April 19, 2024, 11:39:29 PM

Author Topic: Paraguay taking T&T seriously  (Read 7555 times)

Paraguay taking T&T seriously
« on: March 06, 2006, 10:42:32 AM »
PARAGUAY TAKING T AND T SERIOUSLY 
source: thisisnottingham.co.uk

Paraguay's assistant manager Raul Vicente Amarilla believes it would be a mistake to underestimate World Cup rivals Trinidad & Tobago.

The Caribbean side join Paraguay, England and Sweden in group B.

"Paraguay and the other teams in World Cup Group B know we have to take care of Trinidad & Tobago. They are a good team," said Amarilla.

Amarilla was in London to see Leo Beenhakker's side beat Iceland 2-0 on Tuesday, and also watched England's 2-1 victory over Uruguay in Liverpool on Wednesday.

"I think that going to the World Cup thinking (Trinidad & Tobago) are a humble team would be an error. For me, they are a tough team and we need to take care of that," Anibal Ruiz' assistant said.

"They keep possession well and they have quite a good technique."

About England, who Paraguay will face on June 10, Amarilla said: "They have a good team spirit, they play like a team and they have lot of options.

"England played against Uruguay basically with the same squad as they will play in the World Cup."

After the clash with Sven-Goran Eriksson's team, Paraguay will confront Sweden on June 15 in Berlin and Trinidad & Tobago on June 20, in Kaiserslautern.

Re: Paraguay taking T&T seriously
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2006, 10:49:24 AM »
When you win teams will take you seriously. TNT just have to keep up the hard work...

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2006, 11:20:15 AM »
When is the last time yuh hear an opposition comment on our ability to possess the ball.  We have made great strides under Beenie's tutelage.

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2006, 11:55:39 AM »
and when u think bout the limited time he has with the full squad....... i cant wait to see the effect on d squad after the 4wks camp
« Last Edit: March 06, 2006, 12:06:24 PM by freakazoid »

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2006, 12:03:58 PM »
and when u think bout the limited time he has with the full squad....... i cant we to see the effect on d squad after the 4wks camp

for real, our possession and technique can only get better  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2006, 12:25:42 PM »
I rather if they don't take us seriously.  Better to have the element of surprise.

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2006, 12:38:42 PM »
I rather if they don't take us seriously.  Better to have the element of surprise.

Agreed...

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2006, 12:43:29 PM »
Life and death is in the power of the tougue. If we continue tos ay good things about our team good things will happen. Do u thing that when Birchall said that he would represent TNT he was being serious. But he is now, the power of words.

The fella never even came to TNT kudos to his mother for indicating that she was born here. So we must continue to be positive

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2006, 12:48:08 PM »

yeah but our warm up games are not behind closed doors every group b team scout will b there if we keep on improving our play teams will stop seeing us as push overs. Isnt that what ppl wanted 4 us 2 b taken seriously  hmmmmmmmm

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2006, 01:08:50 PM »
I rather if they don't take us seriously. Better to have the element of surprise.

True.

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2006, 01:27:01 PM »
PARAGUAY TAKING T AND T SERIOUSLY 
source: thisisnottingham.co.uk

Paraguay's assistant manager Raul Vicente Amarilla believes it would be a mistake to underestimate World Cup rivals Trinidad & Tobago.

The Caribbean side join Paraguay, England and Sweden in group B.

"Paraguay and the other teams in World Cup Group B know we have to take care of Trinidad & Tobago. They are a good team," said Amarilla.

Amarilla was in London to see Leo Beenhakker's side beat Iceland 2-0 on Tuesday, and also watched England's 2-1 victory over Uruguay in Liverpool on Wednesday.

"I think that going to the World Cup thinking (Trinidad & Tobago) are a humble team would be an error. For me, they are a tough team and we need to take care of that," Anibal Ruiz' assistant said.

"They keep possession well and they have quite a good technique."

About England, who Paraguay will face on June 10, Amarilla said: "They have a good team spirit, they play like a team and they have lot of options.

"England played against Uruguay basically with the same squad as they will play in the World Cup."

After the clash with Sven-Goran Eriksson's team, Paraguay will confront Sweden on June 15 in Berlin and Trinidad & Tobago on June 20, in Kaiserslautern.

...and so they should! >:(

« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2006, 01:41:21 PM »
I is respect for teams that he spoke in that manner. Most coaches would not jump up and say "trinidad is a weak team" (except for bruce arena of course) because they understand that football is a game of upsets. It is out of respect for the game and also the team.

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2006, 02:11:07 PM »
doh take we seriously nah?  go ahead  :devil:

I tell allyuh already in another thread that the Paraguay coach said that he is having trouble preparing for us.

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2006, 02:16:10 PM »

better start taking tnt seriously.

we earn our respect the hard way...

bless

Offline R45

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2006, 04:06:47 PM »
He's just being diplomatic, better than the Arena way.

« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2006, 04:08:15 PM »
He's just being diplomatic, better than the Arena way.

ha ent.

« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2006, 05:53:51 PM »
Trini people you really taking in paraguay bullshit about taking Trinidad and Tobago seriously.   please , paraguay don't respect Trinidad and Tobago not one bit....

« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2006, 06:01:06 PM »
Trini people you really taking in paraguay bullshit about taking Trinidad and Tobago seriously.   please , paraguay don't respect Trinidad and Tobago not one bit....

well whetherthey respect we or not at de end of the day it's 11 against 11.

Offline chunk-a-loonks

« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2006, 06:26:20 PM »
Imagine men on this board want to question Beenie tactics and ability. It is a real shame when a man take us to our first WC appearance when it looked that we have to wait for another four years and men upset with his team selectio and tactics.

Let every other team be aware and afraid of the Socawarriors under Beenie man.

« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2006, 06:30:08 PM »
Imagine men on this board want to question Beenie tactics and ability. It is a real shame when a man take us to our first WC appearance when it looked that we have to wait for another four years and men upset with his team selectio and tactics.

Let every other team be aware and afraid of the Socawarriors under Beenie man.

:applause: :applause:

« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2006, 06:36:33 PM »
In "76 no one took Crawford seriously even though he hadnt lost in a warm up or heat leading up to the final. It was all Quarrie Harvey Glance and the rest of the yankees. Its all history now.

« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2006, 06:47:48 PM »
Whey....sub..yuh alive?

Paraguay need to take all teams seriously, judging by the way I see them play yesterday. If that is dey world cup side then they have endless licks to get. Me eh know who they was playing (some club team) and the broadcast was in Spanish, but it was bad pass and disorganization all game. They look amateurish.We look plEnty more polished than them.

Paraguay, BEWARE.

« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2006, 12:35:31 PM »
Most coaches would not jump up and say "trinidad is a weak team" (except for bruce arena of course) because they understand that football is a game of upsets. It is out of respect for the game and also the team.

True!  Bruce Arena is typical American disrespect for anything non-American.  But the only way to shut him up is to beat the US and we have not done that for a while.  Ah would really like to see them play us right now.  The two wins they got in the WCQ were close 2:1 and 1:0.  We are a different team now.  Oh that we could move on and leave they tail in the group stage.

« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2006, 12:50:39 PM »
In "76 no one took Crawford seriously even though he hadnt lost in a warm up or heat leading up to the final. It was all Quarrie Harvey Glance and the rest of the yankees. Its all history now.

That is a myth that should be killed before it multiplies. Crawford had beaten every top sprinter in the world leading up to the olympics  except huston Mc Tear. The ones who did not take him seriously were his own countymen , who now spread the myth as if to justify their lack of faith in him.
T&T football team is not in the same league with the other wC teams and have little chance of getting to the final. No comparison !

« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2006, 12:59:28 PM »
FAITH is to belivev in what we do not see.....all that I have seen teaches me to have FAITH in the things to be seen.

It's not about making the finals. There will be 28 other teams not making the finals. Our objective is to give a good acount of ourselves, by drawing with England 1-1, maybe losing 1-0 Sweden, and beating paragauy 2-0.

« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2006, 01:54:49 PM »

That is a myth that should be killed before it multiplies. Crawford had beaten every top sprinter in the world leading up to the olympics  except huston Mc Tear. The ones who did not take him seriously were his own countymen , who now spread the myth as if to justify their lack of faith in him.
T&T football team is not in the same league with the other wC teams and have little chance of getting to the final. No comparison !

>:(

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2006, 02:31:00 PM »
When is the last time yuh hear an opposition comment on our ability to possess the ball.  We have made great strides under Beenie's tutelage.

Yes...I have been saying it all along...how many Dutch coaches have teams inside Germany 2006? Four! It is quite possible that Dutch caoches have a formula.  Beenie's formula worked wonders for the SocaWarriors...Warriors are people who are relentless, driven, fall dong, get up, fight...if you are not relentless and prepared to give up some comforts then it does not make sense.  I am another man from Grande...and we all know what it is tuh survive...tuh fall dong and get up again after people treat yuh like bobolee...yuh cyar worry about dat yuh just have tuh make ends meet and win!

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2006, 02:38:54 PM »

Naj...it doh matter if dey eh we respect we...what matters is the drive tuh win...nothing succeeds like success.  Just as Mexico...we all were saying, boy dem Mex and dem hard tuh beat, why, because dey eating more Tacos?...and we still beat dem?  Is people playing against people...dem Paraguayans eating better food than the SocaWarriors...dey have more skills?  Football is more psychological than anything else...Learn the lesson from the poem: The Mountain and The Squirrel...the squirrel could climb the mountain buh the mountain cyar climb the squirrel... Wuh is the difference between a fly and ah mosquito? :)