April 27, 2024, 04:32:42 PM

Author Topic: Any facts/opinions  (Read 3524 times)

Any facts/opinions
« on: March 26, 2006, 10:05:32 AM »
Which caribbean country have on of the better youth program?

Re: Any facts/opinions
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2006, 10:14:44 AM »
How does one quantify programs? what criteria  is one using to judge the quality of programs?

Is like asking : which Caribbean country have the better mangoes?

STEUPS!!!

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2006, 10:16:27 AM »
ding ding ding

round one ;D

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2006, 10:23:36 AM »
How does one quantify programs? what criteria  is one using to judge the quality of programs?

STEUPS!!!

Maybe if you had some sense you would take into account something called "research." I am not quite certain so hence the reason I am seeking answers.  ::)

It can be based on: -
(1) Which caribbean country youth team has seen the most World Cup appearances.
(2) Which caribbean country has produce a lot of professionals from a young age.
(3) Which caribbean country has a lot of youth representing the national team.
etc

I guess you should have given it a little thought before you made an ignorant and subjective response. Anyways, cheers!  :beermug:

« Last Edit: March 26, 2006, 10:36:25 AM by kingman »

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2006, 10:41:21 AM »

I just have one question, and i mean no offence, but what is the point of this question?

what is the purpose of researching this and getting an answer? What is the intent?

ah curious!!

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2006, 10:43:28 AM »

I just have one question, and i mean no offence, but what is the point of this question?

what is the purpose of researching this and getting an answer? What is the intent?

ah curious!!

in short, i just want to know if we should do more to better our youth programs. After all, for us to be #1 in Concacaf, we first need to be #1 in the Caribbean. Maybe we are already. Some may tend to differ. Makes sense now?  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2006, 10:47:05 AM »
aight cool, i understand.  It would have been nice if u put your reasons for the question along with your question.

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2006, 04:29:42 PM »

STEUPS!!!

jess so boy :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2006, 04:38:44 PM »

STEUPS!!!

jess so boy :rotfl:

I telling you. Just so!! :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2006, 04:42:25 PM »
ding ding ding

round 2

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2006, 04:46:05 PM »
in short, i just want to know if we should do more to better our youth programs.

I could answer that for yuh.

We Do Need To Do More.

« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2006, 06:43:22 PM »
sounds like a rhetorical question; the answer is obvious so I eh see the research in that.

Offline R45

« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2006, 06:46:42 PM »
in short, i just want to know if we should do more to better our youth programs. After all, for us to be #1 in Concacaf, we first need to be #1 in the Caribbean. Maybe we are already. Some may tend to differ. Makes sense now?  :beermug:

Even if we are #1, we should still be doing more, imho

But to answer, I really don't know enough about the other countries (well Jamaica, lol) to compare.

fabio

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2006, 10:05:48 PM »

ah going with JA and/or Bermuda.

« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2006, 08:30:34 AM »
The better question would probably be:

"which Caribbean countries have a structure worthy of being called a youth program" ?

« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2006, 08:42:56 AM »
The better question would probably be:

"which Caribbean countries have a structure worthy of being called a youth program" ?

Thanks! I guess my wording was poor. Thank you!!  :beermug:

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2006, 10:14:56 AM »
Kingman, I understand the logic behind the questioning therefore I will attempt an answer:

I believe our youth program can be alot better! We should be encouraging and developing players from primary school straight on up.. To do so we must also add the encouragement from the older ones in our communities, for they are the true examples, teachers, and disciplinarians, we need to build not only the needed skill but the mental side of any sport which as we see today hinders some of our country's best talents.
I say bring back stuff like village olympics, best village, primary school leagus etc etc.. IF we are to invest in the youth lets get all the right infastructures in place, from the small village to the Ministry of Sport.

Just my 2 cents.
Peace.

Isaachunt

« Reply #17 on: March 27, 2006, 08:34:40 PM »
 Jamaica mon

« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2006, 09:03:09 PM »
I think that the answer is CUBA.

« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2006, 09:12:19 PM »
Jamaica  might be #1 over the last couple of years. Didn't they actually qualify for the last 17 WC? They beat us in an under 15 tourney not too long ago and their schoolboy team run us dong in JA last year. They have historically done a better job recruiting their US college players back into the national under 23 and senior teams. At the same time..we beat dem in the last under 23 Olympic qualifiers in Mexico...and our under 20s were as good as them in the last WC under 20 qualifiers having beat an impressive Cuba 3-1 in Cuba and then proceeding to flop at the final hurdle....neither country has what you would call a consistantly organized program. We look like we have a little something positive in progress right now. Let us hope it continues to grow and reap its rewards