April 24, 2024, 04:30:38 AM

Author Topic: Dwight had given me a game Jersey years!!!!!  (Read 2549 times)

Dwight had given me a game Jersey years!!!!!
« on: March 26, 2006, 10:31:08 AM »
I never mentioned this before but I always feel proud when I use to wear it. I was given a signed Dwight York game jersey when he use to play with Villa way back in the early 1990's by no other than Dwight himself. It is real old school jersey. It can't fit me anymore though. I am talking about the "rope thingy" just below the neck area instead of a button up or round neck style. I guess that is another reason that helps explain why i admire Anna.   :rotfl:

Offline Augi

Re: Dwight had given me a game Jersey years!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2006, 10:38:24 AM »
sounds like it could fetch a good bit on ebay...if yuh willing to part with it that is. ;)
« Last Edit: March 26, 2006, 10:52:41 AM by Augi »

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2006, 10:40:35 AM »
I guess that is another reason that helps explain why i admire Anna.   

You must know the man well b/c not many people remember that was the man childhood nickname.

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2006, 11:07:40 AM »
I guess that is another reason that helps explain why i admire Anna.   

You must know the man well b/c not many people remember that was the man childhood nickname.

No, i do not know Dwight very well. I know nickname to be "Anna" because i started a thread about "nicknames" a while ago.

Offline fivers

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2006, 01:42:10 PM »
ah could give you one more nick name he had in Bago. The other would be "Do flare"

Offline fivers

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2006, 01:45:07 PM »
Do flare came about because of the way he use to put man on they back when he beat men. Since York went to England he realy don't dribble as much as he use to. It goes to show the type of football that's played in England compare to let say Brazil. It's more a Team sport one touch and go. He is a totally different type of player today.

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2006, 02:09:54 PM »
So we can say once and for all, he will no longer be referred to as "Blight"?

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2006, 04:45:15 PM »
So we can say once and for all, he will no longer be referred to as "Blight"?

« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2006, 08:53:04 AM »
Do flare came about because of the way he use to put man on they back when he beat men. Since York went to England he realy don't dribble as much as he use to. It goes to show the type of football that's played in England compare to let say Brazil. It's more a Team sport one touch and go. He is a totally different type of player today.

I wouldnt put it like that. Brazil is the kings of one touch and go! Then look at Cristiano Ronaldo.

I think is down to Yorke's role in the teams he played for in the England. That and premiership defenses are probably better than any defense he used to tear up in the past.

Isaachunt

« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2006, 08:36:08 PM »
 So what kingman. GO TELL THE POPE . NEXT THING you will tell us how you get shiny toy for Christmas :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2006, 09:03:55 PM »
So what kingman. GO TELL THE POPE . NEXT THING you will tell us how you get shiny toy for Christmas :rotfl:

oh gord let de man enjoy he ting.

« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2006, 10:27:46 PM »

:applause:  ::) I was just trying sharing an experience with the forum. I guess i am not allowed to do that. Anyways, you guys have fun! Cheers!!