April 24, 2024, 01:32:01 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad just get indirectly dissed on Fox football Friday......  (Read 5528 times)

They were criticizing the fairness of the FIFA ranking system and an example of unfairness that they gave was:

"USA gets the same amount of points for a victory over Trinidad & Tobago, as England gets for a victory against Argentina"..........

Of course they make a valid point, but geez, but it hurt meh a little that they use us as the example.......

Re: Trinidad just get indirectly dissed on Fox football Friday......
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2006, 08:56:48 PM »
Don't worry T&T will the same amount of points for victory over England at the World Cup.

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2006, 09:07:21 PM »
They were criticizing the fairness of the FIFA ranking system and an example of unfairness that they gave was:

"USA gets the same amount of points for a victory over Trinidad & Tobago, as England gets for a victory against Argentina"..........

Of course they make a valid point, but geez, but it hurt meh a little that they use us as the example.......

hey... yea those are the two idiots that said arsenal would get a 1-0 against fulham the other day....

it turned out to be 4-0 to Arsenal.

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2006, 09:10:33 PM »
Yeah I say that and say the same damn thing.  With all the other countries in Concacaf, how come is Trinidad and Tobago that come out of they mouth?  Is it because everybody talking about we or is it that they just like to dis we because they think we going to party in Germany instead of playing competitive football.

« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2006, 09:31:44 PM »
Yeah I say that and say the same damn thing.  With all the other countries in Concacaf, how come is Trinidad and Tobago that come out of they mouth?  Is it because everybody talking about we or is it that they just like to dis we because they think we going to party in Germany instead of playing competitive football.

doh even study all de critics dey could ride ta f**k out.

i am really fedup of it.

and yet Sweeden could get 3 from northern Ireland england barely get past Uraguay at home and Paraguay couldnt beat Wales but stilllll, they wanna act like we cant handle "there level"

and we nearly beat USA at home.

We had quite a few chances in the away game against them too.....

AND that was back when we hadnt yet gained ONE point in our qualifying round! look how much we have improved!

and yet stilllllll...........

« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2006, 09:34:05 PM »

But what was their point in the argument? Are they saying that the US are treated unfairly because of that? In all fairness England should be the ones complaining because Argentina is a much higher ranked team that TnT, so it might be galling to them and not the U.S. if they were to get the same amount of points for beating Argentina, as the US get for beating TnT. Nuh tuh shit up muh country or nothing, is just that ah want tuh know dey point.

« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2006, 09:56:02 PM »

But what was their point in the argument? Are they saying that the US are treated unfairly because of that? In all fairness England should be the ones complaining because Argentina is a much higher ranked team that TnT, so it might be galling to them and not the U.S. if they were to get the same amount of points for beating Argentina, as the US get for beating TnT. Nuh tuh shit up muh country or nothing, is just that ah want tuh know dey point.

yeah it was from England's point of view. I think the caller was saying that he doesn't agree with USA being ranked higher than England by FIFA.......

« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2006, 10:09:51 PM »

yeah it was from England's point of view. I think the caller was saying that he doesn't agree with USA being ranked higher than England by FIFA.......

Or okay, well that make sense then. N wha de commentators say when he said that? Dat he didn't agree with de ranking.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2006, 11:52:54 PM »
ah love when dem yankees talk, it will hurt dem even more to see us come out of we group and dey go home to the US of A

it go really hurt them when they back in de US watching T&T playing in de second rounds.....then they go start to talk shit about we

« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2006, 12:18:46 AM »
ah love when dem yankees talk, it will hurt dem even more to see us come out of we group and dey go home to the US of A

it go really hurt them when they back in de US watching T&T playing in de second rounds.....then they go start to talk shit about we

no dey really better shut dey ass when that happens.

« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2006, 01:17:18 AM »

But what the jail is that. Well offcourse USA will get alot of points for beating Trinidad and Tobago because it was a World Cup Qualification and a fifa tournament and therefore the points will be weighted more. England vs Argentina was a friendly and points are weight less for friendlies. Them blasted people need to think before they speak.

« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2006, 04:02:15 AM »
The ranking calculation does take into account the importance of the match and regional strength.

The relevant factors are:

Friendly match x 1.00
World Cup preliminary match x 1.50

UEFA x 1.00
CONMEBOL x 0.99
CONCACAF x 0.94

So even though these  are just a couple of the factors that are used in the full calculation, its clear that FIFA do take into account that CONCACAF is weaker than UEFA and South America. And personally, I think European teams have an advantage over South American teams in rankings, because there are far more $h!t teams in Europe to blowout than in South America.

USA would have actually gotten more points for their match against us because the match actually meant something. Argentina would have easily held on for the 2-1 victory against England if that match had been in an official tournament, so England have nothing to complan about.

« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2006, 09:50:03 AM »
allyuh does listen tuh dem 2 jack a$$

« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2006, 09:54:34 AM »
yuh unastan
doh study dem

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
Trinidad just get indirectly dissed on Fox football Friday......
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2006, 10:04:08 AM »
Don't worry we go take we diss and we go take points in de world cup, don't worry... we ain't scared

« Reply #15 on: March 11, 2006, 12:18:17 PM »

Dey could say wha dey want,
if d us play england right now i feel d us could put someting on dem

« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2006, 02:54:34 PM »
just a minor note england was not complaining .....it was the USA
and also it wasnt nothern ireland that beat sweden it was ireland

« Reply #17 on: March 11, 2006, 05:01:16 PM »
dem two idiots look like dey never kick ah lime in dey life...

Offline 1989

« Reply #18 on: March 11, 2006, 06:28:54 PM »
Don't worry T&T will the same amount of points for victory over England at the World Cup.

Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2006, 07:23:34 PM »

let them talk......   ;)

bless

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2006, 10:11:56 AM »
dis is not the first time that i see the u s trying to ridicule we football team. tells me one thing. they are very insecure about their own team's chances and they fear us. they are using the typical bully tactic where the fat kid is always trying to beat up on the smaller kids to compensate for his own shortcomings.

it is good to know that they fear us. they should!!
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2006, 10:13:31 AM »
stueps ! doh study dem! wen we come and collect de same points for beatin england, dey go no!

« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2006, 11:54:38 PM »

every wc somebody does get pick on...when jamaica qualify in 98, the italian coach say how it was unfair that italy had to g through a playoff when teams like jam could qualify...
Is the same old stuff

They might have a point though if what they saying wasn't complete tata...
Thanks Ryan for trying to explain the system for the umpteenth time

Offline R45

« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2006, 07:01:41 AM »
No one cares about the ranking system, it isn't even used for deciding World Cup seeding

(Eg England was seeded and it is lower ranked than the USA and Czech who were unseeded)

« Reply #24 on: March 13, 2006, 03:11:16 PM »
come on kicker, u miss leading everyone!!

They just used Trinidad as an example to highlight the fact that It is easier for USA to beat Trinidad than for England to beat Argentina yet still the same amount of points are given!!

And at the end of the day they both said that the rankings were a waste of time since everyone has a chance of beating everyone!!

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #25 on: March 13, 2006, 03:27:05 PM »
Doh study dat nuh..we have a great opportunity to get worldwide respect in a couple mths..dey not going to use we as no catch ass example after dat

« Reply #26 on: March 13, 2006, 04:10:07 PM »

They just used Trinidad as an example to highlight the fact that It is easier for USA to beat Trinidad than for England to beat Argentina yet still the same amount of points are given!!

And at the end of the day they both said that the rankings were a waste of time since everyone has a chance of beating everyone!!

I thought that that's exactly what I said..my bad

read what I wrote...all I said is that I wished they had used a different example of a football "minnow"...........

didn't mean to "mislead" the people.......apologies
« Last Edit: March 13, 2006, 04:12:02 PM by kicker »

« Reply #27 on: March 13, 2006, 04:18:37 PM »

Breds..he just saying that when they had to come up with a sh** team for their example they chose us. So in a way you could see that as ah indirect/subtle dis. Nutten to be taken seriously. Nobody eh misleading noone...jes a semi-jokey observation. we jes cyah wait for when our name roll off their lips for more positive football accomplishments...respect

« Reply #28 on: March 13, 2006, 09:41:26 PM »
As far as I know, come WC in Germany:
A win is 3 points
A draw is 1 point, and
A loss is 0 points.

That is the only numbers I care about.  All that FIFA ranking doh mean a thing as far as I concern.

If the Warriors get 5 points ah tink we in the 2nd round

« Reply #29 on: March 14, 2006, 09:09:04 AM »
ranking doh mean shit come kick off. Number 54 ranked Senegal beat number 1 ranked France