April 27, 2024, 03:32:56 PM

Author Topic: 2006 FIFA WC Developer Diary 2  (Read 1788 times)

2006 FIFA WC Developer Diary 2
« on: March 25, 2006, 11:49:02 AM »

2006 FIFA WC Developer Diary 2

By: Eduardo Euscate
Saturday, 25 March, 2006 
Developer Diary – He Shoots, He Scores!

Creating Authentic Penalty Kicks

Penalty Kicks play such a big part of World Cup that we wanted to make this feature as authentic as possible. When you get to the penalty shoot-out situation the pressure goes up and what we have tried to do is transfer that pressure to the user in the videogame. We have tried to take that feeling and make it visual.

For this game we developed the Penalty Kick Nerve System and it's meant to reflect the pressure of an actual World Cup penalty shootout. First off -- the sweet spot (your target area for the most accurate shot) will move around. As time goes on, the pressure mounts and the sweet spot will move faster and faster - and you will have to figure out the optimum time to attempt your kick.

If you're the keeper, you can try to throw the shooter off by jumping, waving your arms, touching the bar, etc. You can even send a vibration to your opponent’s controller while he's attempting the shot.

It's all meant to put more importance behind these situations.

Penalty Kicks are always an important part of the game, but in World Cup, it's even more important. Often times the game comes down to that one amazing shot, so we made sure we put a lot of emphasis on it in 2006 FIFA World Cup. Nobody wants to lose the world cup because of a lame penalty kick; it's such an important part of the game.

Advanced Shooting Mechanics

Our shooting model has completely changed - and this will be the thing that gamers will notice first. Your shot meter determines the shot elevation only. The longer you hold the button down, the higher the shot is. The power of your shot is determined by a number of different things, including player attributes, where you're positioned on the field, which foot you're shooting with (preferred or not), the ball height at point of contact, the amount of defensive pressure, and a modifier if you're using a star player.

For example, star players with a high "Finishing" skill will do well inside the penalty area, while the long shot specialists will do better outside the box! This makes it more important to get the ball to the right player for the job, and feels more like an accurate world cup match!

So make sure that if you're doing a long shot - pick a guy like Lampard or Ballack, and if you're in close -- go for Shevchenko or van Nistelrooy.

We've also tightened up the responsiveness of the players -- so they'll react faster when you hit the button or change direction. Our Ball physics are completely different now as well. I guarantee you'll see shots that go off the keeper or the bar that you've never seen before. It feels more realistic when you're seeing the keeper scrambling for the ball after a deflection that was misjudged. We've put in some new controls for your free kicks as well, giving you the option to take a run up and really hammer the ball as well as taking a tactical "regular" shot.

EA Lines up the World's Top Soccer Superstars

Date: Friday, 24 March, 2006

REDWOOD CITY, Calif. March 24, 2006

This is your chance to step onto the pitch and play with your heroes in the 2006 FIFA World Cup(TM) Finals! Electronic Arts (NASDAQ:ERTS) today revealed the superstar players who will be featured on the front packs of the 2006 FIFA World Cup(TM) video game around the world. Designed to celebrate each country's top star, the cover athletes have been individually selected to represent their team, their nation and their loyal fans. Working in partnership with adidas, the only official branded sports apparel manufacturer for the real-world 2006 FIFA World Cup tournament, EA has been able to deliver customized covers for nearly a dozen countries.

"We are thrilled to have the world's top athletes representing 2006 FIFA World Cup in each of these countries," said Clive Downie, VP of Marketing, EA. "Game players around the globe are engaging in this phenomenal tournament by experiencing it for themselves through the video game."

"2006 FIFA World Cup lets players live out their greatest soccer fantasy of playing with their heroes. We are honored to have the opportunity to partner with EA and provide direct access to each of the superstars," said Thierry Weil, head of football sports marketing at adidas.

Demonstrating athletic excellence, undying determination and masterful skill, the line-up of players featured regionally on 2006 FIFA World Cup are true sports champions.

TEAM

ATHLETE

Re: 2006 FIFA WC Developer Diary 2
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2006, 12:02:00 PM »
ah cyar wait, ah cyar wait!!

ah was reading that and meh pores only raising!!

2006 WC here i come!!

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2006, 12:03:07 PM »
So you can tap the shoot button and get a the most powerful shot? That sounds like BS.  
In real life the higher your backlift the more powerful your shot. Which is like holding down the button for some time.
I not sure if I like this feature.

But the penalty shootout sounds good.  Should make things interesting.

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2006, 12:14:22 PM »
ah like that u can control your height. nice!!

But the power might make some people get vex when dey hitting powder puff in front de goal. lol

anyways i like de changes, it making yuh think more.

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2006, 12:15:11 PM »
Dey have no shame... dey copying Winning Eleven/Pro Evo features wholesale now

« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2006, 02:06:18 PM »
it sounin rel gud i cyah wait

« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2006, 06:33:39 PM »
It sounding good dey buh i seeing that dey bring back that star player TATA from WC 2002. Hear nah if you a side dat underrated it have NO WAY yuh beating a so called big team. Senegal was getting run ragged from france and men like zidane bussin bullet from half line and ting and scoring. Dat penalty shootout ting go be level wileness...........send a vibration to your opponent controller??? RASCLAT!!!! I cyar wait...............
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2006, 06:53:22 PM »
yeah dat sending de vibration ting sounding real bess

« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2006, 07:12:33 PM »
men go get slap fuh sending vibration to meh control

that game woulda cause rell fight up by me

« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2006, 08:02:33 PM »
sounding rel good.....by the way i posted up de trailer on de other thread with de screen shots of de game.