April 28, 2024, 07:38:08 PM

Author Topic: Left footed players  (Read 29817 times)

Left footed players
« on: May 19, 2005, 01:12:40 PM »
If Wise had improved his game and pass more he would off fit right in this new system. Excellent dribbling but no score and passing but still by far the best left-winger to chose from maybe Carlos Edwards could play on the left side I believe he played on the left side for Wrexham   we also have Anton Joseph than we could groom for that position in the future.

Re: Left footed players
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2005, 01:20:18 PM »
we need somebody real real bad cause so far that left side look to be serious problems
hopefully somebody step up quick

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2005, 01:24:27 PM »
I doh no how good he is, but ent Kevin Austin plays that left back position in England ? 

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2005, 01:38:13 PM »
What about Nigel Henry?  Although not his natural position he played left back vs Guatemala and even though we collect 5, reports say he was our best defender in that game. 

Report from Vic from Gautemala game:

Henry:  One of 4 T&T players who played the whole game and did not quit on the night (Edwards, Sancho and Eve the others).  Playing out of positon again (a central defender playing left back) he conceeded one corner the entire night...every ball out of the back was played with his left foot and went directly to the head, foot or chest of a T&T player.  When Ruiz came over to his side briefly in the second half, Henry shut him down and allowed him no space to turn or move.  A strong performance.  He should have played as stopper instead of Lawrence!

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2005, 02:29:01 PM »
IF we going with a 4-4-2 then need a left link along with a lwft wing back a whole new left side

jusme

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2005, 02:36:25 PM »
we shoulda be grooming cornell to play that left wing.  He have the tools: blazing speed and the ability to beat the wingback in a 1v1 situation, although his crossing could prob use some work.   Also he has some history playing the position.
His finishing has been inconsistent for both club and country and we have a whole bag of other forwards to choose from anyway.

« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2005, 02:37:46 PM »
nigel miss kick too much against NE stars!! he had beenie nodding his head!

Offline Israel

« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2005, 07:33:10 PM »
Wise hadda come down wit Elephant Man, and Bounty Killah and dem, Wise is ah entertainer..........beat,beat and more beat..
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2005, 07:37:53 PM »
Young Andre Pacheco had some talent but I eh hearin nutting more bout he.

Simoes did "unearth" (actually...all he did was scout) some left sided players who he felt had ability.

I know Keon Daniel and Kevon Neaves are primarily left sided players who have a ton load of ability.

Keon got called for the first trial but didn't survide the cut so he is obviously not what Beenie looking for.

Both Daniel and Neaves are primarily offensive players though.

Neaves didn't even make out Under 20 team apparently because he chose to play for St Anthony's rather than attend a practice session.

Oh well.

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2005, 08:41:05 PM »
 Andre Pacheco is a good left-footed player ,and I glad PALOS bring him up.I haven't seen him play in a while but he seems to be playin good if he starting for W Connection. He have a strong shot, Great crosser of the ball, composed passer, great dribbling ability, Great Control too.. BUT he is a bit slow, does not track back as much as say Tiger(The only thing Tiger have going for him)....If he start tracking back I think he could be the Left-Footer we need...Go T&T

« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2005, 09:40:24 AM »
we shoulda be grooming cornell to play that left wing.  He have the tools: blazing speed and the ability to beat the wingback in a 1v1 situation, although his crossing could prob use some work.   Also he has some history playing the position.

grooming cornell glen now  at 25

« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2005, 10:15:13 AM »
J'Lloyd Samuel

Offline Israel

« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2005, 11:22:37 AM »
Andre Pacheco is a real good player... D man hav a wicked bullet, cud pick yuh out wit he crosses and he is a dead ball specialist.........D only ting he hav goin against him is his pace, and cud be detrimental against speedy opposition. ( which right winger you know if dat slow)....But good player to give a chance.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2005, 11:29:05 AM »
De watching the FCB Cup games so if he good they will most likely notice.

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2005, 12:24:37 PM »
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That 3-5-2 sound like the solution.  Left back / left mid is a critical critical position as most opposing teams will be strong on that side.  Look at the 1st goal the US score in de oval...right side cross...Tiger (dais mih horse..must start)  chook ah foot (loose marking on the right back) and Rojas nowhere to be found...wide open header...Shaka no chance ..Goal!

Since Tiger and Birchall seem to have the highest workrates in the midfield, this is the best 3-5-2 to go with..

Ince

Atiba           Dog          Avery

Edwards              Birchall               Tiger
                                               Yorke          Spann

Jones      Stern

Subs: Glen for Stern (70), Nakhid for Spann (70) and maybe Sam/Daniel for Tiger. 

We will see if Birchall work rate will help hold down the middle of the field and help distribute the ball out the back.  Get Spann and Yorke moving forward attacking the defense.  Tiger work rate will not require Avery to come forward and do what he does ...Mark and Bruise! 

If Stern en up to par den bring Nakhid for Stern, push Dwight up top..

All in all is good to see that we have options, we really need to start developing the younger players to U20/U23 so that we have a bigger pool of international caliber players.  I hate to say it but look at the US now to the US 15 years ago.  They picking from about 75 players, we have about 30 international caliber ballers.
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2005, 01:08:33 PM »
A PARTNER BACK HOME KEEP TELLING ME ABOUT A YOUTH MAN KEVON CONNELL with jabloteh saying in his opinion the best left footer prospect around young real potential
but never hear his name otherwise former youth national gustine player
supposedly very skillful size and speed
anybody familiar with him

« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2005, 07:29:56 AM »
I like Uprising formation.  The only suggested change would involve Dwarika before Nakhid as an attacking midfield player. 

As for the argument for a pure left footed player to play on the left side, I remember Marvin Faustin in his hey day being a very good left back but not a left footed player.  There are more attributes to consider for wing back than the side of play matching the prefered foot.  We would hope that the coaches at home keeping their eyes open for talent but seriously speaking if the talent has not been unearthed by now, there must be a reason.

We need a left footer on the Left
« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2005, 12:12:06 PM »
Bertile had did a good job finding Rojas and Tiger when we had gone 2-3 years with nothing on the left side.

Both Tiger and Rojas though not perfect can do a decent job.

Now we putting theobald on the left and all he doing is cutting back and crossing when we need the left footed cross

Maybe Spann could be the answer.

But it seem 2 steps forward 1 step back

Because we left side was just an ineffective 2 years ago until bertile had put in Tiger and Rojas to provide the balance.

I hope the TTFF have tapes so Bennie Man can see the history of the team and not make the same mistakes as past coaches.

This is why men like La Forest should still be on the Staff to avoid these issues. We need the local based low level coach under these foreign Nationals who can provide the inside scoop and History. Cannot be 100 % foreign based as the knowledge leaves when they leave.

Men Like Clayton Morris who was in the fold under simones should still be involved in the team.
This is crucial to the future.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 08:11:24 PM by Tallman »

Offline Hyperhot J

Left wing and Strikers needed - apply to TTFF!!
« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2005, 10:01:09 AM »
     I only saw the second half of the match on TV 6 last night when I put it on the tv at 10:30pm so everything I say will be based solely on the second half, hence I missed Birchall's goal (great for him his first goal) and the free kick goal we conceded.

In terms of the strikers, Scotland showed me nothing in the second half and I think Kenwyne Jones should start the next game unless something happens, can probably still give Scotland another chance though since John has not only stayed on but is now captain!!!

About John being captain I am saddened ONLY because this means that he will probably have to START and REMAIN on the field for the remaining fields, let's hope if he plays nothing as usual, he is subbed. Note I am not dissing John's dedication but his lack of anything his last 2-3 games for Trinidad. I definitely think that maybe Kenwyne and Glenn or Scotland be given a start I want to see all 3 of them play if not together at least during a game at some periods. Why on earth was John not subbed yesterday frig man!!! He blasted did almost nothing (as usual) in the second half. WHY WAS GLENN not put on for John at least in the last 20 mins. I hope Beenie is not going to do the same crap like Bertille did especially in the Costa Rica game - which is to keep John on the field and sub all those around him!!!!
    I am absolutely fed up of this and I am afraid that John's captaincy during this tournament will force him on the field regardless of his lack of form!!!

As for the left wing, oh boy!! I did not see Theobald much since he did not do too much in the second half before being replaced by Samuel. One thing I can say about Samuel is that, we can replace Rahim and put Samuel on the right wing if Edwards is not playing. That is ALL. Samuel proved last night that he is a right winger or at least RIGHT side attacker (maybe another option to take off John and replace with Samuel if not Glenn). Flipping Samuel had a God given pure shooting chance to at least get it on target when he was easily free on the top of the left side of the box, and the blasted man PROVED that he hates that position (even though that was HIS position last night) when he opted to switch to his right foot and obviously got tackled and missed the whole opportunity. You mean to tell me at this level he could not have just at least swung his left foot at the ball for his clear cut chance oh shit man!! Even toe-pee the damn ball self, that was a left foot goal if he had 51% of a left foot shot!!!
    Samuel lated proved to EVERYONE (I hope Beenie had his eyes opened!!) that he loves and is quite good with his right foot when he unleashed that beauty from 35 yards that hit the upright. That was a shot and would have been a candidate for goal of the tournament if it scored!! Basically Samuel needs to play on the right, regardless of wing of striker or just behind him!! If Edwards not in the next game, simply put Rahim on bench please and put Samuel in that position!!!
   I wonder if in practice our supposed left wings (no one knows who they are) practice taking shots from the left side and practice crosses from that side!!?!?!?! Shit man our whole left side weak ass, one it by any Trini's left foot, Birchall included they almost NEVER shoot at all!!!

I will however continue to big up Beenie since in the 4-4-2 system the 4-4 part of it at least excluding the left wing are improving and our defense and defensive midfielders (except Rahim) are defending well overall.  As for Cyd Gray at least I know that Atiba Charles and Sancho can always play and put Gray on the bench, so at least we have options to pelt him out. It is the Left wing lorsh!!!!

Jason!!
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

Re: Left wing and Strikers needed - apply to TTFF!!
« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2005, 10:12:42 AM »
I totally agree... The left wing is a problem and last night the right side too.. however we have Charles and Edwards to claim they position..
excluding Stern I say everybody else had a decent game

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2005, 03:15:05 PM »
Everybody else had a decent game- Not the game I saw and confirmed by Tallman at the end. Jack, Dog, Andrews , Birchill, a little hope in Samuel.
That was it. Maybe the 9'oclock start had them lazy. I still wonder about Leo's choice of subs. We needed Glen or someone else to run at the defence. Palos made a post re the Canada Game and he was spot on, it seems that the Coaching staff did not see it.
We have to pray that Edwards and Yorke stay fit, else it is later for we in the W/C

« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2005, 08:43:19 AM »
I feel we have real strikers...partner any of them with Glenn and that will make the difference. The rest of them all too similar: Yorke, Stern, Jones, Scotland...
I even feel Sealy could make a difference as well partnered with one of the above..His off the ball play is excellent and he creates the space for others or always seems to be in the right spot for a rebound. Tha's how good strikers are around the world, invisible until they pop up and score. But in Trini we doh recognise those qualities...

Offline TriniFootballFan

Since we only have one left sided player...
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2005, 09:58:23 AM »
wouldn't in make sense for us to play a 5-3-2 where Avery and Carlos basically handle the entire flank instead of puttin plaers with no left feet like Theodore and Samuels on the left wing???

When they join the attack there will be an extra stopper to cover for them in this sytem.

Also, Glen, Jones, and Angus caused the US the most trouble in the first leg. I would start the first 2 and bring on Angus early on the 2nd half.

I think the team should look ike this:

Jack/Hislop (whoever's sharperst at the time...tell Ince ride out by the way)
Sancho - Sweeper...help cover the mistakes we know Dog & Tallman WILL make
Andrews - Stopper
Lawrence - Stopper
Avery - Left Wing Back/flanker...play a Roberto Carlos role
Edwards - Right Wing Back/flanker...play a Cafu role
Birchall - Central Midfield
Yorke - Central Midfield (creative midfieder, can't play him and Stern up top..too similar)
Jones - Central Midfield (looked really good there against US,will rough up Donovan/Beasley)
Stern - Fwd (bench after 60 mins if doesn't produce & bring on Samuels up front)
Glen - Fwd (need his speed & willingness to run at defenders)

Subs - Spann looked decent, Whitley looked decent in the qualifiers, Atiba Charles in the back if needed. No Cyd Cray please.

I went to the GCup and trust me..this team needs some shaking up offensively against de US or else we will be defending for 90 mins.

Re: Since we only have one left sided player...
« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2005, 11:15:20 AM »
I like the offensive formation
but 5-3-2 is basically the same as 3-5-2 which is what we used to cuss out bertile for.

4-4-2 is more balanced and helps us in terms of limiting gaps which tend to pop up in our defense.

I think if we used the players listed in your formation what will happen is

Avery will hardly get forward and carlos will hardly get back so in essence we will still be playing a 4-4-2

Slot in Charles at Right Back and Drop Sancho or start Sancho in right back

Dog and Tallman playing safe these days

Change Glen with Eve

Changes Jones with Seaton.

Seaton and Yorke in the Middle
Birchald left
Carlos Right

Stern and Eve up front with Stern pointing and Eve playing a supporting role.

The Key to the US game is if we can keep the ball for long periods, US will be gunning for a win

Offline TriniFootballFan

« Reply #24 on: July 21, 2005, 11:18:29 AM »
but Birchall is not a left sided player so we still end up with no balance going fwd. he will do the same thing Samuel and Theodore did...cut back to their right foot and become predictable everytime we attack down that side.

« Reply #25 on: July 21, 2005, 11:48:11 AM »
but Birchall is not a left sided player so we still end up with no balance going fwd. he will do the same thing Samuel and Theodore did...cut back to their right foot and become predictable everytime we attack down that side.

De man name is Theobald by the way.  Birchall is definitely one-footed, Edwards would be the more likely to try on the left with Birchall right but neither option is that great plus Beenie seems fixed with Birchall in the middle.  If he didn't play Chris on the right when Edwards was out, he sure as hell won't do it now when Edwards is there.  Beenie also has yet to play Yorke in the middle so I don't think he'll start doing that now. So up front is basically Yorke and somebody else (unfortunately most likely Stern, if Beenie wasn't willing to give Glen a start up front in the Gold Cup he will NOT do it in the WCQ).  Samuel I feel has earned the left wing spot, even though I don't think he played that great he has the experience there and has a month to lose the belly which will help.  Maybe Tiger will get another look but not until he is starting regularly for RSL.

Offline TriniFootballFan

« Reply #26 on: July 21, 2005, 02:45:58 PM »
Good points Arrow.
Guess we'll have to wait and see.

Can Rojas play left wing?
« Reply #27 on: August 26, 2005, 08:02:06 AM »
I don't know much about this man so excuse my ignorance but seeing as we already have Avery holding down the left back position, I am wondering if Rojas has ever played a more attacking role on the left wing (at school, club level etc.)?  His defensive shortcomings were well exposed at RSL and for T&T but as a natural left footer he might have something to add to the mix going forward if he can cross a ball properly, something that I haven't seen from our left side in months.  BSC had him playing wing back in a 3-5-2 so he must have done some overlapping work then?
Anybody who knows this man's game, what you think?

Just as I writing this I decide to read back on some old matches and found this one .  Apparently Rojas has played ok on the wing before.  Obviously he would need to find another club and work on his match fitness before he can get back into the team.

Re: Can Rojas play left wing?
« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2005, 08:27:38 AM »
excellent suggestion...comes with a ready made left side game plan...both Avery & Rojas can defend, one better than one of course, and both can support the other in attack... more so than an out and out midfielder(Tiger, never back enuff, to my liking), Samuel,(well defense,that was avery by heself), Rahim(ah still doh unnerstan him, not sure he unnerstan heself,hopefully soon)....an a couple times ah see Rojas try a thing and shake an thing...my only concern would be his fitness.....anyway, in the whole scheme, ah don't think that call happening, cause it won't add to the hype..might be considered negative even...call back ah nobody, dat kinda against the game plan so far

Re: Can Rojas play left wing?
« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2005, 08:30:57 AM »
Well actually Rojas is among the local bunch called to training by Beenie... so he has his chance to impress before the Guatemala game