April 27, 2024, 08:43:00 AM

Author Topic: Group B Scouting Report - English View  (Read 3673 times)

Group B Scouting Report - English View
« on: March 02, 2006, 09:38:41 AM »
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,1721446,00.html

Friendly internationals show threats posed by England's World Cup Group B rivals

Thursday March 2, 2006
www.guardian.co.uk

Sweden

Tactics The coach Lars Lagerback used a 4-1-3-2 formation. But with the full-backs reluctant to come forward and the midfield narrow except when Christian Wilhelmsson went towards the touchline, there was little width to their play. Much seems to rely on their strikers - Barcelona's Henrik Larsson, pictured, and Juventus's Zlatan Ibrahimovic - making things happen, and Ibrahimovic was missed after going off injured.

Star man Ibrahimovic showed in the 35 minutes he played that he can pose a real danger. Before getting a minor thigh injury he had set up a chance for Larsson with a lovely dinked pass, cleverly turned away two opponents before hitting a weak shot, and had another effort. Sweden were basically poor, though.

Beware England This was more a case of England seeing where they might profit. Sweden looked unusually vulnerable at the back, especially to pace, and the right-back Alexander Ostlund, of Southampton, was shaky. Robbie Keane caused them problems by dropping deep and they did not match Ireland's aggression. Keeping control of Larsson and Ibrahimovic - not an easy task - promises to be the key.

Threat rating On this showing only 2/10, but England v Sweden is never like that.

Paraguay

Tactics A British-style flat back four behind a four-man midfield and with two interchanging runners up front. That should be familiar enough to Sven-Goran Eriksson and his charges, and Paraguay's defensive line plays so high that it will be extremely vulnerable to the passing of David Beckham and the pace of Michael Owen on the counter-attack.

Star man Roque Santa Cruz; fortunately for Wales the Bayern Munich striker was not available to partner the effective Nelson Haedo Valdez, pictured, up front last night. That promises to be a

partnership more capable of challenging England's centre-backs than César Ramírez and Valdez were against Wales. The coach Maño Ruiz refers to Santa Cruz as the "compete footballer".

Beware England The long-range drives of Roberto Acuña. The Deportivo La Coruña midfielder has a ferocious shot and is confident enough to use it even when 35 yards out. He attempted three such efforts even in the first half last night, each increasingly close to Paul Jones's net. This is a technique employed by several Paraguayan players, with the left-back Delio Toledo as adept from distance as Frank Lampard or Steven Gerrard.

Threat rating 6/10.

Trinidad & Tobago

Tactics Lined up on Tuesday in a 4-4-2 formation though their Dutch coach Leo Beenhakker, pictured, hopes they will have more tactical flexibility after intensive coaching in the five weeks before the World Cup. They attack down the wings, where Dundee United's Collin Samuel was the chief threat. Dwight Yorke and Stern John offer craft up front.

Star man As with Greece, winners of the last tournament England appeared in, T&T's most important figure will be not on the pitch but on the bench. Before Beenhakker replaced Bertille St Clair they were hopeless, taking one point from the first three matches in qualifying. Galvanised by him they stormed past Guatemala to fourth place in the Concacaf group and a play-off against Bahrain. He tempted Yorke out of international retirement and the former Manchester United striker is his mouthpiece on the pitch.

Beware England Eriksson's men will consider themselves good enough to beat T&T quite easily, but whoever mans England's right wing should be prepared for a difficult evening. Even if Samuel can be kept under control the forays of the left-back Avery John will need to be monitored. T&T are not short of technical ability and can exceed limited expectations.

Threat rating: 3/10

Re: Group B Scouting Report - English View
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2006, 09:47:47 AM »
Nice analysis......clearly english based point of view though

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 09:51:15 AM »
Them buggers eh bet dey biased nah....
Even if England supposed to be the superior side...dey well rub it in boy.
3/10 threat rating  ???

Well is now self ah really hope we put in on dem bad  >:(

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2006, 09:53:11 AM »
Slowly, we are gaining our deserved respect from all the football gurus.. Still some are taking us as deadweight. Can't wait to prove them wrong
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2006, 09:54:25 AM »
we get a higher threat rating than Sweden.  Is pressure fuh de,. We have to mix we South American flair wid we British consistency to beat this English Team.  We have to bounce it around and run at dey arse then become very British on set plays.

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2006, 09:55:11 AM »
Nice analysis......clearly english based point of view though

agreed.

they certainly do not stray from the comfort of there high horse.

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2006, 10:21:23 AM »
we get a higher threat rating than Sweden. 

dey just bitter because England eh beat Sweden in a long time

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2006, 10:37:42 AM »
Dis kinda analysis is just fine wit me...expect more of it
Leh we fly under de radar and play de ' island boys just happy to be there' role

De most successful predators does usually crouch low and quiet before pouncing and making meal of their prey :devil:

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2006, 11:14:06 AM »
ok analysis considering    but as far as i saw in the game we didnt play 4-4-2 we played 4-4-1-1 with yorke converting the formation to 4-1-4-1 and on a lesser extent 4-4-2  hence the reason for a commentators description of us having a fluid formation

Offline morgz

« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2006, 11:38:15 AM »
"He tempted Yorke out of international retirement" :rotfl: :rotfl:

Who came first Beenie or Yorke the English press knows how to report
rubbish  :rotfl: ::) :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2006, 04:48:02 PM »
I wondering what to make of them rating our coach as the "star man"

« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2006, 04:56:12 PM »
U gotta be crazy to judge Sweden on ONE exhibition game.

Their class speaks for itself.

Quite frankly if u were an objective Englishman..Would YOU take tT that seriously??

We have no major palyers to turn the game on it's ear, execept for the occassional brilliance of Latas or Stern.

The key man for me is Whitley, who is tough and skillful rather than spectacular.

We have to understand that this team does not have the awesome talent of the 90s "Dream Team."

However, this squad plays better as a TEAM!

Had Beenie beeen brought in 10 years ago.....LORD!! We woulda make mas.

Peace,

« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2006, 05:07:42 PM »
Sweden is poison. Plain and simple. England jus blowing smoke buh dey bamcee cheeks clapping wit fear with the thought of playing sweden. Let Zlatan get dat ball.........rio go get de rape of he life. Sweden probably jus had a bad game and relying too much on Ibrahimovich. Battling with sweden critical to this world cup, i woulda prefer having them second or something buh wha yuh go do. Once we fight up with dem, England go be easy.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2006, 05:48:13 PM »
A lad said to me today that Trinidad and Tobago and Sweden would be the two advancing. England has loads of talent, but they have no success, look at their WC history. They will be the biggest disappointment in the WC since France in last WC.

We have no major palyers to turn the game on it's ear, execept for the occassional brilliance of Latas or Stern.

I don't believe that. Yorke can still do this, he can still be poison, and Birchall has shown he can step up and deliver. Now we are seeing that others (Samuel, Avery) are stepping up and trying to change the games. We would be pleasantly suprised.

« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2006, 07:15:35 PM »
f#ck zlatan

« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2006, 07:25:00 PM »
I would have expected worse but it was ok, although suggesting that our main threat is on the bench in the form of Beenie is still a bit disrespectful to the players on the field.....but this type of thinking can work in our favor.

« Reply #16 on: March 02, 2006, 07:43:52 PM »
England on paper has to be one of the best teams in the world at the moment but honestly, ask yourself when was the last time England was not presented as a good team especially in the British press.The fact is the Brits like the Americans have tremendous influence on the media and their players and teams will always be favoured. If someone who doesn't know anything about football took what they saw in the media as the gospel truth they'd think Wayne Rooney and David Beckham were the best players in the world. I've seen countless games this season where English national players were made to look ordinary.

Look at the results and analyse the performances of the "top" teams. With the exception of Italy and Portugal all were dissapointing. I think we shouldn't think much about what we see in media and just watch the games and form our own opinions. The World Cup is not going to be easy for anybody, not even Brazil.

We have a good chance to prove ourselves. Lets hope the English players believe the crap the see in the press about us. Neville against Samuel.......Cole against Carlos, steups, we go eat ah food. No amount of hype can make you play football. We just need to concentrate and believe in ourselves and each other.

« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2006, 07:00:49 AM »
Beware England Eriksson's men will consider themselves good enough to beat T&T quite easily, but whoever mans England's right wing should be prepared for a difficult evening. Even if Samuel can be kept under control the forays of the left-back Avery John will need to be monitored. T&T are not short of technical ability and can exceed limited expectations.

LOL...dem men watching the wrong side of the field...LOL...is Carlos and Cyd Gray or Spann who more likely to be forayin down the wing than Avery and inconssitent Sammy...a recently returned from injury Ashley Cole, Wayne Bridge or a right footed player they put in there if neither of those 2 back in time? Sounds like we will mash them up on the right !! Especially if they keep focusing on the next side... :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2006, 08:15:16 AM »
Sweden had a bad game, and their current team may not be as strong as in the past.  However, Larsson and especially Zlatan can do lots of damage.

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2006, 08:48:42 AM »
He tempted Yorke out of international retirement and the former Manchester United striker is his mouthpiece on the pitch.

Let's be fair and give credit where its due. Beenie man is a great coach, but he didn't coax Dwight out of retirement. BSC deserves all credit for that.