April 28, 2024, 03:52:59 PM

Author Topic: 'Official' T&T World Cup Song  (Read 5843 times)

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
'Official' T&T World Cup Song
« on: March 20, 2006, 08:51:05 AM »
Cool drumming

Musicians recruit steel band, backing singers...and resident who plays the saucepan...for Trinidad & Tobago's World Cup song (Leeds Today)

EXCLUSIVE
by Richard Edwards

THE FOOTBALL World Cup song is a tradition loved and loathed in equal measure.
For every classic like New Order's World in Motion, there have been disasters like Del Amitri's Don't Come Home Too Soon, which helped Scotland to an inevitable first-round exit in 1998.

National football associations usually get the squad to do the honours, or choose to wheel out one of their country's favourite musical stars.

But England's group B rivals Trinidad & Tobago have gone down a different route - by choosing two Leeds musicians to sing the song they hope will propel them to glory in Germany.

Paul Jepson and Choque Hosein, who live a few doors away from each other in Farsley, reinvented themselves as the TNT Socaboys to pen Soca Warriors.

Along the way they recruited Harehills resident Dudley Nesbitt, who plays a saucepan, three backing singers from Chapeltown, and, for the B-side, a steel band from Leeds West Indian Centre.
Paul, an ex-member of early 1980s indie-pop band The Neats, plays guitar on the record, while Choque, whose former band Black Star Liner got a Mercury Music Prize nomination in 1999, produced it.
The unlikely arrangement came about through Paul's longstanding love of football, as he runs Leeds's Work-inc.com Sunday league.
Keen to qualify for the 1998 World Cup, the Trinidadian FA sent its players to a gruelling 1996 training camp in Leeds, and asked Paul to help out.
He ended up as manager for one game - a 2-2 draw with Scotland's East Fife - and says he has kept an eye on the team's results ever since.
Spotting there were no plans for a Trinidadian World Cup song, Paul, 49, and Choque, 45, contacted the country's FA to ask if it would like the two musicians to write one.

The answer didn't come back quickly.
"There is such a thing as Trinidadian time, things don't move quickly there, and it took a lot of chasing down. But eventually they got back to us and gave us their official backing," Paul explained.
Choque, whose father is Trinidadian, said: "Everyone in Trinidad is jumping up and down about the World Cup but no one had thought about doing a record. It took us about two-and-a-half minutes to write, then five weeks in Trinidad to record it. We mixed it in my studio at home."

The Yorkshire Evening Post has had a sneak preview of the song, due to be released in Britain on May 1.
It is a classic, 1970s-style good time football anthem that sticks firmly in the brain after just one listen.
Choque said: "Soca is a Trinidadian style of music that has been developing over the last 10 years. It has been influenced by radio from Miami, Brazil, Venezuela as well as reggae.

"We wanted to do a classic football song and the best ones are from the '70s."
The musicians, both Leeds United season ticket holders, will be in Germany to watch their adopted team play.
Choque admitted he will feel torn if England need a win when they meet Trinidad & Tobago on June 15.
"Obviously we want England in the final but we are supporting Trinidad & Tobago as well. Just the fact they are there is amazing, we hope they get as far as they can."
richard.edwards@ypn.co.uk
20 March 2006
« Last Edit: March 20, 2006, 08:58:56 AM by smi »
-be the change you wish to see-

Re: 'Official' T&T World Cup Song
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2006, 09:02:33 AM »
[ "Everyone in Trinidad is jumping up and down about the World Cup but no one had thought about doing a record. It took us about two-and-a-half minutes to write, then five weeks in Trinidad to record it. We mixed it in my studio at home."[/b]

Choque said: "Soca is a Trinidadian style of music that has been developing over the last 10 years. It has been influenced by radio from Miami, Brazil, Venezuela as well as reggae.[/b]
"We wanted to do a classic football song and the best ones are from the '70s."

OH OH :-\

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2006, 09:11:14 AM »
disrespecting my country is worst to me than dissing meh mother dread

if i ever come face to face to these fellers boy

we have ah fregging song and maximus sing it

both ah dem could HYMC

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2006, 09:12:47 AM »
Don't we have a  song already I AM A SOCA WARRIOR, if it better than that, (not) I want to hear it.

We have people like Bunji, Destra, Shurwayne , Patrice, Faye Ann, who really capture and transmit the Trini energy and these two wannabees write a song in 5min?

RIGGGHTT
« Last Edit: March 20, 2006, 10:39:10 AM by grskywalker »

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2006, 09:14:47 AM »
this had to be a joke

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2006, 09:23:29 AM »
Worse yet these people in England don't know better so they think these two are the biggest thing in Trini

Offline Auburn Trini

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2006, 09:24:21 AM »
This is the biggest pack of BS ever...
who de hell is them men....
Choque said: "Soca is a Trinidadian style of music that has been developing over the last 10 years. It has been influenced by radio from Miami, Brazil, Venezuela as well as reggae.
what SH*t dey talkin

smi... I hope dis is a joke...

"Fighter" is the rel song...

« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2006, 09:37:20 AM »
Who's email addy is that at the bottom of the article? Maybe we should tell them a few choice words so that they can relay the message.

« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2006, 09:40:13 AM »
Dat is to much shit to handle so early in the mourning .  :thumbsdown:
I am going back to bed.

« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2006, 09:46:57 AM »
Worse yet these people in England don't know better so they think these two are the biggest thing in Trini

Two oppor-tune-ists with ah 2 minute song

Ah bet is some kinda 'jump up jump up' tata  ::)

« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2006, 10:19:36 AM »
real people talking crap....i wrote recorded and spent my money on the song "little giants"...since 2000....all de rest came after....small axe...cutting down big tree....go tnt

wherever we go...everybody know we name

« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2006, 10:42:05 AM »
??? A lot of asininity in that one. "No plans for a song"? There's at least a dozen out there already, some great, some crap, but still.   "TnT soca boys"?  :rotfl:

Here's a mug of these fools:

Choque Hosein, left and Paul Jepson, from Farsley, who have created the Trinidad and Tobago official world cup theme

« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2006, 11:26:53 AM »
Get out ah town!!!!!! >:(   Wha madness I reading and seeing.  Tell dem fellas Colonialism over.  We writing we ooown songs now.  SEE how sell out we FA is? steuupss

« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2006, 11:28:06 AM »
steuuuuuuuuuuuuupse....this is real crap...2 and half minutes to write....i hadda hear dis crap yes

« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2006, 11:44:08 AM »
 :bs:

« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2006, 11:52:23 AM »
This is a real bullshit article.

It have us looking real backward. What he mean by "he ended up manageing the game" or referring to "trinidad time"

That article is just trying to F--- we up.

« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2006, 11:54:35 AM »

It have us looking real backward. What he mean by "he ended up manageing the game" or referring to "trinidad time"

breds yuh avatar hypmotising meh :rotfl:

« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2006, 11:58:13 AM »
Who are these jokers??

« Reply #18 on: March 20, 2006, 11:58:40 AM »
clearly, it eh have enough going in hengland for them to write about.

« Reply #19 on: March 20, 2006, 12:44:47 PM »
??? A lot of asininity in that one. "No plans for a song"? There's at least a dozen out there already, some great, some crap, but still.   "TnT soca boys"?  :rotfl:

Choque Hosein, left and Paul Jepson, from Farsley, who have created the Trinidad and Tobago official world cup theme
Hello E-Man
any website for dese mindless wonders?

Yuh lookin to 'Shook' Sam on dem or wha?  :D

Offline dombasil

« Reply #20 on: March 20, 2006, 12:52:11 PM »
Wheys dah one?

Who is these imps? Dey eh hear bout Maximus?  Steups.

« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2006, 01:13:20 PM »
Who are deze $h!ttongs? I hope dey doh show up in we section in Germany  >:(

« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2006, 01:14:45 PM »

Hello E-Man
any website for dese mindless wonders?

I didn't even bother looking nah, not worth the time. that pic was from the article smi posted.

« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2006, 02:10:00 PM »
 :timeout: wheyyyy well what de a** ah seeing here? "Fighter" is our official theme and nothing else.

« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2006, 02:58:03 PM »
Total BS!! any article still referring to our football federation as FA and saying soca just come on de scene 10 yrs ago..have to be total crap..ah doh even think they ever talk to the TTFF, steupss...ah real vex... >:(

« Reply #25 on: March 20, 2006, 03:37:08 PM »
Allyuh relax...... is NO WAY IN HELL the TTFF of Government giving any non son of the soil the "official" song for the national team.

dem two ass could talk all the shit they want ..... we real Trinis not taking that shit.

I am a Soca Warrior. I say win or lose i am a fighter.

Maximus all the way....

« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2006, 04:33:47 PM »
disrespecting my country is worst to me than dissing meh mother dread

if i ever come face to face to these fellers boy

we have ah fregging song and maximus sing it

both ah dem could HYMC

:timeout: wheyyyy well what de a** ah seeing here? "Fighter" is our official theme and nothing else.

Yeh i second all dem ting dey. Anytime allyuh want tuh swing fuh dem i in dat. Doh come rong here wit yuh folly and coming and disturbing my country equilibrium. My country have a tune. Even if de TTFF and  other dingbats who gettin money fuh playin de ass eh sanction it......Maximus Dan-"Fighter" is de peoples choice. Buss out henceforth and forthwith.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2006, 06:09:05 AM »
We should all email them about that BS :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #28 on: March 22, 2006, 04:23:06 AM »
Okay so I wrote an email and they replied
Their Reply
Thanks Dexter

Appreciate your comments

I'm working on a follow-up story so please keep an eye on the YEP.

Kind regards,

Richard (reporter)

-----Original Message-----
From: Friday, Dexter B Mr. 39FB [mailto:theman.friday@us.army.mil]
Sent: 20 March 2006 15:37
To: Richard Edwards
Subject: Re: Your Infor mation

With all due respect to you. I will like you to recall your info here
that is totally false. Where do you find info and have it posted in the
papers that SOCA is only 10 years old. You are obviously not Trini to
make such a statement. The Warrior nation and fans of The SOCA WARRIORS
are very much upset with the info that I have Highlighted and we are
requesting you correct it immediately. We do have our songs or have you
not heard the song fighter,  Plus posting such a grim picture of our
country as being slow. We greatly appreciate your enthusiasm but please
ensure before you post or do something your info is right. .
True Trinidadian
Dexter B. Friday
« Last Edit: March 22, 2006, 07:24:23 AM by Themanfriday »