March 28, 2024, 09:22:21 AM

Author Topic: What is the name of this club?  (Read 4425 times)

What is the name of this club?
« on: July 16, 2013, 01:41:03 PM »
It is the richest football club on its continent

It has its own fleet of aeroplanes

It has a brand new stadium named after it

It is my new favorite team

and its "mascot" is a bird of ill-repute in Trinidad and Tobago(seriously)

What is the full name of this club (and what is the name of the "mascot" for extra points)?? :laugh:
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 02:31:26 PM by Pointman »

Re: What is the name of this club?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 12:32:01 PM »
Ah taking a guess.

Flamengo of Brazil.

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2013, 06:21:08 PM »
Ah taking a guess.

Flamengo of Brazil.

VB, sorry dread, wrong team, wrong continent, and the Flamengo has a pretty decent reputation in TnT...

hint...think of bad or sometimes insulting bird references in TnT dialect/speech.

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2013, 06:22:40 PM »
Tallman whappen??? like ah stomp yuh or what?? ;D

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2013, 04:29:14 AM »
Ah taking a guess.

Flamengo of Brazil.

VB, sorry dread, wrong team, wrong continent, and the Flamengo has a pretty decent reputation in TnT...

hint...think of bad or sometimes insulting bird references in TnT dialect/speech.

Boss the nickname for Flamengo is 'the vulture,' which I believe in TT we call a corbeaux.

The Urubu (vulture) nickname comes from a match in the 1960s, when a fan brought a live vulture to the stadium, and released it onto the field moments before the game began. The event was popularized in a newspaper cartoon soon after. In the 1940s, Flamengo were the first club to have a live band playing during matches, a tradition which quickly spread throughout the country. Gávea is the Rio neighborhood where the stadium is located and the club is based. Most big matches are played in the Maracana Stadium.

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2013, 09:28:09 AM »
Ah taking a guess.

Flamengo of Brazil.

Boss the nickname for Flamengo is 'the vulture,' which I believe in TT we call a corbeaux.

The Urubu (vulture) nickname comes from a match in the 1960s, when a fan brought a live vulture to the stadium, and released it onto the field moments before the game began. The event was popularized in a newspaper cartoon soon after. In the 1940s, Flamengo were the first club to have a live band playing during matches, a tradition which quickly spread throughout the country. Gávea is the Rio neighborhood where the stadium is located and the club is based. Most big matches are played in the Maracana Stadium.

You are definitely on the right track here... still wrong continent though

BTW...how they go equate ah flamengo with ah corbeau in Brazil?? I doh understand that one.

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2013, 10:35:15 AM »
Ah taking a guess.

Flamengo of Brazil.

You are definitely on the right track here... still wrong continent though

BTW...how they go equate ah flamengo with ah corbeau in Brazil?? I doh understand that one.

I completely agree with you but I only go with what I read.  ;D

« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2013, 10:39:16 AM »
Real Madrid.

« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2013, 11:04:47 AM »
Real Madrid.

Sorry...still wrong continent. Yuh hadda do some research boss  :laugh:

« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2013, 12:48:13 PM »
WTF!!!!????

Two of the biggest clubs in history with a corbeaux as dey emblem and I wrong.

I'll be back.  ;D

« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2013, 01:39:02 PM »
Boss, I buss on dis one  ;D

I find all kinda vulture club but not one that matches your description. Thought it might be African but I buss dey too. ;-)

« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2013, 01:43:23 PM »
I trying a ting again United FC of South Africa.  ;D

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2013, 01:50:58 PM »
Al-Somethingorotherdadda from Saudi Arabia

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2013, 07:25:12 PM »
I'll take a wild guess an say "Al Ahly SC" of Egypt. 
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2013, 11:15:10 PM »
I'm surprise Tallest eh weigh in on this one. Calling Tallest!!!

Anyway, VB and outsideman on the right continent now...Africa. Not a South African (nor Egyptian) club though.

If Tallest eh weigh in by tomorrow and/or nobody eh guess it, I'll reveal the club...

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2013, 01:32:22 AM »
Pointman, I think I know which club it is, breda:

It's called "Tout Puissant Mazembe", located in the Congo.  Although their crest features a crocodile, their real mascot is a raven...and their nickname is 'Les Corbeaux'. 

Tell meh ah wrong...hahahahaha   :beermug:
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

Offline jingleheimer_Schmidt

« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2013, 08:21:09 AM »
Pointman give it away by saying the continent is africa

« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2013, 10:28:15 AM »
It has to be Les Diables Oiseaux aka San Juan Jabloteh!!!!! I is ah friggin genie-arse!!!

Offline jingleheimer_Schmidt

« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2013, 10:42:19 AM »
Lol
the continent of Trinidad and tobago FTW!   :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2013, 01:22:21 PM »

It's called "Tout Puissant Mazembe", located in the Congo.  Although their crest features a crocodile, their real mascot is a raven...and their nickname is 'Les Corbeaux'. 

WE HAVE A WINNER!!

INDEED the club is in fact Tout Puissant Mazembe( The Almighty Mazembe) whose mascot is Les Corbeaux which actually means "ravens" and not vulture as we in TnT use the word.

Well done Outsideman!! :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: July 21, 2013, 01:26:06 PM by Pointman »

« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2013, 01:25:34 PM »
VB I thought for sure you would have guess this one.
Tallest eh even weigh in, like this one was too easy for him or what?  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2013, 01:50:27 PM »
Tallest eh even weigh in, like this one was too easy for him or what?  :beermug: :beermug:

It never occurred to me to google the word corbeaux.  ;D

The amount of clubs I find with the name vulture.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2013, 10:37:32 PM »

It never occurred to me to google the word corbeaux;D

The amount of clubs I find with the name vulture.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

:rotfl: you self

Offline OutsideMan

• SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2013, 12:16:37 PM »

WE HAVE A WINNER!!

INDEED the club is in fact Tout Puissant Mazembe( The Almighty Mazembe) whose mascot is Les Corbeaux which actually means "ravens" and not vulture as we in TnT use the word.

Well done Outsideman!! :beermug: :beermug:

:beermug:  ;D