February 08, 2025, 03:42:27 PM

Author Topic: Warriors Nation charity  (Read 5654 times)

Warriors Nation charity
« on: March 11, 2006, 10:29:39 AM »
I accepted the appointment of charity officer for the Warriors Nation and my first agenda is to place my plan into motion.
My ultimate Goal is to provide the national youth teams of Trinidad and Tobago with proper football boots shin pads and nutritional products.

My immediate Goal is to provide the Under 15 teams with boots, shin pads and packages of powder Gatorade.

We have over two hundred members so the goal of providing the Under 15 team should not be a big challenge it don’t have to expensive for people that live in the US you could go to your nearest Wal Mart they have cheap boots also I Model’s always have sales on soccer boots. I’m sure there a lot more stores where you can find a cheap pear of boots shin pads, our you can provide Gatorade in the powdered form.

My reasoning for providing equipment for the youth teams is simple.
The player will have one less worry, as we all know Trinidad and Tobago could be a hard place for poor young players a pear of boots go a long way and it may provide a source of inspiration for they guys to come out and play.

I don’t want this venture to be a fly by nite event just for the World Cup we have to keep supporting the youth teams form 2006 and beyond and we just cant hand it over to the TTFF we have to get some assurance that the players get the supplies.

We will also need a place to store and keep tack of every thing we send to the teams if you guys have ideas or recommendations feel free to comment.     

« Last Edit: March 14, 2006, 01:18:59 PM by Tallman »

Re: Warriors Nation charity
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2006, 11:00:43 AM »
Well you know how some people are the boots could be brand new I know that I could find boots for ten dollars so that’s no big deal if you can’t get boots then the powdered Gatorade will do even if its one pack we will build fro there if you have good stuff that you think can be donated no problem

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2006, 08:18:37 PM »
who we will send the stuff to?  and how the stuf going to get to T'dad?

very, very, very, good idea by the way....
also what size boots 15 yr olds wearin' ?

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2006, 06:27:40 AM »
Since i've been involved in Football here over the years i've been sending Football equipment to T&T through the T&T association in Washington,i myself when i'm going home which i do every year i carry loads of equipment,i have asked on this forum if anyone can help me send equipment to T&T and got no response,i can tell you it's costly for me to do it but i do it any way because it's my way of giving back.

We have a program here in Va and that's where i got the idea from,kids wear/use equipment for a year,every year is new outfit,the clubs collect all the so called old equipment and send it to countrys in Africa,Asia etc Eurosport does it they always asking for donations,i can tell you what they calling old is not for us,i've thrown away so much equipment here it's unbelievable, it hurts my heart to know we have kids home that can make use of it.

I'm glad to see someboby trying to make this a reality and i know if successfull it will go a long way in helping our young players at home,equipment is very expensive for the average family at home,i know how it was for me in my time,but i don't think a $10.00 boots will cut it because that only lasting a week,the equipment we collect here are Jerseys,Shorts,Socks,Balls,Shinguards,Boots etc even Nets for goals,Ball bags.

I have decided to give it a rest after last year because it's too much for me now plus i can't get help and support no where,i talked about it on the TV programs i was on when i was home for Christmas but ppl tend to take things for granted and what ever you do is not appreciated.           

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2006, 08:10:35 AM »
Bally i don't know how serious you are about this but if you are,i can set things in place with the contacts i have here in Va to collect Football equipment,you will have to find a way to get it and ship to T&T.I'm not just looking at national teams,i'm looking at the underprivileged areas,teams,schools etc we have so many Trini's in Canada and the US involved in Football in some way if we can put this together with their contribution i think it will be great for the game at home.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 11:15:55 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2006, 08:21:37 AM »
fellers pm me for my contributions

i would do my part

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2006, 09:26:30 AM »
Felas this is an excellent idea.  I tried unsuccessfully in the pat to start this going also.

But got more old talk than help and contributions.

And the problem goes beyond boots and kit.

Imagine a youngster leave mayaro and travel tuh de national stadium for ah 2 day training cmp/try-outs.

This is ah true story too...and after de first day training session de man was walking off de field and jes drop down.  Nuff man get worried...come tuh find out de youth amn eh eat nutten all day.  He didn't have enough money tuh eat and pay maxi fare back home.

Dat is tears, now ah know de TD does give dem a stipend tuh travel and tuh eat now...but man still need little extra money tuh but suppliments etc.

Some ah we players also doing very well on de playing field and in de classroom dey real struggling.

We need to find ah way tuh motivate and provide assistance tuh dem so too!

I willing tuh help too.

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2006, 10:16:26 AM »
i made the cut with meh bredren julius and didnt have ah boots so this one hitting home breds...

at that time the whole ah africa was sharing boots cause u-16,u-17, u-14 and intercol was on different days so me and meh boys had like 3 boots in rotation.

2 weeks ago i went to a game in morvant  and ah man didnt have ah boot, ask shotta i lend him mines and he score two RIP...

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2006, 11:31:37 AM »
i made the cut with meh bredren julius and didnt have ah boots so this one hitting home breds...

at that time the whole ah africa was sharing boots cause u-16,u-17, u-14 and intercol was on different days so me and meh boys had like 3 boots in rotation.

2 weeks ago i went to a game in morvant  and ah man didnt have ah boot, ask shotta i lend him mines and he score two RIP...
       This is what i'm talking about,all of us who have been through the game of Football have stories like this to tell but then still when we see players fall through the cracks we often wonder why,as a Coach i don't only deal with a player's ability to play the game,we have to also understand the social aspect of it like where that player from,what school they going too,their financial situation etc it's one of the reasons why sometimes good players don't make it(to much pressure),i don't care how good you are if you don't have that support and encouragement you not going to make it.

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2006, 11:47:37 AM »
This is a good post and a good thing Bally is doing and Coop used to do.  I think now with the Warrior Nation it is something that can get up and running and be quite sucessful, with guys like Coop joining Ballys committee and others helping out.
As the Nation become bigger and more established it will then be able to approach corp sponsers to help with these types of programs, and maybe a shipping company like Laparkan to ship the stuff home for free with local warrior nation citizens handeling the distribution.

Hopefully after it is up and running we can expand to other sports like track, and maybe lend some assistance to the kids when they come up to run in Penn Relays

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2006, 11:50:11 AM »
i have a close family member who works on the port who might be able to clear the stuff easily upon arrival

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2006, 12:29:41 PM »
Hello Coop's,
would a policy and procedure handbook be a great guide to follow and what would it take to come up with such a handbook? would you have to have ONE handbook for all schools/Communities  or would you have to tailor the handbook for each school. Or is there a better way to have something that is a guide. The reason i think this is necessary is to provide uniformity to the system and NOT have a mis mash of ideas. What are your ideas on this?
        I'm only basing my views on the experience and knowledge i've gained here,first of all i think the US have one of the best structures for Football and is because they are very professional about every thing.I following what Lincoln is trying to set up at home and it seems like he is trying to do the same thing,the problem is are we willing to accept it,Coaches don't want to do courses,players don't want to train etc.

You are right about a policy and procedures handbook,they have one for everything and everybody from 3yrs to 100 yrs old,clubs,schools,leagues etc what has caused this too is that you get sued here very easily.The most paper work i've ever seen in Football is in the US,there is a pattern and way you organize and teach Football so all across the US there is uniformity. 

The governing body for Football is the one responsible for organizing/running all Football in the country and they set policy's,structure.I often wonder if programs like this will work at home because we will not give it a chance to work,check how long it took the US and is because they are patient,everything takes time,we believe in short cuts and today for tomorrow.

What you are talking about there is exactly what US Soccer stands on,policys and procedures.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 06:18:43 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2006, 03:51:36 PM »
Sorry I haven’t replied sooner I asked about how we can do this and I got a response and I have to make a decision on what to do we could give the equipment to TTFF but they have a contract with Adidas so maybe  we can do it for a community base team like Coop’s I too was giving on a small scale to SuperStar Ranger every time I visited TnT I would give Gamba  four to five boots all I would say is give it to who need it that’s all I never did it for recognition I did because I know how it was for me growing with out a proper boots to play in and Coop’s to answer you on ten dollar boots I found that you can get old style Adidas boots for ten dollars at Model’s  not all the time but when they have sales trust me I’m always checking well I will try to get it on the Warrior Nation web site we already have a place to store it we need some at home to distribute the equipment and to make sure it gets into the rite hands.       

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2006, 11:39:35 PM »
About the shipping issue, maybe it will be a good idea to approach a company such as Laparkan as they may agree to ship free of charge. I know in the past they have for charitable ventures.

Also, Bally are you going to approach corporate sponsors for bulk contributions?

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2006, 12:35:32 AM »
Bally I would suggest that you contact the Trinidad embassy in USA and in England, tell them what you trying to do and they could point you in the right direction.  It have plenty grants and foundations that are around for the purpose of giving money to the cases that you presenting.  With T&T in the world cup you have a good start to tell our story. 

I would suggest that you spend most of the time researching these givers rather that collecting free boost.  I would also stay away from the TTFA.  SWSC done backing you Tallman and them go make sure the money ent thief.  After we find  givers and the funds we could give it away or teams in T&T.

This is how I've seen it done. You find out who the grant holders, foundations and people that maybe sympathetic to the cause.  You invite them to a nice banquet diner, have a key speaker show them some pics of morvant man when he was small with no boots, let Tallman show them where the money going and ask people to pledge.

Look the embassy site here is a good start. http://www.bordeglobal.com/ttembassy/index.html

I know that this way looks longer but after you get that $100,000 you could real start making a difference.  That would be 100 people giving boots.

If i can help feel free to pm me.

Blessing

« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2006, 03:47:02 PM »
Fellas...this is incredible.  Morvant, Bally's...Coop...anyone else interested please let's link and make this happen.

Visit my site ( www.socanation.net or www.caridadfoundation.org) to see what I already have in the works.  There's more that I'm working on with regards to this, some of which I've already shared with Flex.

I was waiting to get the foundation off the ground before soliciting involvement here on Socawarriors.net, b/c especially you guys back in TnT you can be an invaluable resource.

Folks, please link me and let's make this happen!

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2006, 03:59:13 PM »
I do not think we should focus on the National team.

Out of every team in trinidad they are probably the best off cause the TTFF will find money to support them.

After all they are the national team.

We should adopt teams on a team by team basis who do not have sponsor, poor locations etc and sponsor those first as it will be more of a need.

We could also sponsor players

But to focus charity towards a National Youth team might be missing the most needy.

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2006, 01:15:33 AM »
Bally,
Some of the national players have foundations that help young kids.
Stern John skill foundation and Russel Latapy foundation to name two.
I know Stern's foundation targets primary school children nationwide so that gives good coverage and will pick up some of the less fortunate kids.
I think Russels is more community based (Laventille Morvant).
But a good idea would be to hook up with Shaun Fuentes and find out from him how you could make this work through the various organisations already doing similar works.
At the very least to start you may be able to make monetary donations to these different groups in the name of warrior nation (from people who rather donate funds than say boots), whilst working the mechanic of of collecting and then delivering kit to the right people.

Offline croc

« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2006, 03:58:02 AM »
It is so nice to read this post and thank God for people like you.I was in T&T in 2003 and I took seven pairs of boots and gave it to all the little kids playing around the savannah and you should of seen the look on their faces. I will be in T&T in 2007 and I already have six new footballs to give away. I hope to take at least ten. I am so far away and it is so hard to help but I am willing to contribute to get this going, I will help as much as I can. Let me Know as soon as you can....cheers.

« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2006, 06:39:55 AM »
Guys listen to me carefully is either we want to do this or not,i don't know anything about all these foundations it have and i don't think this should be done through the TTFF,we already start on the wrong foot because Bally started this and i'm not hearing from him,the important thing is to have someone in charge if not we in big trouble.I've never benefited or gained anything from doing what i did and i've done it for years,i just think we have such a good platform here that can be used to make a contribution to Football in our country we should get some sort of recognition for it.

« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2006, 09:11:21 AM »
Guys listen to me carefully is either we want to do this or not,i don't know anything about all these foundations it have and i don't think this should be done through the TTFF,we already start on the wrong foot because Bally started this and i'm not hearing from him,the important thing is to have someone in charge if not we in big trouble.I've never benefited or gained anything from doing what i did and i've done it for years,i just think we have such a good platform here that can be used to make a contribution to Football in our country we should get some sort of recognition for it.

highlight 1: Of course you have, you have had personal satisfaction and development of self /and esteem.
highlight 2: As you said the public recognition is not necessary.

I will try to assist.
I think regardless of the recieving group or organization, the boots (or items) should be sold - not to make - even if at some ridiculous price, as I am of the belief that ppl (whether parents or kids) will take a greater interest in their money invested, as opposed to getting something for nuthen..an that little pitance can then be used for something else or another donation etc....Irregardless, whatever you'all decide I am in...
Bally, Ironman, Big Mag, you gentlemen seem quite active in different youth activities locally, I think you guys should get together, and decide on an area, we supply, and then another..etc..
I will start what I can do here, while you guys get organized...With some success, when I have accumulated some items I will give  an address for pickup

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2006, 09:14:26 AM »

I agree but I think instead of just having someone in charge, a committee should be formed simply because there are many areas to be covered. I am willing to help in any way possible just PM me.

« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2006, 09:42:30 AM »

I agree but I think instead of just having someone in charge, a committee should be formed simply because there are many areas to be covered. I am willing to help in any way possible just PM me.
     I agree with you here but how are we going to form a committee when the ppl interested living all over the place,not that i don't trust anyone but i would like to know who and what i'm dealing with,everybody more or less knows me but i don't know most of the ppl here,i like the kicks and fun we does have on this forum but if we have to do this lets do it properly,where is Mr Bally?what's our next move?at the moment i see we have a lot of helpers.

« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2006, 09:51:15 AM »
"I agree but I think instead of just having someone in charge, a committee should be formed simply because there are many areas to be covered."
blah..blah...
Bally, Ironman, Big Mag, you gentlemen seem quite active in different youth activities locally, I think you guys should get together, and decide on an area, we supply, and then another..etc..
blah..

« Reply #24 on: March 14, 2006, 09:53:19 AM »
Coops I here what you saying.  I know from forming the SWSC Feliziano was real instrumental in getting people connected and talkin in the same forum.  I think SWSC already organised they could surely help in some degree. Remember Bally is their Charity man.  Of course whatever happens here it does not have to be directly under SWSC but that's the majority call.  If this gets off the ground we would have done our nation a great justice.  Ofcourse like most things leadership and committment is important.  I know what I'm willing to offer but we need to start with some open dialogue maybe in the chat room or IM or something.  Like I said Feliziano is a great resourse for consolidating peoples views and efforts.   

« Reply #25 on: March 14, 2006, 10:23:16 AM »
Guys if you all find i'm talking too much just tell me to shut up :rotfl:it's just that i'm very concerned about making this work,a lot of countries do it why can't we,i remember a couple years ago i gave an African guy 30 Footballs to send to his country just because i could not afford to send it home,it hurt me yes but what else could i do.

I think the dialogue here is good lets keep it up is the only way we can find out what our options are but i still want to hear from our leader.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2006, 11:20:38 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #26 on: March 14, 2006, 10:27:36 AM »
let we take it either in ah chatroom or on msn and organise a meeting day and we could get this off the ground.

this is just as important as ah supporters club