March 28, 2024, 06:51:05 PM

Author Topic: Dwight Yorke Official Thread  (Read 94911 times)

Re: Dwight Yorke Official Thread
« Reply #360 on: May 24, 2019, 07:40:25 PM »
So Yorke ex-teammate is Man U manager. If Yorke still want to manage why he doh go and help a small club? With his profile I sure he could get something but yuh hadda start small.

I was thinking the same damn thing.

« Reply #361 on: May 25, 2019, 01:35:05 PM »
So Yorke ex-teammate is Man U manager. If Yorke still want to manage why he doh go and help a small club? With his profile I sure he could get something but yuh hadda start small.

I was thinking the same damn thing.

Sol Campbell finally humble himself, went and save a League 2 team from relegation. Ting like that could only help your cause.

« Reply #362 on: May 26, 2019, 05:05:42 AM »
... especially considering that he had a TT Pro League/TTFA type experience with him and players not being paid.

Worth a listen:
https://talksport.com/football/efl/547907/sol-campbell-exclusive-macclesfield-crying-league-two-torture-unpaid/amp/

« Reply #363 on: May 28, 2019, 06:36:59 PM »
WATCH: Dwight Yorke rolls back the years with this superb finish during Manchester United Legends 5-0 win over Bayern Munich in their 1999 Treble Reunion game.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BD4RqxeNEqM?start=72" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BD4RqxeNEqM?start=72</a>

« Reply #364 on: May 29, 2019, 07:29:47 AM »
Best we call up Yorke

Showman Yorke heading back to Sydney for bushfire relief blockbuster
« Reply #365 on: January 27, 2020, 02:31:31 PM »
Showman Yorke heading back to Sydney for bushfire relief blockbuster
By Dave Lewis (The World Game)

Dwight Yorke - the A-League’s original marquee maestro - is set to lace on the boots again for May’s Football For Fires charity match in Sydney, in a show of affection for the country he once adopted as a second home.

Now 48, Yorke will join the likes of ex-Juventus striker Claudio Marchisio and MLS legend Dwayne De Rosario for the ANZ Stadium fundraiser on May 26 - a match set to feature stars from across the globe, plus several of Australia’s golden generation from the class of 2006.

A plethora of other big names will be unfurled by the brains behind the game, match agent Lou Sticca, early next week in a push to raise millions for those affected by the blazes that have ripped through Australia.

The presence of Aston Villa and Manchester United great Yorke will add a layer of pizzazz and a slither of nostalgia for fans who will hark back to 2006 when the former Trinidad and Tobago impresario led a swashbuckling Sydney FC to the inaugural A-League crown.

The man who brought bling to the competition, albeit just for one heady season, has previously been linked with the Sky Blues’ coaching ranks, having graduated with a UEFA B licence.

He is currently an ambassador for Man United and has been a regular visitor to Australia, both before and after his stint as a Sydney FC talisman.

Yorke scored seven goals in 21 appearances in an orchestrating role for the club - coached by German international Pierre Littbarski - his flashing smile and larger than life presence hoovering up headlines wherever he stepped.

He has a close bond with Sticca - responsible for luring Yorke to the A-League at the age of 33 - and was happy to step up for the cause.

Four-time MLS Cup winner, De Rosario, 41, might not have Yorke’s global cachet but he’s a nailed on idol in North America, where the ex-Canada international’s 20-year professional career spanned San Jose, Houston, Toronto, New York Red Bulls and DC United.

De Rosario, known as ‘DeRo’, is a former MLS most valuable player and racked up 81 caps for his country.

Ex-Juventus captain and Italian international Marchisio, needs little introduction.

The midfielder has previously been linked with Western United, but retired last year - aged just 33 - having made 389 appearances for the Bianconeri.

His mopped up seven Serie A titles and four Coppa Italia trophies along the way.

Marchisio was part of Juventus’ touring party to Australia back in 2014 but resisted subsequent offers to play in the A-League.

« Reply #366 on: March 15, 2020, 09:00:48 AM »
WATCH: One on one with Manchester United Legend Dwight Yorke

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/NXWZ0El7dTs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/NXWZ0El7dTs</a>

« Reply #367 on: March 24, 2020, 04:19:18 PM »
Neville snubs Rooney and Van Nistelrooy when naming favourite Manchester United strike partnership.
Goal.com.

Gary Neville has overlooked the likes of Wayne Rooney and Ruud van Nistelrooy when naming Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke as the best Manchester United strike partnership that he had the pleasure of playing with.

The Red Devils have boasted a number of fearsome front men on their books down the years, particularly when the legendary Sir Alex Ferguson was establishing an era of domestic dominance at Old Trafford.

Neville operated at the opposite end of the field to many superstar performers, with the former United defender watching on as goals and trophies were delivered by the bucket load.

The ex-England international has now made his pick when it comes to the very best he lined up alongside, with the 1999 Treble winners getting the nod ahead of some other illustrious names.

Neville told Sky Sports: “Yorke was an unbelievable player.

“He could do all things; he could score, set up play, run in behind, dribble, bring other players into play - he was the all-round centre-forward.

“It transpired that whatever combination of the four strikers we had on the pitch that season they all could play together, they all had good combinations with each other.

“For the treble season alone, Yorke and Cole were the best. They were sensational, the way they played together. They lit up the whole league, they lit up Europe.

“I always remember a game at Barcelona in the Champions League group stages, I'd never seen anything like it. We conceded three goals - I was playing at centre-back - but we scored three and Yorke and Cole were absolutely brilliant.”

Neville also said of Trinidadian forward Yorke, who found the target 66 times in 147 appearances for United: “When Yorke signed in 1998 it was after the start of the season, and it was a surprise in some ways because I came out of nowhere.

“We knew Yorke was a good player from Aston Villa, but you didn't think he would be the one to come into United. I don't think anybody realised how good a player he was - I never realised how good he was, I knew he was a good player but not to the level he surprised us by when he came into the team.

“Yorke and Cole didn't hit it off from the start, it took 10 to 15 games from memory. Leicester away sticks in my mind, something just happened that day and after that they started socialising together, getting on off the pitch and a respect between each other developed.

“The thing about that partnership is that neither minded who scored, something you wouldn't have seen with partnerships involving Ruud van Nistelrooy and Michael Owen, who had to score to be happy.”

Yorke: No avenue for famed trio to contribute
« Reply #368 on: April 15, 2020, 06:36:26 AM »
T&T Guardian

Legendary striker Dwight Yorke says he is “concerned” that outstanding T&T's like himself, Brian Lara and Russell Latapy, have not been allowed to contribute to the region’s sports development.

The 48-year-old former Aston Villa and Manchester United star, a member of the historic Trinidad and Tobago side which qualified for the 2006 World Cup in Germany, said he remained available to lend his expertise in the football fraternity but said he has never been approached to do so.

“I’ve been very fortunate. Football has given me everything beyond my imagination as a young boy growing up,” Yorke told i95FM on Saturday.

“I would always love to contribute to my country the experience that I’ve gained at the level I’ve played at for so many years. You would’ve thought I would’ve been involved in Trinidad and Tobago football certainly in the future to come.

“For everyone who’s listening, I’ve always wanted to contribute to my country, I always want to help. I feel with the experience and knowledge I’ve got I could certainly help out in some capacity. However that hasn’t happened, I haven’t been approached.”

Yorke, who scored 26 times in 72 appearances for T&T, said Lara and Latapy also had not been allowed to give of their vast expertise and experience after having contributed so much during their careers.

Lara, a former West Indies captain, is considered the finest player of his era, and still holds world records for the highest Test and first class score.

Latapy, meanwhile, became the first-ever Trinidadian to play in the Champions League when he turned out for Porto, before going on to represent Scottish giants Rangers.

“It does make me feel a little bit concerned that someone like Brian Lara who is the most accomplished cricketer in West Indies and he hasn’t got a role in West Indies cricket,” Yorke pointed out.

“Why would you not want to pick his brain, his knowledge of why he’s been such a success. I find that baffling to me with people trying to undermine someone like him because of what he has done over the years and it’s probably the same for Russell Latapy who’s been out there for several years.

“People will say we’re friends but the reality is there is no greater accomplishment than Lara, myself and Latapy. Why would you not use that to your benefit and I find that very, very strange when other countries would love to use our expertise in trying to find out what it takes, what it means … to be out there.

“We have all this experience and knowledge and nobody has been able to put it to use.”

Yorke scored 97 goals in nearly appearances for Aston Villa to become a club favourite before joining Manchester United in 1998 for a then record fee of 12.6 million pounds sterling.

He formed part of a famed strike partnership with Andy Cole, netting 65 goals in 147 outings for the English giants, helping them win the storied treble in 1999.

Yorke, now based in Dubai, has involved himself mostly in media punditry following his playing career but said he was currently trying to break into the world of football management.

“I’m trying to get into coaching here which is another challenging part of my career. It’s a different challenge now,” he explained.

“The challenge was to break in as a black player in the UK. I managed to do that and now I have to fight extremely hard and … it’s the same thing coming to management. You have to fight extremely hard to get a look-in to it.

“You just have to look around the world; it’s very challenging. I’m not ashamed to say it – the black aspiring managers are not getting a look-in. You look in the Premier League and you look around globally.”

« Reply #369 on: April 15, 2020, 08:24:34 AM »
No avenue to help? Please.

Was he asked what he's doing in Dubai?

Dwight Yorke recalls 2001 Arsenal hat-trick
« Reply #370 on: April 15, 2020, 01:49:17 PM »
Dwight Yorke recalls 2001 Arsenal hat-trick
By Sam Carney (manutd.com)

Dwight Yorke says scoring a hat-trick during our 6-1 demolition of Arsenal in February 2001 ranks as one of his ‘fondest memories’ in a Manchester United shirt.

Our former striker appeared on a United Hangout episode with Andy Cole recently, and the pair discussed Yorkie’s rapid treble – which is one of the options in our latest ‘Match Rewind’ poll – against the Gunners in detail.

“Arsenal being one of our main rivals over the years, it was one of the fixtures to look forward to,” recalled Dwight. “Outside of Liverpool, it was the next big fixture in my time.

“So being able to score three against them in such a crucial game, it has to go down as one of my fondest memories at United. There are many fond memories in there, but as a striker you are always judged on the number of goals you score as well.

“To score three against them on that day, against David Seaman as well, who was one of the best goalkeepers in world football at the time, to have done that against such a quality goalkeeper and team, I was very happy about it.”

Yorke may have scored one of the quickest Premier League hat-tricks in history on that day, but he was far from a sure starter in the United side that season.

In fact, our eventual top goalscorer Teddy Sheringham and Cole were Sir Alex Ferguson’s preferred striking duo, with Dwight having featured in just three of our previous 11 league encounters.

When he got word of his likely inclusion, however, he was keen to seize his chance.

“I actually remember that during the week, I just had a feeling that the gaffer is giving me the heads-up that I was going to be playing,” recalls Yorkie.

“The opportunity had been very limited, so when the gaffer gave me that opportunity and said there’s your chance, I was ready to go.

“I felt well going into the game even though I hadn’t played that much and when I went out there I felt good, the instinct kicked in.

“It was just great to have the opportunity, and to score three on the day was the icing on the cake.”

Cole wasn’t involved on that memorable Sunday afternoon, when the Reds pulled 16 points clear of Arsene Wenger’s side at the top of the table.

Our legendary striker jokes that he could have netted his own treble, had he been given the nod ahead of his good friend.

“Out of Yorkie's hat-tricks it was one of his easiest ones,” said Andy. “If you look at all the goals as well, you'd take those any day of the week!”

Yorke’s first goal came after a delicious one-two with Paul Scholes, while the Tobagonian admits his second and third efforts owed much to pinpoint assists from Roy Keane and David Beckham, especially the latter’s incredible 60-yard diagonal ball.

“[Beckham]’s crosses were so quick and accurate, I stopped dribbling past people.

“I used to go past people and stuff but in this team you didn't need to do all that because the quality was so good.

“He's just ridiculous: [Kevin] De Bruyne has got a bit of fizz, but Becks is still the best I’ve seen.”

If Yorke thought his heroics would provide a way back into the team, however, he was mistaken – as Sir Alex brutally drove home the following weekend.

“It meant a lot to me. I wasn’t playing regularly because Coley and Teddy were doing the job. They were the first pairing which is understandable. If you drop off you'll be left behind. When you come up against a big rival, you want to do well because in the back of your mind you think if you do well you get back in the team.

“But we played Leeds the next week and I didn't play! The gaffer said he could have scored that hat-trick! That's what he said to me!”

« Reply #371 on: April 15, 2020, 05:44:01 PM »
Yorke starting to sound like A trumper, best he just blow a trumpet..
He can’t have no friends and family in Tobago no more.
Oh well, send yuh balls and boots. Thanks.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/11/25/olympic-stars-share-knowledge-at-atlantic-camp/

Re: Yorke: No avenue for famed trio to contribute
« Reply #372 on: April 16, 2020, 01:56:17 AM »
T&T Guardian

Legendary striker Dwight Yorke says he is “concerned” that outstanding T&T's like himself, Brian Lara and Russell Latapy, have not been allowed to contribute to the region’s sports development.

The 48-year-old former Aston Villa and Manchester United star, a member of the historic Trinidad and Tobago side which qualified for the 2006 World Cup in Germany, said he remained available to lend his expertise in the football fraternity but said he has never been approached to do so.

“I’ve been very fortunate. Football has given me everything beyond my imagination as a young boy growing up,” Yorke told i95FM on Saturday.

“I would always love to contribute to my country the experience that I’ve gained at the level I’ve played at for so many years. You would’ve thought I would’ve been involved in Trinidad and Tobago football certainly in the future to come.

“For everyone who’s listening, I’ve always wanted to contribute to my country, I always want to help. I feel with the experience and knowledge I’ve got I could certainly help out in some capacity. However that hasn’t happened, I haven’t been approached.”

Yorke, who scored 26 times in 72 appearances for T&T, said Lara and Latapy also had not been allowed to give of their vast expertise and experience after having contributed so much during their careers.

Lara, a former West Indies captain, is considered the finest player of his era, and still holds world records for the highest Test and first class score.

Latapy, meanwhile, became the first-ever Trinidadian to play in the Champions League when he turned out for Porto, before going on to represent Scottish giants Rangers.

“It does make me feel a little bit concerned that someone like Brian Lara who is the most accomplished cricketer in West Indies and he hasn’t got a role in West Indies cricket,” Yorke pointed out.

“Why would you not want to pick his brain, his knowledge of why he’s been such a success. I find that baffling to me with people trying to undermine someone like him because of what he has done over the years and it’s probably the same for Russell Latapy who’s been out there for several years.

“People will say we’re friends but the reality is there is no greater accomplishment than Lara, myself and Latapy. Why would you not use that to your benefit and I find that very, very strange when other countries would love to use our expertise in trying to find out what it takes, what it means … to be out there.

“We have all this experience and knowledge and nobody has been able to put it to use.”

Yorke scored 97 goals in nearly appearances for Aston Villa to become a club favourite before joining Manchester United in 1998 for a then record fee of 12.6 million pounds sterling.

He formed part of a famed strike partnership with Andy Cole, netting 65 goals in 147 outings for the English giants, helping them win the storied treble in 1999.

Yorke, now based in Dubai, has involved himself mostly in media punditry following his playing career but said he was currently trying to break into the world of football management.

“I’m trying to get into coaching here which is another challenging part of my career. It’s a different challenge now,” he explained.

“The challenge was to break in as a black player in the UK. I managed to do that and now I have to fight extremely hard and … it’s the same thing coming to management. You have to fight extremely hard to get a look-in to it.

“You just have to look around the world; it’s very challenging. I’m not ashamed to say it – the black aspiring managers are not getting a look-in. You look in the Premier League and you look around globally.”

Absolutely F**K off. Yorke and Latapy failed every major coaching job they got - they don't want to help, they want to be patted on the back and fawned over. If he had any worthwile contribution to give he would have a coaching job elsewhere - at least Latapy had a shot at that. If I recall all he managed was a short stint as an assistant for the NT - he's contributed more to reality television than the development of the domestic game.

He has some badges, why doesn't he bloody use them. Go coach a local team, inspire youth and earn your spurs, instead of sitting on your ass and demanding everyone send you a handout.

« Reply #373 on: April 28, 2020, 04:46:23 PM »
Top ten players who are their country’s only world-class star
By Brinkwire (brinkwire.com).

The proliferation of got us thinking: which players are or have been their country’s only world-class representative ever? And is Daniel Cousin actually better than Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang?

10) Jose Luis Chilavert (Paraguay)
A country that has produced two Copa America-winning squads and six finishes as runners-up should perhaps boast more historic talents over more than a century. Roque Santa Cruz, Carlos Gamarra, Francisco Arce and Jose Cardozo all enjoyed their moments in the sun but none shone quite so bright as Jose Luis Chilavert.

There were only two permanent members of the IFFHS’ World’s Best Goalkeeper of the Year top four from 1995 to 2000. To share that sort of platform with Peter Schmeichel spoke of Chilavert’s enduring brilliance; he won the award three times compared to the Dane’s twice.

His reputation preceded him at times. Chilavert was doubtlessly excellent at the 1998 World Cup, conceding only once in the group stage before his heroic efforts in forcing eventual winners France to extra-time in the round of 16. Laurent Blanc ended his resistance with a Golden Goal but Chilavert was still voted the tournament’s best keeper.

He also ranks joint-24th all-time for Paraguay goals, and won trophies in four different countries. It sums him up quite neatly that he kept a clean sheet in the 2001 Coupe de France final before saving one penalty and scoring the winner for Strasbourg in the subsequent shoot-out.

9) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
The three strikers who shared the last Premier League Golden Boot could each claim to be their country’s only true football icon. But while Mohamed Salah would face competition from Hossam Hassan and Sadio Mane might have to answer to Kalidou Koulibaly, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang stands alone as Gabon’s sole star.

Their top goalscorer ever has not quite translated that into tournament success but that rather emphasises the gap Aubameyang has established in the Panthers’ food chain. When a player can parlay their importance into public disputes with their country’s FA over professionalism and inadequate facilities and emerge with their reputation boosted in the eyes of the fans upon their return, it speaks volumes.

8.) Jan Oblak (Slovenia)
The correlation was dismissed but the timing was telling: Slovenia dispensed with Tomaz Kavcic in October 2018 within days of the manager accusing Jan Oblak of refusing to speak to him and “telling lies” about his availability.

Oblak has only recently settled into the national team set-up, but his standing at club level has barely wavered for the better part of a decade. One year in his native country was followed by four honing his trade in Portugal and six as the continent’s most consistent performer at Atletico Madrid. A record of 133 clean sheets in 252 games has certainly not caught the eye of only Alisson.

7) Bruce Grobbelaar (Zimbabwe)
The first African player to win the European Cup more than earned that status. Bruce Grobbelaar was a one-time Rhodesia international in the midst of his controversial Zimbabwe exile when he goaded Bruno Conti and mocked Francesco Graziani to guide Liverpool past Roma on penalties in 1984.

It secured the keeper another medal to go alongside his six First Division titles, three FA Cups and three League Cups, won over a 13-year spell that coincided with the greatest in Liverpool’s history. Grobbelaar had his moments and eccentricities but Bob Paisley, Joe Fagan and Kenny Dalglish each retained him as their lynchpin for a reason.

6) Dwight Yorke (Trinidad & Tobago)
Oft forgotten is that the best individual campaign within the greatest team season in Premier League history was delivered by a player who began it at Aston Villa. It took Dwight Yorke one disinterested performance in a 0-0 draw with Everton for John Gregory to forget threats of office-based firearm violence and accept Manchester United’s £12.6m bid in August 1998.

The striker stormed the Champions League group stages, vanquished Inter Milan and Juventus in the quarter and semi-finals, toppled Liverpool and Chelsea en route to FA Cup glory and shared the Premier League Golden Boot come May, finishing second to David Ginola in a PFA Player of the Year vote Sir Alex Ferguson still struggles to comprehend.

The seventh man to join the Premier League’s 100 goals club was its only non-European member until Sergio Aguero crashed the party in 2017. Yorke might have been outscored by Stern John, Russell Latapy and Kenwyne Jones for his country but neither Trinidad nor Tobago has conjured as brilliant a player before or since.

5) Gheorge Hagi (Romania)
Fifteen years separated Gheorge Hagi’s first and record-breaking final vote as Romanian Footballer of the Year. Victory with the lesser known Sportul Studențesc in 1985 triggered dominance in the latter half of that decade and the entire 1990s that culminated with his seventh crowning in 2000 at Galatasaray.

The Maradona of the Carpathians almost admirably avoided capping his wonderful career with European glory. He joined Steaua Bucharest months after they wrestled the continent into submission in 1986, reaching the semi-finals and final in successive seasons before joining Real Madrid in their lengthy barren years. After a spell with Brescia, he moved onto Barcelona, who had just finished as runners-up in 1994 but were so thoroughly humbled they would not reach that stage again for another 12 years.

But Hagi achieved plenty in almost two decades, once finishing fourth in a Ballon d’Or vote, being named in a World Cup team of the tournament and being sent off in a UEFA Cup final for cuddlethumping Tony Adams. He remains the highest scorer in Romania history, and the father of the greatest Rangers player ever.

4) Lev Yashin (Russia)
To be your position’s only winning representative of a European-wide award in more than 60 years is a remarkable feat. And Lev Yashin truly was a remarkable player, transcending goalkeeping preconceptions and helping to establish precisely what can be expected from the men between the sticks.

Before Yashin, keepers were known to rarely venture from their line and only ever kick the ball long to safety. His approach seems ordinary now but closing down strikers, punching crosses instead of catching and distributing the ball short and early to start counter-attacks were positively revolutionary in his time.

A European Championship-winning medal in 1960 and Olympics gold in 1956 was supplemented by a starring role in the only World Cup semi-final in the history of Russia and the Soviet Union in 1966, and even success in ice hockey when waiting for his breakthrough at Dynamo Moscow.

3) Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
“There are only two Christs; one plays for Barcelona, the other is in heaven,” was the typically humble acceptance speech delivered by Hristo Stoichkov upon his Ballon d’Or win in 1994. Bulgaria advanced past the World Cup round of 16 for the only time in their history that year, reaching the semi-finals thanks to the inimitable Golden Boot holder.

Stoichkov was sensational, unpredictable in every sense. A lifelong suspension that was handed down for fighting in the 1985 Bulgarian Cup final was later reduced to a single year on the sidelines but was symptomatic of his attitude. And for his foibles, he is often credited as the man who kept Romario grounded and focused at Barcelona. There will never be a player like him again, either for Bulgaria or anywhere else.

2) George Best (Northern Ireland)
“George inspired me when I was young,” said Diego Maradona. “I think if you talk about Europe, you talk about five or six and if you talk about his qualities he’d always be in there,” was Johan Cruyff’s answer when asked whether Best was the greatest player ever. “I often mentioned George Best as the best player in Europe,” Pele noted. More powerful eulogies from more respected peers would be difficult to find; each were speaking on the day of Best’s death in 2005.

He was, for a time, the world’s most famous footballer, and remains surely one of the most gifted. A painfully short career delivered just two First Division titles and peaked with the European Cup and Ballon d’Or a week after turning 22, his personal demons dragging him slowly downhill thereafter.

Best described international football as “recreational” for a reason. He bowed out with just 37 Northern Ireland caps and sitting below Kyle Lafferty and Iain Dowie in a list of all-time goals rather undermines his excellence. He was so clearly his country’s greatest player that it was almost laughable, although Billy Bingham’s choice not to end the Hong Kong-based 36-year-old’s five-year exile with a call-up for the 1982 World Cup was unsentimental but entirely sensible. Best never did play in any major international tournament.

1) George Weah (Liberia)
His namesake did not fare considerably better on that front. George Weah took Liberia to within a point of 2002 World Cup qualification in his mid-30s, guiding them to two Africa Cup of Nations group-stage exits and little more than moderate relevance.

To judge him on that would be futile and foolish. Weah was not only the first and, as yet, only African to win the Ballon d’Or, but the rules seemed to be changed to facilitate his ascension. It just so happened that 1995, the year of his defining football success, was the first time the award allowed votes for players born outside of, but playing in, Europe.

Weah was a worthy winner, the Champions League’s top scorer with semi-finalists PSG and then a glorious addition to a formidable Milan side. Arsene Wenger once described himself as “like a child discovering a chocolate bunny in his garden at Easter” upon signing the forward for Monaco in 1988. Weah had never played outside of Liberia by that juncture but would soon master his new surroundings.

« Reply #374 on: April 28, 2020, 04:48:09 PM »
Maybe Shaun Goater could make this list?

« Reply #375 on: May 05, 2020, 01:44:30 PM »
WATCH: Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole catch up and chat about life in lockdown, football and their partnership at Manchester United

« Reply #376 on: May 05, 2020, 02:40:34 PM »
Yuh reminding me of something I planned to post: Ian Wright speaking about Cole and Yorke (since the lockdown started). They came up as he was referring to Shearer. All positive stuff was said.  Will try to dig that out of the recent archive. 

« Reply #377 on: May 06, 2020, 05:42:45 AM »
And F***** Dwight too, another wanker.

Yorke: I was top scorer and Sir Alex told me I was a failure
« Reply #378 on: May 13, 2020, 02:52:49 PM »
Yorke: I was top scorer and Sir Alex told me I was a failure
By Michael Plant (manutd.com)

Dwight Yorke was the special guest on Wednesday’s MUTV Group Chat, and shared several interesting anecdotes, not least when Sir Alex Ferguson once called him a ‘failure’, despite being the Reds’ top scorer at the time.

Our former striker spent four years at Old Trafford and netted more than any of his team-mates during his first season at the club - our 1998/99 Treble-winning campaign - before achieving the same feat again the following year.

However, Sir Alex, a man renowned for his meticulously high standards, demanded more from Dwight, and was willing to try anything to further motivate his frontman.

“In the first season I scored 29 goals, in the second year I scored 26, and the gaffer said to me ‘you’re a failure’,” Yorke reflected on the video call.

“I was top scorer again and we won the Premier League, but he said I was a failure. But you look back and I get where he was coming from. This is where you need to push yourself even further by getting more than 29.

“You look at Messi and Ronaldo and that’s the kind of levels he’s trying to push you to, but I didn’t see it then. Finishing as the top scorer with 26 goals was very rewarding for me, but the gaffer wasn’t too pleased.

“Then in my third year I had 14 goals from 22 starts, which is not a bad return. But that wasn’t good enough at United. That was the level the manager was demanding of you and I get it now.”

Yorkie is most fondly remembered by United fans for the part he played in our Treble-winning campaign, a season when he and striker partner Andy Cole struck fear into the hearts of defenders at home and abroad.

Dwight netted 29 times in 51 appearances during his maiden term at the Reds, but was actually disappointed with that haul.

“I should have scored more goals. I was disappointed I only scored 29 goals, even though that was unbelievable in my first year,” Yorke told presenter Stewart Gardner and regular hosts Ben Thornley, Wes Brown, Danny Webber and David May.

“I think the manager robbed me of a few games when I felt I should have played and could have scored goals,” Yorke added, with a chuckle.

“He substituted me when I was on the verge of scoring a hat-trick. I was on two goals and he takes me off to have a rest! You look back and think ‘bloody hell, gaffer, you robbed me of a few goals over the years’.

“But it’s not about me, it’s about the team and he knows what is best for us as a unit and that’s what matters.

“When you achieve that kind of level in your first year, where do you go from there? Because everything you do after that is pretty much a failure,” the 48-year-old continued.

“But we went on to win three Premier Leagues in a row and we’re the only club to ever do that. That hardly ever gets a mention, until [Manchester] City tried to follow it this year.

“We had a high level of success over that time, so it was hard to live up to that all the time. But I have no regrets over those years. It was just a wonderful time in my life and I’m very grateful to anyone who played a part in that.”

Yorke: Keano will live and die by the sword
« Reply #379 on: May 14, 2020, 12:42:48 PM »
Yorke: Keano will live and die by the sword
By Michael Plant (manutd.com)

Not many people in football can say they have first-hand knowledge of Roy Keane the player and Roy Keane the manager, but one of the very few is Dwight Yorke.

The former Manchester United striker shared a dressing room with Keano for four seasons at Old Trafford, before spending two and a half years under him at Sunderland, when the Irishman was managing the Black Cats.

Speaking on Wednesday’s MUTV Group Chat, Dwight reflected on how his former team-mate managed to convince him to leave Australia, where he was playing at the time, for the harsh footballing world of the English second tier.

“I went to the A-League to be their marquee player and then after one year I got a call and straight away I recognised the voice,” the 48-year-old recalled. 

“I knew he had the job at Sunderland and straight away I said: ‘Skip, what are you doing calling me?’ He said: ‘How’s America? I want you to come and play at Sunderland.’ America! He thought I was in America!

“But he convinced me to come back and sign for Sunderland, and to get them their promotion into the Premier League. I relished that opportunity. I jumped on the first plane back.”

Assisted by Yorkie, Keano initially enjoyed huge success at Sunderland, in particular guiding the club back to the Premier League during the 2006/07 campaign, but resigned from his role in December 2008 with the Black Cats residing in the relegation zone.

Having witnessed Roy’s coaching methods up close and personal, Dwight believes our former skipper is an excellent manager.

“From a manager’s point of view, I have to say about Keano, I think he has all the ingredients,” said Yorke.

“When he took the job he had the respect of all the players. He had the character to be a manager, and the respect. He has everything you want in a manager. Then in his first year he was very successful and got us promoted.

“For me, when I look back, I think that Keano should be in a big managerial position today, i.e. someone like Manchester United.“

However, since leaving Sunderland, Roy has only taken charge of one other club – Ipswich Town – and has not been first-team manager of a side in over nine years. Dwight opened up on some of the reasons he believes things haven’t quite worked out for the man from Cork.

“I think Keano is his own worst enemy,” he explained. “After the years I’ve spent with him, some of the things he has done, I’m sure he will regret. Keano will live by the sword and die by the sword, but I’m sure there are things that he reflects he could have done better as manager.

“I think when you’re a manager you have to get people on your side and on the same page, even if they’re not on the same level that you thought, because you have to manage those people. I think that’s where Keano has kind of let himself down.

“It was interesting because even when we played five-a-side there were players refusing to go on his side because of the demands he was wanting from them,” Dwight continued.

“I’ve seen players shy away and not want the ball because if they give it away Keano will be on them. In the end, I had to step in and say something to him because he was putting that fear factor into players.

“That’s all well and good when you’re a player at the level of Manchester United, but when you’re a manager and those players don’t have that quality, you need to find a way to get the best out of them. Towards the end, I didn’t think he managed to do that very well.

“But I love Keano and it was a great experience playing for him. He obviously rated me highly for me to be his first signing at Sunderland, and I have a lot of respect for Keano.”

« Reply #380 on: May 21, 2020, 06:36:28 AM »
WATCH: Former Trinidad and Tobago captain and Manchester United forward Dwight Yorke joined in a Zoom Conference call with over 80 Trinidad and Tobago Male and Female Youth players and coaches where he interacted with them for two hours on Wednesday. TTFA Technical Director Dion La Foucade opened proceedings. Have a look at Part 1 of the Zoom Call.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/5bWCVDn3PE8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/5bWCVDn3PE8</a>

« Reply #381 on: May 21, 2020, 11:01:10 PM »
Well done Dwight!

Dwight Yorke: One night in Turin
« Reply #382 on: May 30, 2020, 11:24:22 AM »
Dwight Yorke: One night in Turin
By Dwight Yorke (manutd.com)

When I signed for Manchester United, one of the things I was looking forward to the most was playing in the Champions League.

It was a huge deal for me. I was the most expensive player in the country joining the biggest club in the world, so it was massive to be playing in the biggest competition. The reason I left Aston Villa to go to United was to win trophies. The move gave me the opportunity to play alongside great players and compete for the biggest trophies like the Champions League.

A lot was expected of me on that stage, but I enjoyed the challenge. There was no way I was going to let that faze me.

My first night in the Champions League was against Barcelona at Old Trafford.  I mean… you couldn’t ask for a better first taste of what it’s all about.

Old Trafford is a fortress anyway, but I could tell straight away that there’s something special about Champions League nights. That was clear to see. The crowd is right up for it, everybody is really pumped, the fanfare as you’re coming into the arena definitely brings an extra buzz too. Foreign teams, huge stars showcasing their skills… it’s just different to what everybody is used to. The music when you’re walking out, it raises your pulse and you’re so up for it. Everybody’s up for it. You know the other team is too because they’re facing Manchester United at Old Trafford.

But, like I said, I wasn’t fazed. I was excited. Bring it on. As I was stood there before kick-off, I knew that those were the moments I was living for.

Early on, Giggsy scored the opener and then, before half an hour had gone, Becks crossed the ball in towards me. I took on the overhead kick and I honestly couldn’t have struck it any better. You look back now and you think: ‘Bloody hell, I didn’t know I had all that in my locker!’ I’d tried it in training, sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t, but to have tried that in such a huge game, such a great spectacle with those kind of players on show, and to pull it off… yeah, I was happy with that one. It’s just a shame the keeper saved it!

Obviously it would have been nice if that had gone straight in, but Scholesy scored from the rebound so that’s nearly a 100 per cent perfect moment. That’s the kind of goal you want to score, but I’ll take the 90 percent for it!

It was an unbelievable game and unfortunately we ended up drawing 3-3 despite that great start, but afterwards I knew that’s what football is made of: playing in that type of game.

Those games kept on coming that season.

Drawing 3-3 with Barcelona on that first night, then drawing in Germany against Bayern Munich, two big wins over Brondby, another 3-3 against Barcelona in Spain and then another draw with Bayern at Old Trafford. It was an unbelievable group campaign in the group of death, but we didn’t lose once. Then we beat a very strong Inter Milan side over two legs in the quarter-final; winning at Old Trafford and drawing in the San Siro.

As we went through the competition, the opposition was just brilliant all the way. We faced Juventus in the semi-final first leg at Old Trafford, they played very well and we just about managed to get a 1-1 draw ahead of the second leg in Turin.

This is back in the days when Italian clubs were known for their defensive play but also the brilliant, flamboyant individuals they had in their league; players like Zinedine Zidane, Edgar Davids, David Trezeguet and those types of players.

We were going over to Turin, at one apiece, for a place in the Champions League final. Juventus were looking to reach the final for the fourth year in a row. We needed to be at our best. All the way through, that’s how it had been. The group of death, followed by the two best teams in Italian football. We were up against it, even before kick-off.

Especially at home, in the Stadio Delle Alpi, they were imposing.

But, if you’re going to go and win the Champions League, you’ve got to go away from home and get massive results. Simple as that.

Personally, I knew I’d be up against world-class defenders like Ciro Ferrara. All those Juventus defenders were tough as nails. It’s not like today when defenders are brushing you aside and you’re getting a foul for it; they would kick the lumps out of you. You had to be tough to pick yourself up and come back at them for more. They were world-class players. That was the joy of games like this; you’ve got to show mental toughness as well as elegance and skill.

We went over there excited, looking to win the game, looking to turn it around. Big players turn up on the big occasions and turn things around. The likes of Juventus were never going to lie down and let us walk all over them, were they? That’s the beauty of it, that’s the satisfaction: knowing that the odds are against you and that you’ve got to turn it around. That’s when you need your big players. That’s when the best players turn up.

Then we conceded two goals inside the first few minutes and I’m sure a betting man watching would have put all his money on Juventus to reach the final at that time!

But we had a great belief in that dressing room. If you follow what happened throughout that season, going 1-0 down just spurred us on. Two-nil wasn’t impossible. Two-nil gave us a bit more spurring on.

That second goal… when you’re in the moment and Juventus players are celebrating, their fans are going wild… you can’t feel anything. You’re in your zone and all you’re thinking is: ‘We’re 2-0 down, we’re against Juventus here, we just have to stay in the game. We know we have the attacking flair and the team to turn things around very quickly’. We didn’t panic, didn’t show any anxiety, didn’t change our mentality or our approach, we needed to keep calm and we knew that once we got one goal, there was a chance that the Italians might panic. It was a situation for cool heads and luckily we had enough experience on the pitch and in the dugout to keep everybody calm.
We just knew that there was no need to panic.

Nothing was impossible with that team.

Keano scored a brilliant header just before the half-hour.

Then the game changed.

Then the momentum swung our way.

I scored our equaliser a few minutes later.

I got a lot of goals from Coley that year and so did he from me. The partnership developed really well through the season, and in Turin he sent a great cross into the area for me. It was such a great ball. I could have probably volleyed it because it was at that kind of height, but given the risk of taking that on in such a big game, I went for something with a little bit more accuracy – a bit of a diving header – and it worked out. I felt that was the best option and I got a decent header on it. It didn’t matter how it went in, as long as it went in. I was thrilled to see it in the net.

We hadn’t panicked and now we were ahead on away goals. Deservedly, because we were playing brilliant football. That was just a phenomenal team to be a part of.

Roy was class. A great leader, great footballer and when you’re going into the trenches, as we were against a Juventus team like that, you want somebody with the qualities like Keano. He didn’t just show his quality in terms of his performance, but in the way he kept us going like he’d always done. I wouldn’t swap him for anybody. He was a tremendous leader in every department of the game as well as a fantastic player. I was very lucky to play alongside not just Keano, but Giggsy, Becks, Schmeichel, Irwin, Cole… the names – household names – just roll off your tongue when you look back at that team. Even in the game today you look back 20 years and those names still pop up. To share a pitch and be successful with those guys is what football was made of. It was a privilege and a joy at the time to play with these players, especially in games like this one.

We were fantastic. I hit the post, Denis hit the post and we made chances to put the tie to bed before the ball arrived at my feet outside the area, with maybe five minutes to go before the final whistle. I had Ferrara and Montero right in front of me, and they were like a pair of stone walls. There was only one way I could have gotten through the pair of them: I had to do the old shuffle to get between them! Luckily it turned out well and ricocheted nicely, putting me one-on-one with Peruzzi and really… I kind of played for the foul. I could have gone round the goalkeeper and stuck it in myself, but I nudged it round him and knew then it was going to be a penalty when he brushed me. I don’t know why I did it because it probably would have been easier to take it round him and put it in the net and that would have been game over.

Lucky enough, Coley was there to finish it off. Sharp as he’s always been, a proper number nine. He’s thinking: ‘Let me just run in here, follow it up, just in case.’ The ref was very good and let play go ahead. He could have given the penalty and he was very aware of keeping the play going because Coley had the opportunity to score, so I think the ref got it spot on.

Denis was our selected penalty taker at the time, but I’m not sure how tense that would have been! Of course I would have wanted to step up and take a penalty in that situation but it was such a relief for everybody because, although Denis or myself would have fancied the situation, and I would have backed Denis all the way, it was better to just put it to bed there and then. Trust me, I was happy with the way things turned out with Coley scoring the winner! It didn’t matter who scored, and when the final whistle went, having clearly contributed in that game when we needed to step up, I felt fantastic.

You might have seen our celebrations in the dressing room afterwards, dancing around the place. We got to the final of the biggest competition, hadn’t done it since 1968, so we knew what that meant. How many teams can say they came from a two-goal deficit on Italian soil against a team like Juventus, with Zidane, Davids, Conte and the others, to reach a final? It was never going to be easy, but we’d come out of a difficult group, beat two Italian teams and we certainly did it all the hard way. Most of all, we knew we were good enough to go on and win the final.

There was no time, I’ll tell you, in that game, that we panicked. We always felt that we were in with a chance in any situation, and when somebody gave us a chance we tended to take it very, very quickly. That night we took our chances and got probably the best away result in our club’s history in Europe. It was just amazing to be a part of. One of the great games.

I’d like to think that when people look back at that season, they see that I played my part during a phenomenal time in United’s history. I was top scorer, our player of the year and I contributed to a team with such a great winning formula. Looking back, of course it’s fulfilling and humbling at the same time. These were some of the most historic moments in the club’s history. To be part of those things is what all the hard work and training over the years and dedication was leading towards.

Nights like Turin are what dreams are made of.

« Reply #383 on: June 08, 2020, 03:34:07 PM »
WATCH: Dwight Yorke has won all there is to win in the game but still can't find work in management. He claims his lack of opportunities are down to his race.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mEqZiy7g5fo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mEqZiy7g5fo</a>

« Reply #384 on: June 08, 2020, 06:48:25 PM »
Dwight has a FA badge?

« Reply #385 on: June 09, 2020, 08:48:27 PM »
Dwight was on TalkSport radio today as well talking about the same topic.

« Reply #386 on: June 10, 2020, 12:17:05 PM »
Black professionals sidelined in pro-sports.
T&T Newsday Reports.

FORMER T&T football captain Dwight Yorke has called on global football federations to allow certified black professionals equal opportunity towards securing managerial roles in the sport’s top-flight.

In a passionate interview with talkSPORT on Tuesday, the 48-year-old veteran admitted racism in sport carries a long history but is still prevalent in today’s era of the beautiful game, especially towards the black community.

Yorke questioned why the majority of the world’s highest-ranked leagues did not feature more black coaches and managerial staff. He believes blacks are being stereotyped and unjustly treated while “other high-profile figures get fast-tracked into management”.

Although Yorke has completed all his coaching badges, he is yet to be given an interview for any roles he has applied for. The ex-Manchester United talisman went as far as saying that not even his decorated recommendation by legendary ‘Red Devils’ coach Sir Alex Ferguson on his credentials presents him with equal opportunity to attain a managerial role.

“I’ve applied for two jobs recently and I didn’t even get a response back after putting my CV in. Having someone like Sir Alex Ferguson on the end of the phone ready to give me a recommendation is great, but I couldn’t even get a response back, let alone an interview. We’re looking in the Premier League – are there any black managers there at this present time? No. Can we go to Spain? No. Italy? No. Bundesliga? No.” said Yorke.

The Tobagonian-bred former striker has played for world-renowned English clubs such as Aston Villa, Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Birmingham City, Sydney and Sunderland between 1988 and 2009. He scored 123 goals in the English Premier League and was also integral in qualifying T&T to the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Yorke stated during his 20 years of professional play he could only remember coming across one black person in the backroom staff, a masseuse. The veteran player dubbed the system designed to hire managers among the top leagues is unfair towards blacks and has been that way for decades.

“The system is not being fair towards black players or black people who are trying to become a manager. I’ve lived the life of understanding of being a professional footballer, you work so hard and that is in your control. But when the control is in the reverse situation, you understand why you can’t get jobs in football. It’s an injustice. When a black person has gone for any type of job they’re not seen as adequate or qualified enough, even though they have the qualifications,” he added.

When asked by talkSPORT host Laura Woods whether he sees the situation changing in football, Yorke was highly doubtful. He also distanced himself from the “playboy” stereotype given to him by the media.

Yorke admitted “enjoying himself” while in the prime of his career but affirmed he never missed training, been an alcoholic, was pictured fighting in clubs or broken curfews as a professional.

“It’s just a whole type of stereotype…No, I’m not confident of things changing. It’s just talk and gesture, this has been happening for years. I know that this happens outside of my industry as well,” he continued.

In conclusion, the TT footballing legend referred to many instances of abuse portrayed on ex-English player Sol Campbell throughout his career and also highlighted the challenges of former West Bromwich Albion coach, Darren Moore, who was sacked from the Championship club in 2019, despite being in the top four.

Yorke finished, “Give us black people an equal opportunity. You can’t even get a telephone call back when you apply for jobs. Someone told me I had to get experience once. How am I going to get experience if no-one is employing you?

“I see myself around the Championship level, but the ultimate aim is to get into the Premier League. I’m even looking as far out as South Africa at the moment because I feel like I need to go out to come back in. But yet people get fast-forwarded to jobs with no experience whatsoever. You’re going to be a bit upset when you see things like this happening.

“If someone like me with my CV as a player can’t even get a response what is out there for a lesser person who is not fortunate to be in my position?”

« Reply #387 on: June 24, 2020, 06:02:57 AM »
Dwight Yorke expresses condolences on the passing of his first personal manager, Neil Wilson
By Dwight Yorke

It brings me a great deal of sadness in having to issue this note of condolence to the family and friends of Mr Neil Wilson following his passing. Mr Wilson was my first personal manager and representative in my career as a footballer. He was a gentleman who took a a great deal of interest in me from a very tender age and I will forever be grateful for that. Like Bertille St Clair, he saw some potential in me as a young boy and he assisted me on the business side of things in my early days as a professional footballer.

Mr Wilson actually accompanied me on my first trip to Aston Villa in a time when everything in the outside world was still new to me. I was a member of the National Senior Team during the 1990 World Cup qualifying campaign and just coming off playing College football with Signal Hill SC and of course the National Under 20 team which had qualified for the Youth World Cup in Portugal. This was the dawn of a new era for me.

Mr Wilson went on to serve the country and moreso Tobago in different capacities. He had a good heart and didn’t hesitate to lend a hand where possible. Again I would like to take this opportunity to extend deepest condolences to his family. May his Soul Rest In Peace.

Below is an excerpt about Neil Wilson from my Autobiography Born to Score.

“By now one of Tobago’s most prominent businessmen, Neil Wilson, was helping to look after my interests. It was Bertille who had introduced me to him a few years earlier when, at the coach’s encouragement, he had whipped a 50 US dollar note out of his wallet to give me some pocket money for another international tournament with the Under 14s. He actually first came to see me play in that national schools final in 1987 and was bowled over. Whenever Neil asked me what I wanted from life, the answer was always the same. “To be a Professional footballer.” He had different businesses to attend to, including a travel agency and a jewellery shop, but he saw my determination and began part sponsor me, part look after my welfare.”

« Reply #388 on: June 29, 2020, 05:55:08 AM »
‘Lingard has come unstuck and should look for a move’ – Manchester United exit may be beneficial, says Yorke.
Yahoo News

Jesse Lingard has “come a little unstuck” at Manchester United, says Dwight Yorke, with the out-of-sorts playmaker told the time has come for him to “look elsewhere” in the next transfer window.

The Old Trafford academy graduate has found himself slipping down the pecking order in 2019-20. Much has been made of his lack of end product over the course of the last 18 months, with goals and assists proving to be in short supply.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has countered those creative deficiencies by drafting in Bruno Fernandes and handing more prominent roles to the likes of Marcus Rashford and Anthony Martial.

The hope is that Paul Pogba will also start to deliver the consistency expected of him, meaning that there is no place for Lingard in the bigger picture.

This not the first time that the England international has generated exit talk, but a change of scenery could now be on the cards. Lingard has already moved to bring in Mino Raiola as his agent, in what is considered another nod towards a move elsewhere, and Yorke believes a fresh start could prove beneficial to all concerned.

The former United striker told Stadium Astro on the back of seeing Lingard get a rare start against Norwich in the FA Cup quarter-finals, but last just 63 minutes: “The jury’s still out.

“We had a lot of hopes, he came through the ranks and we love that. He knows the club through and through, he loves the football club and we thought he was going to go on where Rashford is at the moment.

“He’s come a little unstuck at the moment and he has to find another gear somewhere along the line. At the moment, it’s just not happening.

“At 27 years of age, you ought to be a bit regular. If it’s not happening, maybe he has to look elsewhere. But for now, he’s still got some games and he’s still got to prove himself.

“ I think there is a little bit of a question mark over his name at the moment for sure, he’s fully aware of that, there’s no two ways about that. He knows that he’s not in the team and he needs to do more to get back in.”

Solskjaer has remained coy when quizzed on Lingard’s future of late, with the United boss neither stating his full commitment to the 27-year-old nor saying he can leave.

« Reply #389 on: July 04, 2020, 05:56:48 AM »
‘He wasn’t perfect when he played’ – Yorke hits out at ‘offensive’ Keane over De Gea rant.
Yahoo News.

Former Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke has criticised the aggressive attitude of former team-mate Roy Keane with regard to his analysis.

The ex-Republic of Ireland midfielder recently hit the headlines as he suggested that he would be “swinging punches” at Red Devils goalkeeper David de Gea after a recent error that cost his side a goal against Tottenham.

Yorke, who turned out for the Red Devils between 1998 and 2002, and was a key member of their treble winning squad of 1999, has suggested that such an attitude is the reason that Keane failed to cut it as a manager – and was one of his downfalls as a player.

“I played with him and played under him as a manager. I know what he’s like as an individual,” Yorke told The Mirror.

“You’ve just got to take it on your chin when it comes to him. He says what he likes to say. Some people buy into it, some people don’t.

“His harsh words, sometimes it’s warranted at times, but maybe the way he delivers it is how it gets under people’s skin.

“We all make mistakes. He wasn’t perfect when he played. He made mistakes along the way. He has to tone that back a little bit.

“Maybe one of the downfalls which I recognised from his management career is that the way he delivered his approach to players could be quite offensive.

“Although they needed a rollicking, there's a way of how you go about it.

“I looked at Keano in the past and sometimes it’s the way he says something which people do not take lightly and get upset by.

“De Gea knows it was a huge mistake against Tottenham. But as an ex-player, you have to be careful.

“At the end of the day, you made similar mistakes along the way. With Keano, you can only laugh when he delivers these things.

“But I dread to think if he said this kind of stuff, how players would react [today].

“That old school mentality, the Brian Clough, the Ron Atkinson, maybe even Sir Alex Ferguson at some point, you get those kinds of rollickings.

“Players of yesterday could easily dust those kinds of comments off and say: 'I’ll show you.'

“But in the modern day, things have changed. It’s the way you go about it which is important and that’s one of Keano’s problems. He doesn’t know how to deliver it.

“He was correct about De Gea making a mistake, but it was his delivery which made people sit up and think ‘wow’.”

United’s next outing is against Bournemouth on Saturday.