April 27, 2024, 11:45:27 AM

Author Topic: What's Jamaicas stats on friendlies during the 1998 world cup?  (Read 7759 times)

I'm just curious to know how we are measuring up towards the big dance in germany,against there build up to france 1998.I'm sure we will have a better competition with much better results than they did.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Re: What's Jamaicas stats on friendlies during the 1998 world cup?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2006, 10:42:57 AM »
Ah remember all caribbean side with Yorke and Latas beating 2-nil in NY
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2006, 10:50:24 AM »
for clarity jamaica scores are listed first as the games are with reference 2 them. so like d game against argentina 0-5 means jamaica 0 and argentina 5 hope   that clears up things

Date           Versus             Venue
26/06/1998 Japan               France               2-1       WORLD Rd 1
21/06/1998 Argentina           France               0-5       WORLD Rd 1
14/06/1998 Croatia             France                 1-3       WORLD Rd 1
19/05/1998 South Korea         South Korea      0-0       Fr
16/05/1998 South Korea         South Korea      1-2       Fr
04/05/1998 Saudi Arabia        France                0-0       Fr
22/04/1998 Iran                Iran                        0-1       Lg Cup 3/4
20/04/1998 FYR Macedonia       Iran                  1-2       Lg Cup Sf
25/03/1998 Wales               Wales                    0-0       Fr
22/02/1998 Nigeria             Jamaica                  2-2       Fr
15/02/1998 Brazil              USA                        0-1       GOLD 3/4
12/02/1998 Mexico              USA                     0-1       GOLD Sf
09/02/1998 El Salvador         USA                     2-0       GOLD Rd 1
08/02/1998 Guatemala           USA                    3-2       GOLD Rd 1
03/02/1998 Brazil                 USA                         0-0       GOLD Rd 1
29/01/1998 Sweden              Jamaica                  0-0       Fr
07/01/1998 Trinidad/Tobago     Trinidad/Tobago      0-0       Fr
« Last Edit: March 02, 2006, 01:21:48 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2006, 12:09:30 PM »
they were beaten by japan

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2006, 12:10:17 PM »

No sorry... you lose... 

Thank you for playing... we have some lovely parting gifts

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2006, 12:24:24 PM »

No sorry... you lose... 

fuk.yuh right.ah losin it

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2006, 12:25:39 PM »
Can't tell if they won or lost on that post? Put a W or L next to it so we know

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2006, 12:29:18 PM »
so from dat list ja only won 2 games prior to 98wc.elsalvador and guat.and that was gold cup

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2006, 12:35:42 PM »
around the time of the wales match they also beat qpr 2-1 in simon barkers testimonial at loftus road. and i tink they played man city back wen they got relegated to div 2. they wernt internationals but still part of the warm up.

« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2006, 12:56:12 PM »
Not bad.

Good warm ups. Considering they had to play some of those guys on home soil. really not bad.

S. Korea and Iran at home aren't that easy.

Offline bryonji

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2006, 01:17:10 PM »
Jamaica won that match against japan 2-1

« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2006, 05:56:00 PM »
A while ago RF posted that Jamaica was a team that drew with Brazil and had close losses to them. I remembered the 1-0 loss in England a couple years ago but for the life of me I couldn't remember when they ever drew with Brazil.

Now I see when it was.

Too bad he wasn't more forthright so as to mention that it was an U-23 team playing in the Gold Cup.

« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2006, 06:04:22 PM »
Jamaica played an incredible amount of games in the run up to France 98. A shame we cant do the same.

« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2006, 06:11:12 PM »

No sorry... you lose... 

f**k.yuh right.ah losin it

haha yuh meh lip screw up when ah see dat.

Two lovely goals from Theodore put Jamaica ahead of Japan.

Ah tellin yuh i supported them back then as my caribbean bretherin.

Buh anytime ah go on that yardie site dey only downtalkin de trinis.

dey so bloody snakeface.

I remember rel trini buy dat same JA supportin jersey dey used to sell in mall around de time JA made WC.

Meh pops bought meh de supporters hat and all.

Stewps.

« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2006, 07:05:35 PM »
JAMAICA WAS IN DE WORLD CUP ????....WHEN...???

« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2006, 08:31:15 PM »
How old are you Magician?  yuh have to be less than 10 to not knw that!  Oh you jus playin!!!!!

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2006, 03:04:18 AM »
A while ago RF posted that Jamaica was a team that drew with Brazil and had close losses to them. I remembered the 1-0 loss in England a couple years ago but for the life of me I couldn't remember when they ever drew with Brazil.

Now I see when it was.

Too bad he wasn't more forthright so as to mention that it was an U-23 team playing in the Gold Cup.

actually there was 1st team players on that brazil team u kno. i remember romario missing a few chance v Jamaica in that 0-0 draw

« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2006, 05:45:18 AM »
How old are you Magician?  yuh have to be less than 10 to not knw that!  Oh you jus playin!!!!!

oh gorm yuh cyah figure dat out?

« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2006, 05:53:48 AM »

eff of Jamaica