April 23, 2024, 01:03:06 PM

Author Topic: Best free kicks thread  (Read 23399 times)

Re: The Joy of Six: Cracking Free Kicks
« Reply #30 on: October 13, 2007, 07:35:23 AM »
i n look at the kicks yet eh but if roberto carlos  free kick against france not  there ah  go have 2 question d judges

seems like freekicks from ah particular era
« Last Edit: October 13, 2007, 07:45:33 AM by freakazoid »

« Reply #31 on: October 13, 2007, 07:59:58 AM »
I eh seeing Rivelino free kick here when yuh click on de link it giving yuh Cubillas free kick again ??? ???.

« Reply #32 on: October 13, 2007, 08:44:10 AM »
I eh seeing Rivelino free kick here when yuh click on de link it giving yuh Cubillas free kick again ??? ???.

Fixed link.

« Reply #33 on: October 13, 2007, 08:46:08 AM »
Thought Seaman could have had Gazza's but like he didn't see it til late....amazing strike nevertheless.

Le Tissier's reminds me of this goal- equally brilliant if not more...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1YihynMl5Y

Garrincha's reminded of Eder's in this game- only it went in directly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npfusAkl8KY&mode=related&search=

More extended link here for the Brazil 1982 fans

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrZ6LVS5CuQ&mode=related&search=

Rivelino's was some serious precision- 9 out of 10 times he may have hit the wall....

Don't remember if we remember to put Chilavert in the "best left foot" thread a few months ago....

And Cubillas- well he was just de boss.....

Thanks for the clips J'

« Last Edit: October 13, 2007, 09:02:29 AM by kicker »

« Reply #34 on: October 13, 2007, 02:14:12 PM »
The Joy of Six: cracking free-kicks

From the Guardian Online

Le Tiss

Cubillas

Rivellino
(very Impressive feat)

Chilavert

Garrincha

Gazza

I know every time someone posts any kind of list, everyone goes "but what about [insert name] ??".....but under all seriousness, dis list hafta include Roberto Carlos...dat kick against France defined his whole career.

Best free kicks thread
« Reply #35 on: January 31, 2008, 03:02:16 PM »
« Last Edit: January 31, 2008, 03:49:40 PM by triniairman »

Online Peong

Re: post the best free kicks you ever seen thread
« Reply #36 on: January 31, 2008, 03:05:26 PM »
Mihajlovic in 90-91 for Red Star Belgrade.
Sorry, I never found the vid anywhere but it was a beaut.

« Reply #37 on: January 31, 2008, 03:07:27 PM »
Marcelinho Carioca scored several classic ones for corinthians.

« Reply #38 on: January 31, 2008, 03:19:06 PM »
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=HXEpJluS0yM&feature=related

Koeman freekick againt Sampadoria 92'

The keeper had that area covered and Koeman beat him on sheer power...

world cup free kicks...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=MyImRS_-iMc
« Last Edit: January 31, 2008, 03:30:42 PM by forever trini »

Re: Best free kicks thread
« Reply #39 on: January 31, 2008, 04:06:23 PM »
Probably not the best technically, but these are my favourites  :beermug:

Argentina v England WC '98  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06AkZvjgxU

Ian St. John Callaghan for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4y1Xlow2os&feature=related

Gary MacCallister v Everton  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUlejyLFTcM&feature=related

The legend that is Hristo Stoichkov  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJAFN5gYNZc&feature=related

« Last Edit: February 01, 2008, 06:02:19 AM by boss »

« Reply #40 on: January 31, 2008, 05:46:38 PM »
The best I have seen locally is Zebida of Suriname hitting one against TT in the Oval. Carter did not not move.

« Reply #41 on: January 31, 2008, 06:06:15 PM »
Probably not the best technically, but these are my favourites  :beermug:

Argentina v England WC '98  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06AkZvjgxU

Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965  :beermug:

Gary MacCallister v Everton  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUlejyLFTcM&feature=related

The legend that is Hristo Stoichkov  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJAFN5gYNZc&feature=related

I liked this one Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965 

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #42 on: January 31, 2008, 11:22:06 PM »
what about Leonardo in de 94' world cup to win it against holland.... dat was ah boom shot

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #43 on: January 31, 2008, 11:31:15 PM »
it was branco ah was talkin bout <object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/n4QkyWrNjJQ&rel=1"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/n4QkyWrNjJQ&rel=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
what about Leonardo in de 94' world cup to win it against holland.... dat was ah boom shot

« Reply #44 on: February 01, 2008, 06:08:20 AM »
I liked this one Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965 

My mistake; It was Ian Callaghan

« Reply #45 on: May 20, 2008, 02:43:44 PM »
Didn't want to start a whole new thread for this, but nice read...

Pirlo will be setting the pace for Italy at Euro 2008

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8152032/Pirlo-will-be-setting-the-pace-for-Italy-at-Euro-2008

ROME (AP) - Andrea Pirlo is the quiet man at the heart of Italy's midfield.

Described as "soccer's Leonardo" for his inventive play, Pirlo has also been called "the metronome" for the way he sets his team's timing and pace.
With Francesco Totti now retired from international play, Pirlo is more important than ever for the Azzurri. You wouldn't know it by talking to him.

Pirlo is one of the most understated, introverted players at the sport's highest level. Just getting a smile out of him takes effort.

"That's how I am. I'm not interested in becoming famous," he said recently. "I prefer to spend my free time with my family rather than commercializing myself.

"I do what is necessary, and then I keep my free time - which isn't much - to myself."

Labeled a prodigy when he made his Serie A debut with his native Brescia at 16, Pirlo struggled to meet expectations when he moved to Inter Milan in 1998. He scored 15 goals in 37 games with Italy's under-21 team, but didn't really develop into a top player until he moved across town to AC Milan in 2001.

Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti had the foresight to move Pirlo from a pure playmaker into a deeper director's role centered just in front of the defense.

Not yet 30, Pirlo is in the middle of his prime. He's already made 45 appearances for Italy, with seven goals.

Pirlo has also developed into one of the game's top free kick specialists, scoring twice from dead-ball situations in a World Cup qualifier with Scotland in 2005.

Two of Pirlo's three goals in Serie A this season came on free kicks, with the other a penalty. In the Champions League, he scored twice: one free kick and one long-range effort during regular play.

Teammates gather to watch Pirlo practice free kicks in training.

"I try to explain it to (Antonio) Di Natale and (Fabio) Quagliarella," Pirlo said, referring to the two Azzurri wingers. "Sometimes even (Vincenzo) Iaquinta. With Milan, (Clarence) Seedorf tries to copy me."

Kaka is another student of Pirlo's.

"He tries, but I told him copying isn't easy," Pirlo said. "I mean, he's already taken my place as the penalty kicker. That's enough, isn't it?"

Pirlo is a keen observer of Lyon midfielder Juninho.

"Juninho used the inside of his foot more than I do. I studied and developed my own style," Pirlo said. "Everything has to be under control. The movement of the leg is fundamental. I kick with the inner part of my foot, but with the point, and I try to get under the ball as much as possible to make it change direction."

While Zinedine Zidane's head butt into Marco Materazzi is most people's lasting memory of the World Cup final, few remember which player was voted the Man of the Match - Pirlo.

Pirlo's perfectly placed corner kick set up Materazzi's equalizing goal, and he converted the first penalty of the shootout that Italy won to secure its fourth world title.

In all, Pirlo earned Man of the Match in three out of Italy's seven matches at the 2006 World Cup. He also scored Italy's first goal in the opener against Ghana, and his assist to Fabio Grosso in extra time of the semifinal win over Germany was perhaps the best pass of the tournament.

"He's an authentic Brazilian," Brazil native and Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari said. "He has the personality and inventiveness of a playmaker, and he sacrifices himself for the good of the team."

Carlos Alberto Parreira, who coached Brazil to 1994 World Cup title, added, "It's as if Zico were put in front of the defense to create for his teammates."

« Reply #46 on: May 20, 2008, 02:55:50 PM »
The best I have seen locally is Zebida of Suriname hitting one against TT in the Oval. Carter did not not move.

yeah boy. T&T had about 9 man in the wall too. What a freekick!

i like some of Sweden's freekicks in 94

youtube Juninho he sick on the dead ball.

Zico against Scotland 82

As a matter of fact is so many I give up

« Reply #47 on: May 20, 2008, 03:21:16 PM »
Didn't want to start a whole new thread for this, but nice read...

Pirlo will be setting the pace for Italy at Euro 2008

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8152032/Pirlo-will-be-setting-the-pace-for-Italy-at-Euro-2008

ROME (AP) - Andrea Pirlo is the quiet man at the heart of Italy's midfield.

Described as "soccer's Leonardo" for his inventive play, Pirlo has also been called "the metronome" for the way he sets his team's timing and pace.
With Francesco Totti now retired from international play, Pirlo is more important than ever for the Azzurri. You wouldn't know it by talking to him.

Pirlo is one of the most understated, introverted players at the sport's highest level. Just getting a smile out of him takes effort.

"That's how I am. I'm not interested in becoming famous," he said recently. "I prefer to spend my free time with my family rather than commercializing myself.

"I do what is necessary, and then I keep my free time - which isn't much - to myself."

Labeled a prodigy when he made his Serie A debut with his native Brescia at 16, Pirlo struggled to meet expectations when he moved to Inter Milan in 1998. He scored 15 goals in 37 games with Italy's under-21 team, but didn't really develop into a top player until he moved across town to AC Milan in 2001.

Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti had the foresight to move Pirlo from a pure playmaker into a deeper director's role centered just in front of the defense.

Not yet 30, Pirlo is in the middle of his prime. He's already made 45 appearances for Italy, with seven goals.

Pirlo has also developed into one of the game's top free kick specialists, scoring twice from dead-ball situations in a World Cup qualifier with Scotland in 2005.

Two of Pirlo's three goals in Serie A this season came on free kicks, with the other a penalty. In the Champions League, he scored twice: one free kick and one long-range effort during regular play.

Teammates gather to watch Pirlo practice free kicks in training.

"I try to explain it to (Antonio) Di Natale and (Fabio) Quagliarella," Pirlo said, referring to the two Azzurri wingers. "Sometimes even (Vincenzo) Iaquinta. With Milan, (Clarence) Seedorf tries to copy me."

Kaka is another student of Pirlo's.

"He tries, but I told him copying isn't easy," Pirlo said. "I mean, he's already taken my place as the penalty kicker. That's enough, isn't it?"

Pirlo is a keen observer of Lyon midfielder Juninho.

"Juninho used the inside of his foot more than I do. I studied and developed my own style," Pirlo said. "Everything has to be under control. The movement of the leg is fundamental. I kick with the inner part of my foot, but with the point, and I try to get under the ball as much as possible to make it change direction."

While Zinedine Zidane's head butt into Marco Materazzi is most people's lasting memory of the World Cup final, few remember which player was voted the Man of the Match - Pirlo.

Pirlo's perfectly placed corner kick set up Materazzi's equalizing goal, and he converted the first penalty of the shootout that Italy won to secure its fourth world title.

In all, Pirlo earned Man of the Match in three out of Italy's seven matches at the 2006 World Cup. He also scored Italy's first goal in the opener against Ghana, and his assist to Fabio Grosso in extra time of the semifinal win over Germany was perhaps the best pass of the tournament.

"He's an authentic Brazilian," Brazil native and Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari said. "He has the personality and inventiveness of a playmaker, and he sacrifices himself for the good of the team."

Carlos Alberto Parreira, who coached Brazil to 1994 World Cup title, added, "It's as if Zico were put in front of the defense to create for his teammates."

Absolutely! And dahs why he is one of less than a handful of players to feature in my signature.

Many times when I watch Milan play I try to observe where he is relative to the ball. Sometimes it's baffling because he appears to be doing nothing at all ... that's not this thread.

Good post.

« Reply #48 on: May 20, 2008, 05:47:35 PM »
watch Juninho make this ball move twice, maybe three times. Incredible! Nah! Impossible!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=mX0y1kumtss

« Reply #49 on: May 20, 2008, 06:26:45 PM »
Roberto Carlos "curve around de wall" bullet against France.

That was just amazing!!

« Reply #50 on: May 20, 2008, 07:06:35 PM »

Absolutely! And dahs why he is one of less than a handful of players to feature in my signature.

Many times when I watch Milan play I try to observe where he is relative to the ball. Sometimes it's baffling because he appears to be doing nothing at all ... that's not this thread.

Good post.

Yeah boy Andre, I know this is not the thread for it eh.. But i just didnt want to start a whole new thread as i was thinking woulda be kinda selfish nuh.. not everybody like Italy like me..

But Pirlo boy..

I bought the Italy v Germany 2006 world cup DVD just because of his performance.

That was one of the most complete and flawless midfield performances I have ever witnessed.

Is like the words "man on!" mean nothing to him at all, de man dont ever look like he under pressure even if 3 men rushing him at the top of his own 18.

PS: observer that was a wicked juninho free kick!

Top 5 Free Kick Goals
« Reply #51 on: December 27, 2008, 02:44:11 AM »
« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 03:05:42 AM by palos »

Re: Top 5 Free Kick Goals
« Reply #52 on: December 27, 2008, 05:21:05 PM »
Not ah Becks, Spann or what about the Ballack free kick?

Ballack

What about these?

Becks

Spann
« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 05:40:24 PM by elan »

« Reply #53 on: December 27, 2008, 08:42:51 PM »
# 1and 2is the bestist

« Reply #54 on: December 27, 2008, 10:12:32 PM »
Not ah Becks, Spann or what about the Ballack free kick?

Ballack

What about these?

Becks

Spann
them thing legal .......esp. the penalty one nah .

« Reply #55 on: December 27, 2008, 10:17:26 PM »
FREE KICKS

I loved that freekick by Ronaldinho against England. And Carlos against France
 One of the best I ever saw was this one, the ball moved three ways in the air

http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=mX0y1kumtss

« Reply #56 on: December 27, 2008, 11:30:25 PM »
carlos freekick was dread,barthez eh move one inch.

Great Free kick ........
« Reply #57 on: February 05, 2010, 09:00:55 AM »
Never saw this one before

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wjq2xT-tx38" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wjq2xT-tx38</a>
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 09:07:00 AM by Tallman »

Offline Eldo man

Re: Great Free kick ........
« Reply #58 on: February 05, 2010, 09:52:28 AM »
Never saw this one before

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wjq2xT-tx38" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wjq2xT-tx38</a>
:applause: wey say...

« Reply #59 on: February 05, 2010, 09:58:55 AM »
HOLY CRUD :o