March 28, 2024, 02:27:02 AM

Author Topic: Gays Thread.  (Read 243257 times)

Re: Ugandan President Museveni Signs bill criminalising homosexuality
« Reply #1830 on: April 01, 2014, 05:19:12 PM »
Problem with you is that most of the time you don't actually point out any real contradictions in my position.
What you do is cleverly try to twist and misrepresent what I have said just to try to have a time wasting argument which simply amounts to an exercise in ego-tripping and trying to prove that you are more clever than everyone else.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Okay the CL football games are over and Bakes the King of nit-picking and twisting what people said in order to have an unnecessary argument is at it again. Let me deal with his irrelevant and twisted points.

Don't be an ass... and don't flatter yuhself.  My life is accomplished enough that I don't need to prove anything to anybody on this forum, least of all that I am more "clever" than everyone else.  That fiction that you have in your head adds nothing to my life, it doesn't pay my bills and it doesn't keep me warm and dry at night.

Further, I get paid very well to argue in real life... I don't have to engage in worthless pursuits on the internet just to get into or win arguments.  Someone less invested in their emotions would be able to appreciate that I enjoy engaging in discussions on a wide variety of topics... not only here but elsewhere.  Where something doesn't make sense to me I will explore that... if in the process it becomes necessary to bring you along as participant or passenger then that very well may happen, until it becomes unproductive... as this particular trip as become.

« Reply #1831 on: April 01, 2014, 06:27:31 PM »
Problem with you is that most of the time you don't actually point out any real contradictions in my position.
What you do is cleverly try to twist and misrepresent what I have said just to try to have a time wasting argument which simply amounts to an exercise in ego-tripping and trying to prove that you are more clever than everyone else.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Okay the CL football games are over and Bakes the King of nit-picking and twisting what people said in order to have an unnecessary argument is at it again. Let me deal with his irrelevant and twisted points.

Don't be an ass... and don't flatter yuhself.  My life is accomplished enough that I don't need to prove anything to anybody on this forum, least of all that I am more "clever" than everyone else.  That fiction that you have in your head adds nothing to my life, it doesn't pay my bills and it doesn't keep me warm and dry at night.

Further, I get paid very well to argue in real life... I don't have to engage in worthless pursuits on the internet just to get into or win arguments.  Someone less invested in their emotions would be able to appreciate that I enjoy engaging in discussions on a wide variety of topics... not only here but elsewhere.  Where something doesn't make sense to me I will explore that... if in the process it becomes necessary to bring you along as participant or passenger then that very well may happen, until it becomes unproductive... as this particular trip as become.
Thank you very much, and glad you finally realized that this fruitless ego-trip of yours is wastefully unproductive.
I was hopeful that you would get there in the end like I did a number of posts ago after our last fruitless encounter. :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 06:29:53 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1832 on: April 01, 2014, 09:10:50 PM »
Thank you very much, and glad you finally realized that this fruitless ego-trip of yours is wastefully unproductive.
I was hopeful that you would get there in the end like I did a number of posts ago after our last fruitless encounter. :beermug:

You clearly dealing with some kinda cognitive deficit... I was done with you a while now, I simply responded to tell Pecan don't draw me into allyuh thing, and give you some support as well by telling him is only kicks I was on with the gay porn thing.  But yuh so friggin dotish that yuh couldn't even see that for what it was, yuh had to start back ah ole talk, now acting like I inveigle you into talk?  Look fella go make ah blasted turn yes.

« Reply #1833 on: April 02, 2014, 11:41:48 AM »

You clearly dealing with some kinda cognitive deficit... I was done with you a while now, I simply responded to tell Pecan don't draw me into allyuh thing, and give you some support as well by telling him is only kicks I was on with the gay porn thing.  But yuh so friggin dotish that yuh couldn't even see that for what it was, yuh had to start back ah ole talk, now acting like I inveigle you into talk?  Look fella go make ah blasted turn yes.
I saw that for what it was you fool and I already stated in a post a while ago that I don't take much of what you post seriously anyway.  ;D

Nice one! :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 11:43:21 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1834 on: April 02, 2014, 06:02:22 PM »
Findings on the hypothesis?

Did not see this post until it was brought to my attention yesterday.

Finding are inconclusive. Only two replies.

Re: Communications director of World Congress of Families on the Gay Agenda!
« Reply #1835 on: April 02, 2014, 06:34:15 PM »
Latest update! 

Pastor Manning is definitely making a fool of these Homos who have been trying to intimidate him!

Apparently the protest ended when some unemployed Black men who live in the community decided to chase the homos off their block!!  :rotfl:

Hey Hey Ho Ho: All Homosexuals Got To Go
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4xEULcGGUv8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4xEULcGGUv8</a>

Homosexuals protested outside the ATLAH World Missionary Church on Saturday, 29 March 2014.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 08:12:00 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1836 on: April 02, 2014, 06:36:07 PM »
Findings on the hypothesis?

Did not see this post until it was brought to my attention yesterday.

Finding are inconclusive. Only two replies.

The original language might have been too restrictive ...

« Reply #1837 on: April 02, 2014, 06:37:24 PM »
Interesting!

Pastor Manning and John from Philadelphia address freedom of speech and the rise of a new American fascist state and also the disrespectful habit of homos always trying to attach their fight to the plight of what they view as the economically weak Black community.

John From Philly Explains The Humanist Homosexual Movement
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/rmUdvHfPGuw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/rmUdvHfPGuw</a>
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 08:26:04 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1838 on: April 02, 2014, 06:41:34 PM »
I have been reading the recent exchanges between Tiresais and Asylum/Toppa. I am not schooled in the subject matter as these posters appear to be, notwithstanding their respective criticisms of each other’s knowledge and understanding of the issue. The “contempt” put forth by Tiresais is no more or less than the “contempt” put forth by his detractors - some may argue even less.

Asylum and Toppa, I was hoping that you would have delivered compelling arguments; instead you both chose to respond with comments that did carry any evidence-based weight that furthered your cause. In fact, Asylum’s comment that “This is a Trinbago forum ... you should be mindful of the audience, rather than presupposing that responses are rooted exclusively in scholarly contention” seems to suggest that scholarly arguments that critique a popular theory/hypothesis/belief should be tempered to avoid “pushback” and hurting the sensibilities or feelings of its members.

The original debate about skin colour and slavery seems to have devolved into whether Tiresais should be allowed to argue his position without challenging the work by Dr. Williams. The very essence of scholarly research is to acquire knowledge and if that means challenging well established works, then so be it. And in many cases, it may not be necessary to personally review foundational material if other scholars have already done so. While ideal, it simply may not be required.

Asylum, Toppa, make your case; instead of arguing that Tiresais arguments are not worthy of debate, prove him wrong (i.e., stop arguing semantics, or that he is wrong because he is wrong (or brainwashed as per Socapro) - that type of argument is for the school yard). As it stands, his arguments, to us unwashed, seems to carry a hell of a lot more weight than what you and others have collectively presented.

Since this post, I think these concerns (not merely the bolded) have been sufficiently ventilated and addressed.

« Reply #1839 on: April 02, 2014, 07:11:01 PM »

With respect to slavery, the propensity to subjugate other races is more likely related to who wielded the bigger stick at the time of conflict. This propensity has nothing to do with skin colour and I would be surprised if that is the case. What the Europeans did vis-à-vis Africa and other countries they colonized was heinous and just plain wrong but likely no different than what other peoples, with superior firepower, would have done at that juncture in humanity’s history. Given the inherent violence in human nature, I find it difficult to accept that any society united by race, culture or geography would have behaved any differently if their military might was superior to that of the Europeans; a common characteristic of human behaviour is that we are wont to kill each other – just take a look around at the world today – mind you, we are getting better.

Even with acknowledging the Burnsian notion of "man's inhumanity to man", this contributes dangerous suppositional reasoning that's perhaps a comfort to historical oppressors, and - to put it mildly - likely taxing and vexing to history's catalogue of the oppressed. One has doubts as to the comprehensive utility of applying ceteris paribus in reconstructing the history of the world. Inverting and conflating Arawaks into Caribs and Caribs into Arawaks is somewhat deontologically challenging, not to mention invariably reductionist and problematic.

« Reply #1840 on: April 03, 2014, 12:18:16 AM »
I have been reading the recent exchanges between Tiresais and Asylum/Toppa. I am not schooled in the subject matter as these posters appear to be, notwithstanding their respective criticisms of each other’s knowledge and understanding of the issue. The “contempt” put forth by Tiresais is no more or less than the “contempt” put forth by his detractors - some may argue even less.

Asylum and Toppa, I was hoping that you would have delivered compelling arguments; instead you both chose to respond with comments that did carry any evidence-based weight that furthered your cause. In fact, Asylum’s comment that “This is a Trinbago forum ... you should be mindful of the audience, rather than presupposing that responses are rooted exclusively in scholarly contention” seems to suggest that scholarly arguments that critique a popular theory/hypothesis/belief should be tempered to avoid “pushback” and hurting the sensibilities or feelings of its members.

The original debate about skin colour and slavery seems to have devolved into whether Tiresais should be allowed to argue his position without challenging the work by Dr. Williams. The very essence of scholarly research is to acquire knowledge and if that means challenging well established works, then so be it. And in many cases, it may not be necessary to personally review foundational material if other scholars have already done so. While ideal, it simply may not be required.

Asylum, Toppa, make your case; instead of arguing that Tiresais arguments are not worthy of debate, prove him wrong (i.e., stop arguing semantics, or that he is wrong because he is wrong (or brainwashed as per Socapro) - that type of argument is for the school yard). As it stands, his arguments, to us unwashed, seems to carry a hell of a lot more weight than what you and others have collectively presented.

Since this post, I think these concerns (not merely the bolded) have been sufficiently ventilated and addressed.

Well I was hoping that Bakes would share his evidence/support for his claims before setting that to rest, sadly he get vex and left.

« Reply #1841 on: April 03, 2014, 12:19:22 AM »
Socapro do you even attempt to get a well-rounded understanding of the issue, or is this man's inane ramblings the sole source for you?

« Reply #1842 on: April 03, 2014, 07:41:06 AM »
Socapro do you even attempt to get a well-rounded understanding of the issue, or is this man's inane ramblings the sole source for you?
You believe whatever you wish (as I don't really care what you believe) and I will keep posting stuff that is of interest and very relevant to this thread about the ongoing Gay Agenda.
Even if you are slow I am sure that you will eventually realize that you can't control what I post to this thread especially when it is very relevant to the topic at hand.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 07:51:52 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1843 on: April 03, 2014, 07:53:09 AM »
You believe whatever you wish (as I don't really care what you believe) and I will keep posting stuff that is of interest and very relevant to this thread about the ongoing Gay Agenda.
Even if you are slow I am sure that you will eventually realize that you can't control what I post to this thread especially when it is very relevant to the topic tabled.

Where am I controlling your posting? I am challenging you and your opinions, which is the right of all individuals in countries where free speech is guaranteed. Your viewpoint is narrow, puerile, and often relies on sources that are simply homophobic and paranoid. If your opinion is formed by this, your opinion has the same weaknesses. You refer to some "Gay agenda" - was there a "Black Agenda" during the civil rights movement? "Woman's Agenda" during their struggle? "Trinbagonian Agenda" during the isles struggles with colonialism? What is this "Gay Agenda"? What form does it take? Who are its backers? What is its aim? Why is this aim seen as undesirable?

« Reply #1844 on: April 03, 2014, 07:58:25 AM »
Even if you are slow I am sure that you will eventually realize that you can't control what I post to this thread especially when it is very relevant to the topic tabled.

Where am I controlling your posting? I am challenging you and your opinions, which is the right of all individuals in countries where free speech is guaranteed. Your viewpoint is narrow, puerile, and often relies on sources that are simply homophobic and paranoid. If your opinion is formed by this, your opinion has the same weaknesses. You refer to some "Gay agenda" - was there a "Black Agenda" during the civil rights movement? "Woman's Agenda" during their struggle? "Trinbagonian Agenda" during the isles struggles with colonialism? What is this "Gay Agenda"? What form does it take? Who are its backers? What is its aim? Why is this aim seen as undesirable?
:bs: Your words are empty and you are not challenging shit.
All you do is basically try to attack the character of the messenger rather than deal with the details of the message and hence I cannot and will not take you seriously.
Go waste someone else's time who is not concerned about dealing with what was actually said and shown in those two videos I posted above in Replies #54 & #55.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 10:32:04 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1845 on: April 03, 2014, 10:46:05 AM »

All you do is basically try to attack the character of the messenger rather than deal with the details of the message and hence I cannot and will not take you seriously.
Go waste someone else's time who is not concerned about dealing with what was actually said and shown in those two videos I posted above in Replies #54 & #55.

What's the point? Both me and Bakes have responded to your trash videos point-by-point but you're too cowardly or too lazy to respond. If I respond to any of the videos you'll just make some close-minded statement like "well I believe X" and totally ignore rational points - as you've told us in the past. You post anti-gay propaganda and ignore all challenges. You're intellectually dishonest at best.

« Reply #1846 on: April 03, 2014, 11:05:19 AM »

What's the point? Both me and Bakes have responded to your trash videos point-by-point but you're too cowardly or too lazy to respond. If I respond to any of the videos you'll just make some close-minded statement like "well I believe X" and totally ignore rational points - as you've told us in the past. You post anti-gay propaganda and ignore all challenges. You're intellectually dishonest at best.

As I said I can't and don't take your side tracking, time wasting arguments seriously which mainly focus on attacking the messenger.
Until you look at both those videos that I posted and can comment honestly and with some logic on what was covered and discussed to confirm that you have looked at them, I am not going to waste my time trying to engage you.

Let me post both those videos again for those who missed them as I suspect you were trying to push them off the latest page in this thread so that no one else can get a chance to view them and give their feedback on what is going on.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Latest update! 

Pastor Manning is definitely making a fool of these Homos who have been trying to intimidate him!

Apparently the protest ended when some unemployed Black men who live in the community decided to chase the homos off their block!!  :rotfl:

Hey Hey Ho Ho: All Homosexuals Got To Go
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4xEULcGGUv8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4xEULcGGUv8</a>

Homosexuals protested outside the ATLAH World Missionary Church on Saturday, 29 March 2014.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Pastor Manning and John from Philadelphia address freedom of speech and the rise of a new American fascist state and also the disrespectful habit of homos always trying to attach their fight to the plight of what they view as the economically weak Black community.

John From Philly Explains The Humanist Homosexual Movement
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/rmUdvHfPGuw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/rmUdvHfPGuw</a>
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 11:52:34 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #1847 on: April 03, 2014, 12:24:36 PM »
You really are paranoid aren't ya? I'm posting to keep them off the page? Man you have issues that extend beyond homophobia...

« Reply #1848 on: April 03, 2014, 01:37:31 PM »

Even with acknowledging the Burnsian notion of "man's inhumanity to man", this contributes dangerous suppositional reasoning that's perhaps a comfort to historical oppressors, and - to put it mildly - likely taxing and vexing to history's catalogue of the oppressed. One has doubts as to the comprehensive utility of applying ceteris paribus in reconstructing the history of the world. Inverting and conflating Arawaks into Caribs and Caribs into Arawaks is somewhat deontologically challenging, not to mention invariably reductionist and problematic.

I would like to respond to this but I need to fully digest what I think you are saying  - in a few days. :beermug:

« Reply #1849 on: April 03, 2014, 01:41:13 PM »
Gay Agenda at Work?

Mozilla CEO resigns: Why anti-gay politics spelled his doom

EMMA WOOLLEY, Special to The Globe and Mail, Published Wednesday, Apr. 02 2014, 4:01 PM EDT,
Last updated Thursday, Apr. 03 2014, 3:24 PM EDT

UPDATE: Mozilla has confirmed the resignation of Brendan Eich, in a blog post from Executive Chairwoman Mitchell Baker that also apologized for the controversy: "We didn’t act like you’d expect Mozilla to act. We didn’t move fast enough to engage with people once the controversy started. We’re sorry. We must do better." The column below was written on Wednesday:

How much should we judge executives according to their personal beliefs? That’s the question raised by the latest Internet firestorm; this time it is over the appointment of Brendan Eich as Mozilla’s new CEO. Why? Well, in 2008, Mr. Eich donated $1,000 in support of Proposition 8, which aimed to ban non-heterosexual marriage in California.

On one level the appointment of Mr. Eich is no surprise: The inventor of JavaScript co-founded the Mozilla project in 1998, and when the foundation was established in 2003 he acted as its long-time chief technology officer. But it remains alarming. Mozilla markets itself as the leading innovator of all that is open and inclusive, and selecting someone who is anti-gay rights as its leader seems counterintuitive. In response, Mozilla issued a statement claiming its official stance is that it supports LGBT equality.

Allowing someone with these known beliefs to carry on – and be promoted higher – in leadership seems irresponsible, especially as this isn’t the first time Mr. Eich’s donation has ignited a firestorm for Mozilla. When it became public knowledge in 2012, there was a similar outcry but Mr. Eich stayed on and in fact, doubled-down on his beliefs. On his blog, he wrote: “I’m not going to discuss Prop 8 here or on Twitter. There is no point in talking with the people who are baiting, ranting and hurling four-letter abuse.”

Throughout the post, Mr. Eich justifies his beliefs under the banner of “diversity,” which seems to mean being able to hold whatever anti-gay beliefs one has as long as they don’t hurt anyone. (Unless of course you’re just giving money to the anti-gay folks on the frontlines. That’s just fine.)

Along with bemoaning the people being mean to him on the Internet, he says: “…the donation does not in itself constitute evidence of animosity. Those asserting this are not providing a reasoned argument, rather they are labeling dissenters to cast them out of polite society.”

It seems that a polite society – at least in Mr. Eich’s view – is one where a person can actively support an anti-gay initiative and not have to answer to the people whose lives are impacted by its actions. By financially supporting a cause that said I do not view these people as deserving of all the same rights I have, and acting appalled when people were vocally upset about it, Mr. Eich was not taking responsibility for anything.

In a new post, Mr. Eich assures readers that he will uphold Mozilla’s community guidelines and “work with LGBT communities and allies to listen and learn what does and doesn’t make Mozilla supportive and welcoming.” He makes no attempt to clarify his beliefs or why he donated, but points to Mozilla’s initiatives and asks us to trust him through “show, not tell.”

He tried again to convince Mozilla supporters that his beliefs don’t matter in yesterday’s interview with CNet, saying: “Beliefs that are protected, that include political and religious speech, are generally not something that can be held against even a CEO. I understand there are people who disagree with me on this one.”

Well, people might have been willing to let this particular belief slide if it wasn’t for the whole actively-trying-to-diminish-gay-rights-on-the-side thing. That’s something people are going to rightfully ask questions about.

Financially supporting bigoted ballot propositions aside, it’s easy to talk about separating beliefs and work when those beliefs are ideological – as it tends to be on the anti side of gay marriage debate. On the other side, those beliefs become oppressive forces that directly impact the lives of already marginalized people.

As a result, people think Mr. Eich can’t be trusted. Mozilla employees are publicly asking him to resign, and other businesses have joined the cause by targeting Mozilla products. OKCupid asked Firefox users to consider using a different browser, and the founders of Rarebit announced that they were boycotting the Firefox marketplace.

In fact, it’s their story that really highlights just how personal these issues are. “Being a binational gay couple, up until this summer when the Supreme Court overturned Proposition 8, Michael was here on a temporary visa, tied to his job,” wrote co-founder Hampton Catlin. “Luckily, he loved working there, but we were not able to do anything on our own. If you leave your job, you lose your visa. So, due to Prop 8, Michael was unable to co-found a business with me.”

Good leaders embody the values of their organizations – they don’t just pick and choose between equality and an open web. If Mozilla truly wants to be seen as a fair and progressive foundation, it should reconsider who they place at the helm.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/technology/digital-culture/mozillas-new-boss-in-trouble-for-his-anti-gay-politics/article17774743/?click=dlvr.it

« Reply #1850 on: April 03, 2014, 02:16:09 PM »
You really are paranoid aren't ya? I'm posting to keep them off the page? Man you have issues that extend beyond homophobia...
There you go once again with your lame tendency for personal attacks and trying to mislabel others.
I don't have any issues but have simply observed that you always try your best to avoid anything that could make common sense coming from folks you don't usually agree with and have personally attacked, from being highlighted. I am not paranoid unless being observant of your behaviour makes one paranoid in your book.
Your posts are generally a waste of space and don't deal with details of the issue tabled outside of the name calling and trying to mislabel others which is simply a deliberate distraction from the real topic at hand.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 02:44:03 PM by Socapro »

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #1851 on: April 03, 2014, 02:59:54 PM »

With respect to slavery, the propensity to subjugate other races is more likely related to who wielded the bigger stick at the time of conflict. This propensity has nothing to do with skin colour and I would be surprised if that is the case. What the Europeans did vis-à-vis Africa and other countries they colonized was heinous and just plain wrong but likely no different than what other peoples, with superior firepower, would have done at that juncture in humanity’s history. Given the inherent violence in human nature, I find it difficult to accept that any society united by race, culture or geography would have behaved any differently if their military might was superior to that of the Europeans; a common characteristic of human behaviour is that we are wont to kill each other – just take a look around at the world today – mind you, we are getting better.

What de f**k you talking about mate , I aint got a clue . Yes I got a grade 10 education but I do feel adequate in my comprehension abilities but Burnsian  notion? I know that Mr Burns from the Simpsons is an evil man but what has that got to do wid anything? 

« Reply #1852 on: April 03, 2014, 03:14:59 PM »
Gay Agenda at Work?

Mozilla CEO resigns: Why anti-gay politics spelled his doom

EMMA WOOLLEY, Special to The Globe and Mail, Published Wednesday, Apr. 02 2014, 4:01 PM EDT,
Last updated Thursday, Apr. 03 2014, 3:24 PM EDT

UPDATE: Mozilla has confirmed the resignation of Brendan Eich, in a blog post from Executive Chairwoman Mitchell Baker that also apologized for the controversy: "We didn’t act like you’d expect Mozilla to act. We didn’t move fast enough to engage with people once the controversy started. We’re sorry. We must do better." The column below was written on Wednesday:

How much should we judge executives according to their personal beliefs? That’s the question raised by the latest Internet firestorm; this time it is over the appointment of Brendan Eich as Mozilla’s new CEO. Why? Well, in 2008, Mr. Eich donated $1,000 in support of Proposition 8, which aimed to ban non-heterosexual marriage in California.

On one level the appointment of Mr. Eich is no surprise: The inventor of JavaScript co-founded the Mozilla project in 1998, and when the foundation was established in 2003 he acted as its long-time chief technology officer. But it remains alarming. Mozilla markets itself as the leading innovator of all that is open and inclusive, and selecting someone who is anti-gay rights as its leader seems counterintuitive. In response, Mozilla issued a statement claiming its official stance is that it supports LGBT equality.

Allowing someone with these known beliefs to carry on – and be promoted higher – in leadership seems irresponsible, especially as this isn’t the first time Mr. Eich’s donation has ignited a firestorm for Mozilla. When it became public knowledge in 2012, there was a similar outcry but Mr. Eich stayed on and in fact, doubled-down on his beliefs. On his blog, he wrote: “I’m not going to discuss Prop 8 here or on Twitter. There is no point in talking with the people who are baiting, ranting and hurling four-letter abuse.”

Throughout the post, Mr. Eich justifies his beliefs under the banner of “diversity,” which seems to mean being able to hold whatever anti-gay beliefs one has as long as they don’t hurt anyone. (Unless of course you’re just giving money to the anti-gay folks on the frontlines. That’s just fine.)

Along with bemoaning the people being mean to him on the Internet, he says: “…the donation does not in itself constitute evidence of animosity. Those asserting this are not providing a reasoned argument, rather they are labeling dissenters to cast them out of polite society.”

It seems that a polite society – at least in Mr. Eich’s view – is one where a person can actively support an anti-gay initiative and not have to answer to the people whose lives are impacted by its actions. By financially supporting a cause that said I do not view these people as deserving of all the same rights I have, and acting appalled when people were vocally upset about it, Mr. Eich was not taking responsibility for anything.

In a new post, Mr. Eich assures readers that he will uphold Mozilla’s community guidelines and “work with LGBT communities and allies to listen and learn what does and doesn’t make Mozilla supportive and welcoming.” He makes no attempt to clarify his beliefs or why he donated, but points to Mozilla’s initiatives and asks us to trust him through “show, not tell.”

He tried again to convince Mozilla supporters that his beliefs don’t matter in yesterday’s interview with CNet, saying: “Beliefs that are protected, that include political and religious speech, are generally not something that can be held against even a CEO. I understand there are people who disagree with me on this one.”

Well, people might have been willing to let this particular belief slide if it wasn’t for the whole actively-trying-to-diminish-gay-rights-on-the-side thing. That’s something people are going to rightfully ask questions about.

Financially supporting bigoted ballot propositions aside, it’s easy to talk about separating beliefs and work when those beliefs are ideological – as it tends to be on the anti side of gay marriage debate. On the other side, those beliefs become oppressive forces that directly impact the lives of already marginalized people.

As a result, people think Mr. Eich can’t be trusted. Mozilla employees are publicly asking him to resign, and other businesses have joined the cause by targeting Mozilla products. OKCupid asked Firefox users to consider using a different browser, and the founders of Rarebit announced that they were boycotting the Firefox marketplace.

In fact, it’s their story that really highlights just how personal these issues are. “Being a binational gay couple, up until this summer when the Supreme Court overturned Proposition 8, Michael was here on a temporary visa, tied to his job,” wrote co-founder Hampton Catlin. “Luckily, he loved working there, but we were not able to do anything on our own. If you leave your job, you lose your visa. So, due to Prop 8, Michael was unable to co-found a business with me.”

Good leaders embody the values of their organizations – they don’t just pick and choose between equality and an open web. If Mozilla truly wants to be seen as a fair and progressive foundation, it should reconsider who they place at the helm.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/technology/digital-culture/mozillas-new-boss-in-trouble-for-his-anti-gay-politics/article17774743/?click=dlvr.it
What do you think or yuh too fraid to talk?

Well I think we will see more and more of this happening around the world until most folks are too scared for their jobs to say what they truly belief about the issue of Gay marriage from a religious perspective.

The days of freedom of speech and even freedom of choice could be rapidly coming to an end.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 03:17:48 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1853 on: April 03, 2014, 03:33:35 PM »
Lets try to get this thread back on topic. Here is some latest news from Uganda.

Anti-Gay prayers; Museveni: "Uganda doesn't need donor aid."
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kHR8vBnstlA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kHR8vBnstlA</a>

President Yoweri Museveni has condemned western countries for allegedly attacking African culture, accusing them of attempting to give orders to African leaders.
Museveni made the comments at the National Thanksgiving prayers by the Inter-religious Council to celebrate the passing into law the Anti-Homosexuality bill.

Uganda's President backs new anti-gay law
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/HHC1t4VPaWI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/HHC1t4VPaWI</a>

March. 31 - During a rally with supporters, Uganda's President Yoweri Museveni voices his approval of a harsh new anti-gay law. Jillian Kitchener reports.

Uganda Anti-gay Law Celebrations
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/FY4CwW8dUdc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/FY4CwW8dUdc</a>

Uganda's President Yoweri Museveni says there will be no repeal of the country's new anti-gay laws. That is despite the threat by Western donors that they'll cut aid. Museveni was addressing a rally called to celebrate the new legislation. CCTV's Allan Cheror reports.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 03:41:58 PM by Socapro »

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #1854 on: April 03, 2014, 04:27:48 PM »
 While I share the sentiments of Museveni on the gay lifestyle ,criminalizing the practice is plain wrong.
 Gays in Uganda do not flaunt their gayness in gay pride parades or in demanding special rights . They are mostly closeted .
 He comes across as autocratic and stereotypical as an African leader . Museveni is being influenced by Southern evangelical fundamentalist  Christians like Scot Lively and Jim Corsi  . Jim Corsi is a leader and founder of the Birther movement and these evangelical priests has no love for Black people here in the US, they are racist to the core and has found a useful idiot in Museveni.
 This president has allowed Scot Lively to address the Ugandan parliament for 5 hours.   
 They Gays has a stranglehold on Obama and Miseveni is making a mistake in crossing  these people .. The Uganda economy will suffer and  moreover Museveni is sounding like  an inflexible, unreasonable hardcore  hateful christian fundamentalist  zealot
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 07:28:50 PM by Ramgoat »

« Reply #1855 on: April 03, 2014, 04:42:41 PM »
While I share the sentiments of Museveni on the gay lifestyle ,criminalizing the practice is plain wrong.
 Gays in Uganda do not flaunt their gayness in gay pride parades or in demanding special rights . They are mostly closeted .
 He comes across as autocratic and stereotypical as an African leader . Museveni is being influenced by Southern evangelical fundamentalist  Christians like Scot Lively and Jim Corsi  . Jim Corsi is a leader and founder of the Birther movement and these evangelical priests has no love for Black people here in the US, they are racist to the core and has found a useful idiot in Museveni.
 This president has allowed Scot Lively to address the Ugandan parliament for 5 hours.   
 They Gays has a stranglehold on Obama and Miseveni is making a mistake in crossing  these people .. The Uganda economy will suffer and  moreover Museveni is sounding like  an inflexible, unreasonable hardcore  hateful christian fundamentalist .
Based upon all the News clips I have viewed on the issue in Uganda, President Museveni only signed the bill into power because that is what the majority of people in Uganda were demanding and if he wanted to be voted back into power come elections then he had little choice but to sign the bill.
That has been my observation and if you view all the Uganda news clips I have posted to this thread you would realize that he had little choice IF he wanted to be voted back into power come elections.
From my observation signing the Anti-Gay bill was not President Museveni's personal unilateral decision.
He only did what the majority of Ugandans demanded.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 04:51:22 PM by Socapro »

Offline Ramgoat

« Reply #1856 on: April 03, 2014, 05:24:48 PM »
 They Gays has a stranglehold on Obama and Miseveni is making a mistake in crossing  these people .. The Uganda economy will suffer and  moreover Museveni is sounding like  an inflexible, unreasonable hardcore  hateful christian fundamentalist .
Based upon all the News clips I have viewed on the issue in Uganda, President Museveni only signed the bill into power because that is what the majority of people in Uganda were demanding and if he wanted to be voted back into power come elections then he had little choice but to sign the bill.
That has been my observation and if you view all the Uganda news clips I have posted to this thread you would realize that he had little choice IF he wanted to be voted back into power come elections.
From my observation signing the Anti-Gay bill was not President Museveni's personal unilateral decision.
He only did what the majority of Ugandans demanded.
If a poll was done in countries or places that are not Eurocentric say like the Caribbean , Africa , Asia, the results would be the same as in Uganda regarding  gays .
 It became an issue in Uganda because it was pushed by  Museveni with help and resources from the hateful evangelicals  to stir  up the masses. A  true states man would have diffused the situation and not let it reach the point where the lifestyle had to be criminalize .
 Mark my words , this law will be rescinded after pressure from the Gay lobby  and Obama  from the States.
  '  I have this hypothesis that Putin is being punished , not because of  Crimea but rather the laws he enacted regarding the gays in Russia but like I stated it is only a hypothesis.
 The gay lobby in the States is all powerful and you don't f**k with these people .
 Miseveni and Uganda will pay a severe price

« Reply #1857 on: April 04, 2014, 06:04:52 AM »

What do you think or yuh too fraid to talk?

Well I think we will see more and more of this happening around the world until most folks are too scared for their jobs to say what they truly belief about the issue of Gay marriage from a religious perspective.

The days of freedom of speech and even freedom of choice could be rapidly coming to an end.

Why are you soliciting my opinion? You have already made it clear what you think of it.

However, I will answer:

Freedom of speech has consequences. You are appointed CEO of a company that embodies a certain set of values and you actively reject those values on the side and in doing so create backlash from employees and other stakeholders? Well he better live with the consequences.

« Reply #1858 on: April 04, 2014, 06:15:14 AM »
Question: is the idea of an "agenda" considered pejorative?

« Reply #1859 on: April 04, 2014, 06:50:04 AM »
Question: is the idea of an "agenda" considered pejorative?

Usually - "movement" might be less pejorative. As I asked a little earlier, was it a "Black Agenda", "Anti-colonial Agenda"? Agenda is a loaded phrase suggesting conspiracy, often acting against the public good.