March 28, 2024, 04:06:49 PM

Author Topic: Mexico  (Read 8839 times)

Mexico
« on: March 15, 2006, 05:33:56 PM »
Some Critics has expressed that Mexico just MIGHT be the "dark horse" to win everything..

What do you think.. especially since they sent their under 21 team to Port-Of Spain..

Offline R45

Re: Mexico
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2006, 05:36:51 PM »
I highly doubt it

And it wasn't an U-21 side, a mixed B team.

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2006, 05:37:40 PM »
 ??? ??? ??? They sent their Under-21 team to Portof Spain to play TnT that time? This is this first I'm hearing of that.

Offline Auburn Trini

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2006, 05:46:05 PM »
That was no under 21 team breds.... The coach was tryin new players....I wouldn't even go as far as to call it the B team... thay had good players like Franco  (score recently versus Ghana) who the coach was lookin at...
They were missin a few big names like Marques and Borgetti but it was far from a u-21 side in Port of Spain..

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2006, 05:47:45 PM »
That was no under 21 team breds.... The coach was tryin new players....I wouldn't even go as far as to call it the B team... thay had good players like Franco  (score recently versus Ghana) who the coach was lookin at...
They were missin a few big names like Marques and Borgetti but it was far from a u-21 side in Port of Spain..

Marques, Borgetti, Torrado and de keeper.. tha was it...

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2006, 05:52:29 PM »
Ah believe dey go do well cuz dey have ah good team..buh ah wouldn't go as far an say de go win de World Cup.
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2006, 06:00:32 PM »
they did beat brazil in the confed cup
 once some luck go with them and they stay away from teams with big tall guys whose game is air ball ( square and head) they could go fa,r even win it

Offline Auburn Trini

« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2006, 06:02:33 PM »
Mexico is ah solid team but lackin that little creativity yuh need to win out the tournament...
I think they should make it out of the group but would find it hard commin up against Argentina, Holland or even Ivory Coast

This is one of the best Mexico teams we've seen for a while especially when you look at how much depth they have but to win out the tournament ... that tough

« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2006, 06:26:31 PM »
How yuh go say we play they U21 team ???  In other words yuh saying we lucky they ent send down they full team.

What yuh really saying ???

Yuh jokin ent?

« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2006, 06:57:49 PM »
WHEY so that same so called U-21 team that Mexico send to POS, is the same team that put 5 on Guatemala about five days earlier ent?

« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2006, 07:06:03 PM »
propaganda thread

lookin fo trouble from d first line

mexico aint winning jack

talk done shotta

« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2006, 07:14:56 PM »
I lost one this one. What winning the world cup have to do with Mexico sending an under 21 team to Port of Spain. By the way Mexico have a solid side and they capable of beating any team on a given day.

« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2006, 07:18:30 PM »
Mexico did not send a B team. In any case many of the "new" players are currently starters in the friendly games. So obviously they weren't "pick up side" players

With respect to the question of Mexico winning it all I think it is highly unlikely. As a team, Mexico is solid in attack and defense. From an individual level I don't' think they have a single player who can lift the performance of the team. This is very important in these types of tournaments. I would welcome the surprise though.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2006, 07:22:21 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2006, 08:23:45 PM »
they might win ah coin toss not the WC

« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2006, 09:36:53 PM »
A dark horse probably and they have a decent chance cause when you look at it this will be their second successive summer playing in germany with basically the same squad so their chance is as good as any. They not short on experience, we need to have somebody from CONCACAF to start challenging consistently  for the cup to give more creditability to our federation and i agree, they could compete with the best on any given day. Remember part of success in the world up is the ability to go on a streak getting good results. Its the reason why every WC there are one or two teams that were never expected to reach the quarters and semis every tournament. In my opinion is a combination of quality of squad and hitting form at the right time.

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2006, 09:46:33 PM »
Italy....Italy is de country tuh look for..dey go surprise ah lot ah people..

Offline marcel

« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2006, 03:20:59 AM »

italy played quite well the last few games
but the opposition was experimentating (holland,germany)
if you relate that games to the real thing the outcome might be different.
for example,i dont think holland put a 19 year old boy as centre defender against argentina,what they did against italy.
but italy is playing quite well
even a sort of positive,while they were quite boring before.

« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2006, 05:26:07 AM »
Physically, Mexico are way too small to win a World Cup. Harsh, but true.

« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2006, 08:34:30 AM »
Physically, Mexico are way too small to win a World Cup. Harsh, but true.

Now I used to say that before but their players are taller and bigger than previously. And the naturalised Mexicans from Brazil & Argentina that the coach bringing in have physical presence. Borgetti is big and Marquez can handle his stories, Zihno also is pretty big. They may struggle against some of the more physical teams.

« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2006, 08:36:30 AM »
On their day Mexico can play with anyone because they move the ball very very imaginatively......so they will always create sufficient scoring chances.

Defensively I don't know if they are strong enough.......

U-21 team to P.O.S..........not sure about that......

« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2006, 09:37:19 AM »
Mexicans are impressive footballers with excellent technique, good work rate and imaginative play. I will agree they lack the physical element that may be required but they are improving in that area as well. Where they may fall short in the WC is that they depend on 1-2 players for their goals and that may hurt them in the long run.

« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2006, 11:02:58 AM »
as i said b4 and will say again NO CONCACAF TEAM can win de wc right now.

« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2006, 11:13:33 AM »
costa rica iz the next option

« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2006, 11:19:10 AM »
should i say something to big dog on this crap....u-21....should i ??....or save it ???....whatch breds

« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2006, 11:21:14 AM »
I have a feeling about MExico this year - their toughset challenge till the finals look like a possible Italy and dey beat them last WC with a team not as strong and deep as this one.
Also, one of the few teams that has any sort of consistent success against Brazil.
nice betting odds too http://www.gambling911.com/2006-World-Cup-Betting-Odds.html
good for a $20.

« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2006, 11:35:59 AM »
I have a feeling about MExico this year - their toughset challenge till the finals look like a possible Italy and dey beat them last WC with a team not as strong and deep as this one.
Also, one of the few teams that has any sort of consistent success against Brazil.
nice betting odds too http://www.gambling911.com/2006-World-Cup-Betting-Odds.html
good for a $20.
bounty yuh better off bettin on de warriors to reach 2nd rd.

Offline 1989

« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2006, 11:50:45 AM »

...Except USA who have a way of upsetting the flow of things.  Just think last world cup they almost reach the semis, last year they won the Gold Cup, they beat T&T twice  :devil:, they walked over Norway, they are now #1 in Concacaf.... Their confidence is really high right now and that could translate into Czech getting licks followed by a freak win over Brazil in the second round...
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

Offline Green Beret

• Army Of One
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2006, 11:55:07 AM »
Sure they could win... provided they don't have to play the US to do it.  :rotfl:
Find Out If You Have What It Takes To Earn The Green Beret.

« Reply #28 on: March 16, 2006, 12:03:16 PM »
How old is Fonseca?

« Reply #29 on: March 16, 2006, 12:32:41 PM »
good for a $20.
bounty yuh better off bettin on de warriors to reach 2nd rd.

show me where to place that bet, and I puttin dat too.