March 28, 2024, 06:54:47 AM

Author Topic: Which player scored the first goal in the national stadium ?  (Read 13828 times)

Which player scored the first goal in the national stadium ?
« on: March 09, 2006, 07:06:54 PM »
I asked this question already but nobody responded but in the light of all kinda facts about de world Cup how come no answer yet ?

Re: Which player scored the first goal in the national stadium ?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2006, 07:17:31 PM »
Nixon? no idea really good question i think it was built in the early 1980's... could be wrong.

hope not...

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006, 07:21:26 PM »
doh worry, tallman go answer dat jus now  ;D

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2006, 07:26:53 PM »
I say Leroy Spann.... Doh asl mih against who or what was de score, is just a guess ;D

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2006, 08:35:11 PM »
Maybe.....      Leroy Spann.. penalty agains Haiti, T&t win 1-0...

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2006, 09:12:10 PM »
Hardest!  Ask TI if that ent true?

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2006, 09:18:32 PM »
Maybe..... Leroy Spann.. penalty agains Haiti, T&t win 1-0...

College...ah tink dah game played in Sando...ah could be wrong though
In Everything, Give Thanks

« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2006, 09:27:06 PM »
Maybe..... Leroy Spann.. penalty agains Haiti, T&t win 1-0...

College...ah tink dah game played in Sando...ah could be wrong though
Yes, dat game was played in Skinner Park.

Offline ChipChipSilver

• 'Let the Good Times Roll'
  • Do you feel like working today?
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2006, 09:28:57 PM »
Thanks for confirming Tallman.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
In Everything, Give Thanks

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2006, 10:02:18 PM »
This is a guess, based on some sketchy memory but I think to open the National Stadium a T&T squad played a Brazilian club side in the early eighties (Flamingoes).

The Brazilians won 2-1 or 3-1, and their team included the great Zico and Junior. I think Zico was first to score in the stadium and the first trini to score was Lerrick "Lobo" Joseph.

I can be wrong, if I am, I stand corrected.

« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2006, 10:33:58 PM »
I wasn't alive so i ain't know

« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2006, 02:39:23 AM »
I'm just juggleing my memory here,i know for sure DF was used to test it before it was opened,and we played one of those Champions of Campions games there to open it,can't remember against who, the scores etc Flamingoes played there long after that,i don't think anyone played there before us.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2006, 09:55:26 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2006, 05:53:54 AM »
I wasn't alive so i ain't know

yea neida was I.

« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2006, 05:58:24 AM »
I'm just juggleing my memory here,i know for sure DF was use to test it before it was opened,and we played one of those Champions of Campions games there to open it,can't remember against who, the scores etc Flamingoes played there long after that,i don't think anyone played there before us.

Wimpey build de stadium, ah sure dey woulda have some a**hole game like electrician who cyar wire against big tief masons before DF get ah chance.

« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2006, 10:15:41 AM »
I'm just juggleing my memory here,i know for sure DF was used to test it before it was opened,and we played one of those Champions of Campions games there to open it,can't remember against who, the scores etc Flamingoes played there long after that,i don't think anyone played there before us.

The hint ..... the guy who scored it can be found in the savannah on most saturdays playing with CBS ?????
It is an important fact that should really be on everyone's lips dont you think ?  He is also a very famous footballer in our history. That's another hint .... I also know that you played with him COOPs
« Last Edit: March 10, 2006, 10:29:45 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2006, 10:16:33 AM »
This is a guess, based on some sketchy memory but I think to open the National Stadium a T&T squad played a Brazilian club side in the early eighties (Flamingoes).

The Brazilians won 2-1 or 3-1, and their team included the great Zico and Junior. I think Zico was first to score in the stadium and the first trini to score was Lerrick "Lobo" Joseph.

I can be wrong, if I am, I stand corrected.

You stand corrected !

« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2006, 10:25:20 AM »
The hint ..... the guy who scored it can be found in the savannah on most saturdays playing with CBS ?????
It is an important fact that should really be on everyone's lps dont you think ?  He is also a very famous footballer in our hstory. That's another hint .... I also now that you played with him COOPs

CBS?? Cyah Be Serious? ha ha ha my neighbour does play for them and in fact I play with them in 1998 for ah lil while... I know Ron LaForest does play with them or at least used to... so he is my guess!

jai john come and tell meh if ah wrong or not fast nah
« Last Edit: March 10, 2006, 10:35:33 AM by FF »

« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2006, 10:51:04 AM »
spanner George  ;D

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2006, 11:28:08 AM »
actually it was me. well I vaguely remember it but ah go try and tell allyuh fellas how it happen.

One sunny day, me, Riverdog, cacax and Tank (short for Tancabean Head) was playing some small goal right outside the Jean Pierre Complex.
Riverdog take a shot and de dam ball just float over de fence into the Stadium. De ball was light, it was a size 4. After quickly scaling the Stadium fence and squeazing myself through the closed Iron bars I get onto the field in order to retrieve my ball. As I was about to leave to get back to my game I saw  a contractor putting up the goalpost and netting in the stadium. I immediately picked up my ball and figure well a ball, an empty goal why not? The contractor told me ah musbe crazy if I think I can kick that ball into that net. I cooly told Mr. contractor that Jack Warner is meh daddy so he could put down his cutlass giving me just enough time to slot it  home in the low left corner. As de contractor saw this he flew into action but because I hit it low he couldn't touch it. I said to him "yuh is an Imps or wha" That contractor turned out to be Clayton Ince  and he has been goal-keeping ever since. Guess I kinda discovered him. Needless to say I was the first Trini to score in the National Stadium.   True True..

What today is...  Is today April 1st?

« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2006, 06:42:19 PM »
jai john... or anybody else... wha is de answer here?

First goal
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2006, 08:59:07 PM »
Who scored the first official goal in the national stadium ?

« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2007, 09:20:34 AM »
Nobody answer this yet.

The first goal I remember was when ASL play Flamenco.

"Lobo" joseph score first, b4 Flam bounce back to win 3-1.

But there had to be a game b4 dat. Because dat game was about 6 months after the stadium open.

« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2007, 12:47:53 PM »
I waiting for the answer myself. I like ff answer since I see La Forest in the savannah regularly.

« Reply #23 on: March 29, 2007, 09:14:34 AM »
Ok from what I remember the National Stadium opened in the 82 or 83 so Leroy Spann, the brazil game, and haiti game would not apply.

I remember my brother and I storming the stadium in 84 to watch a game, can't remember who it was though.

My earliest memory of anyone scoring would have to be from the under 16 tournament (1983)when we fielded one of the best National teams consisting of Latas, Rocke, Marcelle, Marvin Fausitn. AHH those were the days of exciting ball

« Reply #24 on: July 03, 2007, 03:30:58 PM »
When will we ever get the actual answer to this question?

« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2007, 11:31:15 AM »
welllllllll

« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2007, 11:34:09 AM »
that have to be one of dem men reminiscing in de intercol highlights thread...

;D ;D

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2007, 04:56:07 PM »
 :waiting: any day now jai

« Reply #28 on: April 08, 2008, 06:11:29 PM »
Still waiting for the answer.

« Reply #29 on: April 08, 2008, 06:40:30 PM »
Still waiting for the answer.

Ah tink jai john did say it was Ron La Forest.