March 28, 2024, 03:04:51 PM

Author Topic: W Connection pondering life without Atiba & Jean  (Read 4651 times)

W Connection pondering life without Atiba & Jean
« on: March 21, 2006, 04:03:22 AM »
W Connection pondering life without Atiba & Jean.
By: Joel Villafana.

There is a strong possibility that Pro League Champions Vibe CT 105 W Connection may have to do without the services of their experienced captain Earl Jean and National defender David Atiba Charles for the 2006 season.
The two players are currently on trial in China with two clubs and according to W Connection President David John Williams there is a strong possibility the two players may stay on in China until the rest of the season.
Earl Jean has captained W Connection for the last two (2) years and was vice-captain to Reynold Carrington for 5 years—Jean, now 34 years old is from St. Lucia and he was W Connection’s leading striker—and was the joint leading goal-scorer last season with his teammate Gefferson Goulart, who has also moved on from the Couva-based club.
David Atiba Charles, has also been with the ‘Savonetta Boys’ from its inception seven years ago and has developed over the years forcing his way into the national team as one of the country’s top rated defenders and will also be a big loss, if he moves on.
However, the club’s President is not overly concerned—Mr. John Williams told ‘ttproleague.com’, “It’s a new era at W Connection and we have been preparing for this for some time now, we have at least eighteen (18) local players that have come through our youth ranks and have been promoted to our senior team and we expect them to step up to the plate.” Mr. Williams says Brazilian midfielder Jose Luis Seabra will lead the team in the absence of Earl Jean.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 04:08:02 AM by Flex »

Re: W Connection pondering life without Atiba & Jean
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 09:00:01 AM »
bout time the get rid ah dem brazilians and give the tnt youths a chance. Plus last season they got a one or two  nigerians. Knedell davis i was expecting to rip and mash up the league was he injured last season?

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 09:35:12 AM »
I think we need foreign players like the Brazilians because they give the league a different dimension and perspective of what players overseas have to offer. Most of the players don't get the opportunity to play international ball and if they only experience other local players they would be missing out.

« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2006, 09:37:23 AM »
I think we need foreign players like the Brazilians because they give the league a different dimension and perspective of what players overseas have to offer. Most of the players don't get the opportunity to play international ball and if they only experience other local players they would be missing out.

well maximum of 4 on the field not 10 foreign player and 1 local

« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2006, 09:45:34 AM »

well maximum of 4 on the field not 10 foreign player and 1 local

Yes 10 to 1 is Murda  8)

« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2006, 09:58:11 AM »
bout time the get rid ah dem brazilians and give the tnt youths a chance. Plus last season they got a one or two  nigerians. Knedell davis i was expecting to rip and mash up the league was he injured last season?

This is such a stupid comment!!

de man just talk about how they have 18 local youth players coming thru their ranks!!

Those brazilians added a lot of colour and flair to our league and they were well appreciated!!

How do u expect our players to get a chance abroad if we dont embrace foreign players ourselves i our local league!!

How would u feel if u went on wrexham's site a few years ago and saw "its about time they got rid of those blasted trinidadians and give the english youths a chance"?

« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2006, 03:56:54 PM »

This is such a stupid comment!!

de man just talk about how they have 18 local youth players coming thru their ranks!!

Those brazilians added a lot of colour and flair to our league and they were well appreciated!!

How do u expect our players to get a chance abroad if we dont embrace foreign players ourselves i our local league!!

How would u feel if u went on wrexham's site a few years ago and saw "its about time they got rid of those blasted trinidadians and give the english youths a chance"?

Yeah but Andre how you expect our players to get a chance in other leagues if our players' standard of play is low?  Yuh doh learn much from warming a bench right through yuh know.

Maximum number of foreigners should be 4 on the field.  no more than that.  Give the local youths a chance.