April 27, 2024, 02:41:41 PM

Author Topic: Steups Thread.  (Read 16036 times)

Offline Redditch Valiant

Steups Thread.
« on: November 15, 2005, 12:09:56 PM »
Hey guys! As a non-Trini, I've noticed the word "Steups" comes up a lot in your postings. I was wondering - what does it mean and how is it pronounced?

Thanks!  ;D

(I assume it means something like "For f**** sake"............... )

« Last Edit: January 24, 2015, 05:30:46 AM by Flex »
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

Re: STEUPS!!
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2005, 12:11:39 PM »
you have to put your mouth like you are about to kiss but a little to the left and suck in some air and poof

there you have it the longer the stupes the more the frustration

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2005, 12:13:32 PM »

Thanks Morvant! I've just tried and I think I probably look REALLY dumb!!  :rotfl:
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2005, 12:15:39 PM »
Yow steups......is kissing your teeth.........You mouth closed and is like u wah kiss u teeth.......that is a Steups or Cheups

« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2005, 12:16:09 PM »
Hey guys! As a non-Trini, I've noticed the word "Steups" comes up a lot in your postings. I was wondering - what does it mean and how is it pronounced?

Thanks!  ;D

Your translation is absolutely correct!

« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2005, 12:16:23 PM »
yuh have to clench yuh teeth and try it again

step1: do a kiss

step2: turn it slightly left

step3: open your mouth a little

step4: suck in that air and think frustration

Offline trinibug

« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2005, 12:16:29 PM »
you have to put your mouth like you are about to kiss but a little to the left and suck in some air and poof

It depend on if yuh right-steupted of left-steupted..
Must rhyme with an O

« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2005, 12:18:15 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Allyuh men does talk real shit.... ;D
« Last Edit: November 19, 2005, 01:15:35 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2005, 12:19:50 PM »
a steups or chups is sucking your teeth

it could have many meanings but mostly it is to display disgust

now if yuh steups at yuh parents it is a sign of disrespect usually responded with a back hand slap

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2005, 12:21:17 PM »
a steups or chups is sucking your teeth

it could have many meanings but mostly it is to display disgust

now if yuh steups at yuh parents it is a sign of disrespect usually responded with a back hand slap

Yes ... steupsing is sucking your teeth.

doh do like me and suck yuh teeth if yuh eh brush it in 4 days ... especially if the last ting yuh drink was some puncheon and cold water.
Yuh might poison yuhself.

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2005, 12:22:22 PM »
wait nah men right stuped too???

« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2005, 12:25:45 PM »

yeah boy
I is ah right steups man

I remember when I was younger I use to real steups and buss one on meh mother when she tell meh something
boy I get the cutarse of meh life

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2005, 12:27:25 PM »

Thanks!  ;D

actually mor like 'Kiss My Ass'

Offline watch de ride

« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2005, 12:29:17 PM »
I tend to favour de right-side steups! It just sweeter!!

Watch de Ride!!!

« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2005, 12:41:46 PM »

:rotfl: I'se ah leftie.

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2005, 12:48:58 PM »

quote author=morvantman link=topic=6978.msg58198#msg58198 date=1132078942]

I had to go to de bathroom and check. I think I "straight-steupted" oui.
 :rotfl:[
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2005, 03:09:08 PM »
AH STEUPS FROM AH WOMAN'S POINT OF VIEW.

Now ah read all ah allyuh version of what ah steups is and how it is done.

Now hear de real deal here.  First off: puckerup ya lips and suck in, it does sound better and louder when ya have space between ya teeeeth...datz all
If you ain't have teeeeth, well ah guess ya have a little problem, just show dem ya middle finger.

Secondly it have different kinda steups 1 for men and 1 for women
When ah woman steups after ah man give she some shit talk, she mean "hull ya ass ya talking shit"
When ah woman steups after some gyul give she some shit talk, she mean "yes gyul, dem men talking ah pack ah shit"

is town say so  :beermug: :-*

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2005, 03:20:43 PM »
According to the Canadians on the board like Triniman the word they use is "STEEPS".   I think it must be French for "Steups" so when you kissing teeth it probably involves a little tounge action as well

« Reply #18 on: November 15, 2005, 03:42:41 PM »
According to the Canadians on the board like Triniman the word they use is "STEEPS". I think it must be French for "Steups" so when you kissing teeth it probably involves a little tounge action as well

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

STUPES (verb) pronounciation : ste-you-ps
Past Tense : Stupesed

An Action displaying Dis-satisfaction with some annoying factor.  This action is created my sucking air into the airways between one's clenched jaws. You can be Left Stupesed, Right Stupesed or Ambidextrously stupesed..

SENTENCE CONSTRUCTION

e.g. 1. TriniCana Stupesed at SHOTTA for Suuuting(see page 44) her
e.g. 2. SHOTTA Stupesed at TriniCana in annoyance as she did not Pay any Attention to him
e.g. 3. The Waggonist(see page 1) was stupsing at the way Diehards were Lambasing his backside with cuss(see page 100)
e.g. 4. Cowen Let out an Extreemly angry Stupes at the way his Forum Account was misused..

« Last Edit: November 15, 2005, 03:44:21 PM by oconnorg »

« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2005, 03:52:45 PM »
AH STEUPS FROM AH WOMAN'S POINT OF VIEW.

Now ah read all ah allyuh version of what ah steups is and how it is done.

Now hear de real deal here.  First off: puckerup ya lips and suck in, it does sound better and louder when ya have space between ya teeeeth...datz all
If you ain't have teeeeth, well ah guess ya have a little problem, just show dem ya middle finger.

Secondly it have different kinda steups 1 for men and 1 for women
When ah woman steups after ah man give she some shit talk, she mean "hull ya ass ya talking shit"
When ah woman steups after some gyul give she some shit talk, she mean "yes gyul, dem men talking ah pack ah shit"

is town say so  :beermug: :-*

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:@ "If yuh'n have no teeth..."

« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2005, 03:53:52 PM »
According to the Canadians on the board like Triniman the word they use is "STEEPS". I think it must be French for "Steups" so when you kissing teeth it probably involves a little tounge action as well

An Action displaying Dis-satisfaction with some annoying factor.  This action is created my sucking air into the airways between one's clenched jaws. You can be Left Stupesed, Right Stupesed or Ambidextrously stupesed..

SENTENCE CONSTRUCTION

e.g. 2. SHOTTA Stupesed at TriniCana in annoyance as she did not Pay any Attention to him
e.g. 3. The Waggonist(see page 1) was stupsing at the way Diehards were Lambasing his backside with cuss(see page 100)
e.g. 4. Cowen Let out an Extreemly angry Stupes at the way his Forum Account was misused..

« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2005, 03:56:24 PM »

Thanks!  ;D

actually mor like 'Kiss My Ass'

YES that is what my grandmother tell me it mean and that is what the teacher tell me in primary school after she cut meh arse fuh giving she ah big stueps in front the whole class.   ;D  so it means "KISS MY ASS"

« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2005, 04:00:58 PM »
hmp  ::)

« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2005, 05:34:16 PM »

Thanks!  ;D

This is not so much a word as it is a sound that we make with our mouths to show disgust.It's usually in response to something you find sillor idiotic.  It is very impolite to do so as a child to an adult as you can get slapped in the face as I was when I did that in first form to my Spanish teacher(will never forget that one). It's actually something that came along with us from the Motherland so many years ago.

« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2005, 05:35:16 PM »

Thanks!  ;D

it doesn't mean that

« Reply #25 on: November 15, 2005, 05:42:35 PM »

SENTENCE CONSTRUCTION

I'm a ambi-dexterous steupser.......depending on where the person that I am steupsin at is positioned.

eg: If the person is on my right shoulder, I steups through the left corner of my mouth while tilting my head to the left and hittin' him a cut-eye  with my right eye.....the opposite holds for if he/she is on my left shoulder

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2005, 05:46:52 PM »
My primary(about 1995) school teacher told me that meant "KISS MY ARSE".
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2005, 05:52:19 PM »
My primary(about 1995) school teacher told me that meant "KISS MY ARSE".

Yeah, that's probably a legit definition. Definitely not something one wants to do in response to something said by ones parents.

« Reply #28 on: November 15, 2005, 05:53:37 PM »
So called veterans does be complaning bout the condition of the board but they involved in the folly too.

« Reply #29 on: November 15, 2005, 06:01:37 PM »
So called veterans does be complaning bout the condition of the board but they involved in the folly too.

stueeeeeepppppssss! ;D