April 25, 2024, 04:43:17 PM

Who is 'better'?

Yorke
20 (48.8%)
Latapy
21 (51.2%)

Total Members Voted: 41

Author Topic: Controversy: Yorke vs. Latapy  (Read 7814 times)

Offline 1989

Controversy: Yorke vs. Latapy
« on: March 23, 2006, 07:08:45 PM »
Notice I didn't put a middle ground so I don't want to hear any soft answers about 'they give equally important contributions....' 
I want to hear who putting their head on a block all out for one or the other.  Give your reason as to why to think one is 'better' and give your definition of 'better'.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2006, 08:12:53 AM by 1989 »
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

Re: Controversy: Yorke vs. Latapy
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2006, 07:15:33 PM »
Notice I didn't put a middle ground so I don't want to hear any soft answers about 'they give equally important contributions....' 
I want to hear who putting their head on a block all out for one or the other.  Give your reason as to why to think one is 'better' and give your definition of 'better'.

At present? or throughout their entire career? country and club?

Offline 1989

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2006, 07:26:12 PM »

At present? or throughout their entire career? country and club?

Anything you feel.  Just state your reason for your choice.

Offline R45

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2006, 07:29:04 PM »
In terms of footballing achievements: Yorke
In terms of an asset to T&T right now: Yorke
In terms of raw talent: Latapy

I did not vote however as there's no clear cut answer.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2006, 07:30:36 PM by R45 »

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2006, 07:29:52 PM »
dis too general to vote for
they are naturally different players, Yorke - Natural Striker,,,,Latas - Natural Midfielder
etc. etc. etc.
Right now u cant compare them cuz Latas a bit older and more unfit :(

Offline 1989

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2006, 07:37:13 PM »
In terms of footballing achievements: Yorke
In terms of an asset to T&T right now: Yorke
In terms of raw talent: Latapy

I did not vote however as there's no clear cut answer.
C'mon take a stand! ;D

Offline Augi

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2006, 07:38:04 PM »
My question is what is de point of this poll?

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2006, 07:38:53 PM »
ENT.

I not pickin between the two.

Offline 1989

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2006, 07:46:06 PM »
My question is what is de point of this poll?

It's just like asking a Brazilian who they like more Ronaldinho or Ronaldo.

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2006, 08:29:31 PM »
Talkin bout fatman....he score today.....nice

Buh anyhow..........why de need to name the thread "controversy???"
You expect ppl to make a choice like dat???
They are two very talented and differing players and to choose one over the other is a hard ask.
Come nah........be reasonable
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline 1989

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2006, 08:33:28 PM »
Buh anyhow..........why de need to name the thread "controversy???"

Because it's a very hard choice and I know that some people will not agree with one another.  :)  But like nobody wants take a firm stand (possibly fearing what others will say in response. :))

You expect ppl to make a choice like dat???
They are two very talented and differing players and to choose one over the other is a hard ask.
Come nah........be reasonable

Come on make a choice... ;D ;D

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2006, 08:39:15 PM »
Well this one original....... ::)

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2006, 08:52:18 PM »

who better yuh mudda or yuh fadda...

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2006, 09:21:50 PM »
in the future here are 2 easier polls to start

beenie

bsc....................or

hardest

dwarika

same amount of controversy yet men on d board go like yuh

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2006, 09:59:15 PM »
In their prime Latas, right now based on present day impact for the WARRIORS Yorke.

« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2006, 10:17:15 PM »
THE ORDER OF THINGS!!!!!!!!!

1. God
2. The Angels
3. Latapy

« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2006, 10:21:00 PM »
Yorke get tuh play wid de biggest tits in history.  :devil: :devil: :devil:

Offline Augi

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2006, 10:27:10 PM »
College I like that one

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2006, 10:50:54 PM »
Yorke is the best player in the history of Trinidad and Tobago football. Most success, technically and tactically the best. You can argue but look at Yorke highlights on MU "Treble" tape.

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2006, 01:15:20 AM »
Allyuh does really ask ah seta hard questions in here..stups

datz like asking me:
financially stable old man or inheritance boy toy
panday or ramash
denzil or tye
chocolate ice cream or chocolate cake
doubles or roti
cuff him or break he nose
snowcone or penacool
rum or scotch
Morvant or shotta
silk or cotton

lawd this is real controversy

stups  >:(
« Last Edit: March 24, 2006, 01:47:08 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2006, 06:45:52 AM »
It's impossible to compare two men who play different positions.

It's like trying to compare Pele to Maradona.

« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2006, 07:14:38 AM »
Overall:

Latapy.......

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2006, 07:54:58 AM »
No other Trinidadian player comes close to Yorke's achievements. Perhaps, none ever would. To me, a vote for Latas is a sentimental vote.

I say Yorke.

Years from now, "records" will speak more of Yorke's achievements. Yorke has the data points. 
Toujour Pret!

Offline ZURITRESS

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2006, 08:13:50 AM »
speaking as someone who played with both. no one in our lifetime will proably archive what yorke has but in terms of football players i think collage put it best god, angels and then latas

Offline 1989

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2006, 08:15:51 AM »

datz like asking me:
panday or ramash
denzil or tye
doubles or roti
snowcone or penacool
rum or scotch
Morvant or shotta
silk or cotton

So who did you choose? :)

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #25 on: March 24, 2006, 09:38:34 AM »
look since 89 till now - 17 yrs, we take to reach d WC with latas n yorke playing, latas futbol is much more flamboyant and flair filled than yorke's, but d two ah dem did their fair share of stupidness in past campaigns and even wit dey abilities we weren't able to qualigy till now, and u could say the x-factor dis campaign that may have pushed us to 4th place in cocacaf was Beenie.

what dat said, i would sa dey equal, cuz non was able to push us to WC qualification before dis campaign , when beenie was prob the major factor and to a lesser extent yorke and latas late burst during the final 3 games.

« Reply #26 on: March 24, 2006, 10:26:52 AM »
cana i go choose mehself fuh yuh

it aint go be to headache

« Reply #27 on: March 24, 2006, 10:28:03 AM »
remeber the Yorke and Latapy never really officially retired
but they were actually let go by the coach "Fired"
cuz they were trying to bring down the team i.e. trying to get all the credit

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2006, 10:32:21 AM »

datz like asking me:
panday or ramash
denzil or tye
doubles or roti
snowcone or penacool
rum or scotch
Morvant or shotta
silk or cotton

So who did you choose? :)

Gyul yuh forget out Jeffers or Small Mag

but this poll useless this just asking fuh trouble

Offline vibetrini

« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2006, 11:58:28 AM »
remeber the Yorke and Latapy never really officially retired
but they were actually let go by the coach "Fired"
cuz they were trying to bring down the team i.e. trying to get all the credit

dey retired before the WC2002 campaign finished... yorke n latas wrote a joint letter to ttff saying they retired, and the TnT papers printed it... it was on either the express or guardain or both as far as i remember.