March 28, 2024, 05:53:26 AM

Author Topic: Cornell Glen gets the game winner  (Read 3209 times)

Cornell Glen gets the game winner
« on: March 23, 2006, 07:13:37 AM »
Rapids Defeat Spanish Club Sestao 2-1, Improve Preseason Record in Spain to 2-1-0
Colorado Rapids Media Relations

March 21, 2006

The Colorado Rapids defeated Spanish club Sestao Sport River 2-1 tonight in a game played at Las Llanas stadium, located in the city of Sestao, 15 minutes north of Bilbao.

The Spanish third division team hosted the exhibition game against the Rapids as part of the city’s 200th anniversary celebrations, drawing almost 2,000 people to the small neighborhood stadium.

The Rapids fielded mostly rookies and second-year players in the lineup for the game, and they were evenly matched by the quality of the host team for the first 45 minutes of the game.

Both sides created only one scoring opportunity on each goal during the first half.

For the Rapids, defender Dan Gargan met a cross from Hunter Freeman inside of Sestao’s penalty area, but his header sailed just inches wide of the home team’s goal.

Sestao had an equally good chance, but Rapids goalkeeper Matt Jordan closed down the scoring opportunity to deny the home side and keep the game scoreless as both teams entered the locker rooms for halftime with the score nil-nil.

The first goal of the night came just after the second half started, as in the 49th minute Gargan found a loose ball inside of Sestao’s penalty area and beat the Spanish goalkeeper with a powerful close-range shot.

The Rapids went up 2-0 in the 75th minute, when Cornell Glen one-timed a cross from Matt Crawford, placing his low shot past the goalkeeper and into the near side of the goal.

The home team was able to pull a consolation goal back in the dying minutes of the game, when an penalty kick was awarded by the referee in the 87th minute. The Sestao striker ruined Jordan’s clean sheet with a well-placed strike, and the match ended 2-1 in favor of the Rapids.

The Rapids will wrap up their preseason trip with a match against Spanish Second Division team Eibar tomorrow at 5:30pm in the city of Vergara, which is located 1 hour away from their spring training base of Bilbao. The team will then travel back to Denver on Friday and report to the club’s training grounds in Westminster on Monday morning.

Scoring:
COL – Gargan 49’
COL – Glen 75’
SES – PK 87’

Rapids Lineup:
Jordan, Freeman, Wojciech, Gargan, Harvey, Crawford (King 80’), Wasson, Gonzalez, Clark, Glen, Pearson (Noel 70’)

Re: Cornell Glen gets the game winner
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2006, 07:18:25 AM »
 :applause: glen making impression to make de WC squad. is there any website where i can see de goal?

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2006, 08:19:11 AM »
i wonder if he goin and make ah post in this thread ;D

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2006, 08:58:42 AM »
:applause: glen making impression to make de WC squad. is there any website where i can see de goal?

He first have to keep that up to make an impression to make the Rapids first team and start on that team before he will make Beenie seriously think about him definately making the team.

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2006, 12:29:00 PM »
Glenn already in the squad of 23 an may come off the bench for variety or to use his speed if the situation calls for it, but Beenie definitely has a  preference for Jones and John because they fit better within his (Beenie) stlye of play or how he wants us to play this summer.

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2006, 12:32:26 PM »
Glenn already in the squad of 23 an may come off the bench for variety or to use his speed if the situation calls for it, but Beenie definitely has a  preference for Jones and John because they fit better within his (Beenie) stlye of play or how he wants us to play this summer.

How you know that boy?  I really want to know.  Did Beenie show you the final WC roster?  I really would like to know where you find out this info dred

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2006, 12:42:38 PM »

How you know that boy?  I really want to know.  Did Beenie show you the final WC roster?  I really would like to know where you find out this info dred

Wont you lik to know ;D
Won't say untill the name the squad breds...maybe ;D

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2006, 12:49:58 PM »

Wont you lik to know ;D
Won't say untill the name the squad breds...maybe ;D

Well from that response i would say you full ah $#!t but say what  :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2006, 01:06:42 PM »
is scotland on the team?

Offline Augi

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2006, 01:58:54 PM »
First Sancho now Glenn this is real good for TNT football....Yes Fellas make beenie earn his keep! Lets see if Glenn could force his way into the squad this summer.What allyuh think?

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2006, 02:14:19 PM »
NICE.

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2006, 02:30:34 PM »
Well done Glen man... I personally would love tuh see him play cuz personally i believe we on de counter attack... he have de pace and strength and above all de will tuh score so..

"Go glen go, go glen go"

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2006, 03:04:13 PM »
 Glen will go WC...I glad he scoring now...WC will get him better

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2006, 04:43:00 PM »
allyuh are relly someting else eh...... so cuz he score he goin d cup?   thank god beenie doe tink like allyuh

i wish d best   but cornell will make d 23 but not d 18

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2006, 06:44:05 PM »
is scotland on the team?

Yes I would definitely think so.

« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2006, 08:53:22 PM »
remember everyone cant be in d team someone has to be left out

come may d 15th i goin an see dis board come aliveeeeeeeeee :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Offline ZionYouth

« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2006, 10:10:46 PM »
well done glen... :applause:

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2006, 10:53:07 PM »
I think Glen needs to play ahead of Jones. It may differ according to the opponents but, allthings equal Glen  first.

« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2006, 12:09:12 AM »
ok, so he score.... but how was the rest of his game?

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2006, 06:34:10 AM »
ok, so he score.... but how was the rest of his game?

who cares how he play as long as he score.  That's the Stern way!

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2006, 06:38:28 AM »
is scotland on the team?

Yes I would definitely think so.

Glen definitely in the team ..not sure bout Scotland though.