April 28, 2024, 02:49:31 PM

Author Topic: Chasing Chris Birchall.  (Read 11069 times)

Chasing Chris Birchall.
« on: March 16, 2006, 02:37:27 PM »
Chasing Chris Birchall.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Since his role in helping this country qualify for the 2006 World Cup, English-born midfielder Chris Birchall has enjoyed two sides of the glory that comes with such as achievement.
First up the 21-year-old  Port Vale warrior has had several clubs knocking on his door in England such as Norwich City, Preston North End and Swindon Town.
But along with that he has also had to put up with Port Vale fans who have had a go at him for committing to Trinidad and Tobago and missing out some of the season for them.
Since Birchall joined the “Soca Warriors” last May for matches against Peruvian club Alianza Lima and Panama, he has been a fixture in Leo Beenhakker’s team which has seen him having to depart Port Vale at regular points during the season.
“It’s not something I regret but while life has been great since we qualified with all the hype and everything I have also had to put up with the fans who think that I have chosen Trinidad and Tobago over Port Vale. In some way they think I have turned my back on the club,” Birchall said.
“It worries me a bit but at the same time I am not going to allow it to affect how I feel and what I have going on with the national team. All the guys and the other people in T&T have accepted me and I couldn’t have asked for more.”
Birchall has one more season following the current one left on contract with Vale. He also lined up for the Reserves in a 2-1 win over Stockport County on Monday in which local striker Hector Sam netted the winner.

Re: Chasing Chris Birchall.
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2006, 02:40:19 PM »

“It worries me a bit but at the same time I am not going to allow it to affect how I feel and what I have going on with the national team. All the guys and the other people in T&T have accepted me and I couldn’t have asked for more.”

nicely put me mum
i wondered why he played in the reserve team, maybe he is making up for lost time while on national duty....it should show the Vale fans he's taking them seriously

Isaachunt

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 02:46:27 PM »
 Birchall will get his rewards in time to come. He young still. Whether it be a contract at a bigger club or helping Port Vale get promoted. I know he will get his reward for the hard work he does

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2006, 03:15:00 PM »
Hey what about Whitley giave Whitley a shot too man

Offline 1989

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2006, 03:37:17 PM »
I hope that he continues just as he is doing. Because a club much better than Port Vale could spot him during the World Cup.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2006, 05:33:34 PM »
Doh study dem boy Birchall! Big up yuhself. 8)

« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2006, 05:39:26 PM »
if he cud make a decent championship side da go be good for now
den hopefully geh promoted an aredy be a part of tha team when they reach prem
rather than go straigh to EPL an go through a whole setta dramas to break into a new side

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2006, 05:40:16 PM »
he go get he OWN press time, wait an see

true... good things comes to those who wait

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2006, 06:42:19 PM »
and in the league here on base everybody want me too so everybody benifits from qualification ;D

Offline Auburn Trini

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2006, 09:40:48 PM »
he go get he OWN press time, wait an see

true... good things comes to those who wait

I feel whitley is de man to make the bigest jump after the WC... it is overdue..
Birchall i feel would move up the ranks in England (especially wit the publicity he gettin already)... possible the EPL... he lacks the fluidity in midfield to get a break in other Euro leagues
but Whitley and Spann (barring injury) I could see them makin it to other european leagues...
I would like to see Whitley in Spain or Italy...
we go see....

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2006, 04:49:33 PM »
No doubt there are a few Port Vale fans who have criticised Me Mum for choosing Trinidad and Tobago over Port Vale.  But there are a lot more Vale fans who don't believe that he has and anyway, what player would ruin the chance to play against some of the best players in the world.  Port Vale fans such as me are as proud as f**k of Birchall so much so that we have adopted the waarriors as our second team.  So my message to Birchie is, don't listen to all the moaners and belt in a couple against England.

What does 1989 mean 'a better Club than Port Vale'  ;D ;D
PortValeChris  AKA The Former TVV from onevalefan. 

Port Vale  We want ah goal!!

To market, to market, with my uncle Jim
Somebody threw a tomato at him
Now, Tomatoes don't hurt with their soft juicy skin
But this one it knackered, 'cause it come in a tin

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2006, 05:02:57 PM »
After the world cup, me mum, Spann and Whitley will get their dues

Offline ladywarrior

« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2006, 05:16:48 PM »
Port Vale Fans.. Let meh hear yuh! We give you all a world cup qualifier and we need you all to stand up for de man. In less than a year Birchall has become a national hero .. you all should treat him like one! He is still a Englishman and only 21... yours for a long time to come.. treat him good.

The only thing to fear is fear itself.

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2006, 05:30:13 PM »
There is no other BETTER team, only teams with more points :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil

Can't argue with that.  ;D ;D ;D

Yes we will stand up for me mum.

We want ah goal.

By the way as today is the 18th of march I would like to wish every one 'Padraig Shona Dhuit'

« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2006, 05:32:17 PM »
There is no other BETTER team, only teams with more points :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil

We want ah goal.

By the way as today is the 18th of march I would like to wish every one 'Padraig Shona Dhuit'

Err...thanks?

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #15 on: March 17, 2006, 05:34:08 PM »
St Patricks Day.  Where every Irish man gets rat arsed.  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Offline valechris

« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2006, 12:13:45 PM »
Chris go to the world cup and we'll see you for pre season when we start work on getting vale back to where we belong!!
we're all behind you!

up the vale !!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2006, 01:59:40 PM »

We want ah goal.

thought that was the 17th...but happy st pattys day to you too.

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2006, 03:09:41 PM »

We want ah goal.

thought that was the 17th...but happy st pattys day to you too.

You are right, it is the 17th.  I must have celebrated it too much.