption that we are inflating William's importance just because he shares our heritage.  Frankly it's insulting... so yes, stop at this point.  Whether you choose to stop AND read the book, that's up to you.

Ab-so-lute-ly!

I'll add also that it's a question of respect. The fella has been out of order in his delivery. Trinis real tolerant. He couldn't ah run up on another forum denigrating and distorting at will.

Not to mention that no taint is applied to Englishmen reviewing the scholarship of their compatriot predecessors, but cursory remarks by a Trini respecting a Trini are imbued with "sentiment".

This pontificating charlatan is inherently turning CLR in his grave. Deny him entry.

« Reply #1791 on: March 31, 2014, 03:02:28 PM »
Still doesn't change the fact that those people would be discriminated on based on their outer features. I know I can't tell if they are gay or not based on looking at them. If a person choose not to socialise with a gay person outside of work but in a professional capacity could maintain a professional rapport does that make them a homophobe? It's a preference.

Actually it does.  Many of those people could pass for another ethnicity, other than black.  The Asian-looking fella for instance, could fit into any Hmong community without a problem, save for several of the sisters pictured fitting into Dominican communities without anyone being able to visibly tell them apart from the larger community.  Few if any, would suspect that they are black, therefore there is minimal probability that they would experience anti-black racism... put another way, since you missed it the first time... they could "pass."  I could just as easily find someone who could pass as white... since you seem intent on construing this only in terms of white-on-black racism.

As for the second comment about exercising one's "preference" isn't homophobia... that's like arguing, I don't want to associate with black people because of their black skin... but I'm not a racist, that's just my preference.  You don't get to argue you're not a homophobe when you are making it clear that the reason why you don't want to associate with them is their sexual orientation.

« Reply #1792 on: March 31, 2014, 03:07:26 PM »

Ab-so-lute-ly!

Not to mention that no taint is applied to Englishmen reviewing the scholarship of their compatriot predecessors, but cursory remarks by a Trini respecting a Trini are imbued with "sentiment".

This pontificating charlatan is inherently turning CLR in his grave. Deny him entry.

*sigh* you distrust my position, fine, but I don't tink his work is seminal. The response by the forum is completely over the top - accusing me of X and Y. All I said is that I don't consider it seminal, and you're coming out with this? And you're tolerant?

« Reply #1793 on: March 31, 2014, 03:11:15 PM »

There was no room nor need to assume. Let's examine the alternatives: you're being either contradictory, "hypocritical" or prevaricatory. At best, you're an ambiguous equivocator.

Ya ain't interested in conversation, just harassing me. I keep asking you to justify your positions but you want bacchanal. You claim things about me without evidence or justification. It's really sad.

« Reply #1794 on: March 31, 2014, 03:13:40 PM »

They would probably deliberately cut Tiresais's throat while giving him a shave (and call it an accident) if he even dared open his mouth and try to defend Bolt wearing a dress in that Virgin Media advert (see video in Reply #45) and unforgivingly making Jamaican men in general look like sissies!   :devil:
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 03:17:33 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1795 on: March 31, 2014, 03:22:33 PM »

Asylum, you truly think that Tiresais commentary and opinions on homosexuality is ambiguous equivocation?. He has been very clear on his position vis-a-vis homosexuality. He might have been harsh with Congo but his description of the issue has been far from ambiguous. And exactly what is the equivocation part - the fact that he is vocal on homosexual discrimination but less so on what you would have liked to see on the slavery / capitalism discussion as seen from the non-British side of the debate ?

« Reply #1796 on: March 31, 2014, 03:27:09 PM »

Bakes you made a statement about French and Spanish plantations being inefficient - do you have any evidence for that claim?

Maybe we're crossing wires here because I have already stated that slavery was essential to the rise of Great Britain, the difference is that I understand that the question is still in contention in the literature.

As I pointed out previously, it was who gained these profits, no the profits themselves that determined the path of Britain's development in my opinion, simply because the profit itself from the colonies was not high enough to matter in terms of gross national investment. Whilst Britain could wrest teh seas from Spain it still had The Netherlands to contend with - they were a major threat to British shipping into the 1700s, which necessitated massive expenditure to maintain the world's largest fleet. This was a major burden for teh nation's coffers, not to mention the stationing of troops across the world who need to be supplied and maintained. Maintaining the colonies was in short very costly to the British Exchequer, further limiting the profits of slavery and colonialism to the state.

Could you please provide evidence for your positions - I took/take the question seriously so I've provided ample evidence and references for my position - could you do the same please?

Come nah man... go back and properly read what I posted.  I said the France and Spain weren't very efficient at extracting profits from the plantations in the colonies... is it NOT Mercantilism we're talking about?  I made no comment on the efficiency of the colonial plantations themselves.  British mercantilism was by far more ruthlessly efficient at reducing the profit margins generated by the plantations, in large part because Britain had naval superiority such that it could enforce embargoes against trade with rival European nations.  The French and Spanish didn't have quite the same scale of production coming out of the colonies, and lacking the ability to enforce reciprocal trade embargoes against the British, couldn't prevent their Antillean colonies from trading with the British, in the same manner that the British could.

« Reply #1797 on: March 31, 2014, 03:43:51 PM »
I only just spotted the highlighted paragraph above with an accusation from Pecan that included my name.

So Mr Pecan please bring the quote and show me where I ever said that I was a victim of unwanted sexual attention from a homo originally disguised as benign socialization and responded with the threat of violence if not violence, against the offender?!

I've never been violent or have threatened violence against a Gay person in all my life not that it may not happen in the future if I am ever put in a position where I am left with no choice in order to defend myself from physical abuse or assault.

Some of you fellas are either dangerous liars or lack English comprehension skills.  :shameonyou:

If Pecan is unable to bring the quote of me saying I was violent or threatened violence against a homo who made unwanted sexual advances then I expect an apology posted in this thread for his heterophobic lies within the next 24 hours. The clock is ticking!  :Police:

You serious? are your sensibilities so offended you have time to look for reasons for and to demand an apology?
As I said if you cannot bring the quote of me saying I reacted violently to an unwanted sexual advance from a gay person then it proves that you are a liar or have reading comprehension difficulties.
Now which is it as you seem unable to bring the quote?!  :Police:

« Reply #1798 on: March 31, 2014, 03:50:30 PM »

Asylum, you truly think that Tiresais commentary and opinions on homosexuality is ambiguous equivocation?. He has been very clear on his position vis-a-vis homosexuality. He might have been harsh with Congo but his description of the issue has been far from ambiguous. And exactly what is the equivocation part - the fact that he is vocal on homosexual discrimination but less so on what you would have liked to see on the slavery / capitalism discussion as seen from the non-British side of the debate ?

None of the above?! Those comments apply to this immediate exchange ... although his response bears the hallmarks he has applied elsewhere.

« Reply #1799 on: March 31, 2014, 03:54:53 PM »
Yeah but there are anti discrimination laws to protect them against that sort of thing. That's why I believe that argument is nought. If they are offended then they could take action..I find gays in Trinidad to be fraudulent...Anytime a anti-gay statement is made, you never see them. All you see are a couple straight people who appear to be speaking on behalf of the gay community. A gay march in Trinidad would probably have 4 people in it. They are cowards.
Gays in Trinidad generally know their place. They are fully aware that their sexual lifestyle is a perversion of nature and hence they thankfully don't try to promote it to everyone else.
Regards discrimination most gays in T&T who are known to be gay are generally treated just the same as anyone else in the work place so they generally have nothing much to complain about in regards to discrimination.
I don't hear stories in T&T of gays being beaten up just for being gay but I do regularly hear stories of poor folks in certain areas being picked on by the police and being discriminated against when seeking employment just because they are from those areas and this is much more of a concern to me than so called Gay rights.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 04:03:39 PM by Socapro »