April 23, 2024, 02:37:15 PM

Author Topic: De Players Dat Should Go 2 De World Cup?  (Read 31706 times)

De Players Dat Should Go 2 De World Cup?
« on: October 15, 2005, 12:29:17 AM »
 ??? Cornell Glenn is at de top of my list, then fellas like mcfarlane, jemmot, dwarika, and maybe even nixon

youths dat should b dere is shakes, bouchard, jagdeosingh

Re: De Players Dat Should Go 2 De World Cup?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2005, 12:47:03 AM »
and me and shotta and omari billy ;D

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2005, 06:23:04 AM »
Too early for this. let's wauit until after the 16th so we could discuss this with gusto.

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2005, 07:48:00 AM »
Too early for this. let's wauit until after the 16th so we could discuss this with gusto.

I agree, being supersticious and all. let we not count the eggs yet, and let we put the cart back behind the horse

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2005, 11:54:27 AM »
yea i back squeezing on posting things to this extent i want to qualify an nut count chickens befor they hatch

The 23 who could go to Germany
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2005, 02:59:24 PM »
My choices are guided by the following:  See team below. Note pairings for important obvious duplications.

1. Need 3 quality keepers. (Ok to have youth and experience, but can'tafford to be green)
2. At world cup level need backups (as good as 1st picks) for
         -center back
         -wingback (our biggest deficiency, where we lack depth, and possibly where we are most
              vulnerable)
         -defensive mid, attacking midfielders
         -target strikers, playmaker strikers, breakaway strikers with speed.
3. At this level, yellow cards, injuries come fast and furious and without a deep bench, yuh goose cook.
4. Try to imagine your most crucial & reliable players injured and imagine what you can do or can't do 
    w/o them. Guide player selection partly by this.
5.  Need at least some backups for our "dog-work midfielders" who balance out Latas and Yorke.
6.  Clearly distinguish between center-back slkills and wingback skills. Cannot exchange Cox for Avery for   
     eg.
7. Assumption is that Rougier was never washed up (despite the perception by some from T&T vs USA at the Oval) and that his most important contribution could be as a WINGBACK! with extra talents. Could be either side for him as he has 2 feet. He could do like Spann and make raids from the left as his crosses are weighted beautifully. If he is chosen, our defensive probs could be cured. Remember, defense is our potential weakness. The way things are right now, if Avery or Spann catches a cold we start panicking. I hope Mr Lincoln Phillips and Coach Beenie are reading this. Putting Rougier anywhere else is wasting time and redundant.  If I hadn't seen evidence that he was alive and kicking I might have given up on him.

8. Shoild 23rd spot go to an extra midfielder especially the defensive mid backups for Birch, Whitley (I understand that they could easily be typecasted as attacking mids) or should we (over?)invest in a 5th striker with a different twist such as Glenn (who has blistering breakaway speed and not a bad header at all).
9. Gray's asset is speed. But....is he reliable enough or could he mature in time? Not sure how truly good Atiba is. What's the verdict on him.
10. I guess some developing talent has to be left back.  Is Dwarika unressurectable?
11.  Will we ever have true Leonson-type wingers again for a 4-3-3 tactic? I guess we could rest the Evans Wise issue? Or not? So here we go.

1.Shaka
                                                         2.Jack
                                                         3.Ince

4. Andrews                     5.Sancho
                                            7. Cox or A. Pierre            6. Lawrence

8. Spann                                                                                                                  9.Avery John
10. C Gray (or Atiba)                                                                                                  11. Rougier

12. Birchall                13.  Whitley

14. Edwards                                                                                                        15.Yorke
22. Rahim                                                         
                                             16. Latas
                                             17. Theobald

18. Stern                            20. Scotland
                            19. Jones                            21. Sealy
                                                                  (23?). Glenn

Maxed out at 23. No room for Wolfe? Choose either Gray or Atiba? No true duplication for Birch and Whitley but Rahim can be considered as cover for them or Edwards.  Wha allyuh think?  Midfield looking too thin or just enough?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2006, 09:06:07 AM by Tallman »

Re: The 23 who could go to Germany. Controversial?
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2005, 03:03:16 PM »
switch orke with latas and yuh good to go :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2005, 03:05:50 PM »
Note 10 and 11. Avery and Rougier supposed to be labelled on the left wing back.

Yorke on the Left mid or where ever he has to roam
Avery and Rougier interchangeable on thr Left wingback
Sorry bout the bad layout when posted
Latapy able to roam of course
« Last Edit: October 16, 2005, 06:17:39 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2005, 03:12:06 PM »
My answer to this ent change since the last time it was asked.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2005, 03:15:57 PM »
Evans Wise will be on the squad to go to Germany.
He's a natural, as he's the only Trini based in Germany.

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2005, 03:19:18 PM »
Interesting way of looking at it?

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2005, 03:20:09 PM »
Evans Wise will be on the squad to go to Germany.
He's a natural, as he's the only Trini based in Germany.

Dont think we will see the wise man.  With all respect, what you sayin is like saying Tiger and all USA based will be in the lineup for the aug 17 match cause they US based

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2005, 03:25:05 PM »
Don't get me wrong eh Dreamer.

I feel that when we do qualify this will be a great thread. It will be hot because there will be so many permutations and possibilities.

I just feel that until we qualify the thread will not be hot because people do not want to post prematurely.

The threads we need now are "who should be the 23 to play Bahrain".

That is the focus.

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2005, 03:27:28 PM »
As you mention Tiger Fitzpatrick...If anybody says Glen is out then I would allow Tiger as "dog work" duplication for Birchall.  Birch has an edge because of his consistent 25 yard shots. 1-2 per game that are a finger tip from scoring. He has a tendency for 1-2 dangerous turnover passes in the deep defensive midfield zone.  Has to work on that, otherwise a very good asset with good work rate and ball winning role.

Got yuh JDB. A little dreaming eh go hurt nobody.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2005, 06:18:32 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2005, 03:35:25 PM »
I hear yuh too.

I ent trying to be no post police.

That is Andre Samuel wuk.

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2005, 03:42:34 PM »
And by the way JDB, this is not just dreaming for Germany but a blueprint for Bahrain. So Rougier has to get get fit fast.  Also, I was also an Angus Eve fan, but I suspect he has branded himself too much with St. Clair loyalty that might be irritating to Beenie. Could also argue that there are folks who can play his role on the right but I doubt they could equal his goal scoring. Could also argue that he is too old to play 90 mins. ??

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2005, 03:48:55 PM »
angus eve is actually class..but a bit too old for his liking.....he would play but he even thinks he is better a sa coach for jabloteh and needs to do waht latapy did and come bakc...dont u all forget that nice play him and glenn worked for that equaliser vs panama in the gold cup..perfect weighted cross...but we have edwards n rahim capable.....watever hapen to brent he used to be class

« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2005, 03:53:23 PM »
i would take Angus Eve over Rougier if we had to pick one of them right now.

« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2005, 03:55:53 PM »
Ok Feliziano. but how would you solve the left wingback problem, if you see a problem. Imagine Avery injured. And doh tell me put Sancho there.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2005, 04:02:44 PM »
shit...Glenn hadda play... we need plenty friendlys b4 then... play anybody it doh matter who... we go need plenty games to test new players and finetune we style.. buh I say,

golies---- 1 Jack, 22 shaka or ince who ever healthy and ah 23 Youngster
backs----- 3Dogg. 2 tallest, 4 avery, 5 sancho, plus 2 more maybe 6 cox 15gray(  sancho and spann could be used as midds)
midds----- #10 LATTAS, 12 Edwards, 7 whiteboy, 19 yorke, 8 whittly, 13theo, 9 spann
up fronters---- 14 STERN we top shotta , 11 Glenn( ah must) 15 jones and 17 sealy

what every ah left out, it up for grabs

my WQ starters

de goalie who fittest and best form

sancho, dog, tallest, avery

edwards, yorke whiteboy

lattas
John             glenn or jones

« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2005, 04:19:01 PM »
Gunman remember the limit is 23. One good thing I realise from your post is that Spann is really 2 players in one  but if he is needed to cure our right back disease as first pick, then he gets saddled there until Gray matures into the role. In that scenario we need an extra player(gray to back him) If Gray matures into first choice then Spann becomes 2 players in 1 covering for anybody in midfield or right back and we can select Gleen and leave out Fitzpatrick. I don't agree with running Sancho all over the defensive mid. He ain't cut out for 90 mins of that. I see his role as our most ball-skilled, confidence inspiring last stopper without the 10/10 heading skills of Andrews. Heading skills for crosses in defense maybe an 8.5/10. Keep him also out of the wing as he is not quite cut out for the that, only because of lack true blistering speed.

« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2005, 04:26:16 PM »
my side

keepers:
1:JACK
2:SHAKA
3:INCE

defenders:
4:SANCHO
5:DOG
6:LAWRENCE
7:SPANN
8:AVERY
9:COX
10:CYD
11:ATIBA

midfielders:
12:YORKE
13:LATAPY
14:SEATON
15:BIRCHALL
16:EDWARDS
17:THEOBALD
18:ROUGIER
19:GLENTON WOLFE

forwards:
20:STERN JOHN
21:JONES
22:SEALY
23:SCOTLAND

« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2005, 04:26:54 PM »
there are going to be some upset warriors not on that plane to Germany, i wonder if anyone on the current squad will lose out to a new comer or someone who has not sweat in a while.

Rojas, Wise, Eve, McFarlane, Rahim, Rougier, Fitzpatrick, Glenn

what is the name of the keeper in England who showed some interest?
and the guy in Canada who asked for a tryout and get blank by Beenie?

« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2005, 04:30:18 PM »
is ider rahim or rougier for me

glenton is a cover for avery   also cox could be a cover for avery also  cyd a cover for spann and atiba cud also do dat but he could also cover centre back

« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2005, 04:37:26 PM »
Ok Big Mag, I won't rest till this issue is addressed. Assuming that defense has to be meticulously adressed and that attacking mid and strikers are practically good to go and that a weak link in defense spells disaster for all naive newcomers at World Cup level, how do we replace an injured Avery John with your selection. I also would like to see a clear distinction between centerbacks and wingbacks unless we develop players who are fast enough to cross-specialize. Somebody please say sumting.  My take is we need 8 defenders chosen as (Cox or Pierre) for an injured or yellow-carded Dog. Lawrence for Sancho. Rougier for Avery or vice-versa on the left. Cyd Gray for Spann on the right.

Ok Big Mag, so your answer is Wolfe. Aight.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2005, 06:19:15 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #25 on: October 16, 2005, 04:46:46 PM »
umm actually is small mag lol

yeh even if glenton cant do the task there is also rougier hoo can play that position or even cox could do the task

« Reply #26 on: October 16, 2005, 04:49:36 PM »
Yes. Rougier could do it but NO WAY can Cox play wing. Yuh eh see how the Costa Rican Gomez tun him inside out on the wing when COx was chosen to replace Avery. He is too stiff and slow for wing but excellent for center

« Reply #27 on: October 16, 2005, 04:53:47 PM »
True  well we are not coaches   an we not there yet   but i'm sure we r goin  and there is only 1 don leo an he makes his decisions  and his 23 is his 23
"

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #28 on: October 16, 2005, 05:01:41 PM »
we go need plenty warmup games b4..... against some ah dem south american african and european teams dat lostout... and ah live-in euro camp with some warmup games up too bout 3 weeks before de world-cup start and who knows, we go cause some surprises... ah lookin for we to win atleast 1 and draw de rest ;D but knowing we luck, we might endup in ah group with Brazil and italy and holland.

« Reply #29 on: October 16, 2005, 05:06:36 PM »
Ok Feliziano. but how would you solve the left wingback problem, if you see a problem. Imagine Avery injured. And doh tell me put Sancho there.

ah wasn't really saying i would pick one over the other in the particular scenario.
just bsaying that Eve might be more useful in the squad..but in your case if yuh looking for a back-up left back..i didnt give that much thought.

boy i seeing people playing in all kinda position just to get on the plane yes lol

also the coach could always change the system if we dont have the available type of player.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2005, 05:11:51 PM by Feliziano »